The Glow

The Glow

For fans of Red Rising, Divergent and of Brandon Sanderson's Skyward. ?A futuristic alien world, supernatural abilities, an ancient conspiracy, and the power of love and friendship; a teenage girl's life changes when she is abducted from home and becomes the human race's last hope to survive a deadly illness.? Harper just wants to be a normal seventeen-year-old girl, playing For fans of Red Rising, Divergent and of Brandon Sanderson's Skyward. ?A futuristic alien...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Glow
Author:Aubrey Hadley
Rating:
Genres:Science Fiction
ISBN:B08D8CBRZJ
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Kindle Edition

The Glow Reviews

  • Sherwood Smith
    Jan 16, 2019
    Glow is the first book in a series. Our first person narrator is Harper Loomis, a seventeen-year-old homeschooled girl who sneaks out to play soccer, and who hopes to go to Stanford to study science. She?s got a paranoid mom, no mention of a dad until way later, and an older brother ...
  • OutlawPoet
    Aug 16, 2019
    So, I just checked Amazon and it seems that publication of this book has been pushed back some months. I think (hope) that major changes will be made in that time. It does mean, however, that much of what I say in my review may no longer apply to the book once it?s out there. That wo...
  • Elizabeth Tabler
    May 27, 2019
    Thank you to Netgalley and Ruby & Topaz Publishing for providing me with a copy of this in exchange for my open and honest review. Sadly after a few false starts on this book, I have found that it wasn't for me. This story has all the excellent markings of a solid book. Ha...
  • Erica
    Jan 04, 2019
    Oh boy. I don't even know where to start with this one. How could a book about aliens and alien-human hybrids be so boring? Seventeen-year-old Harper is pretty much an average teen living in Reno, Nevada with her mom, older brother, and younger sister. Harper is homeschooled, a...
  • Nancy
    Jul 14, 2019
    This book has an interesting premise for an apocalyptic story and for once a YA book that doesn?t involve a romance between the female protagonist and one or two boys. I am not sure what age range it is actually intended for, middle school or high school and up. The writing feels lik...
  • thewoollygeek (tea, cake, crochet & books)
    Jan 05, 2019
    This book was not for me. I was hopeful as it sounded an interesting premise and I persevered with this , but sadly I just didn't enjoy it. It started off well but then it slows down and loses focus. I couldn't really connect with the protagonist, she felt a bit lack lustre. ...
  • Emily
    Mar 31, 2019
    Thanks to Netgalley and Ruby & Topaz Publishing for an eARC in exchange for an honest review! I was incredibly interested in this book alone for the description. I was ready for some weird Contagion-esque, end-of-the-world, 5th Wave kind of deal. That was not what I read. Instead,...
  • Jessica | Booked J
    Jan 31, 2019
    Blog | Twitter | Instagram I was sent an eARC of this novel from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. This does not change my view in any shape or form. You may also find this review here at Booked J. This book captured my attention from the moment it was up on NetGal...
  • Dianne
    Feb 18, 2019
    A deadly disease has taken out countless humans. In Reno, Nevada, seventeen-year-old Harper is left stranded in her home, quarantined and alone. All that after seeing a mysterious glowing figure in the desert, where she wasn?t supposed to be, anyway. Was she hallucinating? Was it an ...
  • Jocelyn
    Feb 14, 2019
    This was a hard one to rate. On the one hand, it had a lot going for it: aliens and alien-human hybrids, quarantine zones, a mysterious illness sweeping the planet, and an utterly mesmerising cover I couldn't stop looking at. On the other hand, this book was long. I mean, really l...
  • Monica
    Apr 30, 2019
    Well I never made it onboard with these characters. I generally enjoy YA science fiction but this reads more on a middle school level. *Thanks to NetGalley for this book in exchange for my honest review.* ...
  • MischaS_
    Mar 31, 2020
    So, I just got approved for this book on NetGalley. Honestly, I requested it such a long time ago that I even forgot about it. I cannot find anywhere when I requested it but seeing that I added it in February 2019 here on GR it might be a good guess as any. ...
  • Elizabeth
    Jan 09, 2020
    Title : Glow Series : Author: Sci Fi Rating: 2 The Maasai Mara Sleeping Syndrome has returned after a six-month hiatus. This time, it?s popped up in New York, and it?s wiped out an entire homeless shelter. The same night of the outbreak?thousands of miles away?Harper, a...
  • Kate (BloggingwithDragons)
    Jan 07, 2019
    I never wanted to pick up Glow: Book I, Potency to read it and it was a sheer battle of will to just get through the novel. Glow : Book I, Potency suffers from severe pacing problems, flat characters, and cringy dialogue. Though the idea of the novel itself was interesting and obviousl...
  • Melissa
    Jun 06, 2019
    **** Update **** I rarely reread books. Don't have a lot of time to read, so I enjoy reading new adventures with new characters. Annnnd I NEVER reread a book that I found okay the first time. But when the publisher contacted me to know what I didn't like in the book, and la...
  • K.S. Marsden
    Jan 14, 2019
    After an outbreak of a deadly disease, only Harper survives. She's about to realise there's a much bigger picture, and she's been blind to what has really been going on. I received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was not what ...
  • Rachel
    Feb 11, 2019
    *thank you to Netgalley, Aubrey Hadley and Ruby & Topaz Publishing for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review* 2.5 stars. Ok firstly, this is the most GORGEOUS cover I've seen in a while! I mean, just look at it! 5 full stars just for that. Ok, so the st...
  • WillowRaven
    Jan 08, 2020
    4 out of 5 stars. What first drew me to this book, what caught my interest, was the original concept of a story, and the fact it is/was a YA dystopian style book without the usual saccharine, teen angst romance you seem to find in a lot of YA books lately. Kudos to the author on this ...
  • Kat Dietrich
    Apr 08, 2019
    First, I read this in February, and when I went to post it on NetGalley, they changed the publishing date from February 14th to July 16th. I posted this review there anyway, and thought I'd hang on to this, as I try to post my reviews a week or two before the publish...
  • Montzalee Wittmann
    May 07, 2019
    Glow : Book I, Potency by Aubrey Hadley is a book I requested from NetGalley and the review is voluntary. I enjoyed this book that has some creepy moments in which the reader is guessing as to what is going on for a great deal of the first half. It takes a wild turn and becomes somethi...
  • Chrissie
    Mar 22, 2019
    Another interesting concept whose result lacked cohesion and a proper execution. From the sheer number of excess pages and superfluous information, to the characters needing more substance, this one was a disappointing and tedious read. From the summary, the impact and urgency of th...
  • Lauren Jones
    Nov 22, 2020
    Learning that you could be half human and half something else from another planet, what would be your first reaction? If you found out that you had an ability that is near impossible to have, how would you feel? These questions and many more are presented to the main character in this ...
  • Juli
    Jun 15, 2019
    The Syndrome -- a strange sleeping sickness -- has been killing people. A lot of people. It kills....then disappears....only to pop up somewhere else. The signs are always the same...strange behavior followed by a compulsion to sleep. Those afflicted are dead within 24 hours. This time...
  • Alisha
    May 04, 2020
    Received in exchange for an honest review on Netgalley. Although the plot sounds incredibly interesting, this book just didn't hit it for me. I'm usually a fan of science fiction. But this writing felt off, geared towards Middle Grade rather than YA. Not that I don't...
  • MJS
    Jan 08, 2019
    ARC received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I was offered this by NetGalley, and thought it sounded in the line of the Death Cure or Hunger Games type books, so wanted to give it a try. This is not like those books though, and was very nearly a DNF. I had to force ...
  • Rachel Aranda
    Feb 12, 2019
    I was given a free ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. ?Glow: Book I, Potency? by Aubrey Hadley isn?t a book for me. Don?t get me wrong, I really enjoy Science Fiction and Young Adult books so this seemed like a great mixture of genres. The cove...
  • Aloralethe
    Nov 30, 2019
    I had the pleasure of beta reading the revised version of Glow the (436 page version). Instantly I was drawn in by the Mara Sleeping Syndrome and how it affected the human body. I was also intrigued by the impact the disease made on Harper's family and neighbors and how it gradual...
  • Jypsy
    Feb 01, 2019
    The idea of a sleeping sickness killing droves of people is intriguing. That's the reason I chose this book. While I did like the story, I found the writing seemed lacking substance. Point of view was a little odd at times. The time period for the story is not distinctly identifie...
  • ⠀annie⠀✧*ೃ༄
    Jan 10, 2019
    i?ll be honest. once she got to space or whatever, i stopped caring. Edit: I feel like this is important to include because whenever I think about this book, this is the only thing that comes to mind. It was written like a 2014 wattpad fanfic. I don?t mean the good fanfics eithe...
  • *Stani*
    Jan 18, 2019
    I really, really wanted to like the book. The premise sounded very enticing and intriguing, but it stayed there - in the idea of what the story could have been. The writing threw me off from the start - it is written like a fan-fic and not a really good one at that. When you ov...