Nophek Gloss

Nophek Gloss

When a young man's planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Children of Time. Caiden's planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that When a young man's planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Nophek Gloss
Author:Essa Hansen
Rating:
Genres:Science Fiction
ISBN:B084FYBG69
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Kindle Edition
Number of Pages:480 pages pages

Nophek Gloss Reviews

  • Elizabeth Tabler
    Nov 15, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is a story that pushes the boundlessness of the reader's imagination. It is innovative, harsh, extraordinary, and it is science fiction at its best. I am not sure how to classify Nophek Gloss as part of the science fiction canon. Is it hard science fiction? Quite ...
  • Elizabeth Tabler
    Oct 29, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is a story that pushes the boundlessness of the reader's imagination. It is innovative, harsh, extraordinary, and it is science fiction at its best. I am not sure how to classify Nophek Gloss as part of the science fiction canon. Is it hard science fiction? Quit...
  • Andi
    Aug 11, 2020
    DNF. There was something not quite interesting about this story. I think it was the characters. I didn't really like any of them and I could not see myself chunking out any more time with them. DNF. There was something not quite interesting about this story. I think i...
  • Julie Thomas
    Jan 28, 2021
    What can I say about this book, or rather how can I say it, without giving away too much. When I read a book I usually know little to nothing about it. I like that because then everything that happens is a revelation. It's because of too many times seeing movie previews that basic...
  • Adam
    Sep 17, 2020
    ?Author, swordswoman, and falconer. Sound designer for SFF films at Skywalker Sound, with credits in movies such as Doctor Strange and Avengers: Endgame,? reads Essa Hansen?s Meet the Author page. With such a varied resume, it?s small wonder that her debut novel Nophek Glos...
  • Darby Harn
    Oct 18, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is an extraordinary, passionate, and lyrical exploration of how not even a multiverse can fill the void left by grief. Essa Hansen does a rare thing in science-fiction. She combines a poetic literary style with dazzling technology, strange new worlds, and truly alien cr...
  • Bethany
    Nov 16, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is a gritty debut space opera set in a complex world and following a character coming of age while dealing with severe trauma. This is one that's a little challenging to review because I think how much you will like it is really going to depend on taste. Objective...
  • Nick Borrelli
    Nov 23, 2020
    NOPHEK GLOSS is such a difficult book to categorize. This is a very good thing mind you. Yes it contains some amazing space opera moments, yes it also dabbles in a good amount of hard SF, absolutely does it touch on some classic science fiction elements as well. So there's a lot t...
  • Rachel (TheShadesofOrange)
    Sep 28, 2020
    3.5 Stars This novel started out incredibly strong with an opening sequence that was brutal and devastating. It is always fantastic to find an author who isn't afraid to write something dark. Beyond the beginning, the story mostly read like a fairly conventional space opera. It f...
  • Sunyi Dean
    Mar 26, 2020
    Caveat: This is not your usual book review; I've included some "behind the scenes" musings for once. If you prefer my usual reviews, this may not be your cup of tea. Okay, caveats out of the way--let's go! There's a lot of mutual back-scratching (praise my b...
  • Wayne Santos
    Apr 07, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is about a far-flung future where many civilizations have utilized a technology that allows them to travel not just to other worlds, or even other galaxies, but other universes. Caiden is a teenager, living an idyllic existence, completely unaware of the greater cultures a...
  • Isaiah
    Nov 16, 2020
    I got an ARC of this book. DNF at 40%. I didn't care about any of the characters and couldn't even tell most of them apart by this point in the book. There were just glimmers that there was something interesting about characters, but I have already spent days trying t...
  • Lata
    Nov 16, 2020
    Thank you to Netgalley and Orbit Books for this ARC. 3-3.5 stars. Caiden and his family and all the other individuals on his settlement are transported to a different planet when the bovine herds they?re caring for all die. The humans are almost immediately slaughtered by ravenous...
  • Holly (The Grimdragon)
    Nov 27, 2020
    3.5 Stars~ "Worst fears and greatest hopes floated by in whispers like windy grass.." Nophek Gloss is the debut novel from Essa Hansen, who happens to be a sound designer at Skywalker Sound. So rad! Beginning with a bang, this space opera leads 14-year-old Caiden acr...
  • Liz Barnsley
    Dec 12, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is an absolute masterclass in world building and character voice- from the very first page Essa Hansen weaves an almost cinematic web around the reader, absorbing you into the intelligent narrative and mix of action and emotion. You need to commit to this one but once y...
  • Lizy
    Oct 11, 2020
    Note: I received this ARC from Orbit, so special thanks to the publisher. Immaculate world building and complex alien technologies form the backbone of Essa Hansen's debut novel NOPHEK GLOSS, an angst-riddled space opera about one boy's quest for vengeance in the face of ...
  • Jon Adams
    Sep 04, 2020
    Outstanding debut. ...
  • Jeremy Szal
    Jan 22, 2021
    I blurbed this book, and at the risk of quoting myself, I called it a "far-flung kaleidoscope of stunning imagination, superb characters, and truly alien aliens. This is space opera firing on all cylinders, and a must read." Enough said. I read this book ages ago, but ...
  • Ryan Rose
    Dec 22, 2020
    Such a fresh take. It plays with some of the greatest tropes in the Epic Fantasy/Space Opera genre in ways I'd never imagined (farmboy hero has never looked like this). The sensory details are beautiful, the characters all rich and uniquely important, and the pacing is on the mone...
  • Nifer
    Sep 12, 2020
    DNF at 55%. Really imaginary world building, fun action scenes, but the jarring exposition (sometimes not nearly enough, sometimes too much, a lot of deus ex machina) when combined with the unending (justified) anger of the main character had me stalling out. Interested to see what the...
  • Emma Cathryne
    Sep 12, 2020
    This was an example of a book being the following: high quality, incredible writing, dense and creative world-building, and also---not for me. I cannot fault this book for its quality, however my reviews are also a reflection of my personal feelings and I really struggled with many of ...
  • Edward Silverman
    Sep 02, 2020
    Thanks to Orbit, and #netgalley for an advanced e-copy of the book in return for a fair and honest review. This book is the debut novel by Essa Hansen, who has an absolutely incredible imagination. The book starts off with a fantastic and horrifying adventure sequence where the main ch...
  • Gautam Bhatia
    Nov 23, 2020
    The best science fiction gives you that ?oceanic feeling? - a sense of vastness and of wonder. Science fiction also affords writers a chance to create and explore worlds richer and more complex than our own, to put flesh on ideas that exist only as shadows in our minds. Essa Hansen...
  • Dave
    Aug 31, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is the hard to pronounce title if the first volume of a brand new science fiction series. The title refers to a little gem that comes from the skull of a rare animal and powers spaceships. Like the spice in Dune, the gloss is valuable beyond imagination. It's a coming...
  • Lou
    Nov 18, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is the first instalment in a science fiction space opera trilogy entitled The Graven, but what makes it different to others series? is that each book can be read as a stand-alone as the plot wraps up at the end of each instalment. It follows protagonist and slave Caiden,...
  • Craig Munro
    Sep 09, 2020
    DNF. The author has an amazing imagination and there is clearly a very enjoyable story to be found in this book, but I?m just not able to get past the many inconsistencies that constantly pull me out of the story. A few examples from the 20% of the book I read (very mild spoil...
  • Michael Mammay
    Jun 28, 2020
    This might be the best debut of 2020. It certainly has my vote in that regard at this point. The sheer imagination in this book is staggering. It reminds me of the most imaginative work of CJ Cherryh in that regard, and if you know me you know that's some seriously high praise. I ...
  • Alia Hess
    Apr 23, 2020
    Caiden is a kind and protective mechanic boy, living in a world of gentle pastures and grazing bovines. But he gets a suckerpunch to his good-natured heart when his home and family are ripped away from him in the worst imaginable way. Now he?s angry. Really angry. Caiden hone...
  • Allison
    Oct 16, 2020
    I'm sorry to report this book just didn't work for me. The first part of the book is a bit of a slog, awash with unfamiliar terms and flooded with complex descriptions of new things, people, and places. I was impressed with the variety and abnormality of this strange multiver...
  • D.A. Adam Smith
    Nov 15, 2020
    Nophek Gloss is one of the most vividly imaginative science fiction books I?ve ever read; from the wild alien technology to the vast array of different xenid species, it has been one hell of a ride ? it?s like Mass Effect with some lingering wisps of Red Rising but at the same ti...