American Daughter: A Memoir

American Daughter: A Memoir

"Gut-wrenching and absorbing...in the vein of Educated and The Glass Castle."?BOOKLIST "a story of redemption and forgiveness."?MARY BETH KEANE, NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW "Impressive... Readers will find themselves recalibrating their judgments about villains and victims"??BOOKPAGE (STARRED REVIEW) For 50 years, Stephanie Plymale kept her past a fiercely guarded secret. N "Gut-wrenching and absorbing...in the vein of Educated and The Glass ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:American Daughter: A Memoir
Author:Stephanie Thornton Plymale
Rating:
Genres:Autobiography
ISBN:American Daughter
ISBN
Format Type:ebook
Number of Pages:288 pages pages

American Daughter: A Memoir Reviews

  • Kara
    Mar 08, 2020
    I'm clearly in the minority on this one, but it just wasn't for me. It's hard to write reviews of memoirs. You feel like you're reviewing someone's life and their innermost thoughts, and that's not what I'm trying to do. I didn't care for the ...
  • Jessica
    Jan 24, 2021
    Wow. Finished this in a day. Though in the same vein as Educated, American Daughter felt much more tragic due to the failure of so many larger systems in each of the character?s lives. Unbelievable, harrowing, saddening, disheartening. ...
  • Luanne Ollivier
    Dec 14, 2020
    The most fascinating, captivating, gut wrenching, heart breaking tales are those that are true. Such as Stephanie Thornton Plymale's memoir - American Daughter. Stephanie and her five siblings grew up in chaos - neglect, abuse, hunger, homelessness, extreme poverty and more. Th...
  • Kelly Long
    Feb 15, 2020
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing this book in exchange for an honest review. This is such an incredible story. So many emotions went through me the whole time I read this book. I, like many others, wondered how the author turned out so well after what she experie...
  • Mackenzie
    Mar 14, 2020
    I love so many things about this book. American Daughter examines all that is wrong with our systems in this country. From the Education system, to Child Protective Services, to the Health Care system. The author suffered every tragedy a person could experience, yet persevered. As an e...
  • Angela Williamson
    Feb 21, 2020
    Stephanie lived in and out of foster care her whole life. She survived not just one, but two auto accidents which should have killed her. The neglect and abuse she suffered would have crippled most people. Instead, Stephanie became everything she ever wanted in a mother. A successful b...
  • Cindy Easton
    Feb 08, 2020
    I haven't been this moved by a book in ages. I read it in 2 days and couldn't put it down. The author?s tragic and staggeringly beautiful story is told with dignity and grace. Her life story is compelling, but more so is the outcome. Rising above all she endured, Plymale no...
  • Jodi
    Dec 31, 2020
    It has taken me awhile to sit and write about this book. Immediately after reading the book, my first thought was ? wow this is a story with so many layers. Five stars! I wanted to think about the book, give it a week or two to see if still felt that way. I still think it?s a 5 sta...
  • Lauren
    Feb 11, 2020
    Stephanie Thornton Plymale had a rough life, to put it mildly. She grew up with an absentee addict mother who spent years in mental institutions and jails, with a similarly addicted and apathetic crook of a stepfather. When her mother was around, she was emotionally manipulative to Ste...
  • Maggie Carr
    Jan 23, 2021
    Book Riot 2021: Read a book that demystifies a common mental illness First ????? of the year. For the "fans" of Tara Westover's Educated, though we can all agree we can't claim to be fans of such horror. It's so unfair how both Tara and Stephanie f...
  • Valerity (Val)
    Nov 10, 2020
    I found this to be a very gripping book once I got fully into it, with its delving into the author and her dying mother?s background, and their painful interactions. It eased into becoming one of those page turners that I stayed up all night reading to the finish, despite no plans to...
  • Janilyn Kocher
    Dec 04, 2020
    I have read so many memoirs like this over the years, but with each one I keep reading, endlessly fascinated and equally appalled at the hardships and abuse the author endured. Stephanie's story is one of the most heartbreaking and I give her kudos for sticking with her mother des...
  • Pat
    Feb 05, 2020
    This is an excellent read about survival against overwhelming odds. ...
  • Wayne Vandekraak
    Feb 06, 2020
    American Daughter is a raw and riveting story of hardship, injustice, and generational redemption. From the first till the last page I was captivated and spellbound and could not put the book down. The life-story of the author, Stephanie Thornton Plymale, is the story of America ? th...
  • Lisa
    Mar 19, 2020
    Stephanie Plymale speaks from the heart and shares a touching and moving chronicle of her survival from a horrendous childhood. SUMMARY American Daughter is Stephanie Thornton Plymale?s memoir. Her childhood was a series of nightmares, thanks to a mentally-ill mother who was in ...
  • Jantine
    Feb 27, 2020
    This is the tale of a strong woman, a survivor. It feels strange to review it, because it feels like reviewing someone's life. I mostly want to thank Stephanie for sharing her life and her memories with us. I'm glad you are a survivor, because I am sure the world is more beau...
  • Diane Secchiaroli
    Nov 17, 2020
    This memoir is outstanding. I didn?t realize it was a memoir until the very end. This is a story of mental illness, physical, sexual, and mental abuse, loving relationships, perseverance, homelessness, and determination. Stephanie is a successful businesswoman, artist (interior desig...
  • Diane Secchiaroli
    Nov 17, 2020
    This memoir is outstanding. I didn?t realize it was a memoir until the very end. This is the story of mental illness, physical, sexual and mental abuse, loving relationships, perseverance, homelessness, and determination. Stephanie is a successful businesswoman, artist (interior desi...
  • Joann 'bartunek' prashek
    Apr 22, 2020
    Another great read, captivating me from page one. Stephanie's distressing life story is told with dignity. Another great read, captivating me from page one. Stephanie's distressing life story is told with dignity. ...more ...
  • Tammy Fish
    Nov 18, 2020
    A haunting revelation into the world of foster care, this memoir will change you forever. Stephanie Thornton Plymale unveils the reality of her experience growing up in a dysfunctional home while somehow offering hope and validity to others that there can be new beginnings despite a ho...
  • Susan Phillips
    Dec 02, 2020
    Our bookclub received American Daughter as free read from a galley match program. It was a good fit for our club....we have enjoyed similar titles (Glass Castle, Educated) in the past. Each time I read a book like this I am again reminded of the resilience of the human spirit but also ...
  • Katheryne
    Dec 15, 2020
    I really wanted to love this memoir, and while I understand the author?s life is heartbreaking and compelling and tragic, the writing and style were not for me. There is a great life story here and it could have been told in a more linear fashion, with more focus on her childhood. Th...
  • Melissa
    Jan 22, 2021
    ?Find a way to be the love you didn?t get.? Stephanie Thornton Plymale endured poverty, neglect, a mentally unhealthy mother, sexual assault and more during her childhood. But thankfully she found her husband and, with his help, became the love she didn?t get as a child. ...
  • Kari
    Jan 03, 2021
    A painful memoir of a Survivor that endured years of abuse, neglect, poverty, homelessness and her mother?s mental illness and addictions with her siblings. It?s the Author?s incredible story of being able to rise above and become a success despite her past trauma. A deeply movin...
  • Tina
    Oct 02, 2020
    This is a Non-Fiction/Biography Memoir/Autobiography. This book was really good in parts, but other parts I found very boring and slow moving. I feel for this girl/woman in this book. Overall I found this book thought-provoking, but in parts I found the pacing was off. I liked this boo...
  • oohlalabooks
    Mar 21, 2020
    Thank you to the author for sharing such intimate details of her childhood and upbringing. It?s a heart wrenching, powerful story with a beautiful understanding of what mental illness is, how actions and words can be traumatizing, and what a mother/daughter?s relationship should be...
  • Amy White
    Feb 05, 2020
    Stephanie?s memoir is a captivating true story that will keep you on the edge of your seat and leave you feeling inspired. Despite the hardship she experienced as a child, from homelessness, neglect, and an estranged relationship with her mother, she grew into a strong, accomplished ...
  • Cara Murray
    Feb 05, 2020
    A fascinating memoir, American Daughter will challenge your preconceptions and inspire you to examine your own family lineage. Stephanie shares her story with poignant grace and honesty and is an example of strength, courage, and unwavering determination in the face of unspeakable hard...
  • Michi Suzuki
    Feb 05, 2020
    This book was INCREDIBLE, I finished it in 2 days. Written in such a powerful, raw and emotional manner - it had me in tears followed by waves of inspiration, hope and so much empathy for this author. She has a story to share with the world and one that will hopefully take away the ver...
  • Janis Howard
    Feb 05, 2020
    This was a powerful read beginning with the first paragraph! I could NOT stop. I was impacted emotionally about this woman?s journey through her childhood. It is Stephanie?s life beginning with her as a child and the relationships that led her to who she is today: a woman who posit...