The Way Back

The Way Back

Perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman, a sweeping historical fantasy that follows two teens on a journey through the Far Country, a Jewish land of spirits and demons. For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere: dancing on the rooftops in the darkness of midnight, congregating in the trees, harrowing the dead, even reaching out to try and steal awa Perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman, a sweeping historical fantasy that follows two teens on a jour...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Way Back
Author:Gavriel Savit
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:1984894625
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

The Way Back Reviews

  • Tasha
    Nov 20, 2020
    Yehuda and Bluma grew up near one another in the tiny village of Tupik. But their lives could not have been more different. Bluma was the daughter of the town baker, raised with plenty to eat and an ever-warm hearth. Yehuda spent his time figuring out where his next meal was coming fro...
  • Kirsten
    Feb 13, 2021
    As much as I wanted to love this book, I found that I was lost a lot of the time. Which is a little bit funny because the characters themselves are lost through most of the book, too. Lots of characters to keep track of. Perhaps I don?t have enough knowledge of Jewish folklore and tr...
  • Jacqie
    Nov 23, 2020
    Thanks to Netgalley for providing a copy of this book for review. This is a fairy tale set in Anatevka (well, not really, but a Russian Jewish village back in the 19th century with all the small town Russian Jewish trappings that you'd expect) that takes its protagonists into t...
  • Ariel
    Dec 14, 2020
    When I heard about this novel, I was a little jealous because I've been working on a MG fantasy novel based on Jewish folklore off and on for years, but this is a very different take on it. And it's inspiring to see how differently people can go with some of the same material...
  • Keplers
    Nov 06, 2020
    I LOVED this book. ...
  • Yapha
    Sep 23, 2020
    I wanted to love this book. I really did. The writing is gorgeous. The folklore is woven together so well and brings to light a lot of Jewish mythology/demonology that is generally not acknowledged or represented in mainstream books for young people. My problem was with the main charac...
  • Kristine
    Nov 17, 2020
    The Way Back by Gavriel Savit is a free NetGalley ebook that I read in early November. Knowing second-person narration of a relatively timeless (and cautionary) village and its inhabitants - it shares a similar tone and storyline to Oliver Potzsch?s Faust series, but with regular,...
  • Jenny
    May 19, 2020
    This is going to be a truly delicious read for fans of ghoulish fantasy in the vein of Neil Gaiman, Frances Hardinge, and Melissa Albert, with echoes of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkein -- all wrapped up in a rare, charming package of Jewish folklore. The story starts in a sht...
  • Andrea Galbusieri
    Jan 26, 2021
    I really thought I would like the book much more than I ultimately did. It was, how shall I put this, a bit too much fantasy for me. ...
  • Pop Bop
    Sep 15, 2020
    Fabulous, But Challenging This is a marvelous and richly imagined tale of adventure and suspense. But the very richness of the narrative, the supernatural setting, and the cultural connections can make reading some parts of the book rather daunting. Basically, we follow our two h...
  • Rebecca Rouillard
    Feb 11, 2021
    The tiny village of Tupik in Eastern Europe is at the very end of the road. A ferryman is employed to ferry people across the river beyond Tupik, but he never has to take anyone, because there is nothing beyond except the Far Country?the land of the dead. When the Angel of Death visi...
  • Nicki
    Jan 27, 2021
    What an interesting journey! I love the folklore woven into this tale about Death and the kids who face him/her. ...
  • Aly
    Nov 30, 2020
    2.5 stars I have to say, I was confused for a lot of the story. I understood the overall plot, but so many details I didn't understand and I'm not sure what the main characters really accomplished at the end. It felt like we went in a giant circle and ended where we began. I...
  • Courtney | Novel Maven
    Nov 24, 2020
    The story centers around an event -- the wedding of the rebbe's granddaughter. Yehuda Leib is traveling to Zubinsk to see the rebbe when he is waylaid by a dark stranger and enters the land of the dead. He encounters the demon Mammon and loses his memories of the living world. ...
  • Kenia Sedler
    Dec 13, 2020
    I learned about this book because it was a Finalist for this year's National Book Award, Young People's Literature category. It did not disappoint: if you like The Dark Materials, this work of Fantasy, Folklore, and Myth would probably be right up your alley. The timing wo...
  • Elaine
    Nov 21, 2020
    If Neil Gaiman had written the Winternight Trilogy, it may have turned out like this. A gorgeously written Fantasy adventure filled with Jewish folklore. Set in 1800's eastern Europe, two Jewish teenagers are each struggling against the Angel of Death. Yehuda Leib seeks to reco...
  • Miriam
    Dec 05, 2020
    If the world of the living were a suit of clothes and the world of the dead the bony flesh beneath, then at each elbow there would be a cemetery gate. Here the dead rub up against the living world. Here the living world wears thin. ---- Yehuda Leib wants his absentee father'...
  • Ashley
    Nov 12, 2020
    CAN. NOT. WAIT. ...
  • Celia McMahon
    Oct 25, 2020
    This was a seriously good, but challenging read. This rich tale based on folklore and myths takes us into a world of demons and other supernaturals. The narrative, and the slow pacing may put off the anxious readers looking for something in your face scary and fast-paced. We fo...
  • Lynn Mahler
    Sep 27, 2020
    This is a very whimsical and mystical read, heavy on folklore and demonology. If that's your cup of tea, you should definitely give it a go. We follow two young people, Yehuda Leib and Bluma. After both of them experience a loss in their respective families and meet the Angel o...
  • Nancy
    Dec 12, 2020
    Mixed feelings. As an adult reader, I would give this three stars. The story is a bit macabre and possibly scary to some younger readers, but overall they?d probably like it. The vocabulary is good, and there is enough adventure to remain interested. The author seemed to be tryin...
  • Emma Cathryne
    Sep 07, 2020
    The Way Back is Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere by way of Gregory Maguire's Egg and Spoon , rich with Jewish folkore and a wintery atmosphere that is all its own/ It is one of those stories where the targeted age bracket is difficult to qualify: while you could technically argue ...
  • Tori Thompson
    Dec 04, 2020
    What can I possibly say about this book? Where do I even begin? I can say that this is my favorite thing I've read this year. I can say that it made me laugh often but also made me want to cry so genuinely, made me want to gather up all of my past selves and my future self, to...
  • Annie Childress
    Feb 24, 2020
    I was so nervous to read this book because Anna and the Swallow Man is one of my all time favorites. But - oh man - The Way Back did not disappoint. The stories are complicated and interesting and so tightly woven together that I couldn?t put it down. It is rich in folklore and bri...
  • Kristin Sledge
    Dec 07, 2020
    Thank you to the publishers and NetGalley for an eARC in exchange for an honest review. The Way Back gives a voice we rarely see, a Jewish pair of preteens as they weave through a land of death, demons, and loss. A coming of age tale that is more about learning the lessons within ra...
  • human
    Feb 21, 2021
    Thank you to Netgalley and Knopf Books for Young Readers for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. (actual rating: 2.5/5) I spent most of my time while reading this, especially in the beginning, confused as to what was going on while trying to keep track of where ...
  • Naomi
    Feb 24, 2021
    Ok... I am giving 2 stars. I am quite disappointed with this book. It did not help that my librarian sold it off to me as an amazing novel and that it won (an) award(s). (I think it was like a finalist for the National Book Award and maybe something else too?). I was expecting it to be...
  • Sarah
    Dec 13, 2020
    3.5 stars. The way back was such a fascinating but intricate read for me, who doesn't know a lot about Jewish folklore. The book starts off with Yehuda Leib and Bluma having to deal with a loved one dying which leads them to come in contact with death itself, sending them on a ...
  • A'fiani  Atiqah
    Sep 28, 2020
    Head over to my blog for a longer review! Thank you to Times Reads for providing a copy :) https://whatafireads.wixsite.com/what... #AfiReviews Personal Ratings: 3.5/5? The book tells a story of Yehuda Leib and Bluma, two entirely different children with different life ci...
  • NerdyKitty815
    Feb 14, 2021
    This review is also on my blog: https://nerdykitty815.wixsite.com/blog. I read this book because I had been assigned it for a March Madness reading competition at my local library, and I was excited about it. It was a book that I had put on my TBR list anyway, and it looked really ...