Brave Like That

Brave Like That

Find yourself. Find your place. Find your brave. This uplifting tale, which award-winning author Leslie Connor dubbed ?a perfectly paced journey of the heart? is perfect for fans of Lisa Graff and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. Cyrus Olson?s dad is a hero?Northfield?s former football star and now one of their finest firefighters. Everyone expects Cyrus to follow in his dad?s record-br Find yourself. Find your place. Find your brave. This uplifting tale, which award-winning author ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Brave Like That
Author:Lindsey Stoddard
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
ISBN:0062878115
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:272 pages pages

Brave Like That Reviews

  • Abby Johnson
    Jul 15, 2020
    Cyrus struggles with the expectations placed on him. Adopted as an infant by a firefighter father, he feels like he has to live up to his father's name. Everyone seems to expect him to become a firefighter one day, although Cyrus doesn't feel like he could ever be brave like ...
  • the lady e
    Mar 24, 2020
    Review copy courtesy of Edelweiss. This book is being added to my book order for my library and any ?read if you liked ?Wonder?? lists. The bravery in the title is not about being a sports star or a firefighter, as Cyrus encounters in his everyday life, but standing up to bu...
  • Stacey
    Aug 05, 2020
    Stoddard sure knows how to write characters. ...
  • DaNae
    Jun 11, 2020
    A well-constructed plot with many, but not too many, threads weaving about. Yes, predictable and tidy bow at the end, but the characters were well fleshed-out, making their motivations clear. Stoddard did an excellent job with the bullies. For years I have watched formerly sweet or shy...
  • Stephanie
    Nov 10, 2019
    I gobbled up this story in a day, but its characters, insights, lessons will stay with me for a long, long time. My heart stayed in my throat for a good share of this book. Haven?t we all felt like Cyrus, wanting to be braver than we think we are? It can require real effort to be ...
  • Pamela Kramer
    Aug 24, 2020
    Sometimes a powerful and emotionally rich book like ?Brave Like That? by Lindsey Stoddard comes along that I wish everyone would read. A thoughtful book that could change the world ? really. And in this book, the lessons Cyrus, the main character, learns are ones that he recogniz...
  • Jordan Henrichs
    Apr 23, 2020
    Cyrus is a wonderful character. So empathetic and kind. I think middle grade novels need more characters like him because if I've learned one thing from teaching in fifteen years, it's that there are a whole lot of kids out there who like what they like and don't want to...
  • Bonnie Grover
    Jan 08, 2020
    Thank you Edelweiss for providing my ARC. As a teacher, there are so many things I loved about this book: #classroombookaday, kids trying to fit into a mold their parents create, bulling, kids who don?t fit in, and Note and Notice qualities. I know my students are going to love Cyrus...
  • Jillian Heise
    Nov 27, 2019
    The first novel with a teacher who does #classroombookaday!! And it's such a good one! I'm in awe of how perfectly the story captures the magic of what daily picture book read alouds can do for a class. ? And Cyrus & Parker have my whole entire heart. ? The first...
  • Kelly
    Oct 19, 2020
    6th grader Cyrus Olson has a lot of football to live up to in his small midwestern town. The problem is he doesn't want to play football anymore, and his firefighter dad was a legend in the town. His dad is really brave, but Cyrus doesn't think he is at all. With the start of...
  • Laura
    Aug 24, 2020
    ?Don?t let anyone tell you where you do or don?t fit.? Cyrus Olson, an eleven year old sixth grader, has been surrounded by heroes his entire life. His Dad is a firefighter. But Cyrus isn?t like his dad. Cyrus isn?t run-into-burning-buildings kind of brave. He?s brav...
  • Ron
    Apr 21, 2020
    I got an advanced reader copy of this book. I thought it was an excellent book about a boy entering middle school and trying to figure out where he fits in regards to what he wants to do and the expectations that everybody else has for him. His father was a local high school prodigy an...
  • Jesse
    Mar 02, 2020
    It?s not often you come across a book that has everything and does it well, but it does happen! Here?s the proof! We should all take notes and learn how to be stand-up-and-say-NO-brave like Cyrus. What a wonderful reminder. ????? ...
  • Lisa
    Dec 26, 2019
    Like Lindsey Stoddard's previous two books this one is heartfelt with characters that work their way into your heart and stick with you. Cyrus wishes he could be braver, more like his father and the fire fighters at the station where he spends a lot of time. As he works through fr...
  • Michele Knott
    Sep 09, 2020
    Absolute favorite book by Stoddard. Cyrus and Parker will be in my heart for awhile. ...
  • Madison
    Mar 15, 2020
    Brave Like That is the same kind of feel-good, heartwarming, uplifting book as Wonder. Brave Like That is utterly delightful to read and I can?t wait to share this with our middle-grade readers. Cyrus knows very well the story of the night he was found on the steps of the firehou...
  • Susan
    Jan 01, 2020
    Thank you to the author for the free review copy of this book. All opinions are my own. Cyrus doesn?t know who his birth parents are, but he certainly knows who his father is. He?s a hero! He?s not only the fire chief, but he?s also the football star the town has never forgo...
  • Michelle Simpson
    Dec 28, 2019
    I loved this one and cannot wait to share! I loved Cyrus and the relationships within the story. Middle grades. Realistic fiction. Family. Friendship. Be brave. Be yourself. And not to forget, #classroombookaday! ...
  • Deana Metzke
    May 27, 2020
    Cyrus is getting ready to start the 6th grade and has realized that he no longer wants to play football like his dad did. However, he doesn't feel that he's brave enough to tell his dad the truth. Luckily, with the help of some new friends, he gets the courage to speak his tr...
  • Jill Rathburn
    Aug 13, 2020
    Great upper elementary/middle grade book! ...
  • Afoma (Reading Middle Grade)
    Dec 20, 2020
    Brave Like That is a refreshing look at what it means to be a ?man? and the journey to finding one?s identity in the world ? or at least exploring enough options. Cyrus is a kindhearted, sensitive protagonist who shows readers that there are different ways to be brave. This boo...
  • Katie Reilley
    Dec 28, 2019
    Thank you to the author and Harper Kids for sharing an early copy with #bookexpedition. I stayed up way past my bedtime last night because I could not get Cyrus?s story off my mind. Without hesitation, this is a must buy for middle grade classroom libraries. Cyrus?s story b...
  • Sarah
    Jan 26, 2020
    Excellent! This is a great choice for student book clubs and discussions. ...
  • M.L. Little
    Mar 09, 2020
    @kidlitexchange Partner: Brave Like That by @lindseystoddardwrites and @harpercollinsch. Releases 6.2.20. ? Cyrus Olson is an 11-year-old who was adopted at birth by a single man, who is a firefighter and football hero. Because he is small for his age, sensitive, and does not have...
  • Julie Kirchner
    Jun 02, 2020
    There is something about Lindsey Stoddard?s writing that just parks itself in my heart and stays there. Brave Like That is set in Northfield, MN, not far from my current home and definitely a place I?ve visited since I was a child when my grandmother lived there. I enjoyed all the ...
  • Melanie Dulaney
    Feb 14, 2020
    Lindsey Stoddard joins my list of authors writing the sad-happy heartwarmers that leave me closing their books with sighs of deep satisfaction. Sure, some will criticize and say that the ?be true to who you really are? theme has been done and done again, and that is true. But our k...
  • Melinda Bender
    Dec 30, 2020
    Fitting in isn?t always that easy, especially when you have been faking it for so long. Cyrus plays football because he is expected to like his dad, but it is getting harder and harder every day. When Cyrus decides he wants Parker, a stray dog found at the firehouse his dad works at,...
  • Jennifer Guyor Jowett
    Aug 10, 2020
    Lindsey Stoddard skillfully weaves love and courage and acceptance and kids and dogs with such absolute fierceness in Brave Like That. You will love Cyrus's story and his struggle to find his inner bravery. Hands (and paws) down, one of my favorite MG reads. Lindsey Stoddard sk...
  • Christina
    Aug 03, 2020
    If this book had a theme song it would be Sara Bareilles? ?Brave.? Cyrus just can?t seem to ?let the words fall out? with his true thoughts and desires?instead, he fakes his way through things at school and on the football field. BRAVE LIKE THAT by Lindsey Stoddard is a c...
  • MaKayla
    May 18, 2020
    Lindsey Stoddard strikes again! Brave Like That is an enjoyable story about a boy named Cyrus who feels anything but brave. That is until he is faced with a social situation in school that makes him feel a little upset, and he decides to fix it by using his voice. This story ...