All the Pretty Things

All the Pretty Things

For fans of Sadie and The Cheerleaders comes an all new thriller about a boy who turns up dead under suspicious circumstances and the one girl who may be the key to solving the mystery of his untimely death. For Ivy, summer means roller-coaster season, spinning cotton candy at the Fabuland amusement park, and hanging out with her best friend, Morgan. But this summer is diff For fans of Sadie and The Cheerleaders comes an all new thriller about a boy who turns up dead under suspicious circu...

DownloadRead Online
Title:All the Pretty Things
Author:Emily Arsenault
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:1984897055
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:352 pages pages

All the Pretty Things Reviews

  • Cathy | A Case Full of Books
    Apr 28, 2020
    So...huh. The "mystery" of this book was glaringly obvious from the get go for me. So really I was just reading it to prove myself right, and was disappointed when I was. It wasn't mysterious enough for me. I also didn't connect to a single character, except m...
  • dumplin’
    Mar 20, 2020
    i?m gonna be real i skimmed this but in my defense i was like ten chapters in and bored out of my mf mind ...
  • Donna
    Jun 06, 2020
    ALL THE PRETTY THINGS tries to be this intense mystery, like it shows in the blurb. But it really does fall flat. The build-up to the big reveal is rather lackluster. Instead of tension it provides uncomfortable awkwardness as Ivy tries to find answers in all the wrong, and obtuse, way...
  • Sarah (booksargram)
    Mar 15, 2020
    this honestly wasn?t the book i thought it was going to be. there could have been a lot that wasn?t in the book and it could have been a lot more suspenseful. i think i actually enjoyed about half of this book. half of it was boring and a lot of the protagonist just doing stuff. it...
  • Missy
    Apr 08, 2020
    Book #20 read in 2020 O????I??: Ivy?s family owns a neighborhood amusement park and she is her dad?s right-hand-girl. When her best Morgan finds the body of a classmate and coworker on the property, Ivy can?t be convinced that it was just an accident. So she sets o...
  • Alexa
    Feb 23, 2020
    This one is a bit of a slow burn, for fans of "slice of life" YA contemporary who like messy characters and bits of suspense. I was drawn in initially by the "set at a small town amusement park" angle, which indeed is the book's strong suit. Fabuland felt so re...
  • Lindsay
    Dec 14, 2019
    It seems I side with the majority in saying that this wasn't what it proclaimed to be. After reading the summary, the reader expects this to be a mystery set in an amusement park, and the story is that to a small degree. What the summary leaves out is everything else. How Ivy spen...
  • Elaine
    Feb 15, 2020
    Thank you to NetGalley for a Kindle ARC of All The Pretty Things. I was intrigued by the premise (and the cover! Can I say how much I love this cover?) and excited when my request was approved. But, then my excitement waned. This isn't so much a thriller than it is ab...
  • PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps
    Jan 08, 2020
    ***Thank you to NetGalley for providing me a complimentary copy of ALL THE PRETTY THINGS by Emily Arsenault in exchange for my honest review.*** When Ivy?s best friend Morgan finds the body of a special needs young man, the teen ends up in a psych hospital leaving Ivy a cryptic me...
  • Carrie (brightbeautifulthings)
    Jan 21, 2020
    I received a free e-ARC through NetGalley from the publishers at Random House/Delacorte Press. Ivy has always been the boss?s daughter, first at her father?s doughnut chain, and now at Fabuland, an amusement park full of roller coasters, cotton candy, and princess parades. Everythi...
  • M.  [storme reads a lot]
    Apr 05, 2020
    The setting of the story is awesome, and it works well. This entire book is pretty much set in Fabuland Amusement park. I would have loved this story even more if the creepy factor was what I anticipated, but it still worked since most of the scenes were set in the park. So, the...
  • Brittany
    Nov 28, 2020
    This feels more like a summer time read, since it takes place during the summer time and involves an amusement park for most of the setting. I actually really enjoyed the atmosphere of Fabuland. That's where it ends, though. The synopsis made it sound so much more than what it act...
  • thi
    Mar 20, 2020
    1/5 - casually triple checked that this was supposed to be a thriller because there?s nothing thrilling about it - barely anything happens - Skip this ...
  • Stacey-Lea
    Oct 17, 2020
    A whole lot of yikes. This was incredibly predictable, even with the attempted two 'mystery' storylines, and so uninteresting - I only finished this book because I was reading it through audio on 2x speed and I apprently like to waste my time. Our lead character Ivy ha...
  • Chelsea
    Mar 01, 2020
    I was really exited to read this. Unfortunately, it was another disappointing "thriller. It was pretty obvious just three chapters in that the dad was a creep. I still don't understand how the main character didn't notice or just pretended it wasn't a problem. She a...
  • Wendi Lee
    Jan 24, 2020
    Ivy comes back from vacation to find her small town in turmoil. An acquaintance and fellow Fabuland co-worker has died, and Ivy's best friend, Morgan, had the misfortune of finding his body. Even worse, Morgan has barricaded herself on one of Fabuland's rides after hours, and...
  • Cesar
    Sep 09, 2020
    2 stars As someone who has read Sadie and The Cheerleaders, seeing those two compared to All the Pretty Things is like comparing apples to apple seeds. Especially with a lackluster mystery AtPT has when it made it obvious who the culprit was. Where this book fails is trying to ma...
  • JenacideByBibliophile
    Mar 16, 2020
    Actual Rating - 2.5 Stars Disclaimer: This book was sent to me by the publisher, Random House Children?s, via Netgalley for an honest review. Wow. I mean? ? ?what the actual f**k? There were about a dozen different ways I saw this story going, but the way...
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    Feb 20, 2020
    Well this is tough, because I loved the premise behind All the Pretty Things and it had some truly creepy moments, but the whodunnit is quite obvious from the early stages of the story. That, coupled with the stilted dialogue and dads who say "Ummm...?!" at the beginning of e...
  • megs_bookrack
    Jan 06, 2020
    Going into All the Pretty Things, I had some reservations. I had heard mixed reviews and wasn't sure what sort of experience I would have. Unfortunately, not great, although I've had worse. First off, the synopsis describes this book as an all new thriller about a ...
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    Jan 08, 2020
    Well, I want to name my reads with Bryan Adams? ?So far so good?album but unfortunately I name them with my favorite U2 song and ?I still haven?t found what I?m looking for? This book seemed like a promising mystery. One young boy, Ethan who is also staff member, suffe...
  • Yesha- Books Teacup and Reviews
    May 17, 2020
    *** Note: I received e-copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to PRHGlobal for free copy. *** All the Pretty Things was YA small town mystery that revolved around Fabuland amusement park, Ethan?s death and reason behind Mo...
  • Joanna Bennett
    Jan 15, 2020
    eARC provided by publisher through NetGalley. All opinions are my own. When I saw the blurb for this and it said for fans of Sadie and The Cheerleaders, I was sold! Two books I really enjoyed so I wasn?t going to to pass up on the opportunity to request this. It did keep my intere...
  • Morgan (youarethelibrarian)
    Mar 10, 2020
    Seriously, Goodreads, where are the half stars? I would rate this one 4.5 stars. This book was not what I was expecting, but in the best possible way. There is a mystery, and yet it isn't the focal point of the novel despite the main character thinking it is for most of the book...
  • Lost in Book Land
    Apr 13, 2020
    Hello! It's a new week! I am losing track of my days a little bit but it is a new week and I am hoping for some exciting things this week. I am reading a lot of books right now and playing a lot of video games (mostly animal crossing but my husband and I just finished playing...
  • Lu
    Jan 12, 2020
    I received this book from NetGalley in exchange of an honest review. TW: death, overdose, sexual harassment and assault, suicide thoughts Ivy Cork is the daughter of the owner of Fabuland, the amusement park in her city and during summer she usually takes care of the spinning cot...
  • Tabatha
    Sep 17, 2020
    Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a copy of All the Pretty Things! I dove into this book without reading the description first, because I wanted to really experience the excitement of the story. I will say that I absolutely love this book! The storyline and plot I found to ...
  • Jessica DiTommaso
    Dec 28, 2020
    Ignorance is bliss... Need I say more? All the pretty things aren?t always what they seem. Great plot and premise, average at best execution. ...
  • ~Em~
    Dec 05, 2020
    3.5-4 Stars Reading this book was actually a mistake... but a mistake I'm glad I made! Some of you may have heard of the book, Tiny Pretty Things, which is soon to become a Netflix original series. When I checked this out on Libby, I thought I was going to read the soapy, d...
  • Nicole
    Nov 19, 2020
    A young boy Ethan who suffers from down syndrome is found dead at an amusement park by Morgan. After the incident, Ivy who is the daughter of the park owner returns back from her holiday in bad shape. Ivy who takes much responsibility co-manages the park interrogating everyone about t...