The Flip Side

The Flip Side

Penny wise or pound foolish? A heartbroken young Brit decides to turn his love life over to the flip of a coin?in this delightfully British rom-com in the vein of Jenny Colgan, Rosie Curtis, Nick Hornby, and David Nicholls. To coin a phrase, Josh is suffering a quarter-life crisis. He just broke up with his long-term girlfriend, lost his job, and moved back home with his pa Penny wise or pound foolish? A heartbroken young Brit decides to turn his love life over to the flip of a coin?in...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Flip Side
Author:James Bailey
Rating:
Genres:Romance
ISBN:The Flip Side
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:371 pages pages

The Flip Side Reviews

  • Hilda
    Nov 14, 2020
    ?I guess I just feel I?ve clearly not made the best decisions so far, so why not let fate guide me for a bit? Maybe the coin might actually be able to help me find myself, and love. What have I got to lose?? I really enjoyed this hilarious story about finding yourself with the...
  • E.J. (hauntedburgerplant)
    Sep 03, 2020
    After a marriage proposal that couldn't have gone any worse, protagonist Josh decides to leave all decisions over the following year to chance by flipping a coin. We follow Josh's life over the year as he navigates his friendships, family relationships and healing heart. I...
  • Milena
    Nov 07, 2020
    3.5 stars The Flip Side by James Bailey is an entertaining rom-com about a man who, for a whole year, makes all his important decisions with a flip of a coin. After being rejected by his girlfriend while he proposed to her on the London Eye, losing his job and a place to live, Josh ...
  • Larry H
    Nov 27, 2020
    James Bailey's The Flip Side is a funny and poignant look at a man who has decided to let fate call the shots in his life. He had the perfect plan. Josh is going to propose to his longtime girlfriend on New Year?s Eve on The London Eye, which she has always wanted to visi...
  • Juliana
    Jan 15, 2021
    2.5 stars Josh is suffering a quarter-life crisis. He proposed to his girlfriend on the London Eye and she says no, telling him she's been cheating on him. He loses his job and he has to move back in with his parents. He has nothing to look forward to at all. He decides that for ...
  • Alison
    Oct 14, 2020
    DNF at 43%, I should have realised when it was described as the laugh out loud comedy of the year. Josh thinks he is living his best life, living and working with his girlfriend. Then he proposes and she says no. Suddenly his world falls apart, he's out of work and back living ...
  • Janae
    Nov 11, 2020
    This was quite a fun situation in that we had a male author write a male POV contemporary romance. This was definitely a first for me. The story was original and had potential to be great. However I felt the pace was extremely slow. I was itching for a bit more connection from the m...
  • Jamie
    Nov 23, 2020
    Thank you William Morrow for the finished copy. After a failed marriage proposal, Josh decides to spend an entire year flipping a coin for every decision he has to make. I truly enjoyed this rom com. It was funny. Not just cute rom com funny. I chuckled out loud a few times. The ...
  • M.  [storme reads a lot]
    Nov 20, 2020
    Cute book, I would say put this at the top of your list if you want a book that reads a like a classic romcom. It was like the late 90s early 2000s rom coms, the cute and sweet moments. I was going aw gooey sweet a few times and having a chuckle at other times. Both made the book ve...
  • Gary
    Jul 09, 2020
    Flip Side' is the debut novel by author James Bailey and is sure to be a success. This is far from my normal Mystery Crime novels but was such a great read. This Romantic comedy was an instant hit with me and I rapidly consumed it wanting to see how it finished. It was very light ...
  • Lynn
    Nov 29, 2020
    A lighthearted, fairly entertaining, quick read that didn't quite pull off the rom or the com that it's billed as. The comedy was definitely a miss for me and the romance didn't really kick in until half way through the story. The premise of the story definitely inte...
  • Cat Duffy
    Dec 08, 2020
    This one was a miss for me. The concept is great -- boy gets his heart dashed, loses his job and his apartment, and after hitting rock bottom due to his own poor decision making decides to leave it up to fate and make all of his decisions via coin flip. And the writing is often very wi...
  • Laura
    May 06, 2020
    Would you let the flip of a coin make all your decisions for a whole year? One flip, heads or tails, one choice or another? That?s the premise for James? debut novel The Flip Side which follows Josh and his fate-deciding fifty pence. After proposing to his girlfriend and being...
  • Tripfiction
    Dec 04, 2020
    A romp of a novel set across EUROPE The Flip Side is very entertaining read, perhaps a little in the style of Nick Hornby. It is no great intellectual challenge, but it bowls along very nicely? Josh, the hero of the story, proposes to his long time girlfriend in the London Eye...
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    Oct 28, 2020
    In one day, Josh lost his girlfriend, his home, and his job. Questioning his capacity to make good decisions, he decided to let the flip of a coin take the guesswork out of things. But when it came to "Sunflower Girl", would Josh trust the coin or his heart? This book star...
  • Rach
    Dec 07, 2020
    Josh decides to propose to his girlfriend on New year's Eve on the London Eye. His girlfriend breaks up with him. He loses his girlfriend, home and job in one go. Josh decides every decision he makes now will be decided by the flip of a coin. As the story goes on Josh meets a girl...
  • hamna
    Nov 19, 2020
    dnf @ idk i couldn't be bothered to check. this is the (first and) last time i ever read a book by a (white) man, for reasons such as: 1) they don't actually know how to write. 2) cute animated covers won't hide what a shitfest your plotline is. 3) 28 year old white...
  • Sophie's Reading Corner
    Aug 19, 2020
    4.5 STARS Josh is a 28 year old guy who proposed on New Year's Eve to his girlfriend and she rejected him. Not only that, but they break up and walk their seperate ways. Since Josh was working at her family business and he was living at her place, he ends up unemployed and hom...
  • LianaReads blog
    Jul 10, 2020
    The flip side by James Bailey was such a fun and great story to read. I enjoyed the writing, the characters and the overall life experience of Josh with his turning point in life when the decisions he has to take aren?t quite the best thing he ever has done in his life. I loved...
  • Louise Wilson
    Nov 26, 2020
    Josh is suffering from a quarter-life crisis. He's just broke up with his girlfriend, lost his job and moved back in with his parents. Josh starts questioning all his life choices. Maybe he'd be better if he just tossed a coin. After all, careful planning has made him homeles...
  • Louise Wilson
    Nov 26, 2020
    Josh is suffering from a quarter-life crisis. He's just broke up with his girlfriend, lost his job and moved back in with his parents. Josh starts questioning all his life choices. Maybe he'd be better off if he just tossed a coin. After all, careful planning has made him hom...
  • anna ✩
    Nov 26, 2020
    2.5 stars! I really wanted to like this and be completely swooned off my feet but honestly it just wasn't for me, there was something that felt off all throughout. Thank you to NetGalley and the Publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review. Jo...
  • Katie B
    Oct 09, 2020
    A lighthearted romance is what I needed coming off a previous read that was mentally draining. Thankfully this one really was a cute and fun story. Maybe not perfect, but definitely good enough. Josh's life is a bit messy right now as his girlfriend broke up with him and he los...
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    Sep 05, 2020
    Wowza!This is hilarious, extremely entertaining, ultra smart, sassy, sarcastic, sensational! My cheeks hurt to laugh too much. I?m still wiping my tears but another blasting laughter comes out again ! Each time I remember the tinder date part of Josh( our hero) with his parents? pa...
  • Sylvie
    Jan 10, 2021
    3.5 out of 5 Stars. I had no idea of this book's existence, despite being a big fan of the 'rom-com' genre, a couple of weeks later after this book's release date I came across to it in a bookstore. The cover screamed that it's a chick-lit/rom-com so I decid...
  • Snjez
    Feb 05, 2021
    dnf @ 60% I'm really not enjoying this. The first chapter seemed promising, but the rest of the story is not grabbing me at all. I don't like Josh as the main character and I don't like the storyline. (view spoiler)[Josh meets a girl for a very short period, and n...
  • Diamond
    Aug 08, 2020
    First of all , thanks to NetGalley, The Publishers and The Author for providing me with ARC! When I read the description, I thought "well ,that sounds interesting" and I wasn't wrong. The first half of the book was a bit slow-paced and the events were just so repetit...
  • Annie
    Aug 29, 2020
    When Josh gets dumped on New Year?s Eve after proposing to his girlfriend on the London Eye, he thinks his life is over and when subsequently this means he has to move back in with his parents, he realises something has to change. Despite some initial mocking from his two best mates,...
  • Holly Marshall
    Nov 26, 2020
    The flip side is an adorable rom-com following Josh as his proposal is rejected on New Year's Eve. This leads to a list of things going wrong in his life and this leads him to make the resolution of flipping a 50p coin to make every decision he has to make for a whole year. This l...
  • Nazanin
    Jan 22, 2021
    AHHHHHHHHHHHH THIS BOOK WAS SUCH A GEM!!!!!! It was like reading a Sophie kinsella book but a male version of it. I made me laugh so much, the character Josh was such a sweetheart nothing like the other guys you see in other books. I just loved him so much!!!!! The audiobook was ...