Odessa

Odessa

Three siblings search for their missing mother across a ruined America in this original graphic novel perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Neal Shusterman. Eight years ago an earthquake?the Big One?hit along the Cascadia fault line, toppling cities and changing landscapes all up and down the west coast of the United States. Life as we know it changed forever. But for V Three siblings search for their missing mother across a ruined America in this original graphic novel perfect fo...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Odessa
Author:Jonathan Hill
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:1620107899
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:328 pages pages

Odessa Reviews

  • Jessica Haider
    Oct 30, 2020
    Set at an unknown time in the near future, Odessa tells of an American West Coast that has been left devastated by a massive earthquake. Many people died in the quakes and many more died in the dangerous wasteland of a society that is left behind. People survive by trading goods and sc...
  • Kelly
    Dec 20, 2020
    Spot on calling this good for Scott Westerfeld or Neal Shusterman. For me, the story wasn't as satisfying as the art -- and the palate of pink and black is awesome -- and perhaps because it felt like there were too many fight scenes and not enough emotionally-hefty scenes. WHY...
  • Jen
    May 31, 2020
    Odessa is a amazing story full of adventure, family and survival. I love the characters and it is beautifully illustrated! ...
  • Swati
    Jul 20, 2020
    This graphic novel was overly long at more than 300 pages. It did keep me engrossed, though, in the post-apocalyptic world that had destroyed cities and bubbled up criminals and other unwanted characters from underground, literally. But I felt there could have been less space given to ...
  • Marjolein
    Jun 07, 2020
    Review to follow closer to publication on November 3rd! In the meantime, find my other reviews on https://www.urlphantomhive.com Review to follow closer to publication on November 3rd! In the meantime, find my other reviews on https://www.urlphantomhive.com ...more ...
  • Quirkyreader
    Oct 25, 2020
    I received this as an ARC from Oni Press. Thank you. This was a very thought provoking story. I am looking forward to the next part. I will say this. I kept thinking of ?The Grave of The Fireflies? while I was reading it. ...
  • Mehsi
    Jun 03, 2020
    I received this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review. WARNING: This is the first book. Don?t go in it like me and expect a full story, don?t be disappointed, like me when I found out that after 328 pages there is a to be continued. But yeah, this why I am rating t...
  • Sheena
    May 28, 2020
    I read this in one sitting! I'm not usually a fan of graphic novel but this was compared to Neal Shusterman and Scott Westerfeld so I knew I had to request this immediately. I really enjoyed this, it was heart warming and heart breaking at the same time. I thought the drawings wer...
  • Geoff
    Oct 03, 2020
    Post-apocalyptic stories are far from my favorite, and it takes a lot for something in that genre to wow me. While Odessa was a good story, it wasn't a great one. The pink and black art was interesting, the characters were endearing, and there were some well-explored themes around...
  • Théo M. (bookswiththeo)
    Jun 21, 2020
    Odessa was an okay graphic novel that follows three siblings navigating a post-apocalyptic world in search for a mother that left them and their father eight years before. I really enjoyed the colour palette, and the art style was all right. But I felt that the plot was dragged out ...
  • destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]
    Aug 31, 2020
    DNF @ 50% I feel bad DNFing this because I usually try not to DNF graphic novels, especially when they're review copies... but this just wasn't doing anything for me and since I'm already clawing my way out of a month-long reading slump, I can't justify boring my...
  • Ashleigh (a frolic through fiction)
    Jul 01, 2020
    *Thank you to the publisher for sending me a review copy through Netgalley. This in no way influences my opinion of the book. Ehhhhh. This graphic novel just didn't do it for me. The premise of a journey through a post-apocalyptic world sounded fab, like a huge adventurous unde...
  • Neha
    Aug 08, 2020
    I thought the book was just fine. I thought there were a lot of coincidences that drove the plot forward and I didn?t really connect with any of the characters or their motivations. I did however liked the simplicity in the art style I received a free copy from Netgalley in exchan...
  • Kim
    Jun 13, 2020
    Honestly this was me the entire time: Set in a post-apocalyptic world that has been devastated by a large earthquake, Odessa tells the story of a group of siblings who set out to find their mother. I'm really sad that I didn't enjoy this graphic novel as much as I t...
  • Pavitra (For The Love of Fictional Worlds)
    Jul 29, 2020
    Disclaimer: An eARC was provided via The Publisher and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The Thoughts, opinions & feelings expressed in the review are therefore, my own. I have been on a graphic novel kick lately ? and something about the post ? apocalyptic ...
  • Lauren
    Sep 07, 2020
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for this advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. In a post-apocalyptic world which had been struck by severe earthquakes, Ginny receives a letter on her birthday from her mother who had abandoned their family eight years before. Prom...
  • Farida Reads
    Oct 14, 2020
    * Content warnings: physical assault, death, murder, war, torture, cannibalism, absent parent, child negligence, child abuse and blood. * This graphic novel was just okay. I wanted a story full of adventure, love, cute family moments, action and survival. Nothing much happens in thi...
  • Sofia Marques
    Aug 26, 2020
    This is a dystopian graphic novel about 3 kids who leaves their home and go find their mom in the this destruid and dangerous world. The art it's so simple and so beautiful I really enjoy this story and i can wait to continue reading it. This is a dystopian graphic novel abo...
  • Cinna Marie
    Aug 28, 2020
    Stars: 3/5 Thank you for the free ARC in exchange for an honest review. I'll start with the good things and things I like about this novel. The relationships and the way they were presented in this story was really good. I liked the relationships between Ginny and her brothe...
  • Bandita
    Sep 05, 2020
    This book is set in a dystopian world where an earthquake destroyed almost everything. This is the story of Ginny who lives with her father and two younger brothers. On her birthday she receives a gift from her mother. This convinces her that her mother misses her as much she missed he...
  • Kirstie
    Sep 14, 2020
    Odessa begins with the reader being introduced to a family of a father, daughter, and two sons living in a post-apocalyptic world with zombie like beings as well as gang rivalry. Their mother left the family and the children never found out why. Virginia is tired of her father never wa...
  • trufflebooks
    Jun 19, 2020
    3/5 ? Very interesting world and pretty stereotypical sibling relationships and plot points but overall quite enjoyable. Started out a bit slow but the pacing picked up when I got a quarter in the book. Loved the pink accents of the illustrations but I wasn't huge fan of the...
  • Natalie
    Sep 17, 2020
    I love stories about siblings, graphic novels and dystopias. So why didn't I love this one? The drawing style isn't really my thing. But I like the colours, black outlines and a reddish colour. That fits the feeling of this world very well. The Story started promising but...
  •  *:・゚✧ Isabelle
    May 31, 2020
    3.25 stars I feel conflicted :/ On one hand, Odessa is a very heart-warming graphic novel about a sister and her two younger brothers on a journey to find their mom. On the other hand, Odessa wasn?t much of anything. This graphic novel is set 8 years after an earthquake w...
  • Kira
    Jun 17, 2020
    Odessa is a heartwarming story of three children searching for their mother in a post-apocalyptic type world whilst encountering all kinds of dangers. I felt as though the story was good and I did enjoy the story, although it felt really hard to get hooked on this book. I did read it a...
  • -ˏˋclaraˊˎ-
    Sep 19, 2020
    Wow! This one was pleasantly surprising. I'm happy that I was able to get my hands on this graphic novel, especially since it turned out to be a very promising first volume. My first impressions, of course, had to do with the art style. I might be the unpopular opinion here, bu...
  • Lauren Lanz
    Aug 25, 2020
    It?s a shame Odessa wasn?t all that I?d hoped. Hearing that this was a post apocalyptic own-voices novel featuring Vietnamese main characters really peaked my interest. In a world ravaged by the aftermath of massive earthquakes and societal divide, the Crane family thought the...
  • Alexander Peterhans
    Jun 20, 2020
    Post-apocalyptic fiction is all the rage in these mid-apocalyptic days, at least Odessa's apocalypse is something different to your usual fare - the west of the US has been devastated by earthquakes (think The Big One times a hundred), the East Coast supposedly was unaffected but ...
  • Avani
    Sep 16, 2020
    I liked the art style. It's a dystopian graphic novel set after an earthquake. Three kids set to find their mother. I did not like the repetition in the book. Overall it was good. I liked the art style. It's a dystopian graphic novel set after an earthquake. Three kids set to f...
  • Vanessa Menezes
    Jul 09, 2020
    Eight years ago, after a massive earthquake, Virginia Crane's mother left and never came back. Ginny had gotten used to a life without her mother, helping her father take care of her two younger brothers, Wes and Harry. But on her eighteenth birthday, when she receives a mysteriou...