Persephone Station

Persephone Station

Hugo award-nominated author Stina Leicht has created a take on space opera for fans of The Mandalorian and Cowboy Bebop in this high-stakes adventure. Persephone Station, a seemingly backwater planet that has largely been ignored by the United Republic of Worlds becomes the focus for the Serrao-Orlov Corporation as the planet has a few secrets the corporation tenaciously wa Hugo award-nominated author Stina Leicht has created a take on space opera for fans of The Mandalorian and Cowboy Beb...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Persephone Station
Author:Stina Leicht
Rating:
Genres:Science Fiction
ISBN:1534414584
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:512 pages pages

Persephone Station Reviews

  • Jessica Haider
    Jan 16, 2021
    3.5 stars Persephone Station is an often overlooked planet that has suddenly come to the attention of a large corporation. It turns out that there are natural resources that have only recently been discovered. Rosie owns Monk's Bar in the corporate town. This bar is frequented ...
  • Sherwood Smith
    Jan 04, 2021
    This gay-friendly "gals with guns" space opera hangs on a fast-paced plot that is currently pretty popular in the SF field, the evil corporations masking their power grabs as AI entities explore various ways of being sentient. Add in mostly female characters, with non-binary ...
  • Casey the Reader
    Nov 30, 2020
    Thanks to Saga Press for the free advance copy of this book. ? Mix together a little bit space western, a little bit space opera, and a lotta badass queer women and nonbinary people, and you've got the start of PERSEPHONE STATION. ? The plot is vast and the characters a...
  • Elizabeth Tabler
    Jan 20, 2021
    Persephone Station by Stina Leicht is a dark space opera that will appeal to Firefly fans. The story has that same sort of found family/mercenaries type vibe. Stina Leicht, known for her short story work and The Fey and the Fallen and the series The Malrum Gates, brings us her first fu...
  • Jennifer
    Oct 29, 2020
    I had kind of an uneven reading experience with this book (Which bummed me out, since I was so pumped to read it.) For me personally, the first quarter (third?) of the book was a bit of a slog. I felt like the characters weren't terribly well developed (someone in the story doe...
  • Nenia ✨️ I yeet my books back and forth ✨️ Campbell
    Nov 14, 2020
    Women writing SPACE OPERA??!?!?!?!?!?!??!! is ALWAYS exciting /psa ...
  • Bob/Sally
    Nov 26, 2020
    If you can get stick with it through the first third of the book ? it?s a bit of a slog that manages to both info dump on characters and yet hold back on world-building ? Persephone Station is a pretty kickass bit of dark-and-gritty space opera. Stina Leicht has crafted a fier...
  • Jane
    Jan 02, 2021
    3 stars You can read all of my reviews at Nerd Girl Loves Books. For me, this science fiction book is a miss. I just couldn't get into it. It is well-written and packed with action, but it just didn't interest me. Persephone Station is backwater planet that the Serra...
  • Kahlia
    Dec 17, 2020
    When I read the blurb for Persephone Station, I thought it sounded amazing. A genre-bending infusion of science-fiction and weird Westerns with a predominantly queer cast. And, from the outset, at least one of those things fulfilled my expectations in a good way: Persephone Station ...
  • Melanie
    Jan 01, 2021
    Thank you so much to the publisher and the author for an ARC of this amazing book debuting on January 5th! Angel and her team have a very important mission--to save the Indigenous life forms on Persephone from the corporation that rules the planet. This book is an action packed spac...
  • Sana
    May 07, 2020
    I'm so, so glad to have been auto-approved for Gallery Books because this space opera is one of my most anticipated books and like, the cover is fucking badass ------------------------ 'On the backwater planet of Brynner, at Persephone Station, a community of android r...
  • mary ❀
    Dec 25, 2020
    2 stars. I was pretty disappointed in this one. It had all the necessary elements (diverse LGBTQ cast, planet with aliens, AI, badass group of women), but they didn't seem to add up to much. We had a few different storylines to follow, but I only got invested in the fate of the...
  • Nostalgia Reader
    Sep 23, 2020
    Thank you Gallery/Saga for making this a Read Now on NetGalley for this week. Because, this sounds, just... YES. ...
  • Dom
    Jan 05, 2021
    Persephone Station is a standalone sci-fi novel set on a planet of the same name, one by and large ignored on the galactic stage until a corporation takes a vested interest in exploiting the indigenous population for their knowledge. Pitched as The Mandalorian meets Cowboy Bebop, Perse...
  • Lauren Stoolfire
    Dec 08, 2020
    I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Persephone Station by Stina Leicht is a well-written and action-packed LGBT+ sci-fi space opera that's worth sticking with. It took me about a quarter of the book to really get into it, but by the end I was firm...
  • charlotte, (½ of readsrainbow)
    Jan 15, 2021
    so much pointless waffling and i am begging you to find a synonym for "said" Rep: Latina mc, sapphic & nonbinary mcs, Black Japanese character CWs: torture, violence so much pointless waffling and i am begging you to find a synonym for "said" Rep: Latina mc, s...
  • Delaney Felix
    Jan 25, 2021
    I received an e-arc of this via NetGalley (thank you!) and all opinions are my own. 3.5 Stars. This book starts off running full speed ahead. You get a wonderful cast of characters who are diverse, there is a main character, Rosie, who is nonbinary which is always good to see. I ca...
  • Elaine
    Jan 11, 2021
    I'm 1/3 of the way through the book and NOTHING IS HAPPENING. DNF @ 31%. I'm 1/3 of the way through the book and NOTHING IS HAPPENING. DNF @ 31%. ...more ...
  • Julie Anna
    Dec 13, 2020
    ???.25 Thank you to NetGalley and Gallery / Saga Press for providing an e-arc in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Persephone Station is a planet that?s been largely ignored by the United Republic of Worlds ? that is, until the Serrao-Orlov Corpo...
  • Sara ➽ Ink Is My Sword
    Jan 05, 2021
    excuse me! THIS COVER!!!! omfgggggg!! ...
  • Laura Tenfingers
    Jan 30, 2021
    [email protected]% I loved that this story had only female main characters. Thank you! Is this what men feel like all the time when reading sci-fi and fantasy? I also appreciated the non-binary character. Unfortunately that was about it. The plot was slow to get moving and not interesting e...
  • Mackenzie (bookish_black_hole)
    Jan 04, 2021
    THIS SHIT SLAPS!!!! full review now up on http://colourmeread.com !!! THIS SHIT SLAPS!!!! full review now up on http://colourmeread.com !!! ...more ...
  • Lex Kent
    Jan 09, 2021
    3.75 Stars. This was a pretty exciting space opera. When I heard about a sci-fi book that was filled with lesbian, bisexual, and non-binary characters, my interest was immediately piqued. And of course when I saw the cover I knew I had to read this. The cover art is just so good. I do ...
  • Dee Arr
    Jan 01, 2021
    Persephone Station is an action/adventure sci-fi tale, with enough political intrigue thrown in to lead the story down multiple paths and keep the plot interesting. Angel leads her crew of mercenaries from job to job, and everything is okay until they are accused of a murder they did n...
  • Books with Brittany
    Feb 13, 2021
    3.75 ?? what a fast paced, fun ride! ...
  • Kristin Sledge
    Jan 26, 2021
    Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for an eARC in exchange for an honest review. Persephone Station is a space saga that follows many different points of view, all of them female/nonbinary. It's interesting to see a sci-fi story told from so many female perspectives, as w...
  • Jeremy Brett
    Aug 03, 2020
    What a wonderful, exciting, character-rich story Stina Leicht has given us with "Persephone Station". It's an action-adventure (not only that, but one that's both a riff and a tribute to "The Seven Samurai" and its remodel "The Magnificent Seven"...
  • afternoonsunjeans
    Jul 14, 2020
    July 14, 2020: *gets down on one knee, wipes big-girl-tears away, holds up a ring* I am a lesbian ...
  • Frankie
    Jan 07, 2021
    DNFing this very early, even before the halfway point. I don't know if it's because I listened to the audiobook but this is super hard to get into. So far it's nonstop action without emotional stakes, it's all cliches, and I don't care about any of the characte...
  • Jordan
    Oct 03, 2020
    This is such a cool book. I?m so glad I picked it up off of Netgalley. I?d really been in the mood for a space epic and this book totally delivered. The plot was interesting and intense, the worldbuilding was complex and intriguing, and the characters were well created. It?s also...