A Hopeless Romantic

A Hopeless Romantic

From the bestselling author of Going Home, which Sophie Kinsella hailed as ?fabulous,? comes a novel sure to touch and delight anyone who believes in love. Laura Foster is a hopeless romantic. Her friends know it, her parents know it?even Laura acknowledges she lives either with her head in the clouds or buried in a romance novel. It?s proved harmless enough, even if From the bestselling author of Going Home, which Sophie Kinsella hailed as ?fabulous,? comes a novel sure to tou...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A Hopeless Romantic
Author:Harriet Evans
Rating:
Genres:Womens Fiction
ISBN:A Hopeless Romantic
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:531 pages pages

A Hopeless Romantic Reviews

  • Elizabeth (Miss Eliza)
    Apr 08, 2010
    Laura is a desperate, hopeless romantic. She believes in the dream of a white knight on a gallant steed. From Jane Austen to Georgette Heyer, she has spent her life looking for "the one" who will match her romantic ideal. Of course this leads her to nothing but trouble. She has the wor...
  • Laura
    Nov 16, 2007
    I had a false-start with this book a while back, and decided to wait a bit and start over. I'm solidly into it now, but am occasionally having to backtrack to figure out who a character is (which is why I stopped initially. I was 20 pages in and didn't know who any of these people were...
  • Jenny
    Jan 17, 2008
    I would bet money that this was inspired by Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. Not only is she mentioned a few times but the book is divided up into three parts and there are other likenesses that I don't realize so I'm not spoiling the book. I could have done without the first part th...
  • Bridget
    Nov 14, 2007
    This was a somewhat frusterating book. Its challenging for the author to make the readers care about a main character (Laura) who willingly engages in an affair with a guy who has a girlfriend (they are all in the same group of friends)...and many times did not succeed, IMO. Then, when...
  • Ceci
    May 07, 2008
    I thought that this was a very good book that many 20-30 something singles could relate to. The bad relationships, the day dreaming that the server is your true love... but during the middle of the book is like the author lost the focus of the book. Like she was going in circles and ne...
  • Katie
    Aug 16, 2007
    I thought "A Hopeless Romantic" was brillinat and is the type of book that women (and men) can relate to. I have included a synopsis below for those who might be interested in reading it. A HOPELESS ROMANTIC HARRIET EVANS Laura was a hopelessly hopeful romantic. Cupid?s arro...
  • Teresa
    Jul 21, 2009
    I need to stop reading books by Harriet Evans as I'm 0 for 2. I find her main characters to be intensely unlikeable. I understand the notion of having a "flawed character" but this goes far beyond that. I kept reading hoping to get over my dislike and it just didn't happen. No one this...
  • Nikki
    Mar 13, 2008
    "A heart is a package tangled up in knots someone else tied" Joash Ritter sings in his song "Kathleen" and he's right. Our heroine, Laura, is a hopless romantic and she knows it. Her friends know it. Her family knows it. After a particularly bad relationship, the knots that guy tied al...
  • Deborah
    Jun 13, 2008
    so.. i'm a little ashamed to include this to bookshelf, but it was a really enjoyable read which got me through a brief period of loneliness and negative thinking. it's just one of those good cheesy beach reads. enjoy it for what it is; it didn't change my life, but it added a little m...
  • Tattered Cover Book Store
    Mar 26, 2008
    Fans of Fielding, Bushnell and Lippman will love this book. It's very much in the Bridget Jones formula: 20something woman continues to make a disaster of her life with bad choices, vows to change, struggles with it and nearly misses true love when it crosses her path (or, in this case...
  • Fani *loves angst*
    Mar 23, 2009
    Wow! I was in a mood for chick lit for quite some time, but this book certainly exceeded my expectations; the romance was far more angsty than usual in this genre, which was certainly up to my taste. However, the emotional scenes of heartache were nicely interspersed with humorous dial...
  • Jenn
    Feb 01, 2009
    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I'm really picky when it comes to my click-lit. I don't like over the top stuff, and I don't like smut either. This book was very sweet and romantic, even if it does attribute to the unreasonable standards guys feel that they have to reach (when...
  • Jacob Proffitt
    Nov 24, 2014
    While okay in concept and with entertaining secondary characters, this book peters out around the midpoint and never fully recovers. It doesn't help that Evans spends the first hundred pages establishing a baseline for Laura as weak and pretty profoundly delusional. That's a long time ...
  • Diana
    Jun 11, 2011
    As a hopeless romantic myself, I could not help but be mesmerized by Ms. Harriet Evans' book covers. In fact, another friend bought her book also because of the pretty. We just had to have it. I eventually managed to tear my eyes from the covers, and with titles and little summaries li...
  • Carolyn  Storer
    Apr 27, 2016
    Unfortunately I didn't like much about this book. The heroine was so irritating and unlikable. I was hoping she'd grow throughout the story but she didn't. The dialogue was stilted too, lots of ums and ahs masquerading as endearing bumblings between hero and heroine. Wouldn't recommend...
  • Jessica *The Lovely Books*
    May 07, 2011
    Started out a bit slow but ended up being so good! A classic love story. My favorites. ...
  • Shelley
    Sep 17, 2013
    This was a cute, if very long, chick-lit romance set in London. I enjoyed it. Laura is kind of annoying at first because of the choices she makes, but she evolves as the story goes along. You understand her hesitance about Nick, although you want to yell at her to take the chance. Her ...
  • Rosie
    Dec 17, 2010
    It was the title that drew me to this book. I was once described by a friend as having the "hopeless romantic" trait so I was curious to see what the book was about and how the characters were presented. The novel revolves around hopeless romantic Laura, showing us that living your lif...
  • Nicis
    Feb 04, 2017
    QUÉ TERRIBLE DEBE SER CONOCER A ALGUIEN COMO LA PROTAGONISTA EN LA VIDA. ...
  • Christa绮思
    Jan 16, 2011
    The story of A Hopeless Romantic begins with the introduction of the main character of this story, Laura, a hopeless romantic. Laura is shown as the epitome of a hopeless romantic, always finding herself very much in love with whomever she is currently in a relationship in, or whomever...
  • Nancy Murphy
    Feb 12, 2014
    Okay so I really wanted to like this book. I was excited to receive this. The size was not the issue, it was the story itself. I could not feel sympathy or relate to the main character. Her situations were too many that makes them unrealistic. She comes across as whiny and ungratefu...
  • Jenny
    Feb 10, 2012
    A lot of reviews praise this book, but I seem to be in the minority. The problem is that the characterisation is awful - no one comes across as likeable, especially the main character, Laura. She is completely selfish, whiny and self-obsessed that you don't feel sorry for her when she ...
  • Louise
    Jun 05, 2012
    Well the book title attracts me though..the first 15 chapters well it felt like HOPELESS really, it's so unsettling and exhausting thinking how stupid Laura was in getting trouble falling in Love to an engage man( really hate those chapters):(, but after she realized that she cannot ge...
  • Rolyn
    Jun 17, 2012
    When Laura was with Dan, I badly wanted to punch her in the face and then cut Dan's willy. I am not good with love relationships - given that I haven't been in one all my life. So correct me if I am wrong with this. When you are with someone, you should always ask yourself if be brings...
  • Noushin
    Nov 21, 2015
    Infinitely boring and annoying to read, hence i wouldn't even finish the book. Laura is a grown woman who is going around acting like a lovesick teenager ruining her life over a guy. Although the preview shows that there's more to the story I can't help but feel that its just going to ...
  • Venus Smurf
    Dec 26, 2013
    This book is a good beach read--it's light, has no plot beyond providing a female character with an impossible romance, and doesn't inspire lingering consideration once the book is finished. Perfect for the beach. The writing style didn't make an impression either way, but I can't ...
  • Zoe and the Edge
    Dec 30, 2012
    3.5 Stars There are a lot of things about this book that aren't my style, yet the author pulled it off for me. There's a lot of detail and background information which isn't my kind of thing. Seriously, the hero is introduced at the 30% mark. But it's told in a gentle rambling style t...
  • Rebekah
    Apr 02, 2019
    ***4 1/2 stars*** I don?t really mind when heroines are unlikable at first. I enjoy a good redemption story. Laura starts out as not seeming very bright, despite having an interesting job which she is good at. Her fatal flaw is her self-deluded history of making every guy she is att...
  • Love Fool
    Feb 26, 2014
    LOVE the title of the book and the cover. It just made my heart warm. Despite what people think, I am a hopeless romantic so once I heard about this book I wanted to read it because I knew I was able to relate to it. This was a funny book that made you believe there is love out there a...
  • ♡AbbyBooks♡
    Oct 01, 2018
    It was kinda slow in the begging too much background maybe Idk . It was a cute read but defiantly not a favorite romance of mine. It wasn't the best romance book I read and the story was kind of long so I had to read slowly and that's was hard as I domt usually read so slow but man thi...