Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon

Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon

?A powerful and inspiring story. Guido Rahr?s mission to save the wild Pacific salmon leads him into adventures that make for a breathtakingly exciting read.??Ian Frazier, author of Travels in Siberia In the tradition of Mountains Beyond Mountains and The Orchid Thief, Stronghold is Tucker Malarkey?s gripping chronicle of an unlikely visionary and his crusade to protect the ?A powerful and inspiring story. Guido Rahr?s mission to save the wild Pacific salmon leads him into ad...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon
Author:Tucker Malarkey
Rating:
Genres:Nonfiction
ISBN:1984801694
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon Reviews

  • H R Koelling
    Sep 05, 2019
    Gorgeously written and captivating story of one man's quest to save the world's salmon. Neither too technical nor too filled with fishing stories, this book will appeal to anyone who loves the sport of fishing for native salmon and steelhead. It's told in an easy to read narrative ...
  • sarah  morgan
    Jul 27, 2019
    Thank you, Net Galley and Spiegel & Grau for the chance to read this astonishing book. I chose it initially because of the title. As a native Oregonian, I thought it would interest me because salmon is our heritage. Not far into the book, I realized I knew half the people at the ce...
  • Steve
    Jul 30, 2019
    A biography of the author's cousin, Guido Rahr, emphasizing his work with the Wild Salmon Center and his "salmon stronghold" conservation strategy. Rahr is a unique individual and the story of how developed his conservation credentials and got to be the Executive Director of the Wild S...
  • Schuyler Wallace
    Apr 08, 2019
    As a lifelong hard-core fisherman, I have despaired at humanity?s handling of the salmon?s existence. Totally a slave to its own stubborn fight for life, the salmon?s numbers have greatly diminished in recent years by the incompetence displayed by supposed experts and organi...
  • Sharon
    Aug 13, 2019
    I chose this book on the strength of the publishers blurb, that it is in the vein of The Orchid Thief which I loved, and it?s about saving Salmon, from Oregon and beyond, and I live in Oregon. I didn?t know that Guido Rahr and the author are cousins or that they were children toget...
  • Laurie
    Jul 24, 2019
    Love how intimate this portrait is of someone with such an undeniable passion. It's inspiring to follow Guido's passion and how his focus has brought such focus on his work to save salmon habitat, but also how he took an early love of the outdoors into his life. And no other author cou...
  • ⋟Kimari⋞
    Aug 07, 2019
    You might also enjoy: ? Made of Salmon: Alaska Stories from the Salmon Project ? Kings of the Yukon ? The Good Rain ? Eat Like a Fish ? The Founding Fish ? Four Fish: The Future of the Last Wild Food ? Cod: A Biography of the Fish That Changed the World ? Amer...
  • Carol Coston
    Sep 08, 2019
    What a great read. I learned a voluminous amount of in-depth knowledge of specific salmon habitat and how that habitat literally nourishes our ecosystem. The story is rich, well-written and interesting. A magnificent story of how one man followed his passion and ultimately had enormous...
  • Fredrick Danysh
    Aug 21, 2019
    A biography of Guido Rahr and his efforts to preserve wild salmon in the Pacific Basin. Today, he would be classed ADD during his early years. This insightful book was written by his cousin. This was a free review copy obtained via Goodreads.com. ...
  • Hannah
    Jul 29, 2019
    I don't know whether this book is being mis-marketed or if I just made it up in my head that it would be as informative as Paul Greenburg's Four Fish, but Stronghold was too much a biography about one man I didn't care about (the author's cousin, Guido Rahr), and too little about salmo...
  • Kristen
    Apr 18, 2019
    4.5 stars. Stronghold is a fascinating book about Guido (Gee-do) Rahr and his passion for salmon, fly-fishing for them, and in particular- SAVING them. I am not what one would call a "fish person". I don't fish or even eat much fish, however I am passionate about the conservation of ...
  • Anne
    May 20, 2019
    This is a great read! What a thrilling book about the wonders of nature and the adventures of a passionate conservationist. This is recent history and an inspiring tale. The details are clearly laid out, from the very naming of fish (a cherry salmon, steelhead) to the habitats that ana...
  • Csimplot Simplot
    Apr 09, 2019
    Excellent book!!! ...
  • Lisa Cobb Sabatini
    Jun 03, 2019
    I won an Advance Reader's Edition of Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon by Tucker Malarkey from Goodreads. A must-read for naturalists and environmentalists, Stronghold: One Man's Quest to Save the World's Wild Salmon by Tucker Malarkey is a delightful read ...
  • Nathan Schmidt
    May 22, 2019
    I received an advance copy through Goodreads First Reads, and I am grateful for the opportunity. This is a moving book that connects with you on an emotional level - after all, as Guido learned, to get people to really listen to you, you have to draw them into your story and make th...
  • Jk
    Jul 28, 2019
    I received a free Advance Reader's Edition of this book via the Goodreads Giveaways program and would like to express my gratitude to any involved in making that possible. This book tells the incredible true story of the life and life's work of Guido Rahr. Rahr followed an unconvent...
  • Julie
    Apr 07, 2019
    What an incredible book! ?Stronghold" follows the author's cousin, Guido Rarh, in his quest to save the world?s at-risk wild salmon. Guido, while in his youth a bit of a misfit, was a gifted student of both human and animal nature. This gift was not simply magic, however, but was b...
  • Steve
    Sep 18, 2019
    Tucker Malarkey has done a magnificent job of chronicling the wonder and plight of wild salmon and one man's quest to save them by protecting "Strongholds" where salmon are already thriving. Malarkey mixes science and adventure to tell the compelling story of how Guido Rahr, her cous...
  • Michele Benchouk
    Apr 19, 2019
    This book is an eye-opener on the crisis regarding salmon health around the globe. There were so many points that I never knew about: how different salmon varieties prefer different parts of a river for spawning and how their bodies are built to return to that specific area; how we can...
  • Staci Cannon
    Sep 16, 2019
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it hard to put down, even during a beach vacation. It is a gripping biography of a man dedicated to a sensitive ecosystem that is in peril. I appreciated that the author (Guido?s cousin) did not gloss over her subject?s shortcomings, but cra...
  • Kelsey Hennegen
    Jul 27, 2019
    Yes, this is a non-fiction book about salmon, but it is also an extraordinary story, told with rich language and a fluid, playful cadence. There's this balance between the concrete and explicit (bio-diversity, evolution, keystone species, geo-political history, etc.) with the deeply pe...
  • Frankie
    Sep 03, 2019
    This was more than a read, it was an experience. You do not need to be a fisherman, or fish enthusiast to want to read this book. If you believe in conservation and find beauty in the natural world, then this book will surprise you with it imagery and inspire you with its message. Wond...
  • Jill
    Jul 24, 2019
    5 stars A fascinating look at the world's declining salmon population and the ecological concerns happening around the world. The future is grim if changes are not made soon. I definitely recommend this book to everyone! I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publ...
  • Amanda Harrenga
    Jul 05, 2019
    I was initially intrigued by this book because of my personal connections to nature and love of fishing. This books tells the story of a man, Guido Rahr, and his lifelong compassion and determination to protecting nature, specifically salmon. He creates a "stronghold" initiative and do...
  • Susan Burlew
    Jun 05, 2019
    I thought this book was amazing!!! Before reading it I knew salmon was tasty and good for you. I knew nothing about sustainability. It was just something tree huggers talked about. The author has a way with words. I learned quite a bit but it was not dry or boring. Guido Rahr is one in...
  • Cavak
    Jun 07, 2019
    Stronghold is an extraordinary read. It has a wild streak for hunters yet it's approachable for those who aren't fans. Romanticism for the wild is both embraced and restrained, a curious balance that occurs against unfamiliarity. A fascinating glimpse of a life that may be far away fro...
  • Sharn (Caffeine & Commas)
    Jul 12, 2019
    Stronghold deliverers the importance of our planet, conservation and sustainability in a nice neat adventure filled package! Stronghold chronicles the life and triumphs of Guido Rahr, one of the incredible minds at the forefront of global conservation and sustainability. Tucker pe...
  • Blanca
    Jul 31, 2019
    I received an advance copy of this book from a giveaway from Random House Publishing. Expecting some sort of environmental expos, filled with harrowing statistics and quantitative research on just how devastatingly humans have deteriorated the earth, its atmosphere, and its ecosystem...
  • RoF
    Aug 29, 2019
    I received a free copy from Goodreads. This book is a good mix between a biography and the presentation of a conservation project. The author is a cousin of the main character, which sometimes can look as a risk for her objectivity. I am not a fisherman but I was pleased with th...
  • Anonymous
    Aug 15, 2019
    This turned out to be an even better book than I expected. I wasn't sure if I'd like it. I thought it might be too dry and scientific, but the author, who happens to be the cousin of the man trying to save the salmon, writes the story in a way that makes you feel like you're right ther...