Ayesha at Last

Ayesha at Last

A smart young Muslim Canadian woman navigates the complexities of career, love, and family in this lively homage to a Jane Austen classic. "While it is a truth universally acknowledged that a single Muslim man must be in want of a wife, there's an even greater truth: To his Indian mother, his own inclinations are of secondary importance." With that nod to Pride and Prejudi A smart young Muslim Canadian woman navigates the complexities of career, love, and family in this lively homage to a Jan...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Ayesha at Last
Author:Uzma Jalaluddin
Rating:
Genres:Romance
ISBN:Toronto, Ontario (Canada)

  • Ayesha At Last
  • Ayesha At Last
  • Ayesha at Last: A heart-warming and achingly funny read, perfect for fans of Crazy Rich Asians
  • Ayesha at Last
  • Ayesha at Last
Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.94
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

Ayesha at Last Reviews

  • Sherwood Smith
    Jun 21, 2019
    This was publicized heavily as "Pride and Prejudice with Muslim characters," which gave me some misgivings, but I've been on the lookout for fiction with Muslims that doesn't tokenize them, or double-team Muslims with terrorism, so I went for it despite being somewhat tired of P&P ...
  • Patricia
    Apr 05, 2019
    I enjoyed reading AYESHA AT LAST. Ayesha is a young woman whose Muslim family immigrated to Canada from India. Ayesha works as a teacher to pay back money she owes to her rich uncle. Her uncle has a spoiled daughter who wants a hundred marriage proposals before she accepts anyone, whil...
  • nick
    Jan 04, 2019
    4.5/5 Ayesha at Last was a book I just couldn't wait to get my hands on to because: a) Look at that gorgeous cover! b) P&P retelling! c) Brown people falling in love! d) Did I mention, the gorgeous cover????? I'm so happy that Ayesha at Last hit all the right notes for me. ...
  • Liz
    May 10, 2019
    The editors don?t do this book any favors comparing it to Pride and Prejudice. Other than a similar quote at the beginning and two headstrong characters, there aren?t many similarities until you get to the end. The comparison was actually a distraction, as I kept looking for simila...
  • Robin Loves Reading
    Jun 01, 2019
    Ayesha Shamsi is a modern Muslim and is quite talented as a poet and has the opportunity to share her poetry. However, she works as a substitute teacher. She longs to get married but is not keen on the process involved with her family and her faith. However, Ayesha is behaving quite co...
  • Susanne  Strong
    Jul 06, 2019
    3.5 Stars* (rounded up) Being yourself and following your heart is not always easy, nor is it allowed. In the Muslim culture, arranged marriages are often the norm. Ayesha, however, has never done what her family expects of her. Older than the other girls in her community, Ayesh...
  • ♥Rachel♥
    Jun 19, 2019
    Finding love wasn?t a priority to Ayesha, she was focused on settling into her teaching job while pursuing her poetry writing/performing, her true passion, on the side. Upon meeting Khalid, Ayesha initially pegs him as a stiff, judgmental type of Muslim, not a man she?d have any so...
  • Anna Banana
    Feb 21, 2019
    This was such a great Pride and Prejudice retelling! The perfect blend of sweet and swoony, this modern retelling was everything my P&P obsessed heart needed. I especially loved that this was centered around Muslim characters and family's. It was so great getting to learn a...
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    May 21, 2019
    4 STARS This book was one of my most anticipated reads.I was intrigued,axious and excited at the same time!I really liked most of it, there were though moments I struggled a little bit.Especially in the parts where the two main characters didn't interact very much with each other. ...
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    Jun 17, 2018
    Mini review: DNF GR Ultimate Summer Reading Challenge: Diversify Yourself. When I heard about this book I was really excited! Unfortunately I didn't care for it. As a Pride and Prejudice retelling I felt this was really strong at. I wasn't invested and didn't care much for ...
  • Lisa
    Jun 08, 2019
    I was happily surprised by this offbeat romantic comedy. The novel is billed as a modern day "Pride and Prejudice" but it is not a derivative retelling. Jalaluddin has created something new, nodding to both Austen and Shakespeare. She examines prejudice and narrow mindedness from sever...
  • Anum S.
    Sep 16, 2018
    Certain stories, it seems, will never stop being adapted, either into other genres and settings, or on to various mediums. One such versatile tale is Jane Austen?s 1813 novel Pride and Prejudice. From a British miniseries to a Bollywood adaptation (Bride and Prejudice) and even an on...
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    Sep 25, 2019
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ When it comes to anything that claims to be a Pride and Prejudice retelling, my reaction is pretty much . . . . . I think I?ve read three of them this year alone. Ayesha At Last could have done itself some...
  • Kaceey
    Jul 06, 2019
    3.5* Well played. I was expecting my dose of romantic comedy. But I came away with an unexpected, profoundly deeper read! Heavy tones of race, religion, sexual equality and even fat shaming laced throughout. Yes, this book has it all. And somewhere in the mix is a budding romance....
  • Whitney Atkinson
    Jun 24, 2019
    The premise and characters alone in this made it so groundbreaking and fun to read. I like that this book explored Islam from both a traditional perspective and a modern one, and how those two interact. The representation in this, the wide cast of brown characters, and the way it's foc...
  • Hollis
    Apr 20, 2019
    It pains me to rate this so low considering all the excitement I had surrounding this title, not to mention the brilliant diversity in this particular retelling, but.. If this story had been just about Ayesha and Khalid, with the former's delightful grandparents thrown into the mix,...
  • Erin
    Jul 31, 2018
    Because while it is a truth universally acknowledged that a single Muslim man must be in want of a wife, there's an even greater truth:To his Indian mother, his own inclinations are of secondary importance. All the stars for this debut Canadian author! Ayesha at Last was without a do...
  • Bookphenomena (Micky)
    Apr 20, 2019
    4.5 stars that I am rounding up. I am buzzing finishing this book, I have devoured it in 36 hours as life made me put it down a few times. This was a loose pride and prejudice take set in the Muslim community in Toronto. Most importantly it is own voices written (and a debut). Kh...
  • K.J. Charles
    Jun 30, 2019
    A Muslim romcom take on Pride and Prejudice, where the Darcy character is a fundamentalist. This is pure genius as a concept--we really can believe he knows that little about women, the arranged marriage stuff fits, and it allows us to believe in the utter cinnamon roll under the judge...
  • Meredith
    Jun 21, 2019
    ?Sometimes there were no words, only sunshine on your heart.? Ayesha at Last is a romantic comedy about marriage, love, and family in the Muslim culture. The plot loosely mirrors Pride and Prejudice but also incorporates elements of Shakespeare and other literature. The ma...
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    May 28, 2019
    Ayesha at Last is a modern-day retelling of Pride and Prejudice with a Muslim main character. I loved it! ? ? ? ? Ayesha is a modern Muslim and dreams of being a poet, but she has to forgo those dreams at the moment to pay her uncle back. She?s become a teacher. Ayes...
  • Emma
    Jan 23, 2019
    The ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 3.75/5 stars Full review here When I saw that this book was a Pride and Prejudice retelling featuring two Muslim characters living in Canada I knew I had to read it. I'm always...
  • alexis
    Jan 13, 2018
    Simply the best Pride and Prejudice Retelling... Ayesha At Last is without a doubt my favorite Jane Austen retelling. In fact, it?s the first P&P retelling that broke 5 stars for me. Uzma Jalaluddin has done what no one else has been able to. Ayesha At Last is the poster child...
  • may ❀
    Feb 28, 2019
    i meant to write this a very long time ago and then i forgot oops hehe MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD this book honestly had great potential. judging by the synopsis alone, it basically sounded like the greatest book that would ever grace my life. when i picked it up, i became instantly...
  • Katie B
    Apr 11, 2019
    3.5 stars I'll admit I almost passed on this book because I thought does the world really need yet another modern day retelling of Pride and Prejudice? Thankfully, I went ahead and read this book anyway and I can honestly say it feels like something fresh and different and not somet...
  • Nilufer Ozmekik
    Aug 04, 2019
    Three point five, should I round it up or down ?.Up, down , up down, funk you up, up for fantastically developed, amazingly-rounded, strong hero and heroine, sweet, enjoyable rom-com materials capture your heart by extending through pages, down for cliches, third person narration, up...
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    Jun 30, 2019
    Through a myriad of Pride and Prejudice adaptations, it would be easy to think you?ve seen it all. I am a total sucker for the story, because it is so timeless and I?ve always found the way two independent characters come together to make my heart swell. Uzma Jalaluddin?s novel A...
  • S.K. Ali
    Jan 17, 2018
    I had the opportunity to read this adorable book before it releases to the world! World, you are in for a treat! FRTC ...
  • Miranda Reads
    Mar 27, 2019
    "You're very honest." "I have been told it's one of my worst qualities." Ayesha is in her late twenties, unmarried and works for a living ( *cue the muted gasps of horror* ). As a modern Muslim, she walks through life with her head held high. Her best friend has a live-in bo...
  • Somia
    Apr 09, 2019
    This was a nice read, and in the first few chapters I found myself grinning as somethings reminded me of stories I?ve heard from friends, and in all honesty, what some of my older relatives have said to me about working versus getting married. I liked the fact that there wasn?t a j...