The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library. For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brot The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the wor...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep
Author:H.G. Parry
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:0316452718
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:464 pages pages

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep Reviews

  • karen
    Jul 23, 2019
    NOW AVAILABLE! mine came with a neat little library checkout card, proving the book was previously read by the likes of dorian gray and anna karenina! and soon, ME! ...
  • J.A.
    Jun 15, 2019
    Starred review from Kirkus; touted as for fans of The Magicians , Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore , and The Invisible Library , but not The Eyre Affair ? ...
  • Charlotte
    Jul 03, 2019
    Have you ever wondered what it might be like if your favorite literary characters came to life? You may want to rethink that wish because it might not turn out very well at all. Charley was born with a unique gift. He can magically summon literary characters to life. When they arriv...
  • Emily
    Jun 27, 2019
    This book was on my to-read list, I guess I must have read about it somewhere as an "up and coming" fantasy book. Anyway, I added it to my to-read list and then later won it in a GoodReads giveaway. I wish I didn't have to give this such a low rating since the book isn't even out y...
  • Wendy
    Jun 25, 2019
    Charley is a book summoner--a rare reader with the power to read characters out of their books, though it's much more difficult to put them back, as it turns out. Throughout history, even regular readers might form a magical connection with a certain character, bringing them to life ou...
  • Eugenie
    Jul 04, 2019
    This is well-written fantasy that will appeal to book lovers. It deals with questions of reality, fate, family and love. ...
  • Janice
    Aug 12, 2019
    Rob is used to coming to his younger brother, Charley, aid at any time of the day or night, but he never really comes to grips with it. See Charley can read things and characters out of stories and sometimes needs help getting them back in. Charles is a literature professor at a local ...
  • Amy A
    Jul 24, 2019
    4.5 Originally posted on Vampire Book Club For as long as he?s been alive Charley Sutherland has had the ability to bring forth literary characters from the books where they reside into the real world. For as long as Charley has been alive his older brother Robert has been ...
  • S.
    Jul 05, 2019
    Though not farcical like the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde, this book is hilarious (if you're into classics, mostly from the 19th century, like I have been since childhood) and reminiscent of Thursday Next. One of the five Darcys: ?...I can see him at a coffee shop, with ...
  • Gina Dalfonzo
    Aug 05, 2019
    Drop whatever you're reading right now, and pick up this book. It is magnificent. ...
  • Diana
    Aug 25, 2019
    When I was a kid, I'd read so intensely that when my parents called me for dinner, I wouldn't even hear them. And mind you, I was a child who was not unexcited by the prospect of dinner. In the world of this book, this kind of deep reading, made by the right person, can pull a characte...
  • Tracey
    Aug 03, 2019
    "Liminal space. The space between two worlds. Where the light was strongest, there were no buildings---at least, none of bricks and mortar. They shone through with words. The city at the edge is dissolved into block texts, and the ground under my feet was shifting with printed sentence...
  • Lidia
    Sep 16, 2019
    4,5 stars The only thing I have found negative about this book is length, and only because I wanted know the end. Said this, I like book that speak of books especially those I have read . But also I have apprecciated how the author describes the power of words as tool of knowledge , o...
  • Jenny
    Sep 03, 2019
    I loved it! Fantastic, especially if you're an avid reader and book lover. ...
  • Celeste
    Aug 05, 2019
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher (Orbit US/Redhook) in exchange for an honest review. It?s. Not. Fair. I know that life isn?t. But stories are. Or if they?re not fair, they?re not fair with purpose. I wish I could tell better where stories end and life be...
  • BookwormishMe
    Jun 26, 2019
    Did you ever want to be able to have tea with one of your favorite book characters? Or visit a street in Victorian London? In The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep, you can do those things. Dr. Charles Sutherland is an English literature professor with an unusual skill; he can ?read? c...
  • Jordan
    Aug 31, 2019
    Would someone like to explain to me why no one else seems to have read this incredible book? This is one of those books that left me feeling so utterly satisfied after I finished the last page. Cannot wait to read more from H.G. Parry! Full review to come soon. ...
  • Katie Allison
    Aug 26, 2019
    This is a pretty solid 3 star book. Considering this is Parry's first book, it had some style issues and story meandering that I wasn't fond of but overall I enjoyed the story. I really enjoyed the concept and the way it was executed. I also liked the reimagining of classical fictional...
  • WS_BOOKCLUB
    Jun 22, 2019
    Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest opinion. It will be available for purchase on July 23rd. If you enjoy The Book Jumper, Mr. Penumbra?s 24-hour Bookstore, or even the TV show The Librarians, you?ll love this book. It celebrates the ...
  • Rick Stuckwisch
    Aug 25, 2019
    This is a fascinating and well-written book. It's something of a fantasy fiction adventure mystery, as well as an exploration of literary craft, meaning, and significance. I found it utterly engaging and intriguing on all kinds of levels. The characters are complex, interesting, and we...
  • James
    Aug 07, 2019
    This book was on my radar for several months before its release. The concept alone was enough to make it an instant buy: A character who can "read" literary characters and objects into reality. But even that could have only been okay if it wasn't written right. And this was written ver...
  • Virginia Ingham
    Jun 23, 2019
    What a great read! I couldn?t stop reading very hard to put down! ...
  • Susan Bennett
    Aug 16, 2019
    I generally avoid sci-fi and fantasy novels, but the title of this book pulled me in. It definitely was worth my time to read it...the plot is full of characters summoned forth from 19th century novels. When you first meet Uriah Heep, he is speaking in his 'umble manner and being as ob...
  • Joelene Weeks
    Jun 10, 2019
    As literary invertebrates (aka bookworms) we love books, so books about books are like having our cake and eating it too, amiright?! Enter The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep by H.G. Parry, a story about a man who can bring characters out of books into the real world by reading, and the ...
  • Kathy
    Sep 04, 2019
    This is another case of me DNFing a book not because it's bad, but because I was bored (yes, there's a difference). And I mostly blame it on Rob, the main character. He's the less extraordinary of the two brothers--no magical abilities and a very "straight man" vibe--and I found his na...
  • Tawnie Mizer
    Jul 06, 2019
    So there is one book lately I haven?t been able to stop talking about since I got the ARC from the publisher and read it in a whirlwind of a few days. And that book is the The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep by HG Parry. This beautiful book lovers dream of a story took me aback with it...
  • Sammie
    Aug 15, 2019
    You can read the full review on my blog, The Writerly Way, here Many thanks to NetGalley and Redhook for an eARC in exchange for an honest, unbiased opinion. I've been a huge fan of the idea of being able to read characters out of books since I first read Inkheart, so I immedia...
  • Mary Nguyen (fox & wit)
    May 19, 2019
    Oh this was a delight! As a literature major this book hit deeply close to my heart! This book brings favorite classics to life (quite literally.) There's five Dr. Darcys in this book lol. This is a love letter to literature and academics who study literature. Even if you've neve...
  • Kendall Culbertson
    Aug 24, 2019
    This book has an excellent and exciting premise that just didn?t quite reach what it could have been. It?s about 100 pages too long; the whole middle of the story felt bogged down by repetitive explanations and needed to be edited to make the story move along faster. The characters...
  • Shayne Wright
    Jun 11, 2019
    Goodreads Giveaway. Charles had an unusual birth and unusual abilities. A prodigy, he is a "summoner", one who engrossed in a story can pull the characters from the pages. He learns to put them back or does he? One day he and his brother Rob fall through a brick wall into The Street......