Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows

Thomas thinks he's an ordinary twelve year old, but when a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes gives him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows, the world he knows is turned upside down. Suddenly he?s faced with a secret family legacy, powers he can hardly begin to understand, and an enemy bent on destroying everything he holds dear. The more he reads and discove Thomas thinks he's an ordinary twelve year old, but when a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes gives him an ancie...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows
Author:J.M. Bergen
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:352 pages pages

Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows Reviews

  • Christine,
    Jan 16, 2019
    Thomas is your everyday comic book loving kid with a crush on a cute girl and a best friend who enjoys beating him at doodling wars. With the mysterious death of his father at a young age, Thomas remains fascinated by magic. His father always told him, ?Magic is real, Thomas. No matt...
  • Brenda
    Jan 22, 2019
    It's been years since Thomas last saw his father, but he hasn't forgotten the last words his father said to him, "magic is real." Since then, Thomas has been holding on to those words while looking for someone to take him seriously in his quest to learn magic. He's not interested in th...
  • Al
    Feb 22, 2019
    12-year-old Thomas Wildus is an ordinary kid with an ordinary life ... or so he thinks. When young Thomas happens upon a strange bookstore in his home town, he's handed an ancient book called The Book of Sorrows and given three rules to abide by. In exchange for borrowing the book, Tho...
  • Debra
    Dec 07, 2018
    Magic is real, Thomas. No matter what happens, always remember that magic is real. Thomas has not seen his father in seven years but has not forgotten the above words that his father said to him. Thomas is turning thirteen and his interest in magic has not wavered. One day he sees ...
  • Jessica | Booked J
    Feb 02, 2019
    As a note, a copy of this novel was sent to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not effect my opinions in any way. Review also found here at Booked J. Perfect for fans of The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken! Thomas Wildus and the Book...
  • Lizzy (Bent Bookworm)
    Apr 15, 2019
    ~*Check out all of my reviews over at The Bent Bookworm!*~ ?Magic is real, Thomas. No matter what happens, always remember that magic is real.? Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows feels like the start of something big. While there?s not a TRUE cliffhanger ending, there is s...
  • Veronica ⭐️
    Dec 27, 2018
    *https://theburgeoningbookshelf.blogsp... I?ve read a few Middle grade books with the theme of magical crystals and I?m always amazed how authors can write such diverse stories with the same basic theme; our protagonist must get to the crystals before the antagonist and thus save ...
  • Lauren Stoolfire
    Dec 21, 2018
    I received an ARC from Book Publicity Services in exchange for an honest review. Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows by J.M Bergen is an awesome MG fantasy series opener. I'm so happy I agreed to try this novel because it's a real gem. I couldn't help but become attached to Thomas...
  • April Showers Bring Fungi From Yuggoth
    Dec 24, 2018
    Beautifully lyrical, engrossing contemporary fantasy, THOMAS WILDUS AND THE BOOK OF SORROWS is first in a new series (yay!) about a boy turning 13, raised by his mother since his father inexplicably disappeared one evening when Thomas was but five. His dad's last words told him "Magic ...
  • Jessika Santulli
    Feb 03, 2019
    Summary: In modern-day Southern California, Twelve-year-old Thomas Wildus stumbles upon mysterious bookstore owners, who confirm his suspicion that magic is real. He begins reading a magical book, and strange occurrences invade in his once-normal life. Thoughts: Thomas is a twelve-y...
  • Cassandra
    Nov 13, 2018
    I received a complimentary not for sale copy. The writing style is great and the story glides along in a way that makes it easy to read through in a few short hours. The character choices are very easy to enjoy. I would think that middle grade or even a little younger might really e...
  • Ashley
    Mar 08, 2019
    *4.5* *I would like to thank Book Publicity Services for this advanced reader copy* A fast paced, gripping, chosen one trope story that is great for fans of A Wrinkle In Time, Percy Jackson and Harry Potter! Every time I read a middle grade book I get that same feeling of famili...
  • Dee ~ Proudest Nanna Of Newborn Millie ~
    Dec 23, 2018
    I was given this book to review honestly, by the author J. M.Bergen, through NetGalley. I am happy to offer my review here on Goodreads. In Thomas Wildus and The Book of Sorrows, the author J.M. Bergen has written a wonderful fantasy/sci-fi story for children and teens. With all the q...
  • Stephanie Cover2CoverBlog
    Feb 11, 2019
    I am such a slacker and need to read faster! This book was recently release and I was hoping to have a review up for its release - alas life happens. Thomas Wildus is about a boy whose father is no longer around, but who instilled this belief in Thomas that magic is real. Thomas has...
  • J Aislynn d'Merricksson
    Jan 15, 2019
    Move over Percy and Harry, Thomas Wildus is da house! Welcome to a new world of magic, mystery, and delight! Join Thomas Wildus, eponymous lead of Bergen's Thomas Wildus & the Book of Sorrows, as this young boy begins the adventure of a lifetime. And it all starts with a myster...
  • Montzalee Wittmann
    Jan 31, 2019
    Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows by J.M. Bergen is a book I requested from NetGalley and a book I won but haven't received yet. The books from NetGalley only stay active for a short period of time so I am glad I won so I can have my grand daughters read this book! A magic book, a ...
  • Lauren
    Mar 22, 2019
    4.25 // 5 stars This was SO cute you guys! I loved reading about magic and Thomas's adventure in this story. I especially loved the friendships between all the different characters as well as the fast-moving plot. Full review here ...
  • TheBookbubble
    Nov 04, 2018
    I love the way this book weaves magic in a modern day setting with a real villain, but also with real life problems children can identify with. Thomas is a likeable character who has the admirable quality of standing up for others and a great imagination. The action is fast paced and k...
  • K.S. Agustin
    Dec 17, 2018
    Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows is an exciting young adult fantasy novel and the first book in the Elandrian Chronicles written by J. M. Bergen. Thomas Wildus is turning thirteen. He is a fine boy who loves books, chess, doodle-wars with his best friend Enrique, hanging out w...
  • Jill Steeley
    Nov 21, 2018
    J. M. Bergen has spun an engaging tale of Thomas, who encountered a mysterious stranger and an intriguing book shop on his way home from his Kung Fu lesson. He entered the book shop in search of book of magic, real magic. He remembered the last thing his father had told him seven years...
  • Dachelle
    Apr 13, 2019
    Great book for the middle readers. If your child likes books about magic, this is a solid choice. ...
  • WyrmbergSabrina
    Dec 31, 2018
    Very much Percy Jackson but with magic. I was sent an Arc of Thomas Wildus and the Book of Shadows. A very enjoyable, solid tale that has likeable lead characters, a secret group of people and magic, and a villain who has good intentions but the wrong method of doing things. My bigg...
  • AlessaReads
    Nov 10, 2018
    12 year-old Thomas Wildus hasn't seen his father in 7 years. His father had always told him that magic was real so Thomas is determined to find out when he embarks on an old mysterious book in a bookshop that reveals something magical. Thomas finds out that he isn't a typical preteen a...
  • R. L. Carlo
    Dec 15, 2018
    Thomas Wildus and the Book of Sorrows by J.M. Bergen 3.5/5 stars ? ???????>>??????? This is the story of the first stories, the start of wonders, the beginnings of sorrows. ???????>>??????? ?Magic is real...
  • Catie
    Nov 26, 2018
    Magic, mystery, and adventure, all wrapped in a fun story with relatable characters and worthwhile messages. I'm a high school English teacher, and I absolutely recommend this book. Its target audience is probably the preteen through early high school age group, but it's whole-family f...
  • LaNona
    Mar 11, 2019
    3.5 stars! *I received a copy from a publisher in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts and opinions are my own!* Can a Middle Grade Fantasy remind you of so many other favorite series, but also be nothing like them at the same time? I'm gonna go with yes! This book sets th...
  • Sha
    Dec 21, 2018
    Disclaimer: I received this ARC courtesy of J.M. Bergen through Book Publicity Services. I am grateful for the opportunity to review an ARC for my readers, but this will not influence my final rating. All opinions expressed in this review are my own and based solely on the book. Th...
  • Bergen Junge
    Nov 26, 2018
    I got an advanced copy of this book and it is a fun read with or without children, I am ready to share it with my grandchildren now. ...
  • Alex
    Nov 27, 2018
    Hello I?m 11 and just want to share this review with you. I loved this book and honestly think it could be the next Harry Potter. My favorite things about this book was that it had so much diversity, it had the problems of a 12 year old boy and the problems of a magician, I also l...
  • Shar
    Nov 30, 2018
    Advanced copy review: Magical mystery mixed with interior journey perfect for the thinking middle school audience ...