Start Here

Start Here

Two teens go on a life-changing sailing trip as they deal with the grief of losing their best friend in this heartwrenching, hopeful novel from the author of Something Like Normal and In a Perfect World. Willa and Taylor were supposed to spend the summer after high school sailing from Ohio to Key West with their best friend, Finley. But Finley died before graduation, leavin Two teens go on a life-changing sailing trip as they deal with the grief of losing their best friend in this heartwre...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Start Here
Author:Trish Doller
Rating:
Genres:Contemporary
ISBN:Start Here
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:352 pages pages

Start Here Reviews

  • Kelly
    Jul 08, 2019
    Willa, Taylor, and Finley were inseparable friends, though Finley was the glue holding the trio together. When they were young, they made a promise to sail from their home in Ohio through the Great Loop and down to the Florida Keys to celebrate the end of high school. Unfortunately, Fi...
  • Kelly Hager
    Jul 28, 2019
    I've loved Trish Doller since I read Something Like Normal, but all of her books have been amazing. This one, though? This is my favorite. I love books about friendship or grief or travel, so one that combines all three? YES, PLEASE. Except that's also not really accurate. Finley is...
  • Brianna
    Jul 22, 2019
    This was the perfect summer read and now one of my favorite Trish Doller books. A perfect blend of heartbreaking and hopeful, this book will make you want to sail off on your own adventure asap. Full review to come over at The Young Folks. ...
  • Christina (Confessions of a Book Addict)
    Aug 26, 2019
    Finley was the glue that kept Willa and Taylor's friendship together. Now that Finley is gone (she unfortunately died from cancer), Willa and Taylor's relationship isn't great. In fact, it's downright stressful. However, one of Finley's last wishes was for the girls to sail the Great L...
  • Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
    Aug 24, 2019
    Trish Doller is one of my favorite authors who writes books that don't necessarily sound like my thing. Emma Mills and Tessa Dare, for example, right books that sound 100% like books written for me. Doller's tend to sound much more intense and darker, so, while obviously they've been i...
  • Andi (Andi's ABCs)
    May 31, 2019
    This review was originally posted on Andi's ABCs I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. It?s safe to say I?m a Trish Doller fan girl. I don?t think she could write anything tha...
  • Ginger at GReadsBooks.com
    Jun 29, 2019
    Reading a Trish Doller book never gets old. Each new story she has to tell will always find a special place in my heart. This one is no exception. Start Here is a book about friendship, grief, letting go, & forging your own path. As three teenage girls made a promise to sail pa...
  • Claire (bookscoffeeandrepeat)
    Aug 02, 2019
    Start Here is a young adult contemporary novel that includes elements that can be seen throughout John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Morgan Matson's novels. It had friendships, romance, and "summery" vibes that readers of YA literature can enjoy. This book's a light-hearted read that can...
  • Alexa
    Jul 23, 2019
    Read with Rachel for Friends with ARCs! 3.5 stars. I don?t get to read books that feature travel by boat very often, and I find the idea fascinating (having never done something similar myself, with the exception of ferried), so you can imagine how excited I was to read Start Here...
  • Kristin
    Aug 14, 2019
    ORIGINAL POST: http://www.nerdprobs.com/books/book-r... **A copy of this novel was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.** Start Here by Trish Doller was everything I would want in a great teen fiction novel and more. She guided me, the reader,...
  • Jaime Arkin
    Jul 28, 2019
    I?m not going to lie, I was super worried that when I started this book it was going to be another book that had me in tears because of the death of the main character. I?m happy to say that didn?t happen. Don?t get me wrong, there are some super emotional spots here, espec...
  • Jillian
    Aug 10, 2019
    I love a good road trip! I love a good road trip novel. But Start Here by Trish Doller kicked it up a notch with a sailing trip! When Finley dies of cancer her two best friends Willa and Taylor decide to go on the sailing trip they had all planned to go on after graduation. Willa and T...
  • Michelle (Fitkittymama Reads)
    Sep 12, 2019
    This book hits you in the feels from the first page, and takes you on a roller coaster of emotion throughout. I became very invested in all of the characters and their relationships with each other. I loved almost everything about this book. The characters were real, with real flaws...
  • Natalie (Natflix&Books)
    Aug 07, 2019
    3.5 While this may look like a breezy summertime read, don?t be fooled by the vibes of this cover. This isn?t a serious issue book, but it does have a weight to it that most summery YA lit does not. This book follows two girls, Willa and Taylor who are friends, but not. They hav...
  • Jesse
    Apr 27, 2019
    I could hear the wind and waves sailing with Willa and Taylor while they struggled to salvage their friendship. Sometimes you just need to read about women supporting each other and finding their own ways in the world. ? ?? ? ? ? ? ? ? I could hear the wind and...
  • Amanda Shepard (Between-the-Shelves)
    Jul 05, 2019
    Check out my full review at between-the-shelves.com! Thank you to Simon Pulse for sending me a copy of this book to review! Quite honestly, it is the perfect summer read. Reading about Willa and Taylor's sailing adventures will inspire you to have adventures of your own. Maybe not n...
  • Katie
    Jul 26, 2019
    Soooo goooood! Also soooo saaaad! ? I got big The Last Wish of Sasha Cade vibes from this one (if you enjoy ripping your heart out, this one is excellent), as both feature a best friend who dies, but leaves a little instruction for her friends to help ease the pain when she's gone...
  • Stacee
    Aug 12, 2019
    I?m a huge fan of Trish Doller, so I was beyond excited to get into her new book. From that cover, I was sort of expecting a sort of fluffy contemp, but don?t be fooled. I really liked Willa, but Taylor took some time to get invested in. Both girls are dealing with Finley?s d...
  • Colleen's Conclusions
    Jun 14, 2019
    Start Here by Trish Doller is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jen Malone. It had the same friendships and traveling vibes and it's the PERFECT book to read in the summer or if you're just on vacation. I really enjoyed reading this book and was glad that I have the new Nook Glo...
  • Sarah
    Aug 09, 2019
    I received this as an eARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. After Willa and Taylor's best friend dies of a terminal illness, the glue of their friendship is also lost. The two can't stand each other, but each promised Finley that they would sail from Ohio to Key W...
  • Jessica
    May 27, 2019
    I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review, and as soon as I opened the package, I was really excited. First of all, the cover is absolutely gorgeous -- I took so many pictures for Instagram because I loved the font, the colors, the Pol...
  • Kasey Giard
    Aug 14, 2019
    You know that feeling you get when you follow an author and read multiple of their books, and then a new one comes out and you feel like it has a special kind of magic the others (while they were great!) didn?t quite have? I felt that way reading START HERE. The story seemed to co...
  • Brooke Lorren
    Aug 01, 2019
    Start Here was a beautiful, sweet, emotional book. What do you do when you lose your best friend? This was something that Taylor and Willa had to find out for themselves, after their mutual best friend, Finley, died of cancer at age 17. When Finley was still healthy, the three of th...
  • Forever Young Adult
    Aug 15, 2019
    Graded By: Rosemary Cover Story: Scrapbook BFF Charm: Eventually x2 Swoonworthy Scale: 5 Talky Talk: She Said, She Said Bonus Factors: Sailing, Scavenger Hunts Relationship Status: Summer Summer Summertime Read the full book report here. ...
  • Megan McCaffrey
    Jun 14, 2019
    Netgalley gave me this ARC in exchange for an honest review. Start Here is told in chapters from Taylor and Willa?s perspectives. Willa has spent her life studying and is from a lower income family. Taylor comes from a wealthier family and is an inexperienced sailor, averse to ris...
  • Danielle Tebo
    Jun 22, 2019
    This book has so much heart and is the perfect summer read. Full of adventure and friendship, but more than anything, this book is about strength and forgiveness. It is about believing in yourself and the people around you when you are in your deepest feelings. I loved that eac...
  • Brittney ~ Reverie and Ink
    Jul 26, 2019
    Heyyy guys! I'm hosting a Giveaway for a signed arc and a fun package! Check it out on my instagram HERE! ...
  • DJ
    Jun 11, 2019
    Copy provided by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Willa and Taylor were ready to spend their summer sailing from Ohio to Key West with their best friend Finley. But Finley dies before graduation and the girls have to decided if they still want to take th...
  • reenie
    Sep 02, 2019
    I picked up Start Here because I thought the cover looked cute and the premise was promising an emotional and enlightening rollercoaster of a novel. However, it lacked the emotional punch that it could have and was at best, a mediocre novel filled with clichés that populate young-adul...
  • Georgia
    Aug 31, 2019
    4.5 stars I was first drawn to this book by the cover and as soon as I saw the cover I knew this was going to be a book that I was going to like. I went into this book thinking that Taylor and Willa were already best friends, but their friendship is actually on the rocks. Finley was...