Don't Date Rosa Santos

Don't Date Rosa Santos

Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that's what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you're a boy with a boat. But Rosa feels more caught than cursed. Caught between cultures and choices. Between her abuela, a beloved healer and pillar of their community, and her mother, an artist who crashes in and out of her life like a hurricane. Between Port Coral, the Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that's what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you're a boy w...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Don't Date Rosa Santos
Author:Nina Moreno
Rating:
Genres:Contemporary
ISBN:Don't Date Rosa Santos
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

Don't Date Rosa Santos Reviews

  • Alexa
    Apr 19, 2019
    Buddy read with Kristin! 4.5 stars! This was such a wonderful YA contemporary filled with magic, culture, and a whole lot of love. I loved being able to accompany Rosa on this journey of hers from start to finish! ...
  • Zoraida
    Jan 21, 2019
    This book is just everything. It is a love song to Cuba, to diaspora, to complicated families. It captures the way generations of Latinx women can communicate?or NOT communicate at all. It is about love and loss and grief. It is so absolutely charming and pure poetry. It is magical r...
  • Jocelyn
    Mar 13, 2019
    I was home, and talking about Cuba had no place here. Mimi was never returning, my mother was always leaving, and I was a flightless bird left at her harbor, searching for answers that were buried at the bottom of a sea I could not know. So ends chapter 1. Don't Date Rosa Santos...
  • Laura
    Jan 04, 2018
    Nina is such a gifted writer, and I can't wait for everyone to read this Gilmore Girls meets Practical Magic YA! It's a story about Rosa, an artistic soul with a passion and determination to visit her family's country, a country forbidden legally and by her own family to visit in any c...
  • Anna Banana
    Mar 17, 2019
    I LOVED THIS BOOK SO DAMN HARD!!! I honestly cannot even begin to explain how much this book sang to my heart and made me fall in love with reading in a way I completely forgot I could feel. I loved everything about this book. But what I especially loved was how this book is...
  • Larry H
    May 17, 2019
    4.5 stars. "We try with all we have. We fight hands we can't see. We stomp against the earth and whisper all the right prayers, but sometimes it isn't meant to be. You believe life will always be as it is, and you make plans, but the next thing you know, you're climbing into a sinki...
  • Juliana
    May 14, 2019
    Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for this digital ARC. I will admit up front that I was attracted to this book by the cover and the title. I had no idea what to expect. I actually nearly stopped reading it a couple times because I wasn't being pulled in. I pushed through until...
  • Paige
    Mar 31, 2019
    Video review here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vThbX... I loved Don't Date Rosa Santos! From the very beginning, and all throughout the novel, we are thrown into a world where things don't make sense and that's okay. Rosa feels lost and torn between two different cultures and...
  • Stacee
    May 17, 2019
    I was legit here for the ?cursed girl and the sea? story line and didn?t need much more than that. I loved Rosa. I loved her loyalty and her steadfastness. I loved her need to explore and learn. Her friends were all great and so were the secondary characters. Of course Mimi s...
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    Feb 28, 2019
    Mini review: DNF Trigger warning: Mention of death. Up till the point I read. I received this E-ARC via Disney Book Group and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. When I saw this book on Netgalley I jumped to request it! Unfortunately it wasn?t for me. As I start...
  • Ashley
    Apr 03, 2019
    starting off April with a BANG rtc Ohhh my god. This book was so much more than I was expecting it to be. I will forever be obsessed with fluffy, cute YA contemporaries. This is that with a deeper, more meaningful layer hiding underneath. I wouldn?t say this book always reads as b...
  • Chloe
    Jun 27, 2019
    This had major Jane the Virgin vibes & I adored it! ...
  • Madalyn (Novel Ink)
    Apr 08, 2019
    *4.5 stars* WOWOWOW, i loved this a whole lot. Full review to come! ...
  • Lola
    Jan 19, 2019
    The ''curse'' annoyed me. Like, really? And there's miscommunication, concealment of information, angst. That was bound to drive me crazy. So I stopped right before reaching that point. There is a lot that can make you want to shout in exasperation in this world, why let a book do that...
  • Madi
    Jun 22, 2019
    This was such a fun summer read. I felt transported into a family descended from curses and lost at sea. Lovely writing style and I'm a big fan of the "boy with a boat" ...
  • Angelica
    Mar 18, 2019
    This book was so gosh darn cute. It was everything I didn't know I needed. The culture, the language, the family, the romance, the curse! Everything was so cute and I loved it! My little Latina heart was filled with so much happiness while reading this book. We don't enough cute ...
  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    May 15, 2019
    This was fun and beautiful and sassy and somber all rolled into one and I enjoyed the heck out of it. ...
  • Chanel Cleeton
    Oct 29, 2018
    Perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and One Day at a Time, Don?t Date Rosa Santos is both a relatable coming of age story and a heartfelt and evocative multigenerational tale of three women bound by a legacy of love, loss, and exile. Rosa is a heroine to root for and the charming fic...
  • Diana-christie
    Jun 18, 2019
    This audio book just dragged. I don't like the girl on the cover. Her outfit is horrendous. :) I'm of Latin descent but I didn't connect with these characters or story at all. ...
  • CW (The Quiet Pond) ✨
    Jun 19, 2019
    This book was warm, heartbreaking, delightful, and so so... beautifully human. I adore this book immensely, and adore Rosa Santos even more. - Follows Rosa Santos, a bi Cuban-American teen who lives in the small coastal town of Port Coral with her abuela. The story is an array of ...
  • Sara➽ Ink Is My Sword
    Jan 03, 2019
    Hi hello, my name is Sara and I am confessing my sins. I may have murdered everyone for not telling me about this book earlier. Girlmore girls! To all the boys I have loved before! Latino Culture! Bad boy-tattoos! Contemporary-romance! THE FUCK, I AM IN SO SO SO IN. TAKE MY MON...
  • Priscilla (Bookie Charm)
    Jul 13, 2019
    Wow. I feel so full. I'll carry this feeling of hope and light forever. ?? -------------- I decided to write up a full review even though the above really captures how I felt once I finished and how I feel about this gem now. Nina Moreno created an unforgettable story t...
  • Rachel Strolle
    Oct 16, 2018
    Perfection ...
  • chan ☆
    May 12, 2019
    happy release day to this own voices excellence! 2019 is the year of good ass latinx contemporaries this was a lot of fun! to be honest, i requested it because of the buzz i was hearing from some of my lovely latinx friends but i didn't know much about the story going in. i think...
  • Julie Zantopoulos
    Jun 22, 2019
    A generational story about family, curses, and the price we pay for our family's prior sacrifices. The weight you feel when your family sacrificed so you could have a better life and how that can limit you, cripple you with fear and anxiety and the desire to overachieve. It was a reall...
  • Vicky Who Reads
    May 09, 2019
    please note that my reading experience wasn't perfect because all of the first pages of each chapter were missing so I kept getting jerked out of the story when it could have been smoother BUT this was really good!! ...
  • Natalie ⭐
    May 14, 2019
    I laughed, I cried, and I loved this book. Don?t Date Rosa Santos is about a girl who?s just trying to find her place in the world. Rosa is one of the most relatable protagonists I?ve ever read, and I can?t emphasize how much I loved reading about another Cuban-American girl l...
  • ✩ Ashley ✩
    Mar 13, 2019
    ? 3.5 Stars ? Well, that went from a light, sugary sweet, and fluffy rom-com to immeasurably heavy at the end. Yes there is a love story throughout, but it?s really a story about family. I was thrilled that a PSEO (dual HS/2yr college) student was featured, but the ending was...
  • Cassie
    May 04, 2019
    Thank you, Netgalley, for providing me with an ARC of Don?t Date Rosa Santos in exchange for an honest review! Actual rating: 3.5 ??s. This was the perfect summer contemporary that was equal parts cute but also heartbreaking, which I didn?t expect. While I did...
  • Rocky
    Dec 01, 2018
    I don't write reviews on Goodreads, ever, but I had to for this book. It is everything my Cuban American heart could've asked for in a book, and then some. The romance, the characters, the wit, the writing, the perfect capturing of what it feels like to be the granddaughter of a Cuban ...