Ordinary Girls

Ordinary Girls

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Mlynowski, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters?complete opposites?who discover the secrets they?ve been keeping make them more alike than they?d realized. For two sisters as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other?s nerves is par for the course. But when the family?s fi Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Mlynowski, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Ordinary Girls
Author:Blair Thornburgh
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:Ordinary Girls
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

Ordinary Girls Reviews

  • caitlin
    Nov 24, 2018
    This was funny and charming. ...
  • Tasha
    Jun 29, 2019
    Plum could not be more different than her excitable sister, Ginny. Ginny has a group of friends at their private school, while Plum doesn?t have any at all. She?d much prefer to do advance reading for her classes than engage with others her age. Ginny is about to graduate from high...
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    Jul 19, 2019
    So nothing really happens, and a lot of fancy words are used, but, it was just so lovely to read a YA book where ok so there was some drama, but it was real drama. It was calm, and then a storm might come, but they weathered it. Patience and Ginny lives with their mum in a crumbling...
  • Sami
    Jan 16, 2019
    With shades of Sense & Sensibility, Jane Eyre, and Little Women, this book feels just as familiar and friendly as falling into an old classic. Introverted Plum and dramatic Ginny hit all the strides of a stereotypical sister relationship, but Ordinary Girls follows it through and ...
  • Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
    Feb 12, 2019
    Thornburgh's writing just isn't for me, running heavily on quirk and very literary. I also wanted this to be a retelling, when it's more inspired by based on the opening. Also, another very personal pet peeve: the chapters are SO LONG. ...
  • Tina Hoggatt
    Jun 13, 2019
    A funny, smartypants exterior conceals a loving and emotional center in this angst ridden tale of two sisters at the end of the school year, the brilliant eldest awaiting college entry news and the younger trying to find a way to let her own light shine. Loss, grief, jokes, literary al...
  • Erin Cataldi
    Jul 01, 2019
    An adorable, quirky young adult book perfect for every angsty teen (or adult) that read Jane Austen, Little Women, and Jane Eyre on the reg. Two sisters could not be more different; Ginny, the older, smarter, more frazzled sister is forever getting on Patience's (aka Plum) nerves. Pati...
  • Lauren Archer
    Jun 11, 2019
    What a nice surprise this book was. This book goes much deeper than a typical YA novel, IMO. Plum is a sophomore in a private school, is not that popular, but dealing with an over-achieving sister and a mother who has some of her own issues and a boy that maybe she has feelings for. I ...
  • Amy
    Jun 19, 2019
    This book is so enchantingly written that I want to find a way to get a class set. My freshmen and sophomore readers will relate to the sibling aspect between Plum and Ginny, their fractious interactions in the present juxtaposed next to warm memories of their closeness when they were ...
  • Jennifer
    May 16, 2019
    Review to come. ...
  • Wisty
    Jul 06, 2019
    Ok, this was interesting. Quick read that had a lot of flavoring from different classics and went in unexpected directions. At some points, this felt like a slice-of-life story centered around an old house and the dramatic and quirky family within, but there was also a running thread o...
  • Kate Brauning
    Jun 11, 2019
    This book is so "sisters" it had me calling mine to tell them how annoying/wonderful they are. It's hilarious and genuine, perfect for fans of old movies, weird families, and creaky beautiful houses. Go get it, you can thank me later. ...
  • Kalie
    Nov 11, 2018
    The characters in a Blair Thornburgh novel feel as if they?ve escaped from an episode of Gilmore Girls and that should annoy me. It really should. However, as with her last book, WHO?S THAT GIRL, I found ORDINARY GIRLS inherently charming and brimming with so much heart that any in...
  • Melissa
    Jun 04, 2019
    ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS. It's amazing. And I could spout out a soliloquy about how wonderfully smart and fantastic and important it is, but you should just read it for yourself. It's a quiet, warm, poignant story about the complex and emotional bond between sisters, with a hint of ...
  • Sara
    Jun 30, 2019
    'Peach' and Tate - *giggly shreek* Ginny is so d*mn annoying and immature!!! And EVERYONE ELSE is always responsible for her incompetence. God. When she got told off by her mum and Plum - it was so satisfying. And then... it wasn't She sure had her bad temper and ...
  • Rachel Penny
    Jun 07, 2019
    4.5 stars!! ...
  • Joshua
    Jun 15, 2019
    Very original and engaging novel. I absolutely fell in love with the protagonist and her family. ...
  • fatima♐
    Jan 03, 2019
    saw the cover and I was like "is it gay? is it gAY?? IS IT GAY???" ...then I read the blurb ...
  • Aimee Lucido
    Feb 16, 2019
    This book is so great! Plum and Ginny have an authentic, complicated, nuanced sisterhood. Their voices are funny and genuine and I swear my vocabulary grew three sizes while reading it. Tate is charming and endearingly stupid-but-not-stupid and I loved every minute of it. ...
  • Alicia King Hatch
    Jul 06, 2019
    I know it?s called ?Ordinary Girls? but it was too mundane. Not much happened. ...
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    May 26, 2019
    From the opening, where Plum lamented how she had never been good at beginnings, I found myself totally engrossed with her storytelling and this tale. There was something about Plum's voice, that made me want to get to know her better, and I could not the resist the charm and allure of...
  • Book
    Feb 16, 2019
    This was really a delightful read. ...
  • Colline Vinay Kook-Chun
    Jun 20, 2019
    I expected a retelling of Sense and Sensibility and I was a little disappointed ? the connection to Austen?s novel is very slim as there is too much that has been changed. Yes, the story describes the relationship between two sisters who are trying to find themselves in the world b...
  • Sarai Davila
    Jul 12, 2019
    This book was extremely underwhelming for me. I love Sense and Sensibility, so I was pretty excited to read a modern adaptation of it, since I think it's a bit of an underutilized story. But this book just didn't capture the original spirit for me, nor did it inspire in me any of the f...
  • High Plains Library District
    Jul 20, 2019
    Long have I awaited a young adult novel so beautifully crafted as Ordinary Girls, although the girls in this story are not so ordinary. As daughters of a well-commended novelist, at least in their social circle, there is pressure to perform, socially and academically. Plum is content t...
  • Kidlitter
    May 17, 2019
    A DRC was provided by Edelweiss in exchange for a fair, honest and sometimes cranky review. A treat, for aspiring literary snobs and those who enjoy a good sisterly yarn, loosly inspired by Austen, Bronte (all three) and Dodie Smith (I Captured the Castle,) all of whom knew quite a ...
  • Rachel Strolle
    Mar 05, 2019
    I really liked this. It was like little vignettes within larger acts and very different from WHO'S THAT GIRL ...
  • Misti
    Jun 15, 2019
    It?s a tumultuous year for sisters Ginny and Plum, as Ginny agonizes over college applications, their family struggles financially, and Plum forms a secret friendship (or maybe more?) with one of the most unlikely boys she can imagine. I had heard that this was inspired by Sense a...
  • Regan
    Jun 08, 2019
    See more at instagram.com/bookstolivewith Ordinary Girls is the sort of book that I would?ve absolutely clung to in middle school ? and as a full grown adult, it was still insanely enjoyable! Loosely based on Sense and Sensibility, two sisters, Plum and Ginny, are experienc...
  • Sasha Wichita
    Mar 10, 2019
    Ordinary Girls is an original, heartfelt story about two sisters in high school. Their circumstances are relatable but the setting is fresh - they live in a crumbling house from the 1800's that is a character in itself. Plum and Ginny's financial troubles are a compelling force in the ...