Ordinary Girls

Ordinary Girls

Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Mlynowski, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense and Sensibility follows two sisters?complete opposites?who discover the secrets they?ve been keeping make them more alike than they?d realized. For two sisters as different as Plum and Ginny, getting on each other?s nerves is par for the course. But when the family?s fi Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Mlynowski, this heartfelt and humorous contemporary take on Sense...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Ordinary Girls
Author:Blair Thornburgh
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:Ordinary Girls
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:368 pages pages

Ordinary Girls Reviews

  • Mel
    Sep 16, 2019
    Great dialogue. Expansive vocabulary. Wonderful relationship between sisters. But no point or plot to this book. ...
  • Patricia
    Sep 03, 2019
    Holy cats, this book was fun! We've got a sister story, we've got a large, rambling, moldering house story, we've got a quirky family story, we've got an outsider story and we've got it all packaged together with sparkling writing, and astute observations. If you're a Jane Austin fa...
  • Tasha
    Jun 29, 2019
    Plum could not be more different than her excitable sister, Ginny. Ginny has a group of friends at their private school, while Plum doesn?t have any at all. She?d much prefer to do advance reading for her classes than engage with others her age. Ginny is about to graduate from high...
  • DaNae
    Oct 12, 2019
    Any book with an offhand Gilbert Blythe reference gets a one star bump. All the literary references here are marvelous. I had a hard time reconciling the Sense and Sensibility parallels until I took romance and gender out of the equation and then it all made sense. ...
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    Jul 19, 2019
    So nothing really happens, and a lot of fancy words are used, but, it was just so lovely to read a YA book where ok so there was some drama, but it was real drama. It was calm, and then a storm might come, but they weathered it. Patience and Ginny lives with their mum in a crumbling...
  • Sami
    Jan 16, 2019
    With shades of Sense & Sensibility, Jane Eyre, and Little Women, this book feels just as familiar and friendly as falling into an old classic. Introverted Plum and dramatic Ginny hit all the strides of a stereotypical sister relationship, but Ordinary Girls follows it through and ...
  • Rebecca
    Aug 13, 2019
    In her family of three (her father died ten years ago), 15 year old Plum is the sensible, logical, not-brilliant one. Her older sister Ginny is the hyper-sensitive, melodramatic, brilliant one, whose moods rule their lives. Right now, Ginny is panicking about college (she's always pani...
  • Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
    Feb 12, 2019
    Thornburgh's writing just isn't for me, running heavily on quirk and very literary. I also wanted this to be a retelling, when it's more inspired by based on the opening. Also, another very personal pet peeve: the chapters are SO LONG. ...
  • Nori
    Aug 31, 2019
    It took me a minute to get into the writing style here. At first, it read like the author was trying too hard to sound smart...and it came off as pretentious....but then, magic happened. It was Anne of Green Gables and Little Women And Sense and Sensibility, all rolled into one . The w...
  • Tina Hoggatt
    Jun 13, 2019
    A funny, smartypants exterior conceals a loving and emotional center in this angst ridden tale of two sisters at the end of the school year, the brilliant eldest awaiting college entry news and the younger trying to find a way to let her own light shine. Loss, grief, jokes, literary al...
  • Erin Cataldi
    Jul 01, 2019
    An adorable, quirky young adult book perfect for every angsty teen (or adult) that read Jane Austen, Little Women, and Jane Eyre on the reg. Two sisters could not be more different; Ginny, the older, smarter, more frazzled sister is forever getting on Patience's (aka Plum) nerves. Pati...
  • Lauren Archer
    Jun 11, 2019
    What a nice surprise this book was. This book goes much deeper than a typical YA novel, IMO. Plum is a sophomore in a private school, is not that popular, but dealing with an over-achieving sister and a mother who has some of her own issues and a boy that maybe she has feelings for. I ...
  • Amy
    Jun 19, 2019
    This book is so enchantingly written that I want to find a way to get a class set. My freshmen and sophomore readers will relate to the sibling aspect between Plum and Ginny, their fractious interactions in the present juxtaposed next to warm memories of their closeness when they were ...
  • Jennifer
    May 16, 2019
    Review to come. ...
  • Kate Brauning
    Jun 11, 2019
    This book is so "sisters" it had me calling mine to tell them how annoying/wonderful they are. It's hilarious and genuine, perfect for fans of old movies, weird families, and creaky beautiful houses. Go get it, you can thank me later. ...
  • Kalie
    Nov 11, 2018
    The characters in a Blair Thornburgh novel feel as if they?ve escaped from an episode of Gilmore Girls and that should annoy me. It really should. However, as with her last book, WHO?S THAT GIRL, I found ORDINARY GIRLS inherently charming and brimming with so much heart that any in...
  • Book Hunter
    Sep 28, 2019
    This is a story of two sisters that could not be more different ? 15 year old Plum is the sensible, logical, not-brilliant one and her older sister Ginny is the hyper-sensitive, melodramatic, smart one. This book was a nice surprise. I thoroughly enjoyed it and laughed aloud quite of...
  • Melissa
    Jun 04, 2019
    ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS. It's amazing. And I could spout out a soliloquy about how wonderfully smart and fantastic and important it is, but you should just read it for yourself. It's a quiet, warm, poignant story about the complex and emotional bond between sisters, with a hint of ...
  • Roberta Weiner
    Jun 30, 2019
    A Young Adult book spot-on for the kind of bookish girl who would reference Little Women and Anne of Green Gables in casual conversation, and imagine her life as a character in a Jane Austen novel. Specifically Sense and Sensibility, of which this is a reimagining. Not sure how many of...
  • Rachel Penny
    Jun 07, 2019
    4.5 stars!! ...
  • Jill Jemmett
    Oct 08, 2019
    This was a great story about sisters. I flew through this book. I loved the way that Patience narrated it. She was very mature. It sounded like a Victorian novel, though the subject matter wouldn?t have been in a novel in the nineteenth century. I enjoyed the family dynamic of ...
  • Corinne Wilson
    Aug 10, 2019
    The Blatchley sisters' huge ramsackle house is strewn with pets, copies of Jane Eyre and Little Women, paintings by their mother, DVDs of Jeeves and Wooster/old classic movies/Jane Austen adaptations, and family inside jokes. It would definitely have appealed to teenage me, so I picked...
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    May 26, 2019
    From the opening, where Plum lamented how she had never been good at beginnings, I found myself totally engrossed with her storytelling and this tale. There was something about Plum's voice, that made me want to get to know her better, and I could not the resist the charm and allure of...
  • Colline Vinay Kook-Chun
    Jun 20, 2019
    I expected a retelling of Sense and Sensibility and I was a little disappointed ? the connection to Austen?s novel is very slim as there is too much that has been changed. Yes, the story describes the relationship between two sisters who are trying to find themselves in the world b...
  • Sarai Davila
    Jul 12, 2019
    This book was extremely underwhelming for me. I love Sense and Sensibility, so I was pretty excited to read a modern adaptation of it, since I think it's a bit of an underutilized story. But this book just didn't capture the original spirit for me, nor did it inspire in me any of the f...
  •  Amelia
    Sep 08, 2019
    I've just wasted several hours of my life on complete nonsense. This book has no plot, no likeable characters I could root for, no character development, no good writing, NOTHING. I don't understand how this book has such high ratings because I literally cannot tell you what this ...
  • Rec-It Rachel
    Mar 05, 2019
    I really liked this. It was like little vignettes within larger acts and very different from WHO'S THAT GIRL ...
  • Misti
    Jun 15, 2019
    It?s a tumultuous year for sisters Ginny and Plum, as Ginny agonizes over college applications, their family struggles financially, and Plum forms a secret friendship (or maybe more?) with one of the most unlikely boys she can imagine. I had heard that this was inspired by Sense a...
  • Sasha Wichita
    Mar 10, 2019
    Ordinary Girls is an original, heartfelt story about two sisters in high school. Their circumstances are relatable but the setting is fresh - they live in a crumbling house from the 1800's that is a character in itself. Plum and Ginny's financial troubles are a compelling force in the ...
  • 17wynnh101
    Sep 11, 2019
    I really enjoyed this book because it was about everyday life so I could relate to it. I found it funny and relatable however not much went on throughout it. There was a good ending because at the struggles the girls were going through were resolved. I would recommend it to girls. ...