Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime

Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers." --Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind-the-scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcement A 19-year-old Romanian s "Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers." --Linda Fairste...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime
Author:Kate Fazzini
Rating:
Genres:Nonfiction
ISBN:1250201349
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime Reviews

  • Emi Bevacqua
    May 25, 2019
    From the outset Fazzini tells us these are stories, but the way they overlapped gave me false hope that all would merge and culminate in a comprehensive ending to all the various cybershenanigans: Party Girl Renč Kreutz in Romania evolves into a hacker involved quite heroically with d...
  • Rob
    Aug 17, 2019
    Seems to suffer in overall impact by the short length. But another of those OMG books. ...
  • Carin
    Jun 06, 2019
    Cybercrime is something that sounds foreign, and yet it affects us every day. When you have to go get your credit card to type in the security code from the back, when you have to enter your zip code at the gas pump, or when you have to remember any of your seventy-thousand increasingl...
  • Jeremy Brooks
    Jul 03, 2019
    Somewhat interesting, but very scattered. It felt disjointed; there was no clear connection between all of the various players, and it felt like characters and stories just ended without any real resolution. Read more like a collection of notes about various people than a book. ...
  • Michaela
    Jun 26, 2019
    Worth read alone for Russian car hacker's advice to his son: avoid high-value-target locations, don't trust anyone asking you for money or tells you a sob story too soon after meeting you, never share personal information until you've known someone well over a year, if someone tells yo...
  • Annarella
    Aug 11, 2019
    I found this book engrossing and informative even if sometimes it's a bit hard to follow. I work in a high tech company so I was attracted by the blurb and I can say it met all my expectations. Recommended! Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mi...
  • Whitney
    Jul 03, 2019
    I can't turn down a "in the minds of cybercriminals" book. I just can't. But with this one, I wish there were multiple ratings options in GR, because I had a blast reading this book, but the writing really really could have been better. It jumped back and forth between people and sc...
  • Daniel
    Jul 19, 2019
    This book was easy and quick to read. I liked reading about the different things that each of the people in this book did. Sig had a company that infected computers with ransomware. Victor hacked cars, chou stole company's data. Rene was not good at using computers but, she could tal...
  • Rebecca
    Jun 10, 2019
    A tiny bit choppy and truncated, but a fascinating read. I'm obsessed with cybersecurity now. (I received an ARC via my workplace #indigoemployee) ...
  • Jason Larsen
    Jul 15, 2019
    I expected to read more of an in-depth reality of what was going on in the world of cybersecurity today. Instead, it was a flourished, semi-real (I think) story of of cybercrime of about 5 years ago. It was a decent, quick read. Not as educational as I would have hoped. ...
  • Liz
    Jun 04, 2019
    2.5 stars, rounded up I?m not a big fan of nonfiction, but the world of hackers is so much in the news nowadays, I was intrigued. The city of Baltimore?s computer system is being held for ransom as I write this. I can?t say I cared for Fazzini?s writing style. There?s ...
  • Ilana
    May 27, 2019
    Former cybersecurity executive and journalist Kate Fazzini is sharing in the Kingdom of Lies everyday stories from the dark world of cybercrime. The complexity of human beings and the ambiguity of human nature offer both a simple explanation for the latest dramatic development in the f...
  • Dora Okeyo
    Jun 19, 2019
    This is an interesting dive into cybercrime and it gives the reader accounts of these from both victims and whom we'd call the perpetrators. It doesn't offer anything new on the stories shared in the media on cyber crime however the narration draws you in to understand and encounter ...
  • Anneke
    May 27, 2019
    Book Review: Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures In the World of Cybercrime Author: Kate Fazzini Publisher: St. Martin?s Press Publication Date: June 11, 2019 Review Date: May 27, 2019 I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Fr...
  • Brian
    Apr 21, 2019
    Kate Fazzini takes the reader into the shadowy world of white hat and black hat hackers as she looks at the people who work at bank and those who try to hack the banks and precipitates other cyber frauds. The names, locations and companies are changed to protect those who give informat...
  • Casey Wheeler
    Apr 28, 2019
    This book is an interesting read from the perspective that I learned a few things, but it is more of an overview of the subject and does not get down into the more detailed aspects of cybercrime that I was expecting from the description. That said, I found this book a quick and enjoyab...
  • Chunyang Ding
    Jul 20, 2019
    Absolutely atrocious writing, with the only redeeming quality being the interesting subject matter. Fazzini tries to take us into the minds of the many characters, but noone is sufficiently fleshed out enough to be a mere caricature of a person. The writing style, which progresses chro...
  • Charlie Nagelschmidt
    Jul 12, 2019
    A quick read of the cyberculture and ransomware. Good insight into the cyber world without being too technical. Reads like a movie script (which I suspect it will be) much like Aaron Sorkin or Michael Lewis. ...
  • Edwin Howard
    Jun 07, 2019
    KINGDOM OF LIES, by Kate Fazzini, jumps deep into the world of cybersecurity. Fazzini follows characters not just on the lawful side and the unlawful side, but many who allegiance to right and/or wrong is irrelevant; people who are most concerned with what project stimulates them and p...
  • Cristie Underwood
    Jun 15, 2019
    The author's writing style jumps all over the place, so I didn't enjoy this as much as I could have. However, I found the information presented about hacking to be timely and very relevant. ...
  • Brandon Forsyth
    Mar 31, 2019
    I think my expectations were raised a little by the blurb likening Fazzini to ?the Michael Lewis of cybercrime?, and the story never really flows or seems as well-drawn as Mr. Lewis is capable of. But that?s obviously a really unfair bar to compare against. For such a difficult s...
  • Diane Hernandez
    Jun 16, 2019
    Kingdom of Lies is an eye-opening look into the shadowy world of cyber hacking. However, much of the story has already been told by other media. Individual stories of hacking make for compelling reading. The stories are told from both the criminal and victim?s point-of-view. Howev...
  • Comrade Doggo
    Jul 02, 2019
    suspenseful, a bit of a jewel, but way too short. ...
  • Meagan Houle
    Jul 24, 2019
    I've been interested in cybersecurity since my very first run-in with malware in 2009. It was one of those drive-by downloads that cluttered my screen with fear-mongering notifications until I figured out how to uninstall the program, and the stress of that encounter fed a lasting preo...
  • Lynn Kelly
    Jul 03, 2019
    The author of this book is my husband?s niece, Kate Fazzini. Kingdom of Lies opened up the world of hackers, both good and bad, for me. It shows how multi-leveled they are and working independently. Don?t forget to read The Author?s Note in the end. ...
  • David Wineberg
    May 26, 2019
    Kingdom of Lies is an unfinished proposal of a book. Kate Fazzini has fashioned her digging into the world of hacking into a story that is at once fascinating and rich, and also disjointed and pointless. Fazzini has molded numerous stereotypes into real characters, leading real live...
  • Ashley
    Jun 26, 2019
    Really engaging book - I read the entire thing in less than 4 hours because from the very first page, Kate Fazzini had me hooked. She does a phenomenal job of telling these stories in such a way that each person's personality shines through - even though she's writing in the third pers...
  • Elena MtlCa
    Jul 29, 2019
    If this is actually a book I'm the queen of St. Martin's Press. Guys, did you actually fact-checked? Minimally? Style is absent and the content is about as true as "spring" meaning, in Romanian, "arc". Hint: it doesn't. But what's to be expected when the she-superhacker was produced by...
  • Brian Miller
    Jun 10, 2019
    I went in to this book very hopeful as it is a very interesting subject and one that I know little about. I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It is a very well written book that adds the human layer to a book about unseen computer hacking. You always hear about how Russia, North K...
  • Tina
    Mar 26, 2019
    I received an Advanced Readers Copy of this book and immediately put it in my 'to read next' pile. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down. It truly is an adventure and was massively interesting to read about how different factors in the cyber world work their scams, their people,...