We Cast a Shadow

We Cast a Shadow

A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout , about a father who will do anything to protect his son--even if it means turning him white. How far would you go to protect your child? Our narrator faces an impossible decision. Like any father, he just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is growing larg A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout , about ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:We Cast a Shadow
Author:Maurice Carlos Ruffin
Rating:
Genres:Fiction
ISBN:0525509062
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

We Cast a Shadow Reviews

  • jo
    Feb 17, 2019
    in the new york times Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah does a great job of summarizing this book, so i refer you to his review for a sense of what this novel is about. for me, reading this novel felt like having a hard meeting with despair. look, this is satirical, on a level, so some of i...
  • OutlawPoet
    Oct 24, 2018
    As I began to write this review, I asked myself: how do I write this review in such a way that I don?t offend white people? And then the irony of that question hit me like a punch in the gut. In We Cast a Shadow, our main character and most black Americans have spent their liv...
  • Mainlinebooker
    Dec 27, 2018
    Ruffin is a masterful writer, bold, satiric, and filled with dark humor. Many people will be drawn to his style as he powerfully elucidates the problem of racism in this novel. Nigel, a biracial child of a black father and white mother presents to the world a white complexion "tainted"...
  • Beverly
    Jan 22, 2019
    A Necessary Read! A brilliantly unsettling tale set in the not-so-distance future southern state, a Black father seeks to ensure that his biracial son lives his life to his fullest potential, which means not to be identified as a Black man. A well-thought out plot skillfully exe...
  • Roxane
    Jul 29, 2018
    Maurice Carlos Ruffin?s debut novel, We Cast A Shadow, is an incisive and necessary work of brilliant satire. Set in the post-post-racial South, We Cast a Shadow tells the story of a man, one of the few black men at his law firm, desperate to pay for his biracial son to undergo demel...
  • Monica **can't read fast enough**
    Mar 11, 2019
    I really appreciated the themes of the story but I didn't love how it was told. I'm not going to go into detail about this one because I don't have particularly strong feelings one way or another for it. I will pick up another story written by Ruffin. It may simply be that I don't enjo...
  • Kasa Cotugno
    Nov 18, 2018
    This is the latest novel to explain and deal with the issue of racism in America employing fantasy, magic realism, dystopian concepts, call it what you will. From Underground Railway, to White Tears, to Underground Airlines, to Sing Unburied Sing, among others, authors have eschewed re...
  • Didi
    Feb 24, 2019
    This debut novel explores racism in the United States through an unknown black man. He is one of very few blacks that works there. At the opening of the book he attends a costume work party at one of the partners' home in hopes of maybe impressing them to get a promotion. He wants the ...
  • Esil
    Jan 25, 2019
    3+ stars We Cast a Shadow is a dystopian satire ? if there is such a genre. Intellectually, I thought it was brilliant. But I must admit that I didn?t love reading it. It was a question of genre and style rather than content. Set at some point in the future in the US, life for A...
  • Jessica Woodbury
    Feb 25, 2019
    I thought it would be a very long time before I could say of a new book, "If you enjoyed how uncomfortable THE SELLOUT made you feel, have I got a book for you!" But here we are, and WE CAST A SHADOW is that book. This is a book that is going to pull at every single thing you know a...
  • Bandit
    Oct 09, 2018
    This book was touted as being in the same ballpark as Sellout and Get Out. It might have seemed like a good idea to throw this in with two such popular things, but for me it was a turn off. Though I?m glad not so much as to prevent from checking it out. Initial attraction was that go...
  • Maurice Ruffin
    Feb 14, 2019
    I like the cover. =M= ...
  • Andre
    Apr 12, 2019
    The initial question that one grapples with here; Can one show love or teach love if said one doesn?t love himself? The unnamed Black narrator is an attorney at a prestigious law firm, and so has accomplished himself against all odds in a near future society that is hell bent on the ...
  • Kayle Barnes
    Apr 09, 2019
    What a book! From the initial reviews I read, I was intrigued about this father who would do anything to protect his mixed-race son from the racist systems that have always conspired against black and brown bodies. Ruffin weaves a fantastical and all too real story about the limits of ...
  • Michelle
    Mar 06, 2019
    Review Edit: 3/19/19: Maybe this was the point given the narrator's use of drugs, but I felt like I needed to be on drugs while reading this. It's like that scene in the Leonardo DiCaprio/Claire Danes version of Romeo & Juliet, where Romeo takes ecstasy and everything is spinnin...
  • Miguel
    Apr 17, 2019
    This was a difficult book for me to get through. Not because of the writing but by seeing too much of myself in the main protagonist. I am a multi-racial father of a multi-racial son. This story resonated so much with me and wanting to 'protect' my son from the injustices of this world...
  • Erin Glover
    Feb 21, 2019
    I confess. I laughed at racially insensitive jokes. I don?t know how Ruffin does it. He takes satire to a whole new level. The exaggeration of our southern culture?s insidious racial prejudice barely misses being over the top, staying well within the range of hilarious. Some of the...
  • Jaclyn Crupi
    Jan 07, 2019
    My literary happy place ? brilliantly cutting satire. In the tradition of Delicious Foods, The Sellout, Welcome to Braggsville and Blackass, We Cast a Shadow uses razor sharp satire to dissect racism in America. It?s piercing, perceptive and provocative. It?s funny and weird and ...
  • Casey
    Jan 03, 2019
    Probably the most literary work to date that without pretenses attacks racial issues of today, but puts it in a not to distant future. The narrator, who never states his name; tries to balance what he thinks is good for his son and what is right no matter the personal cost. (hint:...
  • Kara Leann
    Jan 13, 2019
    Thank you to One World and Random House for providing a free copy via Netgalley. This beautifully written book is thought provoking and very timely given the society we are living in today. I thought it gave a scary insight into what we could become if we leave the racism in today's s...
  • (Bern) Mom to 2 Posh Lil Divas
    Jan 16, 2019
    3.75 thought-provoking stars for this racially charged work of satirical fiction! Set in a satirical future south, We Cast a Shadow tells the racially fueled dystopian story of a black man desperate to pay for his biracial son's demelanization process. In this future world race is ...
  • Michelle
    Jan 21, 2019
    Release date January 29th! We Cast a Shadow is a debut novel by Maurice Carlos Ruffin that takes place in the near future. Still plagued by racial discrimination blacks now have the option to achieve ultimate assimilation. The story follows an unnamed African American male narra...
  • Sarah
    Jan 16, 2019
    3.5 stars. We Cast a Shadow is a sharp satire about race in America. It's set in a dismal, nearish future, when race relations have devolved from where they are today. It's set in an unnamed city in the south (though I think New Orleans based on the references to parishes), with an unn...
  • Shobhit Sharad
    Feb 20, 2019
    It's been a long time since I read a book in first-person, so We Cast A Shadow was an apt choice, because the writing was quite good. The only downside being that the narrator was a horrible person, but as the narrator he was able to justify his actions quite much, and that's what made...
  • Tad Bartlett
    Sep 05, 2018
    (Spoiler-free, as much as possible) Maurice Ruffin performs writer magic in We Cast a Shadow. As the book opens, the reader is settled comfortably into a clever and biting satirical world where race plays a sharpened role in the butcher's shop of office politics of an old-line law fir...
  • Will
    Mar 12, 2019
    3.5 rounded down ...
  • Meike
    Apr 25, 2019
    ...VERY curious about this one! Let's see what happens. ...
  • Jypsy
    Jan 02, 2019
    Well, I really disliked this book. The premise is so ridiculous that I couldn't even take it seriously. There is enough racial tension in the world. Why write a book that will make this situation worse? I don't respect the author in this context. It's an unnecessary plague of ideas. ...
  • Lark Benobi
    Feb 06, 2019
    Some works tackle the subject of racism in a way that allows white people to feel really good about themselves in the end. Others don't leave space for white readers to reasonably separate themselves from the racism depicted in their pages, or to come away with "I'm one of the good guy...
  • Melissa
    Feb 17, 2019
    My favorite thing about dystopian novels is how easily you can imagine them coming true. While set in the future, this satire doesn?t feel so distant. Addressing racism, fear, our past, present, and potential future, Ruffin tells a story of parenthood, of self, of wanting the bes...