A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland

A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland

A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the year BookRiot's "50 Must-Read Poetry Collections" Most Anticipated Books of the Year-- The Rumpus, Nylon A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burd A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the season Booklist's Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction titles for the ye...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland
Author:DaMaris B. Hill
Rating:
Genres:Poetry
ISBN:1635572614
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:192 pages pages

A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland Reviews

  • Melissa
    Jan 05, 2019
    I inadvertently finished my first #ReadHarder2019 task - poetry collection pubbed after 2014 - because the flap copy for this book doesn?t mention that DaMaris Hill?s responses are in poetry form! ? (well, the Claudia Rankine comp should have clued me in, maybe) And they are STU...
  • Crystal
    Feb 16, 2019
    These poems and the introduction to each poem are more little packets of history than anything. Introduced me to many historical figures and some modern ones, all black women (per the title). Definitely worth reading though less for the poetry than the history imparted. ...
  • Roxane
    Jun 29, 2018
    Damaris B. Hill writes the poetry of the bound black woman across the ages in this haunting, powerful collection. What you will read here is not just poetry, though. This book offers an education. This book bears witness. This book is a reckoning. ...
  • Robyn
    Mar 03, 2019
    Informative and thought provoking. I instantly wanted to talk about it. First Line: Reading about the Black women in A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing will not comfort, p.xi. Hill gives readers more than twenty Black women who were bound in some way. For many that meant being...
  • Traci at The Stacks
    Apr 06, 2019
    Poetry is tricky for me. Still working on how to talk about it. Loved the historical context and prose but couldn?t always connect with the poems (more a me thing than the poems). Black women are powerful beyond any measure ever credited to them and that is loud and clear in this col...
  • Zacarias Rivera, Jr.
    Jan 23, 2019
    Wow. Words flee my grasp. DaMaris B. Hill is a poet with phenomenal skills. Through this work she honors and venerates the females enumerated. ...
  • Kelly
    Jan 29, 2019
    "How many ways did you write women? How many ways did you right women?" (Full disclosure: I received a free e-ARC for review through NetGalley. Trigger warning for violence against women, including rape.) The afflicted pray for healing?just as hungry people pray for bread, but ...
  • Rebecca McPhedran
    Apr 28, 2019
    A beautifully written book about historical, (and current) women who have been incarcerated or killed for the color of their skin. A searing book that speaks to the importance of speaking out against police brutality and wrongful incarceration. The author tells of these important women...
  • Diane S ☔
    Jan 19, 2019
    "The speed of light is almost equivalent to love come in a hurry. There are thieves in the temples. In the 1862nd year of our Lord, there were 241 lynched torn from wives arms and wedding Chambers. Multiply that by the rope. Count the trees they strung from The torches. All...
  • Simone
    Feb 03, 2019
    ?What is so threatening about a Black woman bound to her freedom, one who is also committed to the liberation of others?? This is history told through poetry. It is a history of the incarceration of African America Women throughout the decades. Whether that be through slavery,...
  • Amma
    Feb 02, 2019
    I loved, loved, loved this book! Part memoir, part ode/tribute to her ancestors and mentors and very thoroughly researched and curated, this book is truly memorable. I had the privilege of attending a reading by the author and it made me appreciate the work and vulnerability it took to...
  • Nathaniel Darkish
    Jan 14, 2019
    A collection of poetry with a strong, passionate voice. My only complaint is that the informational bits on the women that inspired the poems were helpful, but a bit inconsistent in their quality of content. ...
  • Erin
    Jan 14, 2019
    A Bound Woman is a Dangerous Thing was absolutely heartbreaking. Hill presents us with a topic that has been swept under the rug so many times in history. Women who were persecuted heavily because of their beliefs is one thing, but women who are persecuted because of the color of their...
  • Ashley Southall
    Dec 30, 2018
    "The afflicted pray for healing? just as hungry people pray for bread, but when has God ever sent bread? In my recollection of the scriptures, God has always sent a woman." I found an advanced reading copy of A Bound Woman is a Dangerous Thing from the book bins where I work and h...
  • Feminista
    Feb 11, 2019
    amazing ive never read anything like this. Dr. Hill is brilliant and magnificent. I learned so many things about women I have never heard of. Powerful. ...
  • Katy
    Feb 21, 2019
    In this poetry tribute, Hill celebrates the legacies of black women who resisted oppression and refused to be silenced throughout US history. Each woman has a black and white photo, a short biographical page about her and then a poem to celebrate her life. Hill?s subjects range from ...
  • Julia
    Feb 04, 2019
    I grabbed this book off the shelf in my local bookstore, opened right up to the entry dedicated to Ruby McCollum and knew I had to have it this. This collection of poetry is an ode to the incarceration of African American women. I loved the varied timeline how DaMaris explores wome...
  • Margaret Lukas
    Dec 23, 2018
    I loved this book. It's courageous, important, and thought-provoking. Half way through I quit reading and started over because I couldn't bear to be getting close to the ending. And when I did finish, I began again. ...
  • Donna Davis
    Dec 10, 2018
    This compact but potent collection of poetry is so good that it hurts. DeMaris B. Hill spills America?s historical shame across the printed page with the articulate rage and power of the generations she writes about. My thanks go to Bloomsbury and Net Galley for the review copy. This...
  • Becky Hoffman
    Feb 01, 2019
    I loved Ms. Hill's idea but it left me wanting to know more about each woman. Perhaps that was her plan along... ...
  • Tamara Madison
    Mar 17, 2019
    I blessed the blog with a review on DaMaris Hill's latest poetry collection. Don't let Women's History Month pass without spending time with this book! Find out why here: http://www.tamarajmadison.com/blog/bl... ...
  • Michelle
    Mar 13, 2019
    3.5 stars ...
  • Katherine G Foster
    Feb 12, 2019
    Beautifully written. Hill weaves poetry and history seamlessly. ...
  • TJ Frostt
    Jan 08, 2019
    Thank you Bloomsbury Publishing for the ARC! This book will be available for sale on January 15, 2019. . ?Between 1980 and 2014 the number of incarcerated women increased by more than 700%? -The Sentencing Project . This is an anthology, beautifully curated and translated, in ...
  • Never Without a Book™
    Jan 04, 2019
    I honestly don?t know if I have the proper words to describe this book. I have never read a book of poetry like this. It truly is powerful and I walked away with more than I expected. Hill definitely schooled me on women & history that I knew nothing about. The read is quick for ...
  • Shameria
    Feb 04, 2019
    This book wasn't what I thought It would be, but I was far from disappointed. Reading history from strong black women, that basically didn't take any mess from anyone was amazing and the poetry to go along with it was even better. I read about some familiar names that hit home like San...
  • Hannah
    Jan 16, 2019
    This poetry collection is a history, a tribute, and a love letter to black women. And it?s pretty amazing. I know poetry can seem daunting. But this collection kind of defies the traditional form. It?s history spoken in poetry. It?s a narrative written in verse. While I loved ...
  • Colena
    Jan 19, 2019
    Hill?s work is not just a poetry book honoring her ancestors, historical figures?some hidden figures and some known?-along with present day women. It is a much needed conversation about the lives of black women in a poignant, compelling and powerful way. Her writing is simply bou...
  • Melissa
    Jan 16, 2019
    A very powerful unique book that is more than poetry, more than history. It?s a fast read and I don?t think I?ve ever read anything like it. ...
  • Jitendra Kumar
    Feb 21, 2019
    Nice ...