Echo North

Echo North

Echo Alkaev?s safe and carefully structured world falls apart when her father leaves for the city and mysteriously disappears. Believing he is lost forever, Echo is shocked to find him half-frozen in the winter forest six months later, guarded by a strange talking wolf?the same creature who attacked her as a child. The wolf presents Echo with an ultimatum: If she lives wit Echo Alkaev?s safe and carefully structured world falls apart when her father leaves for the city and mysteriously ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Echo North
Author:Joanna Ruth Meyer
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:Echo North
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:389 pages pages

Echo North Reviews

  • Mindee Arnett
    Mar 14, 2019
    I enjoyed this one so much. The word was enthralling and magical, and the love story slow and poignant. Although the structure on this one was unconventionally shaped it delivered on all promises. Highly recommended for readers who loved Uprooted, An Enchantment of Ravens, and other Fa...
  • Meg
    Jan 18, 2019
    This was disappointing for me. I went into this hoping for a romantic BATB retelling, and that's not entirely what I got. I found this to be closer to a middle grade novel, and while it was beautifully written and lush in description, it just wasn't for me. A really interesting aspect...
  • Mischenko
    Apr 13, 2019
    The first quarter of Echo North was wonderful and had me captivated as everything was setting up, but the rest of the book was up and down for me. I wanted to fall in love with this book, but it turned out to be just an okay read for me. The story begins with Echo, a young girl who ...
  • Breanna
    Aug 27, 2018
    THIS REVIEW & MORE ? Paws and Paperbacks ARC received through #booksfortrade on Twitter. ?Ever north, where the mountain meets the sky and the trees are hung with stars.? Echo North is a breathtaking, brilliant retelling of one of my favorite fairytales, East of the ...
  • Libby
    Feb 05, 2019
    ?The wound is the place where the light enters you.? Rumi -- 3.5 stars. In the Author?s Note at the end of the book, Joanna Ruth Meyer gives a nod to ?East of the Sun, West of the Moon, a Norwegian fairytale that has its roots in the myth of Cupid and Psyche, as does Beaut...
  • ♠️ TABI ♠️
    Mar 29, 2019
    ?If you love something you will not give it up, not for anything. It belongs to you, it is part of you. If you grab hold of it and never let it go?no one can take it from you.? *clutches book to chest* I LOVE THIS AND I'M NEVER LETTING IT GO!! While this didn't have ...
  • Marquise
    Jan 20, 2019
    This dbut novel makes a valiant attempt at retelling the Beauty and the Beast fairy tale mixing the original French tale with its Nordic variant East of the Sun and West of the Moon and the Scottish folk ballad Tam Lin. But rather than retelling the original tales directly, it opts f...
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    Dec 31, 2018
    Title: Echo North Series: Standalone Author: Joanna Ruth Meyer Release date: January 15, 2019 I went into this book thinking it was going to be a simple fairy tale retelling, a fresh spin on something I've heard a million times. Beauty and the Beast is a beloved fairy tale...
  • Mel (Epic Reading)
    May 05, 2019
    The farther away I get from reading Echo North the more I dislike it. That's always a bad sign. Joanna Ruth Meyer uses old fairy tales/stories with themes from Beauty and the Beast, Tam Lynn and East of the Sun, West of the Moon. These three tales all have something in common; they mar...
  • Rosamund Hodge
    Aug 12, 2018
    GORGEOUS ...
  • Ashlee » Library In The Country
    Dec 09, 2018
    ?There is one thing you must not do, one rule you must not break.? Echo North is a brilliant and magical retelling of East of the Sun and West of the Moon, while also pulling inspiration from the stories of Cupid & Psyche, as well as Tam Lin. I read this in less than a day...
  • Ann (annreads)
    May 02, 2019
    ?I held him like the world had spun away beneath me, and I was left to dance with the stars, not mortal any longer but a creature made of moonlight and magic.? That was the Beauty & The Beast retelling I didn't knew I needed in my life, like wow, what a beautiful heartwarmin...
  • ELLIAS (elliasreads)
    Feb 18, 2019
    I held him like the world had spun away beneath me, and I was left to dance with the stars, not mortal any longer but a creature made of moonlight and magic. Beautiful and poignant. Honestly, I'm finding more hidden gems of books that are not too popular either on book-tube or ...
  • Suzannah
    Feb 24, 2019
    A really lovely fairytale retelling. My big caveat with Joanna Ruth Meyer's lovely, dreamlike fantasies is that they can be rather derivative (a thing which I have also been guilty of in some of my literary experiments, lest I come across as overly critical) and I thought this one suff...
  • J.A. Ironside
    Mar 31, 2019
    2.5 stars rounded up It was ok. Obviously that's personal opinion, and my irritation and disappointment are compounded by the fact that I probably overhyped myself on this book. It may even be that I just fall outside the target audience for this one. It was a quick read and I did e...
  • Deborah O'Carroll
    Dec 29, 2018
    Originally posted on my book blog. My favorite books are the ones I find most difficult to review. AAHH. How can I explain my love for this book? IT?S SO, SO GOOD. Echo North is so beautiful it hurts. I found myself utterly enchanted by this story of the girl Echo and the whi...
  • The Bookish Austin
    Feb 20, 2019
    I'd rate this a 3.5. I tend to love retellings of fairy tales, despite my usual distaste for romances. ha. I thought this retelling of the Norwegian fairy tale, East of the Sun, West of the Moon, was fascinating and lovely. It's very similar to Beauty and the Beast and the little E...
  • Alexandra
    Jan 16, 2019
    Review can be found on *Milky Way of Books* HOLLY WOW! This was such an amazing book! Echo's and Hal's story was one of the few that made me wish to be in that world of magic, stories and witches! This story, which is inspired by East of the Sun, West of the Moon and also it has s...
  • Helena of Sparta ✰
    Mar 17, 2019
    ?I held him like the world had spun away beneath me, and I was left to dance with the stars, not mortal any longer but a creature made of moonlight and magic.? This was BRILLIANT. Seriously, I don?t know why it isn?t getting more hype!!! What an underrated gem! Do yourse...
  • Claire Banschbach
    Mar 26, 2019
    Halp. I am dead and it is Hal and Echo that have killed me with the feels and all the love for the prose and plot and twists and epicness. Full review to come at some point. ...
  • julianna ➹
    Jul 29, 2018
    FULL REVIEW UP <3 I want to get lost in the woods during a winter storm if it means I can have the experience of going to a magical sentient house that provides me with immersive mirror-books. Down to have fun times in the forest, 10/10 seriously this book needs to be hyped up...
  • megs_bookrack
    Jan 07, 2019
    A wolf guarding over a disappeared Father. A young girl who must make a deal with said wolf to save him. A hidden castle with a secret, magical library. MY HEART SINGSSSSSSSSSS This is sitting top shelf on my TBR cart at home. Hoping to get to it in April! I have been hearin...
  • The Captain
    Mar 25, 2019
    Ahoy there me mateys! So a recent theme for ?Top Ten Tuesday? was ?Books I LOVED with Fewer than 2,000 Ratings on Goodreads.? I don?t tend to do memes here in me log but I love readin? the posts by me crew. Especially when they be fun topics which lead me to unexpected trea...
  • Vicky Who Reads
    Dec 13, 2018
    Psst! I also have a giveaway + an interview with Joanna up on my blog! Find it HERE! 4 stars This was so magical, I totally fell in love with the enchanted house under the mountain and all of the lush settings in Echo North! (This was definitely my favorite part of reading, 100%....
  • Catherine
    May 03, 2019
    "I went north, to where the stories always said the wild things lived, where the folktales came from and still magic in the mountaintops." This book is one of those hidden gems I wouldn't have found without a great recommendation. It's only 400 pages (well, almost) and I read it in ...
  • ☆High Lady of The Night Court☆
    Mar 20, 2019
    ?I went north, to where the stories always said the wild things lived, where the folktales came from and still magic in the mountaintops.? This book was something else. It started as a mix of a few other retellings of Beauty and the Beast and then was something uniquely its ow...
  • Laura Weymouth
    Feb 07, 2018
    I've always loved the fairytale "East of the Sun, West of the Moon" and in ECHO NORTH, Joanna Meyer beautifully captures the original essence of the story while tying in a lush new mythos all her own. If magic houses, vengeful goddesses, mysterious wolves, and frozen tundra are of inte...
  • Sol ~ TheBookishKing
    Jan 04, 2019
    There is absolutely No Reason that this book should be 400 pages. I just ... ugh yet another case of Cover Catfish. Thank you Page Street for the ARC in exchange for an honest review! ...
  • Rose
    Nov 11, 2018
    This is ultimately yet another bland East of the Sun, West of the Moon retelling. It's not unique or compelling enough to be a true reinterpretation of the original (tacking on Tam Lin at the end is just lazy). Nor is the quality of writing good enough to make it satisfying as a straig...
  • *Stani*
    Mar 25, 2019
    solid good 4 stars It was a wild, wild ride. Joanna really did surprise me with her beautiful storytelling and to the very last moment, it kept surprising me with every twist and turn. Echo - Echo was a bit of a downer, at the beginning, but I understand the "necessity" for her...