Soulbinder

Soulbinder

The fourth book in the page-turning SPELLSLINGER fantasy series. Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians of the Galaxy, Terry Pratchett, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher....

DownloadRead Online
Title:Soulbinder
Author:Sebastien de Castell
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:1471406733
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:400 pages pages

Soulbinder Reviews

  • kit
    Dec 05, 2018
    these just keep getting better. fascinating magical systems, emotional complexity & maturity, & more than a little humor. ...
  • Dreximgirl
    Sep 30, 2018
    I love this series so much! Kellen really grows in this book and while I miss Ferius, i was prepared for this, I do think it is what was needed to move Kellen forward in g is character progression. Cannot wait for the next one though. It's all getting very complex and heated now. ...
  • GrilledCheeseSamurai
    Dec 22, 2018
    Just when things started feeling 'same old, same old' Sebastien de Castell switches everything up! Kellen is on his own and thrown into a predicament without any help from his companions. He is forced to grow as a character, and in doing so, we learn a lot more about his Shadowblack pr...
  • kartik narayanan
    Dec 15, 2018
    Spellslinger continues to be one of the best YA series with Soulbinder being another great entry. As before, the standout element is the nuanced relationship that Kellen has with his family especially with his father. Even though the amount of pages devoted to this relationship &...
  • Mogsy (MMOGC)
    Dec 03, 2018
    4.5 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2018/12/13/... In my review of the previous book, Charmcaster, I noted how certain patterns seemed to keep popping up repeatedly in the storytelling. However, as I was reading Soulbinder, all I could think of was how Seba...
  • S.J. Higbee
    Oct 29, 2018
    Up to this point, the Spellsinger series kept the humour going, mostly provided by that pesky squirrel cat. But while Kellen?s caustic comments still are evident during Soulbinder ? this is the book where the stakes are upped even further, there is even more mayhem, bloodshed and e...
  • Jay  The Crippled God
    Oct 30, 2018
    I was desperate after thinking that charmcaster was the last one. So happy and excited waiting for this one !!!!!! Thank u De castel and we support u ...
  • Sean
    Oct 06, 2018
    Received from Hot Key Books and Netgalley for honest read and review. Starts off after events in book 3. Here we find Kellen again in a fix. We are instantly keeping an eye to see what happens next and this book does not disappoint in any way. Another brilliant book with Kellen a...
  • Heather
    Dec 10, 2018
    Fabulous! Just when I think the series can?t get any better, it does! Wow! I can?t wait for the next book now. ...
  • Joel
    Jan 03, 2019
    I can't say enough about this series. It's exciting, with great characters, really palpable drama, and some real sense of urgency throughout, showing how much it pulled me in. I've got very little to say beyond what I already have regarding this book and series - writing incredible, en...
  • Trish
    Nov 16, 2018
    4.5 stars This book took the series up a little. I love how it keeps me guessing but I never see what is going to happen. My predictions never pan out. I can't say much because it's the fourth in the series, but we are still travelling with Kellan on his journey. I'm still lo...
  • Dawn
    Oct 09, 2018
    I was delighted to receive this via netgalley. I have to admit I am slightly biased about this author having read all the Greatcoats books. These books are meant for younger readers. I love the sense of adventure imbued in these books and wish they were around when I was younger, not t...
  • Miriam Joy
    Oct 29, 2018
    I enjoyed this a LOT! This series has really grown on me -- while I had slightly mixed opinions about the first book, I've got more and more invested as it's gone on, and every book is more enjoyable than the last. I love the various magic systems, and how this isn't a fantasy world wh...
  • David Harris
    Sep 20, 2018
    I'm grateful to the publisher for a copy of this book via NetGalley. This is the fourth in de Castell's fantasy series featuring exiled Jan'Tep mage Kellen Argos and his formidable "business partner", squirrel cat Reichis. It follows Spellslinger, Shadowblack and Charmcaster (mild s...
  • Elizabeth
    Dec 15, 2018
    There is something so effortlessly fun and genuine about de Castell's books. I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire series so far, and "Soulbinder" was no different. Can't wait for the next one! ...
  • Martin
    Oct 12, 2018
    Review still to come ...
  • Pen
    Oct 05, 2018
    I have devoured this series, it's just so thoroughly enjoyable. It may be one of the best I have ever read. Easily checks off the trifecta for me: Dynamic characters Great world and magic system Exceptional pacing Surely at some point one of these books is going to bend and I'...
  • Rosina
    Sep 27, 2018
    I received a free copy of this book through ReadersFirst in return for an honest review. Awww, I really like these books. This one took me a little longer to get through but I think that was more of a lack of focus than anything. In this book we're introduced to a bunch of new ch...
  • Deama
    Sep 22, 2018
    I swear this is like one of my all time favourite series ever! I think it's just a combination of the plot, characters, humour. I could read them over and over again. I seriously read this in one day. I was going to put it down and do something else but everytime I got to the end...
  • Kayleigh Brindley
    Oct 20, 2018
    I discovered the first book in the Spellslinger series in December 2017, and after reading the following two books in the series earlier this year, it's become a huge favourite. So, I was more than excited to see Soulbinder pop up in NetGalley as I was desperate to find out what hap...
  • Anniek
    Oct 29, 2018
    This installment was more interesting to me than the previous one, as it was more suspenseful and I felt like the stakes were higher. It also introduced some awesome new characters! ...
  • Louise
    Nov 15, 2018
    Soulbinder is where Kellan confronts his own experiences and decides how to go forward. It is also the first book where he has been apart from his friends ? mentor Ferius and familiar Reichis. This separation forces Kellan to choose what is most important to him. Unfortunately, once ...
  • Akshaya Sriram
    Oct 20, 2018
    As usual, Castell does a fantastic job with the fourth installment of the Spellslinger series. In this book, finally, our ever whiney protagonist, grows into a hero in his own right. Fun, entertaining and of course, in Castell's style, preposterously daring. Five enigmatist stars. ...
  • Atlas
    Sep 27, 2018
    Life ought to be more than just losing the things you love one after another until you have nothing left * * * * 4 / 5 I love these books. I've embraced the cheesiness of them, their episodic sort of nature and their charm. The wit of Ferius Parfax, the questions in Kellen's hea...
  • Laura Newsholme
    Nov 26, 2018
    I have loved the Spellslinger series thus far and I think that this fourth offering is probably my favourite. The world expands once again here, showing us a completely different sector that we haven't been privy to up to now and it just goes to confirm de Castell as a consummate autho...
  • Samm | Sassenach the Book Wizard
    Jun 09, 2018
    Hell to the yes! ...
  • Nikki
    Sep 28, 2018
    Still loving this series, and how broad the universe is! Kellen is brilliant in this one - really coming across as a young kid forced to grow up too fast, and a good trickster, but also a sensible (trouble loving) head on his shoulders! His interactions with all the new characters w...
  • Fiona
    Oct 06, 2018
    I swear Sebastien De Castell lives to torture his readers; but he does it so well! This book was rife with heartbreaking and soul destroying moments and had me crying more than Kellen by the end! As the fourth book in a series you might expect ideas to be running low, or for the sto...
  • Will.J.R.Gwynne Gwynne
    Oct 01, 2018
    I was lucky to be sent a hardback of Soulbinder pre-release date :). I loved the first three instalments and this was no exception. I could not put it down because of the brilliant humour and unpredictable plot. I burned through it in a weekend. It was thoroughly enjoyable and I can...
  • Shree143
    Oct 26, 2018
    This series keep getting better and better. The multi layer story style as always awesome. The solo performance of Kellen's showed character development. I genuinely scared about Reichis for a while. Overall a top notch writing, kick ass story and complex characters. Sebastien de Caste...