Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women

2018 marks the 150th anniversary of the classic Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Join Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy as they are reenvisioned as a blended family living in modern day NYC in this beautiful, full-color graphic novel that's perfect for fans of Raina Telemeier's Smile, Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward, and Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl. Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy are havin 2018 marks the 150th anniversary of the classic Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. Join Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy as they ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women
Author:Rey Terciero
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:0316522864
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women Reviews

  • Kim
    Feb 13, 2019
    I'm not quite sure what the authors/illustrators were trying to accomplish with this. At times, it adhered strictly to the original story...and at others, it threw everything of the original out the window in favor of unfamiliar characterization and modern-day moralizing. It seemed wha...
  • Jasmine
    Apr 10, 2018
    It's been 150 years, you better get your act together and make Beth pull through this, guys. ...
  • Jessica
    Mar 10, 2019
    3.5 stars rounded up because it is great for a young audience, I only wish it had not been a re-telling for Little Women. The story and characters were well done and I love the family and perspectives. There are big chunks that feel forced in an effort to follow the LW story. If they h...
  • RivkaBelle
    Mar 22, 2019
    **3.5 stars I don't read many graphic novels, but I have loved Little Women since my first reading at age 9, so *of course* I had to give this one a whirl. I liked it -- the March sisters are vibrant and lively, the pacing is good. The graphic format really helps speed things along, a...
  • Jennifer
    Mar 04, 2019
    "Bring it on, life. March girls can take anything you throw at us." Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel is a retelling of the classic Little Women. The familiar plot line is captured with a fun present-day twist as it incorporates parental overseas deployment, a multiracial ble...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Feb 13, 2019
    February 5th 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers The March family lives in a brownstone in the city. Their mother is a harried hospital nurse, and their father is fighting overseas. Things are economically tough, and each girl has their own wishes for Christmas that don't...
  • laura (bookies & cookies)
    Mar 22, 2019
    I, WOW. Just wow. As someone who was first introduced to the 1994 classic movie, dodged endless terrible adaptations, looked forward to new ones, AND read the book that started it all (as a precocious 13 year old who lugged it around to the playground hang out spot), this book is DEAD...
  • India
    Apr 13, 2019
    I feel like if this was just a story of a blended family overcoming obstacles and finding themselves I would have enjoyed it far more. Being an adaptation of Little Women brought with it a bit of back story, baggage, and reader knowledge that I don?t think translated as well as I wou...
  • Whitney
    Apr 07, 2019
    Love, love, love, love, this book. I have always been fan of Little Women so when I heard there was going to be graphic novel retelling of the story I was PUMPED! Let me tell you this book did not disappoint AT ALL! The visuals and colors are stunning and I've already started to go b...
  • Eliana
    Feb 26, 2019
    Super cute, and everything I would want in a modern retelling of Little Women. I liked how the characters were super diverse in a way that felt very natural, and I'm definitely a fan of (view spoiler)[ Beth surviving and Jo being gay. (hide spoiler)] I just wish it had been longer so ...
  • Liz
    Mar 13, 2019
    I think this will have great appeal for fans of Smile and similiar GNs, it was enjoyable and the art style was appealing. I just felt like it tried to cram so much in, blended interracial family, economic struggles, racism, sexuality, woman's rights, that it felt like tokenism on parad...
  • Jessica
    Feb 06, 2019
    Absolutely glorious modern retelling. I have never been so moved while reading a Graphic Novel. ...
  • MissBecka
    Mar 23, 2019
    I liked how they made everything so modern, I'm just not sure the story worked as a graphic. Everything felt glossed over and less dramatic. Maybe I've just romanticized my memories of Little Women? I think a re-read has just been added to my 2019 to confirm. ...
  • Andréa
    Mar 28, 2019
    A little preachy / heavy-handed with the messages, but otherwise a great retelling. The changes to the story made it much more appealing to me than the original. And I found all of the characters to be more likeable in this format / retelling. ...
  • Jeimy
    Feb 17, 2019
    This graphic novel is more than a mere retelling. It offers (20th and 21st century) readers what we always wanted from Alcott?s work. This made me love it, but I wonder if readers who are unfamiliar with Alcott?s work and chose to read the original will be disappointed. ...
  • Steph L
    Feb 12, 2019
    A fantastic retelling As a fan of Little Women I wanted to read this. I loved the LGBTQ rep. The art style is amazing and adorable. I recommend this for anyone who has read Little Women and those that are looking for a quick Graphic Novel to read. ...
  • Sarah Wyatt
    Feb 07, 2019
    This was SO SO SO good! Awesome female characters, a diverse family. Somehow covered so many topics including poverty, bullying, lgbtq+, cancer, disability, love all in just this one book without feeling like it was trying too hard. I have to confess--I haven't actually read Little...
  • Lola
    Apr 15, 2019
    3.5 stars. This is one of those books that would make a lovely present for a friend, especially someone who is having a hard time because it can give them comfort and remind them of the importance of reaching out to friends and family. It is a contemporary graphic novel retelling o...
  • Emma Shacoconut
    Feb 19, 2019
    I love Little Women, but I do think only really clicks with me when set during the Civil War. Modern adaptations have failed to grab me, and this one is no exception. Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy...means well. The illustrations are pretty and bright, and changing the Marches to a biracial fa...
  • Chadd Huizenga
    Feb 27, 2019
    It got a little preachy at the end, but I had a few good cry moments (both happy and sad) throughout so I really enjoyed it. Never read "Little Women" but I might add it to my to read list. ...
  • Julia Francis
    Feb 06, 2019
    I have no idea if they followed the story of Little Women exactly but I can't wait to read it now. I originally followed this when it was just a webcomic and the complete version in a book form was an amazing idea. I could see myself reading this over and over again. ...
  • Pamela Groseclose
    Feb 28, 2019
    Louisa May Alcott would be proud of this updated version of her book. This is my favorite book of 2019 so far. <3 I can't wait to promote and recommend this book to everyone I encounter. ...
  • Helen
    Mar 07, 2019
    This was not for me but I think that if you go into not expecting the magic of the original, you may like it a lot more then. For me though this was not what I was wanting and I was left very disappointed. ...
  • Pressed Between Pages
    Feb 11, 2019
    "Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy" a Graphic Novel by Rey Terciero and Bre Indigo ? I am so overwhelmed, and in such a positive and empowering way. "Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy" is absolutely magical, and, in my opinion, a nearly PERFECT modern retelling of "Little Women" which is steeped in resear...
  • Lauren
    Feb 01, 2019
    I wanted to love this, I really did. There was so much about this adaptation I was looking forward to. Sadly, I was disappointed by a lot of it. Some devices felt repetitive and awkward; some the dialog comes off stilted and preachy; some plot points, obviously from the source material...
  • Cy
    Feb 23, 2019
    this was really sweet, but i've never read little women and don't remember literally anything from the movie, so i don't have the original to compare it to lmao. some parts were a little soapboxy and preachy, and there were parts where i was like "ppl don't talk like that in real li...
  • Rachel Macklin
    Feb 21, 2019
    This was so cute with so much heart ...
  • Heather McC
    Mar 02, 2019
    A beloved tale of sisterhood (Louisa May Alcott's 'Little Women' gets a very modern retelling that keeps the heart and spirit of the source material. The March girls may have 21st century problems, but their strength is still found in the love they share for one another and the ability...
  • Ivy
    Jan 14, 2019
    I hate to support Another Little Women remake, but this one's gay, guys, this one's gay. Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy was a perfect graphic novel. I'm familiar with Bre Indigo's art from her webcomic Jamie, and it perfectly fit the warmth and emotion of this book. I'm familiar with the st...
  • TheMistressofBooks
    Mar 29, 2019
    Cute and up-to-date for 2019. Although I don't know how I feel about (view spoiler)[ Beth living in this rendition (hide spoiler)] . Jo's a bit whiny and in-your-face, but nonetheless I enjoyed reading this. The artwork is really endearing, but I have to say I enjoyed one artist's ...