Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women

Little Women with a twist: four sisters from a blended family experience the challenges and triumphs of life in NYC in this beautiful full-color graphic novel perfect for fans of Roller Girl and Smile. Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy are having a really tough year: with their father serving in the military overseas, they must work overtime to make ends meet...and each girl is strugg Little Women with a twist: four sisters from a blended family experience the challenges and triumphs of life in NYC...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women
Author:Rey Terciero
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:0316522864
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women Reviews

  • Kim
    Feb 13, 2019
    I'm not quite sure what the authors/illustrators were trying to accomplish with this. At times, it adhered strictly to the original story...and at others, it threw everything of the original out the window in favor of unfamiliar characterization and modern-day moralizing. It seemed wha...
  • Jasmine
    Apr 10, 2018
    It's been 150 years, you better get your act together and make Beth pull through this, guys. ...
  • Wendy
    Jun 09, 2019
    I really enjoyed this modern retelling of Little Women. I haven't read the original in years, but it was a favorite when I was a kid, so I recognized most of the bits and pieces that were either updated or changed. I'm not 100% sure this book would resonate as much with someone who doe...
  • Jennifer
    Mar 04, 2019
    "Bring it on, life. March girls can take anything you throw at us." Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy: A Graphic Novel is a retelling of the classic Little Women. The familiar plot line is captured with a fun present-day twist as it incorporates parental overseas deployment, a multiracial ble...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Feb 13, 2019
    February 5th 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers The March family lives in a brownstone in the city. Their mother is a harried hospital nurse, and their father is fighting overseas. Things are economically tough, and each girl has their own wishes for Christmas that don't...
  • Manybooks
    Jun 15, 2019
    Yes, Rey Terciero's 2019 graphic novel Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy: A Graphic Novel: A Modern Retelling of Little Women does definitely and indeed contain some if not even many of the general thematics of Louisa May Alcott's classic 1868 Little Women (that the March family's father is away s...
  • laura (bookies & cookies)
    Mar 22, 2019
    I, WOW. Just wow. As someone who was first introduced to the 1994 classic movie, dodged endless terrible adaptations, looked forward to new ones, AND read the book that started it all (as a precocious 13 year old who lugged it around to the playground hang out spot), this book is DEAD...
  • India
    Apr 13, 2019
    I feel like if this was just a story of a blended family overcoming obstacles and finding themselves I would have enjoyed it far more. Being an adaptation of Little Women brought with it a bit of back story, baggage, and reader knowledge that I don?t think translated as well as I wou...
  • Eliana
    Feb 26, 2019
    Super cute, and everything I would want in a modern retelling of Little Women. I liked how the characters were super diverse in a way that felt very natural, and I'm definitely a fan of (view spoiler)[ Beth surviving and Jo being gay. (hide spoiler)] I just wish it had been longer so ...
  • Liz
    Mar 13, 2019
    I think this will have great appeal for fans of Smile and similiar GNs, it was enjoyable and the art style was appealing. I just felt like it tried to cram so much in, blended interracial family, economic struggles, racism, sexuality, woman's rights, that it felt like tokenism on parad...
  • Jessica
    Feb 06, 2019
    Absolutely glorious modern retelling. I have never been so moved while reading a Graphic Novel. ...
  • MissBecka
    Mar 23, 2019
    I liked how they made everything so modern, I'm just not sure the story worked as a graphic. Everything felt glossed over and less dramatic. Maybe I've just romanticized my memories of Little Women? I think a re-read has just been added to my 2019 to confirm. ...
  • Ellen
    May 14, 2019
    Some aspects of this retelling I think fit really well (the diverse family; war in the Middle East; a different disease.) But other aspects felt forced (like some politicism and heavily-emphasized feminism) or wrong (where was the character growth? Did the shortened timeline affect thi...
  • Andréa
    Mar 28, 2019
    A little preachy / heavy-handed with the messages, but otherwise a great retelling. The changes to the story made it much more appealing to me than the original. And I found all of the characters to be more likeable in this format / retelling. ...
  • Steph L
    Feb 12, 2019
    A fantastic retelling As a fan of Little Women I wanted to read this. I loved the LGBTQ rep. The art style is amazing and adorable. I recommend this for anyone who has read Little Women and those that are looking for a quick Graphic Novel to read. ...
  • Sarah Wyatt
    Feb 07, 2019
    This was SO SO SO good! Awesome female characters, a diverse family. Somehow covered so many topics including poverty, bullying, lgbtq+, cancer, disability, love all in just this one book without feeling like it was trying too hard. I have to confess--I haven't actually read Little...
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    May 18, 2019
    4 stars I really enjoyed this retelling of Little Women! I thought the author did a wonderful job making this story modern and diverse, nothing felt forced. Everything naturally fell into place. It was nice to sit back and spend time with my little women again. I wish there wa...
  • Lola
    Apr 15, 2019
    3.5 stars. This is one of those books that would make a lovely present for a friend, especially someone who is having a hard time because it can give them comfort and remind them of the importance of reaching out to friends and family. It is a contemporary graphic novel retelling o...
  • Emma Shacoconut
    Feb 19, 2019
    I love Little Women, but I do think only really clicks with me when set during the Civil War. Modern adaptations have failed to grab me, and this one is no exception. Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy...means well. The illustrations are pretty and bright, and changing the Marches to a biracial fa...
  • QNPoohBear
    Jun 09, 2019
    The March sisters live in contemporary Brooklyn with their mother, a nurse, in a five-floor walk-up apartment. Their dad is away from home with the army in the Middle East and all the girls miss him terribly. Money is tight and eldest girl Meg dreams of marrying a rich man so she can q...
  • Pamela Groseclose
    Feb 28, 2019
    Louisa May Alcott would be proud of this updated version of her book. This is my favorite book of 2019 so far. <3 I can't wait to promote and recommend this book to everyone I encounter. ...
  • Hannah
    Mar 05, 2019
    While I love the idea of the March family becoming a mixed race blended family, the writing in this lacked any of the warmth of the original. Jo's writing in her journal wasn't good, so how are we supposed to believe that she's going to be this great writer. Beth's character was vir...
  • Helen
    Mar 07, 2019
    This was not for me but I think that if you go into not expecting the magic of the original, you may like it a lot more then. For me though this was not what I was wanting and I was left very disappointed. ...
  • Theresa
    Apr 30, 2019
    HOLY WATERWORKS, BATMAN. I don't know if it's all the prednisone and albuterol from my treatments, but I was a complete emotional wreck reading this. I really can't remember the last book that made me ugly cry (three different times, to be exact). The way the art and the expressions of...
  • Pressed Between Pages
    Feb 11, 2019
    "Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy" a Graphic Novel by Rey Terciero and Bre Indigo ? I am so overwhelmed, and in such a positive and empowering way. "Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy" is absolutely magical, and, in my opinion, a nearly PERFECT modern retelling of "Little Women" which is steeped in resear...
  • Emily
    Mar 09, 2019
    Full disclosure: I hated the original as well. I appreciate what the creators tried to do with this graphic novel adaptation of Little Women. A blended, mixed-race family? Wonderful! Making one of the characters not straight? Wonderful! Changing the romantic decisions of another cha...
  • manon
    May 13, 2019
    I picked this graphic novel out because I read the artist?s, Bre Indigo, webcomic Jamie on tapas. I?ve never read Little Women by Louisa May Alcott ? though I want to now ? from which this graphic novel is based on. Indeed, Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy is a retelling of this novel ma...
  • Rachel Macklin
    Feb 21, 2019
    This was so cute with so much heart ...
  • Jeweliana
    Jun 30, 2019
    Best graphic novel I've read all year! I never read the original Little Women but I really enjoyed this take on it. ...
  • Ivy
    Jan 14, 2019
    I hate to support Another Little Women remake, but this one's gay, guys, this one's gay. Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy was a perfect graphic novel. I'm familiar with Bre Indigo's art from her webcomic Jamie, and it perfectly fit the warmth and emotion of this book. I'm familiar with the st...