The Seclusion

The Seclusion

In the year 2090, America has walled itself off from the rest of the world. When her father is arrested by the totalitarian Board, a young woman sets out to escape the only country she?s ever known. While on a routine assignment scouting the viability of dwindling natural resources outside the massive urban centers most American citizens call home, Patricia ?Patch? and her In the year 2090, America has walled itself off from the rest of the world. When her father is arrested by the t...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Seclusion
Author:Jacqui Castle
Rating:
Genres:Science Fiction
ISBN:1947848518
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:300 pages pages

The Seclusion Reviews

  • Cari
    Jul 31, 2018
    When I first found Jacqui Castle on Inkshares, I was immediately intrigued by the premise of this book. I knew I had to have it right away, backed it, and then I was lucky to get an early copy from NetGalley. Patricia Collins lives in a world surrounded by walls. In this future, whe...
  • Diane
    Oct 27, 2018
    More like 4.5 stars! I really, really enjoyed this book. I?m astonished that this was Jacqui Castle?s debut novel. It?s smart, well-written, emotional, terrifying and compelling. I feel similar to the way I felt after reading Margaret Atwood?s The Handmaid?s Tale. Which was m...
  • Melissa (YA Book Shelf)
    Sep 10, 2018
    Between 3.5 and 4 Stars. Honestly, The Seclusion was an intense ride of a book. From the first few pages, I was hooked on the story, and the clearly delineated dystopian world that Patch finds herself in once the blinders come off. The creepy board members can?t be emphasized eno...
  • Michelle
    Jul 02, 2018
    In real life, the idea of building a wall to keep people out illegally sounds like a good idea to some people. But what if they built a wall that kept you in? Everyone in a place of authority lied the same lie, only let you know what you needed to know to do your job, and you couldn't ...
  • Cheryl
    Jun 14, 2018
    This book was so scarily wonderful. I will be asking every teen and fan of YA to read this book when it comes out. While not intended as a cautionary tale, its premise is so plausible in today?s world that the dystopian setting does not seem that far in the future. The premise is eng...
  • Kerri
    Jul 30, 2018
    This book is eerily prophetic. First they built the southern wall. They built the northern wall. Then America gave up every freedom for it's own "safety". Although sometimes heavy handed, with a bit of uninspired dialogue, this book was a horror story of the worst kind. Surely the begi...
  • Robert Batten
    Jun 21, 2018
    The Seclusion is the debut novel from journalist Jacqui Castle and it?s a ripper. The story is set in a dystopian future America that has been twisted into an isolationist authoritarian nation, separated from the rest of the world by the enormous Northern and Southern Security Border...
  • Bob Lyle
    Jul 11, 2018
    I received this ARC from the Author (After I did some pestering) Brief Synopsis The year is 2090, and the walls are closing in. While on a routine assignment scouting the viability of dwindling natural resources outside the massive urban centres most American citizens call h...
  • Tonja Drecker
    Jul 15, 2018
    This is a book for fans of books like Divergent or The Giver as it goes deep into the life of one young woman as she slowly awakens to a greater world around her. Patricia is satisfied with life. She's got a better job than most with more freedoms than many and has a caring family. ...
  • Becky
    Jun 24, 2018
    This was everything I want in a post apocalypse book. The world was as we know it is gone and the one Particia or "patch" is living in is a world where everyone and everything they do is monitored the place she lives is surrounded by a giant wall and they are told by the "board" (gover...
  • Jenny Yergin
    Jun 16, 2018
    This was a quick read for me because once I started it, I couldn't put it down! With the political themes it hit very close to home. I think it will be successful, I worry though since it isn't set very far into the future if it will be outdated in 5/10 years. I believe teens and adult...
  • Fernando
    Jun 25, 2018
    The Seclusion is a fascinating and frightening YA book about what the United States could look like in the near future if border walls were built and an oppressive government took power. Jacqui Castle created a timely story, acutely relevant to current events and our current government...
  • Isabel
    May 25, 2018
    I recieved an ARC through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I thought this was kinda be a bad or shittier Matched. Like, the love aspect is there in the book and I didn't really believe it but it was nothing like Matched at all. When I first read Matched, it was a favor...
  • Koeur
    Jun 21, 2018
    Publishing Date: September 2018 Publisher: Inkshares ISBN: 9781947848511 Genre: Dystopian Rating: 3.3/5 Publisher?s Description: In the year 2090, America has walled itself off from the rest of the world. When her father is arrested by the totalitarian Board, a young w...
  • Audrey
    Jun 03, 2018
    This was dystopian sci-fi with a 1984 type totalitarian government. The basic premise is that the United States has built walls on all of its boarders and now The Board monitors and controls every aspect of everyone?s lives. As an American, it made me think, ?what if we really did ...
  • Dave Milbrandt
    Jun 22, 2018
    I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review of its merits. As we are living in a time where we are discussing the height and depth of a wall separating America from its southern neighbors, and we have a president focused on putting America First, th...
  • Kevin Walker
    Jun 09, 2018
    "The Seclusion" is a thought-provoking novel that offers a possible future for America if leadership is left unchecked and the people fail to exercise their democratic authority over their government. Echoes of "1984", "Atlas Shrugged", "The Hunger Games", and "Divergent" can be heard...
  • Emma
    Oct 02, 2018
    I really enjoyed this book, I just felt that the ending was rather abrupt. I think there could have been at least another 100 pages. But other than that, it was a great fast paced story that was really interesting to read. ...
  • Bella
    May 30, 2018
    I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review: Wow what a ride! The Seclusion was a mixture of The Giver, 1984 and V for Vendetta all rolled into a nice package with a little touch of Trump thrown in. WOW again. The Characters: Patch: What an amazingly strong female l...
  • Liz Kerin
    Jul 14, 2018
    If you're anything like me, you were fascinated by books like "The Giver" growing up, and later on, grounded dystopias like "1984." If that's you, then "The Seclusion" is VERY MUCH for you. Dystopia has blown up in recent years, but this is a more nuanced, intellectually detailed adven...
  • Diego Sanchez
    Sep 18, 2018
    I received this ARC in exchange of my honest opinion, which does not affect any of my comments. "Daddy? Will you shoot me if I say something I'm not supposed to?".: Imagine a world where you cannot read, watch tv shows, travel, work and be who you are because you are being controll...
  • Michelle
    Jun 27, 2018
    My full review can be found on the Epilie Aspie Chick blog! This story starts out strong and quickly turns into a very frightening tale of how protection can easily be distorted into complete control and manipulation of a people. The world created by the author is so real you can ...
  • The Nerd Daily
    Sep 21, 2018
    Originally published on The Nerd Daily | Review by Blake Smith "Our entire nation had been lied to for decades. Millions murdered to fit a narrative. We had no idea what was taking place outside the Walls. Whether we were being protected as we were told, or caged. We lived lives gui...
  • D Gillis
    Aug 13, 2018
    "In the year 2090, America has walled itself off from the rest of the world. When her father is arrested by the totalitarian Board, a young woman sets out to escape the only country she's ever known." In the future America information is strictly rationed. Everything is filtered throu...
  • Elli Andrews
    Jul 29, 2018
    Patricia lives to work for the Board, a totalitarian government that rules a futuristic version of America surrounded by a giant wall. When she and her friend Rexx make a discovery from the past however, she starts to question everything she has ever believed? The Seclusion for me...
  • Ralph J
    Apr 11, 2018
    Suspenseful dystopian novel about American future where corporations have taken over and limited freedom for everyone's safety. The ending left me gasping for the sequel with a powerful woman taking on the powers that be. ...
  • Sue R
    Apr 11, 2018
    I love author's first books and this one is amazing. Can't wait to read the next one. ...
  • Kerys
    May 31, 2018
    Note: I was offered an arc through NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinions. These options are my own and no one else?s. Also, this is a slightly different review based on my thoughts WHILE reading the book. I will publish a more in-depth (not bullet pointed !) review on my blog,...
  • Pibrocher
    May 26, 2018
    America unified and secure - what price would you be willing to pay? The Seclusion provides a great vehicle for exploring this question and leaves the reader hoping that this all too possible tale remains a work of fiction. The nation's citizens are cared for, protected, and entert...
  • Nprice84
    Jun 04, 2018
    I couldn't stop turning pages because I loved how a bit more of The Seclusion's interesting world was revealed each chapter. Some of the plot elements were extremely relevant to the modern era and made a big impact. Much of the details were scarily plausible and I couldn't help but ima...