Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker?actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicat From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Josephine Baker's Last Dance
Author:Sherry Jones
Rating:
Genres:Historical
ISBN:1501102443
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:372 pages pages

Josephine Baker's Last Dance Reviews

  • Melanie
    Dec 17, 2018
    Why read a fictional biography? Sometimes, there is no choice: biographies may be out of date, or nonexistent. When they are available, they may be too linear to capture more than the facts, just the facts, ma'am. There are biographies of Josephine Baker, the "Black Pearl," if the r...
  • Dawn Michelle
    Dec 07, 2018
    I got this book on the recommendation of a friend, and since I didn't know much about Josephine Baker, I was excited to receive this ARC and dive in. Sigh. First, some of the problem is that I read a lot of nonfiction. A lot. So that when I pick up a historical fiction based on...
  • Kathryn Bashaar
    May 13, 2019
    I love the 1920s, and I write historical fiction based on real characters myself, so I was very interested to read this book about Josephine Baker, the African-American dancer who was the toast of Paris in the 20s. This book was very readable. I wanted to keep turning pages. The autho...
  • Tammy
    Nov 30, 2018
    Josephine Baker's Last Dance was an entertaining and captivating read! Josephine Baker withstood so many obstacles in her life and those obstacles shaped her. Racism, segregation, poverty and sexual abuse. The author brought Josephine to life, showing us the real woman behind the publi...
  • Christine
    Mar 29, 2019
    What an amazing life Josephine Baker led! It's definitely stranger and harder to believe than fiction! This was a well-written and fast paced book that I enjoyed every minute of. Her time as a spy during World War II was particularly engrossing. I highly recommend this book! ...
  • Sherry
    Dec 16, 2018
    While creating this book, I fell utterly in love with Josephine Baker, as did everyone who ever knew her. Langston Hughes. Bessie Smith. Hemingway. Colette. The King of Sweden. The Pasha of Marrakesh. The Prince of England. Louis Armstrong. Grace Kelly. Mick Jagger. The list goes on an...
  • Cupcake Book Lady
    Dec 03, 2018
    Josephine Baker?s upbringing was far greater than tragic. From hands burned by a cruel mistress, to physical abuse from her alcoholic father, and being shipped off from place to place to work by her verbally abusive mother, it?s amazing that she didn?t follow in her family?s fo...
  • Diana
    Nov 30, 2018
    I think my only complaint would be that a large portion of the first half consists of Josephine "shaking/wiggling her ass;" like to a point where one who might not know her story would begin to think that's all she was capable of. (I looked up some videos and yes, that is basically wha...
  • Linda
    Jun 15, 2019
    Very interesting life and very interesting read. I knew the name but little else, so I didn't realize the important advancements she made for blacks and for women. ...
  • Diane S ☔
    Jan 22, 2019
    Thoughts soon. ...
  • KOMET
    Jan 15, 2019
    Josephine Baker is someone I had known about since my elementary school days more than 40 years ago, when I first saw her profile in a calendar celebrating what was then Black History Week. I was fascinated to learn that she had gone to Paris in 1925 and made herself into a superstar i...
  • TL
    Mar 08, 2019
    I received this via goodreads giveaways in exchange for an honest review. All my opinions are my own. ---- Started off well but the writing fell off for me in the last third of the book except for a few instances. Josephine is an incredible lady and I will look her up more soon bu...
  • Irene
    Nov 23, 2018
    This was a riveting, well researched, fact based though slightly embellished account of the life of Josephine Baker from her childhood and beyond her rise to fame, becoming the highest paid black performer in the world. Since Josephine is no longer with us to be able to share her intim...
  • Julie
    Feb 06, 2019
    Josephine Baker's Last Dance by Sherry Jones is a 2018 Gallery Books publication. I have walked into the palaces of kings and queens and into the houses of presidents. And much more. But I could not walk into a hotel in America and get a cup of coffee, and that made me mad. And whe...
  • Amanda
    Oct 18, 2018
    I received a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I knew very little about Josephine Baker going into this, but reading the book made me want to learn more about her and do some research on my own. As a novel, this is outstanding. Much of it is apparently fictionalized, but t...
  • Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)
    Nov 15, 2018
    I must say I didn't know very much about Josephine Baker. It wasn't until I read the short children's picture book biography in the Little People, Big Dreams series to my daughter that I learned she wasn't just an entertainer but a woman who fought for Civil Rights equality and joine...
  • Linda Zagon
    Nov 29, 2018
    fullsizeoutput_3869Lindas Book Obsession Reviews ?Josephine Baker?s Last Dance? by Sherry Jones, Gallery Books, Simon & Schuster December 4, 2018 Sherry Jones , Author of ?Josephine Baker?s Last Dance? has written an entertaining , engrossing, and intriguing Biograph...
  • Jennifer
    Jun 30, 2019
    I heard about Josephine Baker in a novel I read back in May and decided to check this book out. I love this book, I like Sherry Jones's writing style. I'd like to learn more about Josephine Baker, maybe read some nonfiction about her. I'll definitely read more by Sherry Jones. ...
  • Cathy
    Nov 01, 2018
    This book is a fictional account of the life of Josephine Baker. As with all books of this type, the reader has to consider how much is fact and how much is the author's desire to tell the story she wants to be told. I fear this book is very much a case of the latter. Sherry Jones w...
  • Jamckean
    Sep 24, 2018
    I had never heard of Josephine Baker before reading this book, but I now understand that she was truly a force to be reckon with. The author takes readers on an incredible journey, following Josephine?s life from poverty to stardom, from working as a housekeeper in Missouri to perfor...
  • Christie
    Oct 24, 2018
    I knew very little about Josephine Baker prior to read this except what I had seen once on Mysteries at the Museum (the event mentioned on that show is in the book as well). It was an interesting book, going back and forth in the beginning between present and past and gives an overall ...
  • Joy
    Nov 18, 2018
    Before reading this, I knew very little about Josephine Baker other than the fact that she was an African American Parisian dancer who worked against the Nazis in WW2. This book is the reason I love biographical historical fiction more than straight biography. Not only is Baker brought...
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    Dec 05, 2018
    4 engaging stars to Josephine?s Last Dance! ? ? ? ? Oh, how I enjoyed this look into Josephine Baker?s life. What an icon she was and continues to be with her legacy. Who was Josephine Baker? What defines her the most? Singer? Dancer? Actor? Civil Rights activist? S...
  • Shyiesha
    Jan 18, 2019
    Excellent!!! A deeper look into the life of Josephine Baker. Her life was truly remarkable and this book does not disappoint in retelling her story. ...
  • Audrey Adamson
    Aug 01, 2018
    Josephine Baker lived an astonishing life. I was excited to read this fictionalized account to truly hear her story. Baker came up from a poor black child who suffered a variety of abuses to the stare of stage and screen and even became a spy! My heart broke for each indignity she liv...
  • Deb
    Oct 23, 2018
    I won this book on a goodreads giveaway. I did not know much about Jpsepjine Baker before this book arrived, but I learned she led a fascinating, if not interesting, scary incredible life. She was a pioneer, independent, incredible woman, who did things her own way, right or wrong. W...
  • Marisa
    Dec 29, 2018
    Even though I love Old Hollywood, I'm embarrassed to say that I actually didn't know much about Josephine Baker before I read this book! I knew only a tiny handful of things, the main ones being that she was French and danced naked on stage. After reading this novel, though, I'm happy ...
  • BookGypsy
    Nov 06, 2018
    A great look into the life of this amazing iconic woman. Her youth which was horrific but shaped her to be the strong woman she was. The many issues she faced from poverty, racism,and segregation. This book was an eye opening as I've read about Josephine before but never to this depth....
  • Literary Soirée
    Jun 01, 2019
    A bio as stunning as Baker herself, written in poetic prose, researched meticulously, bringing to fabulous life this legend of stage, screen, civil rights, and spydom. 5 of 5 stars Thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley for the ARC. Opinions are mine. Pub Date 04 Dec 2018. Jo...
  • Mats Werner
    Oct 23, 2018
    Josephine Baker was during some ten years before her premature death in 1975, a very dear friend of mine ? and also of our family. The loss of Josephine at the treshold of new adventures, after some years when she was more or less forgotten and ?out?, when ? as an extra burd...