The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert. Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she's on track to finish high sc Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Author:Brandy Colbert
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph Reviews

  • Emma (Miss Print)
    May 21, 2019
    Birdie has always been a good daughter. She works hard in school, she's responsible. She listens to her parents even when it's hard like when she had to give up soccer to focus on her classes and college prep. But it's hard to balance being a good daughter with dating Booker--the ne...
  • Kelly
    Jan 01, 2019
    I don't think Brandy Colbert needs a comparison to stand out, as she's proven herself a voice in YA. But the ARC compares her to Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour and I'd absolutely agree: this is a quieter book (a la Nina LaCour) that takes on family and relationships in realistic teen ways...
  • Richelle Robinson
    Jun 29, 2019
    This is my first time reading a full length novel by Brandy Colbert and I am truly impressed with her writing. I have read short stories in anthologies by this author which I enjoyed but this book was next level. We are introduced to Dove aka Birdie who is struggling with being the per...
  • Kelly Hager
    Mar 13, 2019
    Brandy Colbert has become one of my must-buy authors and this book is an example of why. Her novels are incredibly specific (their respective neighborhoods are as much a character in the books than the people in them) but at the same time, they feel universal. Everything about this ...
  • Kim
    Jun 17, 2019
    So much love for this novel. It is primarily the story of Birdie, and how, at 16, she's learning to separate the self she wants to be from the self that her parents expect her to be. It's also a story of how messy families can be-- her mother's sister, who has struggled with substance ...
  • Dahlia
    Apr 13, 2019
    Brandy Colbert stays very, very, very good at what she does. ...
  • Heather
    Jul 28, 2019
    Review originally posted on my blog, It's YA Girl Reviews Disclaimer: I received this book as an advanced copy by the publisher via NetGalley for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. If a beautiful coming-of-age, tumultuous self-discovery, bad-ass revolution is what y...
  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    Jul 16, 2019
    While this is a super quick read, it is one that will stick with you long after you put the book down. There are some heavy and serious topics covered in the most beautiful way. I cannot wait to write my review. **HUGE thanks to The Novl/Little Brown FYR for the advance copy in exch...
  • Maraia
    Sep 05, 2019
    4.5 stars ...
  • Kareena
    Jun 13, 2019
    I enjoyed this book a lot. It?s a relatively quick read of only 325 pages. I read this as an ARC so changes could definitely be made before it?s published in August. I was very appreciative of the character diversity. There are a significant number of characters who are POC. There...
  • Toya
    Aug 11, 2019
    Have you ever read a book that immediately transports you back to your teenage, awkward self? This was that book for me, and what made it even better was the fact that this story was about black characters and black culture, which is something that I didn?t get to read a lot of when ...
  • Sasha
    Aug 22, 2019
    Colbert's got a LOT going on in this one, but it works. Dove (Birdie) bucks her parents' extreme pressure and high expectations to pursue a forbidden love as well as relationship with her estranged Aunt, who has a long history of addiction. While in the midst of discovering who she is ...
  • Kelsea
    Jul 25, 2019
    4.5 stars! I finished this book last night and I?m still a bit stunned! The Revolution of Birdie Randolph is such a quietly beautiful and powerful story, written with a level of finesse and nuance that is frankly quite enviable for those of us with writing aspirations. Birdie i...
  • Lola
    Aug 31, 2019
    This is a book that truly surprised me. First, Brandy Colbert completely improved upon her previous release?Finding Yvonne?a book I did not care to finish. I enjoyed Little & Lion from her, but this was twice as good and well developed. I dare say it?s a page turner from the ...
  • Christy
    Aug 27, 2019
    Brandy always seems to write the important social issues and considering the recent win against J&J for their role in the opioid crisis, a book about the impacts of substance use disorders seems relevant. Birdie jumped right off the page and into my heart, as I am sure she will you...
  • Forever Young Adult
    Aug 19, 2019
    Graded By: Brian Cover Story: The Revolution Will Not Be Televised Drinking Buddy: Know When to Say When MPAA Rating: Adult Situations, Drug and Alcohol Use, Strong Language Talky Talk: This Bird Will Fly Bonus Factors: LGBTQ, Race Relations, Cool Aunt Bromance Status: Party Host...
  • Peta
    Sep 05, 2019
    Interesting story of love, family, growth, and forgiveness.... watch my review here ->https://youtu.be/3PGHT8oxAQQ ...
  • Camryn
    Sep 01, 2019
    This is my second favorite Brandy Colbert book after Pointe! I didn?t expect to like this so much or to stay up reading the whole thing, but it was so readable and almost comforting in that way that I didn?t want to stop. I love that everyone was basically black and queer. The love...
  • Sarah M
    Jun 05, 2019
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book- so much that I finished it in 1 day! I?d like to thank the amazing people at NOVL for providing me with this ARC from BookCon this past weekend! Overall, I felt that Dove?s story was unique and interesting, the romance felt real, the characters were ...
  • Kayla Brunson
    Aug 22, 2019
    This was my first book by Brandy Colbert and I was excited to start it. This covers some serious topics and also has quite a bit of diversity. However, what kept me from really loving this book were the characters and the lack of plot. This book just follows along with Birdie?s ev...
  • Alejandra Rodriguez
    Aug 15, 2019
    *I received a complimentary copy of this book from Little, Brown Books for Young Reader through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.* This book had no faults in my eyes. There is nothing that I would change about this book. I don?t usually read young...
  • Bella
    Aug 30, 2019
    All around just such an excellent, touching read. Brandy Colbert is truly a queen of YA contemporary works, and this is no exception! ...
  • Katie B
    Jul 12, 2019
    I finished this a few days ago and the more I think about this book, the more I appreciate all of the things the author managed to do with the story. At first it seems like a fairly simple story but in reality there's a lot going on here. Sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph has...
  • Jonea
    Aug 27, 2019
    I LOVED this book. For me it was the book that I wanted when I was a teenager. A coming of age novel about a young black girl in today?s world. The story touches on so many things but none of them overshadow the main story. I definitely recommend it. ? ...
  • Paige Green
    Jul 31, 2019
    Disclaimer: I received this book from TheNovl. Thanks! All opinions are my own. Book Series: Standalone Rating: 5/5 Diversity: African American main character and family, lesbian character, gay characters, ace character. Publication Date: August 20, 2019 Genre: YA Contem...
  • Destiny Henderson
    Aug 30, 2019
    By no means bad! I just rated this out of personal enjoyment. I just thought it turned too soap-operaish toward the end. Some nice conversations about addiction, sexuality, and living for parental approval are present. Those topics should get the ball rolling for someone who wants to d...
  • The Nerd Daily
    Aug 29, 2019
    Originally posted on The Nerd Daily | Review by Teralyn Mitchell The Revolution of Birdie Randolph is a coming-of-age story about a sixteen-year-old girl who experiences a lot of changes in one summer and it deals with family, secrets, first loves, and addiction. Dove was the younge...
  • Ivy
    Jan 14, 2019
    This cover is enough for me to give the book five starts already. ...
  • ☼ rachel ☼
    Aug 19, 2019
    You can see this review and many others on my Blog "With a name like Dove, you got to fly." This story follows sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph, who strives to be the perfect daughter for her parents. She studies hard, gets good grades, and always follows the rules. However...
  • Sarah ➖Goddess of Mischief➖
    Jan 26, 2019
    Me: *sees cover* I think I should add to TBR Brain: why? Me: pretty cover Brain: good idea ...