The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert. Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she's on track to finish high Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Aw...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Author:Brandy Colbert
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph Reviews

  • Emma
    May 21, 2019
    Birdie has always been a good daughter. She works hard in school, she's responsible. She listens to her parents even when it's hard like when she had to give up soccer to focus on her classes and college prep. But it's hard to balance being a good daughter with dating Booker--the ne...
  • kelly {BookCrushin}
    Dec 06, 2019
    3.5 stars rounded up. The Revolution of Birdie Randolph is another exemplary book that brings in important less talked about topics into the YA narrative. Brandy Colbert has a unique voice, but every book is different. One thing is for certain is that Brandy is not afraid to hit hard w...
  • Kelly
    Jan 01, 2019
    I don't think Brandy Colbert needs a comparison to stand out, as she's proven herself a voice in YA. But the ARC compares her to Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour and I'd absolutely agree: this is a quieter book (a la Nina LaCour) that takes on family and relationships in realistic teen ways...
  • Richelle Robinson
    Jun 29, 2019
    This is my first time reading a full length novel by Brandy Colbert and I am truly impressed with her writing. I have read short stories in anthologies by this author which I enjoyed but this book was next level. We are introduced to Dove aka Birdie who is struggling with being the per...
  • Sacha
    Oct 31, 2019
    3.75 I like this character and the relationships with her family, friends, and past and present romantic partners. While I predicted the potential twist too early on for my taste, it did prove to be more complex than I expected. ...
  • Chinook
    Jan 07, 2020
    The big dramatic moments of this novel were pretty obvious but that doesn?t at all detract from the story. There?s a lot of representation in this book, which is awesome, and a really respectful sexual relationship. It?s probably the best teenage relationship I?ve ever seen in ...
  • Rena
    Sep 08, 2019
    Thoughts to come. ...
  • Dahlia
    Apr 13, 2019
    Brandy Colbert stays very, very, very good at what she does. ...
  • Heather
    Jul 28, 2019
    Review originally posted on my blog, It's YA Girl Reviews Disclaimer: I received this book as an advanced copy by the publisher via NetGalley for reviewing purposes, but all opinions are my own. If a beautiful coming-of-age, tumultuous self-discovery, bad-ass revolution is what y...
  • Neville Longbottom
    Nov 24, 2019
    4.5 - A great YA contemporary about family, relationships, and the impact that addiction can have on a family. I loved how sex-positive this book was, it was also great to see how much queer & ace rep there was within the side characters. The story has some twists and dramatic mome...
  • *Layali*
    Sep 06, 2019
    I want to start this review by clarifying that a 3 star rating does not mean this was a bad book by any means. I really enjoyed listening to this on audio. I liked the characters, the secrets, and the flawed reality of Birdie's life. I enjoyed the diverse representation, and I enjoyed ...
  • Toya
    Aug 11, 2019
    Have you ever read a book that immediately transports you back to your teenage, awkward self? This was that book for me, and what made it even better was the fact that this story was about black characters and black culture, which is something that I didn?t get to read a lot of when ...
  • Sasha
    Aug 22, 2019
    Colbert's got a LOT going on in this one, but it works. Dove (Birdie) bucks her parents' extreme pressure and high expectations to pursue a forbidden love as well as relationship with her estranged Aunt, who has a long history of addiction. While in the midst of discovering who she is ...
  • Kelsea
    Jul 25, 2019
    4.5 stars! I finished this book last night and I?m still a bit stunned! The Revolution of Birdie Randolph is such a quietly beautiful and powerful story, written with a level of finesse and nuance that is frankly quite enviable for those of us with writing aspirations. Birdie i...
  • Lola
    Aug 31, 2019
    This is a book that truly surprised me. First, Brandy Colbert completely improved upon her previous release?Finding Yvonne?a book I did not care to finish. I enjoyed Little & Lion from her, but this was twice as good and well developed. I dare say it?s a page turner from the ...
  • Christy
    Aug 27, 2019
    Brandy always seems to write the important social issues and considering the recent win against J&J for their role in the opioid crisis, a book about the impacts of substance use disorders seems relevant. Birdie jumped right off the page and into my heart, as I am sure she will you...
  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    Sep 18, 2019
    This was so raw and real and nuanced and sex positive and I loved it so damn much. Brandy Colbert is a master when it comes to writing hard-hitting, realistic YA and I am forever in awe of her. Read this book!!!! TW: addiction ...
  • Forever Young Adult
    Aug 19, 2019
    Graded By: Brian Cover Story: The Revolution Will Not Be Televised Drinking Buddy: Know When to Say When MPAA Rating: Adult Situations, Drug and Alcohol Use, Strong Language Talky Talk: This Bird Will Fly Bonus Factors: LGBTQ, Race Relations, Cool Aunt Bromance Status: Party Host...
  • Latanya (Crafty Scribbles)
    Dec 19, 2019
    Not my favorite of hers, but it's still a great story to experience. I'm glad I read it. There are so many things to untangle, but the journey's worth the traveling. 3.5/5 ...
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    Jan 06, 2020
    Birdie had had enough of all her parents strict rules. She wanted to experiment, try new things, and spread her wings a little. During this summer of her "revolution", Birdie makes mistakes, falls in love, and unearths a H U G E family secret. I had no idea this story would take th...
  • Camryn
    Sep 01, 2019
    This is my second favorite Brandy Colbert book after Pointe! I didn?t expect to like this so much or to stay up reading the whole thing, but it was so readable and almost comforting in that way that I didn?t want to stop. I love that everyone was basically black and queer. The love...
  • Chelsea
    Sep 21, 2019
    Pretty average YA contemporary. Some good themes of adolescence and coming of age, just nothing exceptional. Looking forward to Brandy Colbert's next release! ...
  • Kayla Brunson
    Aug 22, 2019
    This was my first book by Brandy Colbert and I was excited to start it. This covers some serious topics and also has quite a bit of diversity. However, what kept me from really loving this book were the characters and the lack of plot. This book just follows along with Birdie?s ev...
  • Jess
    Oct 04, 2019
    My review of The Revolution of Birdie Randolph is up on my blog now! https://bookreviewsfromanovelnerd.wor... ...
  • Katie B
    Jul 12, 2019
    I finished this a few days ago and the more I think about this book, the more I appreciate all of the things the author managed to do with the story. At first it seems like a fairly simple story but in reality there's a lot going on here. Sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph has...
  • Jonea
    Aug 27, 2019
    I LOVED this book. For me it was the book that I wanted when I was a teenager. A coming of age novel about a young black girl in today?s world. The story touches on so many things but none of them overshadow the main story. I definitely recommend it. I LOVED this book. For me it w...
  • The Nerd Daily
    Aug 29, 2019
    Originally posted on The Nerd Daily | Review by Teralyn Mitchell The Revolution of Birdie Randolph is a coming-of-age story about a sixteen-year-old girl who experiences a lot of changes in one summer and it deals with family, secrets, first loves, and addiction. Dove was the younge...
  • Ivy
    Jan 14, 2019
    This cover is enough for me to give the book five starts already. ...
  • ☼ rachel ☼
    Aug 19, 2019
    You can see this review and many others on my Blog "With a name like Dove, you got to fly." This story follows sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph, who strives to be the perfect daughter for her parents. She studies hard, gets good grades, and always follows the rules. However...
  • Sarah ➖Goddess of Mischief➖
    Jan 26, 2019
    Me: *sees cover* I think I should add to TBR Brain: why? Me: pretty cover Brain: good idea ...