The Sisters of the Winter Wood

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Raised in a small village surrounded by vast forests, Liba and Laya have lived a peaceful sheltered life - even if they've heard of troubling times for Jews elsewhere. When their parents travel to visit their dying grandfather, the sisters are left behind in their home in the woods. But before they leave, Liba discovers the secret that their Tati can transform into a bear, Raised in a small village surrounded by vast forests, Liba and Laya have lived a peaceful sheltered life - even if the...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Sisters of the Winter Wood
Author:Rena Rossner
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:The Sisters of the Winter Wood
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:464 pages pages

The Sisters of the Winter Wood Reviews

  • karen
    Jul 13, 2018
    NOW AVAILABLE!! man, i was so looking forward to this - it seemed, from the description, to be exactly my kind of book; one blending fairytale sensibilities with realworld atrocities เ la Gretel and the Dark, with girls shapeshifting into bears and swans, and coming as it did in an...
  • Will Byrnes
    Sep 24, 2018
    For there is no friend like a sister In calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tedious way, To fetch one if one goes astray, To lift one if one totters down, To strengthen whilst one stands. -----From Goblin Market by Christina Rosetti I know what might be happening ...
  • Melanie
    Aug 05, 2018
    ARC provided by Orbit in exchange for an honest review. ?Sometimes you know when you don?t belong, but you don?t know how to leave.? This is one of the most atmospheric books I?ve ever read in my entire life. It was also able to evoke such a visceral reading experie...
  • Mogsy (MMOGC)
    Sep 19, 2018
    3.5 of 5 stars at The BiblioSanctum https://bibliosanctum.com/2018/09/25/... A literary fantasy written in the tradition of books like Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale, The Sisters of the Winter Wood is Rena Rossner?s debut which blends magic and history with folklore and...
  • Hayley Chewins
    Aug 16, 2018
    This book is unlike anything I've ever read. It's so beautifully crafted. It's utterly surprising, startling and fresh. It's a sister story, and a Jewish story, and a fairy tale, and a story about first love. It's magical and filled with the most delicious imagery. It's wonderful. Just...
  • Julie
    Apr 06, 2018
    My official review! Do NOT miss this book if you enjoy languorously paced, character-driven dark fairy tales and fantasies like "The Bear and the Nightingale" or "Uprooted." "This dark fairy tale about sisterly love and Jewish strength and courage, set against the backdrop of a deep...
  • Ova - Excuse My Reading
    Sep 20, 2018
    This book was a huge disappointment for me. I really love this genre and this won my heart by the mention of Uprooted and Bear and the Nightingale. These two books were also mentioning/telling other cultures, using cultural references as background; Uprooted Polish and Bear and Nightin...
  • Diane
    Jul 30, 2018
    I'm not sure there are enough superlatives to describe this book. First, there's the magnificent cover. It sets the tone for the book better than any cover I've seen. The story was beautifully written--much of it in a prose poem style that works fantastically well to convey the thought...
  • Lady Clementina ffinch-ffarowmore
    Sep 07, 2018
    My thanks to NetGalley and Little Brown and Co for a review copy of the book. This is a retelling of Christina Rossetti?s poem Goblin Market but also much more, it weaves in folklore, history, myth and magic. This is the story of two sisters Liba, nearly eighteen, and fifteen-year...
  • Anja
    Oct 01, 2018
    *2.25 DISAPPOINTED STARS* /RANT INCOMING/ I'm afraid this book just wasn't for me, even though lots of people are probably going to love this. This looked and sounded so promising (I mean, have you seen that gorgeous cover?!) and I'm all for discovering new ethnicities, cultur...
  • Adam Sockel
    May 23, 2018
    There are not many books I can think of that so beautifully tell a story of family, love, magic, pain and culture like this. Rena has created a powerful story of two sisters, bound by the unique magic that both connects them and sets them apart. Equal parts prose and poetry, the dizzyi...
  • Katya Becerra
    Apr 10, 2018
    This book was one of my most highly anticipated debuts of 2018 - and it absolutely delivered! I'm enthralled by it, by its hypnotic writing, unique setting, and the dual-voiced narrative that is clever and so beautiful. I particularly enjoyed all the linguistic and cultural description...
  • Joshee Kun (์กฐ์ˆ˜์•„)
    Nov 09, 2018
    I?m not ready for this. Could they have come for her already? I wish Tati was still here. I wish Mami had told me more? I didn't expect this book to be a combination of fantasy and history. Melanie and Solomon, my blogger friends, liked it a lot. And understandably so. The writi...
  • mo
    Sep 26, 2018
    ? Review also on my blog! ->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->->-> Friends, I love this book. ? I think some readers who aren?t fans of verse in their novels may not enjoy it, but for anyone else, I...
  • James Tivendale
    Aug 24, 2018
    Every family has a secret... and every secret tells a story. I received an advanced reader copy of The Sisters of the Winter Wood in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank Rena Rossner and Orbit Books for this opportunity. The titular sisters and their parents live...
  • destiny โ™Ž [howling libraries]
    May 23, 2018
    If there are a few things I love in my fantasy stories, they are: 1) good, diverse representation, 2) fairytale vibes and/or retellings, 3) historical settings, and 4) animals and/or shape-shifters. This book checks all those boxes, plus either other chapter is poetry (and if you didn?...
  • Melissa โ™ฅ Dog/Wolf Lover โ™ฅ Martin
    Oct 25, 2018
    Look at this copy!!!! OMG!!!!! And yellow stained edges! ...
  • Aila
    Jun 29, 2018
    The Sisters of the Winter Wood is a quiet, captivating tale that follows the growth of two sisters - vastly different from one another - and the secret power that their heritage has passed onto them. I really enjoyed this adult fantasy, and would really recommend it for readers looking...
  • Emma
    Sep 27, 2018
    Oh, how I wish this were darker. The winter wood held little chill. Its thorns were so small and brittle. Two girls, one fair, one dark, live with their Tati and Mami in a house by the forest, a simple life of religion and toil. When a stranger appears at the door one night,...
  • Hannah
    Sep 22, 2018
    I have decided to just give up on this. I am very much not the right kind of reader for this which is odd because I thought I would love this: I adore fairy-talesque stories influenced by Northern European folklore. I like books described as whimsy. I love stories focussing sibling rel...
  • Lou
    Sep 26, 2018
    This had so much potential, bucket loads in fact, but it sadly wasn't as alluring as I thought it was going to be. Don't get me wrong, this is still a beautiful book, I just felt it may have been a five star read in the making. The story moves slowly and takes quite a while before it m...
  • Acqua
    Aug 14, 2018
    DNF at 33% The Sisters of the Winter Wood is a historical fantasy novel following a Jewish Ukrainian family. The two main characters are Liba and her younger sister Laya, and this is a story of self-discovery that almost reads like a dark fairytale, partly inspired by Christina Ross...
  • Lauren [DontGoBrekkerMyHeart]
    Jul 21, 2018
    ?He gives me a basket full of fruit. ?I can?t take this,? I say. ?For your sister and you to share.? He puts it in my hands.? Not only is the cover to this story absolutely beautiful, but the content inside is amazing as well. It flips back and forth between prose an...
  • Jenni
    Aug 20, 2018
    The Sisters of the Winter Wood got off to a truly amazing start, I love the way that the story switches between the sister's points of view. Both Liba and Laya are really interesting and I also love the differences between their prose, steady and descriptive Liba and poetic and flighty...
  • โ™ฅ Kayleigh Kehoe โšœ (Awkword Reviews)โœ
    Aug 18, 2018
    ? blog ? bookstagram "'He is a hunter, or did you not know that? All men are beasts inside. Some just show it differently than others.'" Liba and Laya are two Jewish sisters that live in a small village surrounded by forest. When there is a knock on the door one night, it ...
  • Roman Clodia
    Jul 08, 2018
    If you enjoy modern whimsical re-tellings of folklore and fairy tales with a smattering of history (here Jewish pogroms in pre-Revolutionary Russia/Ukraine) then this might be for you. I liked the intentions but found this too YA and unsophisticated for my tastes. The two sisters, e...
  • Lucy Banks
    Sep 11, 2018
    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. Richly told, an engrossing fairy-tale of a story. With a sumptuous cover like that, I think most readers would expect an excellent fairy-story to nestle within. Luckily, it is indeed a great tale, an...
  • Sylvie
    Nov 11, 2018
    3.5/5 Loved the story, but the characters...not so much. RTC. ...
  • Lauren (laureads_)
    Nov 05, 2018
    Wow. This book was absolutely incredible. It?s dark, beautiful and atmospheric. This is one of the best books I have read...ever. I was completely captivated by the beautiful writing, the atmospheric world building and the dark fairytale being told. I loved how this was ab...
  • Sol ~ TheBookishKing
    Sep 23, 2018
    Happy Release Day to this Gorgeous Book! Full Review can be found on my Blog Here! This book is so enchanting and wonderful and I'm so glad it's now out in the world for everyone to read! I did just recently finish so it's not like it's been a long wait lol. The Sisters of th...