The Boy at the Keyhole

The Boy at the Keyhole

An electrifying debut in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Daphne Du Maurier?s Rebecca, about a British boy who, after his mother is abruptly called away to America, begins to suspect that perhaps she did not leave, but was murdered?by the housekeeper who cares for him in the family's isolated country estate. Nine-year-old Samuel lives alone in a once great estate in Surrey w An electrifying debut in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Daphne Du Maurier?s Rebecca, about a British boy who, ...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Boy at the Keyhole
Author:Stephen Giles
Rating:
Genres:Mystery
ISBN:1335652922
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:272 pages pages

The Boy at the Keyhole Reviews

  • Melissa
    Sep 23, 2018
    I'm struggling with The Poppy War, so for a quick afternoon read I picked up this, a speedily-digested treatise on the importance of not forcing one to comply with gender roles for which one is ill-suited & also not participating in campaigns of misinformation against young childre...
  • Stormi (BMReviewsohmy)
    Oct 25, 2018
    I am not sure what I thought I might find in the pages of this book but I don't think it is what I found. :( It's about a young boy Samuel who is worried about his mother who has gone off on business and been gone for about 5 months. His housekeeper Ruth has been looking after him. ...
  • Kelly Hager
    Sep 03, 2018
    This is one of the creepiest, saddest books I've ever read. We don't know what's happened to Samuel's mom and we don't know who's right. And obviously either Ruth is a woman who's taking care of a boy who's getting increasingly disturbed and trying to keep a house from falling apart an...
  • Robin
    May 26, 2018
    Haunting and dark as hell. Memorable. Only readalike I can think of without giving away any plot points is Iain Reid's I'M THINKING OF ENDING THINGS. Thanks to the publisher for the advance reading copy. ...
  • Jill
    Jun 03, 2018
    This sinister psychological thriller focuses around an age-old conundrum: if two people have conflicting versions of what is true, who is the unreliable narrator? Young Samuel lives with his housekeeper Ruth in the crumbling family estate in Cornwall. His father is dead and his moth...
  • Kelly Long
    Aug 18, 2018
    I read an ARC of this book. This was a slow burn that turned into a dud. That ending... What a letdown. ...
  • Carolyn
    Jun 26, 2018
    Thank you NetGalley and Harlequin/Hanover Press for the advance copy of this tension filled novel of psychological suspense. I found myself riveted to each page from its beginning to the startling conclusion. I would have liked a short aftermath, but found it more compelling than other...
  • Lisa
    Sep 01, 2018
    Thank you Harlequin Press for an e-copy of The Boy at the Keyhole for review. This short little novel was pretty dark. Nine year old Samuel?s mother left one night without a word for business in America. He is left with the housekeeper, Ruth, with only sporadic postcards to remembe...
  • Judy
    Aug 25, 2018
    Nine-year-old Samuel has been left in the care of the housekeeper, Ruth, for over 100 days while his mother went to America to try to raise money to save the family steel business. The story takes place mostly in the mind of Samuel - suspense that builds very slowly until both Samuel a...
  • Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)
    May 19, 2018
    Nine-year-old Samuel Clay lives with the family's housekeeper, Ruth, on a deteriorating English estate.  His father has died and his mother has traveled to America to secure capital for their failing business. It's been over five months since Samuel has spoken to his mother; he rec...
  • Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)
    May 21, 2018
    Nine-year-old Samuel Clay lives with the family's housekeeper, Ruth, on a deteriorating English estate.  His father has died and his mother has traveled to America to secure capital for their failing business. It's been over five months since Samuel has spoken to his mother; he rec...
  • Audra (ouija.doodle.reads)
    Sep 05, 2018
    A young boy's mother goes away in the night without saying a word, leaving him under the care of a stern housekeeper. But so much time passes that Samuel begins to think she didn't leave him at all, but rather something more nefarious happened?and someone is covering it up. I love...
  • SheLovesThePages
    Aug 29, 2018
    I was given this book by Netgalley and Hanover Square Press to review. Publication Date-Sept 4, 2018. This book is set in England and has that upstairs/downstairs vibe. It is told through the eyes of a 9 year old boy who suspects the housekeeper of killing his mother. The writing i...
  • Deborah
    Oct 16, 2018
    I enjoyed Giles' writing and the voice he gave to Samuel - the way he mimicked / repeated the words of his parents / Ruth - but I agree with other reviews... we went around in circles a lot before the final scenes and I didn't find Samuel particularly engaging or Ruth very consistent. ...
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    Sep 19, 2018
    This slow burn of a psychological mystery will leave you guessing what is true and what is not. What else is a nine-year-old boy supposed to do when his mother leaves to go to another country in the middle of the night without even saying goodbye? Of course he's going to try and fi...
  • Emily
    Aug 26, 2018
    "This house won't hold your secrets--it will betray them...This house tells its tales with anyone with sense enough to listen." I enjoyed The Boy at the Keyhole more than I expected to. This is a slow-burning psychological gothic novel with tones of Shirley Jackson. Don't expect maj...
  • Fran
    May 25, 2018
    Push pins on an atlas are the only way nine year old Samuel Clay can track his mother's trip to America. That, and eight postcards sent from various locales. Mrs. Clay was seeking a large investment to jump start the sagging business she runs since the death of her husband. Samuel ache...
  • Faith
    Nov 16, 2018
    In 1961, 9 year old Samuel is being cared for by the family housekeeper Ruth. His mother was suddenly called away to America on business and has been gone for months. Samuel begins to suspect that Ruth has killed his mother, and he tries to prove it. I don?t know who is the inten...
  • DJ Sakata
    Sep 28, 2018
    Favorite Quotes: Ruth could do that. Make a decree, like a queen or something, that certain topics had reached their end and that would be that. Now that he stood on the precipice of this wrongdoing, he felt the fluttering in his chest that made every breath sound as if he were ...
  • Diane Hernandez
    Aug 31, 2018
    Boy at the Keyhole is a suspenseful psychological thriller by a debut author. In 1961, nine-year-old Samuel is at home in England with his housekeeper, Ruth. His father is dead and his mother is searching for business investors in America. Samuel is concerned because his mother has ...
  • Jamie Canaves
    Sep 22, 2018
    I picked this up because it had a comparison to Shirley Jackson and while I was initially hesitant, because those comps never work out for me, I totally saw it. It isn?t the characters from We Have Always Lived in the Castle but it is the similar vibe of the mystery, and everything b...
  • Bookworm
    Sep 21, 2018
    Thank you to Harlequin - Hanover Square Press and Stephen Giles for an advanced copy of The Boy at the Keyhole. This was a psychological brain teaser to say the least! There was much to be enjoyed with this book but also a little slow in places. If you are a big fan of slow burns that ...
  • Marjorie
    Jun 27, 2018
    Nine-year-old Samuel misses his mother. She?s left him alone with the housekeeper Ruth. Ruth as told Samuel that his mother had to go to America to try to save the family business. She didn?t even say goodbye and left in the middle of the night while he was sleeping. But she?s be...
  • Coleen
    Sep 16, 2018
    There are essentially two main characters in this story: nine year old Samuel, and the housekeeper Ruth. Samuel's mother left the home [more of an estate] in England in the middle of the night without any contact with Samuel, presumably going to America to seek funds to continue the fa...
  • JE Owen
    May 16, 2018
    I absolutely loved this book. Its hard to write about this without giving away spoilers so I'll say nothing at all about the plot except that it is a nail biting read, your belief about what is going on twists and turns as the story develops. Wonderful characters that just seem so re...
  • Kendall
    Jul 15, 2018
    Nine year old Samuel Clay lives with his housekeeper Ruth on an English estate. Samuel's father has died and his mother abruptly left in the middle of the night to America to help with their failing family business. It has been over 5 months since Samuel has spoken to his mother and...
  • Tammy
    May 17, 2018
    A perfectly serviceable suspense novel that takes place within the confines of a manor house. A housekeeper is charged with the care of a nine year old boy during the absence of his mother. Needless to say things between them become rather tense and play out psychologically and otherwi...
  • MaryBeth's Bookshelf
    Sep 25, 2018
    The Boy in the Keyhole has all the elements of a great thriller - a decaying estate in England, an abusive housekeeper, and a curious boy trying to figure out what happened to his mother. I could not put this book down, but the big, pivotal moment I was waiting for never materialized. ...
  • Chris Mara
    Oct 16, 2018
    A suspenseful psychological thriller involving Samuel, a 9 year old boy and his, and the estate homes? caretaker, Ruth. Honestly, I could not put this book down! Ruth is a questionable person at the get go. No one really knows of her personal or professional background. She is br...
  • Dennis
    Jul 26, 2018
    While, The Boy at the Keyhole promises a psychological horror showdown, it falls flat on its delivery. It's the early 1960s, and nine year old Samuel lives in this beautiful spacious estate in England, where he is being taken care of by his housekeeper Ruth. Samuel's father had passe...