The Witch of Willow Hall

The Witch of Willow Hall

Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there?s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn?t even know it. Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences but those around you, as well. New Oldbury, 1821 In the wake of a scandal, the Montrose family and their three daughters?Cather Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there?s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she do...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Witch of Willow Hall
Author:Hester Fox
Rating:
Genres:Historical
ISBN:The Witch of Willow Hall
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:364 pages pages

The Witch of Willow Hall Reviews

  • Marialyce
    Oct 09, 2018
    4 wonderfully Gothic creepy stars My reviews can be found here: https://yayareadslotsofbooks.wordpres... There are things afoot at Willow Hall. The family Montrose, have moved into their country home. Fleeing from Boston because of a scandal, the sisters Catherine, Lydia, and...
  • Book of Secrets
    Oct 28, 2018
    THE WITCH OF WILLOW HALL is a wonderful throwback to those beloved vintage gothic romances. Set in 1821, the story follows the Montrose family as a scandal in Boston sends them retreating to the small town of New Oldbury. Their fresh start in the country is anything but peaceful, as a ...
  • Diane S ☔
    Oct 07, 2018
    A Gothic tale, just perfect for October. A terrfic blend of romance and ghostly happenings. Set in 1821 New England, two centuries after the infamous witch trials, we come to a creepy house, with a family whose lineage holds many secrets. So incredibly atmospheric, this was a sisters r...
  • Lisa
    Apr 17, 2018
    Love, love, love! Perfect for fans of Witchy reads, with parallels to Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. ...
  • Sheyla ✎
    Oct 14, 2018
    This was the perfect book to get me into the Halloween spirit! Lydia Montrose and her family are moving from Boston to New Oldbury. They have been pretty much run out of the city after certain rumors spread surrounding the oldest sister, Catherine. Lydia is the middle siste...
  • Debra
    Jul 24, 2018
    3.5 stars "Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences, but those around you, as well." A witch who doesn't know she is a witch! A family who flees Boston amidst scandal, moves to the town of Ne...
  • Judy
    Aug 30, 2018
    Hard to believe this is a debut novel - it is really very well written. I was totally absorbed in the story and didn't want to put the book down until finished. There's a lot more to the story than witchcraft. The Montrose family flees Boston in 1821 due to scandalous rumors and moves ...
  • Reading.Between.Wines
    Sep 29, 2018
    ???? / 5 Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there's still one witch left in Massachusetts, but she doesn't even know it. If you are looking for an atmospheric fall / Halloween read, then I highly recommend The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox. What it's abo...
  • Anna Lee Huber
    Jan 06, 2018
    Beautifully written, skillfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror, readers will devour this absorbing, Gothic tale of romance and suspense. Perfect for fans of Simone St James and Kate Morton. ...
  • Brenda - Traveling Sister
    Oct 19, 2018
    Norma, Lindsay and I read The Witch Of Willow Hall with six of our Traveling Sisters and we all agreed that this was the perfect book for this time of year. The Witch of Willow Hall is just what we were craving. It has all the elements for a great spooky, atmospheric, entertaining ...
  • Mary Beth *Traveling Sister*
    Oct 12, 2018
    Two centuries after the Salem Witch Trials, there's still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn't even know it. It was the year of 1811 and it was the Bishop boy that started it all. He pelted stones at passing carriages. He lurked around every corner, responsible for eve...
  • Christina - Traveling Sister
    Oct 13, 2018
    4, this was the perfect Halloween read stars!!! Full review featured on my blog Recipe and a Read! Welcome fellow readers, to 1800's Boston, Massachusetts - two centuries after the Salem Witch Trials. Meet Lydia Montrose - she is the daughter of a wealthy businessman and a prim ...
  • Mackey
    Oct 18, 2018
    The Witch of Willow Hall is a perfectly written gothic tale of witches, dark secrets and history. This is the debut novel written by Hester Fox and all I can is, "Wow!" Every first book should be this amazing! I was completely blown away by the history, the suspense and the storyl...
  • Mfedore
    Dec 08, 2017
    I read an early draft of this book. I found the characters and setting to be very unique and well-developed. The heroine, Lydia, is a compelling character and I found myself engrossed in her experiences. This is the author's debut novel and I am excited to see what she produces next! ...
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    Sep 28, 2018
    Woo hoo, witchy woman...she got the moon in her eye! ? ? ? ? ? It is the 1800s in Boston, Massachusetts, some two hundred years after the Salem witch trials. One member of the Montrose family is a witch, but she has no knowledge of this. There is a scandal that c...
  • Paromjit
    Oct 02, 2018
    This is a perfect gothic, ghostly historical read for this time of the year, set in 1821 featuring elements of the supernatural. Hester Fox writes a family drama novel that just drips with chilling atmosphere. The well off Montrose family move to the small country town of New Oldbury a...
  • Berit☀️✨
    Sep 28, 2018
    Beautiful, atmospheric, and haunting..... this was an exquisitely told debut...Hester Fox has wovin together this Gothic story of heartbreak and hope effortlessly.... as soon as I opened the cover of this book I found myself transported into the lives of the Montrose Family... fin...
  • Samantha
    Jun 06, 2018
    The ULTIMATE page turner! I typically don't read such dark novels, and I always hesitate when reading a new author's first published book, but the fact that the main character had a great aunt that was killed during the Salem Witch Trials, and I do too, I picked it up. Set in th...
  • Holly  B
    Sep 18, 2018
    3.5 STARS A gothic romance with a mysterious family tree. The Montrose family is at the heart of this story and they have moved to the country with their three daughters to escape a scandalous family event. It is 1821 and their new estate is Willow Hall. There are stori...
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    Oct 09, 2018
    Spooky, suspenseful & a little bit witchy! This book reminded me so much of the gothic romantic suspense novels that I used to love reading growing up. They were my absolute favourite stories and this tale just made me feel all nostalgic and reminded me of my fondness for these ...
  • Kendall
    Sep 27, 2018
    The Witch of Willow Hall is a rich gothic mystery at it's finest!!! Our main character Lydia and her family move to New Oldbury after a scandal arises with her family. After the scandal, their family is ready to have a fresh beginning but somehow the past always sneaks up on you.......
  • Melisa
    Sep 21, 2018
    A very enjoyable, creepy fall read! I love this period - the propriety and all the rules and manners, the language, the fashion, the balls. All of it! Well, not all of it - although women?s rights were just starting to take off, women were still treated as the lesser sex. But I di...
  • Hester Fox
    Dec 08, 2017
    I hope you enjoy reading this book as much as I enjoyed writing it <3 Edited to add: You can find content warnings for THE WITCH OF WILLOW HALL here: http://www.hesterfox.com/content-warn... ...
  • Mellie Antoinete
    Oct 11, 2018
    Man I loved this book! Pride & Prejudice meets Jane Eyre with the winds of Salem gusting through the trees. A glorious autumnal read! ...
  • Lindsay - Traveling Sister
    Oct 19, 2018
    3.5 stars. Gothic. Mysterious. Haunting. Secretive. This was a spine-tingling, highly atmospheric story. Willow Hall, the countryside mansion that this novel revolves around, has such an alluring and dominating presence. The house itself, the grounds the house lays on, the wood...
  • Mackenzie - PhDiva Books
    Sep 28, 2018
    Haunting, romantic, and atmospheric?Hester Fox?s The Witch of Willow Hall is a deeply engaging gothic historical fiction novel that explores the notion of how we choose to become who we are. Set in the small community of New Oldbury, Massachusetts in the 1800s, this book has a cast...
  • Niki
    Mar 04, 2018
    THIS WAS SO GOOD. Creepy af but also romantic af?? Give me a John Barrett without the ghosts pls. ...
  • NZLisaM
    Oct 21, 2018
    Historical fiction at its upmost finest! So many genres, balanced to perfection! More than deserves all five Halloween pumpkins ????? as well as stars ????? ? I loved every moment of reading this. The writing was mesmerising and poetic, Hester Fox has...
  • Jess☺️
    Oct 27, 2018
    The witch of willow hall by Hester Fox is a different kind of read for me but I absolutely loved it the only reason I gave it 4 ? Is because I could of done with a bit more about the witches and the family history of them , saying that it was an enjoyable read which was sad, spooky ...
  • Sandra
    Oct 29, 2018
    I chose this book, thinking it would be a great spooky read for autumn and was a little disappointed. It was really a romance with just a few witchy things thrown in. Overall the story was good but I felt the writing was a bit flat, the other worldly happenings were not eerie enough ...