Winning Miss Winthrop (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope #1)

Winning Miss Winthrop (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope #1)

Catherine Winthrop has cried out to God too many times to count. Years ago, the man who stole her heart rejected her--and she's never recovered. Now tragedy has brought him back into her life. This time it isn't her heart he's taking, it's her home and her family's good name--and she has no one to share her grief. Jonathan Carlew's life may look enviable from the outside--w Catherine Winthrop has cried out to God too many times to count. Years ago, the man who stole her heart rejected her-...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Winning Miss Winthrop (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope #1)
Author:Carolyn Miller
Rating:
Genres:Historical
ISBN:Winning Miss Winthrop (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope)
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:320 pages pages

Winning Miss Winthrop (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope #1) Reviews

  • Dee/ bookworm
    Apr 06, 2018
    #WinningMissWinthrop #NetGalley publisher synopsis: Catherine Winthrop has cried out to God too many times to count. Years ago, the man who stole her heart rejected her--and she's never recovered. Now tragedy has brought him back into her life. This time it isn't her heart he's taki...
  • Debbie
    Mar 02, 2018
    "Winning Miss Winthrop" is a Christian romance set in 1816 England. I prefer romances where the main characters are better people for having met each other, and this author's previous books have had this. However, I can only describe these main characters as becoming worse people from ...
  • Iola
    May 10, 2018
    Persuasion is not my favourite Jane Austen novel. I find it frustrating, because the problems faced by the hero and heroine could be solved by one simple conversation. Unfortunately, Jane Austen lived in a society where men and women were unable to speak plainly to each other. That mea...
  • Carrie Turansky
    Mar 31, 2018
    Carolyn Miller never fails to stir my heart with her engaging Regency novels, and she has done it again with Winning Miss Winthrop. This delightful story has just right blend of family drama, faith, romance, and redemption. Separated by a heartbreaking misunderstanding in the past, Cat...
  • Connie Saunders
    Mar 25, 2018
    Author Carolyn Miller has once again written a wonderful Regency drama that is full of intriguing characters, thought-provoking situations, and the underlying theme of grace and forgiveness. 'Winning Miss Winthrop' is set around Bath and Gloucestershire in 1816 during the time when soc...
  • Kav
    Aug 13, 2018
    Jane Austen eat your heart out! There's definitely a Persuasion vibe to this incredible first book in a new series by Carolyn Miller. We're back exchanging banter and barbs in Regency England where appearances are everything and everyone must live by an exhaustive list of rules or be c...
  • Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
    Aug 05, 2018
    4.5 stars Blissful sigh. Can that be enough of a bottom line? Because that?s all I wanted to do after I closed the book. Stare dreamily off into the distance and sigh blissfully at the delightful Persuasion-esque romance I?d just read. Catherine and Jonathan are both steady of ...
  • Megan
    Mar 24, 2018
    What a beautifully written story! If you like Jane Austen's "Persuasion," you will love "Winning Miss Winthrop!" "Winning Miss Winthrop" is the first book in a new series called "Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope." Ms. Miller writes a great story filled with a lot of faith content....
  • Lisa Johnson
    Jul 02, 2018
    Title: Winning Miss Winthrop Author: Carolyn Miller Pages: 320 Year: 2018 Publisher: Kregel Publications My rating is 4 out of 5 stars. Catherine Winthrop is in for a change of circumstances. She has lived in the manor house all her life, but with the recent death of her father a...
  • Susan Snodgrass
    Mar 11, 2018
    "How could she bless others when God had removed all blessings from her?" Carolyn Miller's debut novel last year, The Elusive Miss Ellison, proved to this reader that she could do a Regency well indeed. My opinion has only been solidified with each successive book. I love a good Reg...
  • Clara
    Feb 05, 2018
    Since reading Ms. Miller's first book, what has struck me as refreshing is her characters' integrity. They are never portrayed as perfect or unapproachable, but there is a noble air to them which is very much appreciated. It also, many times, sets the pace of the plot as the characters...
  • Suzie
    Mar 19, 2018
    Before I finished Carolyn Miller?s book and read the author?s note, I saw echoes of Jane Austen in Winning Miss Winthrop?especially Persuasion in the first three quarters and a little Pride & Prejudice in the final pages. Yet Miller?s story is original and engaging (and ...
  • Lynda Edwards
    Mar 30, 2018
    When I first discovered Jane Austen, I was a young lady just beginning life. I adored Pride and Prejudice and longed for the day when my very own Darcy would appear. But as I have matured, and yes, found my own Darcy, I have learned to appreciate and sigh for those who need a second ch...
  • Lucy
    Mar 22, 2018
    Travel back in time to the Regency Era where Miss Winthrop?s Story is brought to life by the skilled penmanship of Carolyn Miller. Visit Gloucestershire and Bath where the sights and sounds are brought to life and you can envision the Balls. This is a page turner that has you identif...
  • Seema Khan
    Mar 19, 2018
    ?You have always, and will always, live within my heart?: ... My thoughts in a word? #Beautiful <3 Winning Miss Winthrop is Carolyn Miller 's fourth Regency and first in the new series "Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope". Those who have read Carolyn's earlier book...
  • Kristi
    Mar 25, 2018
    I started reading this book during my work week and had a bit of trouble really getting into it. I'm going to blame that on both life and the book itself. Life kept interfering with my reading time and the author writes for this time period so well that it took me a bit to settle in an...
  • Charlotte Dance
    Mar 20, 2018
    Every book by this author hits just the right note. They fit so nicely into the Regency time period without ever feeling that they are modern characters placed into a historical setting. In fact, the basis of the story wouldn't have happened in current times. I am not generally a fan o...
  • Sonnetta
    Mar 14, 2018
    Catherine and Jonathan are a perfect example of what happens when we do not communicate and make assumptions. It was great reconnecting with previous characters and viewing them with the new relationships. One of the things I love about Carolyn's stories is that the relationships are n...
  • Dana Michael
    Mar 19, 2018
    I have become a huge fan of Miller's. This was another winner! This book reminded me somewhat of Persuasion by Jane Austen. Miss Winthrop, the heroine has lost her father, her home, and her love. The new occupant of her home, is the man she fell in love with over two years ago. Thi...
  • Deanne Patterson
    Jun 01, 2018
    One things that's evident when reading this author's books is that she REALLY loves the Regency period. She really drew me into the regency world, from the description of the clothing to the atmosphere to the dialogue to the etiquette. I could not turn the pages quickly enough. You wil...
  • Susan
    Mar 17, 2018
    Exquisite! Carolyn Miller's beautiful prose conveys her readers to the world of Regency England filled with rich historical detail and charm. As a fan of all things pertaining to Jane Austen, I was thrilled when I read Miller's debut novel. Oh, to have beautiful stories in the grand tr...
  • Kristin Davison
    Mar 04, 2018
    3.5 stars I would like to thank netgalley and Kregel Publications for the opportunity to read this book. Catherine's father dies leaving her and her mother to move out of their comfortable home and into a small cottage to make room for Tue new Lord Winthrop. Jonathan inherits t...
  • Caroline
    Dec 03, 2017
    Being a Persuasion fan, a "Persuasion"-like premise + regency period made this book enticing even before I started it. Miller's story-telling is so good that the book hit the right spot of being like "Persuasion" and not being like "Persuasion". ...
  • Christy
    Apr 11, 2018
    It was a great story, I just wish there was more interaction between the 2 MC's. ...
  • Jenny Glazebrook
    Mar 09, 2018
    I have loved all of Carolyn Miller?s books and this one was no exception. I was captivated from the very start. My heart was carried along with Catherine?s as she struggled to let go of the past, find peace in God, and accept all He had for her. I loved that the hero, Jonathan, was...
  • Beth Erin
    Apr 05, 2018
    Full review on Faithfully Bookish In a delightful Downton Abbey meets Pride and Prejudice mashup, Miller weaves a story with everything we love about Lizzie Bennet and Mr. Darcy in a Matthew and Mary Crawley-esque drama with rich layers and depth! Catherine Winthrop is a simply e...
  • Abby Breuklander
    Mar 08, 2018
    Love love and love!! This is one of those stories where you feel that it was written just for you, I felt everything that Catherine felt, from anger to sadness to hope. What a wonderful reminder that sometimes the very circumstances that we think are going to break us can actually be t...
  • Paula Shreckhise
    Mar 26, 2018
    Winning Miss Winthrop by Carolyn Miller With flowing prose true to the Regency time period, Carolyn Miller pens a tome in the vein of Jane Austen. Set in Gloucestershire and Bath, England in 1816, this novel is reminiscent of Persuasion with it?s estranged hero and heroine. A sec...
  • Kellyn Roth
    Mar 11, 2018
    Originally posted on Reveries Reviews. Title: Winning Miss Winthrop Author: Carolyn Miller Series: Regency Brides: Promise of Hope, #1 Genre: Christian Historical Romance Era: Regency Setting: English countryside, Bath Publisher: Kregel Publications Source: from...
  • Brittany Searfoss
    Mar 26, 2018
    This first book in a new series by Carolyn Miller brings back beloved characters from the first series and also introduces some new characters that have their own appeal. Catherine Winthrop knows what it is like to have loved and lost a good man. She thought he loved her too, but one...