Here and Now and Then

Here and Now and Then

To save his daughter, he'll go anywhere?and any-when? Kin Stewart is an everyday family man: working in I.T., trying to keep the spark in his marriage, and struggling to connect with his teenage daughter, Miranda. But his current life is a far cry from his previous career as a time-traveling secret agent from 2142. Stranded in suburban San Francisco since the 1990s after a b To save his daughter, he'll go anywhere?and any-when? Kin Stewart is an everyday family man: working i...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Here and Now and Then
Author:Mike Chen
Rating:
Genres:Science Fiction
ISBN:B07B4Z433Y
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Kindle Edition
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

Here and Now and Then Reviews

  • Nicki Markus
    Aug 21, 2018
    Here and Now and Then was a perfect mix of family drama and sci-fi adventure. Kin and his predicament caught my interest from the first chapter and held it throughout. The time travel elements were well thought out and blended seamlessly into the tale. I was never left questioning the ...
  • Crystal Brown
    Aug 16, 2018
    Y'all, I have a special place in my heart for time travel and I love reading about future tech. It's the reason I love Black Mirror so much--seeing possibilities. I don't read nearly enough speculative fiction and Here and Now and Then has given me the nudge I needed. One of the ...
  • Krista
    Jan 12, 2019
    Rating: 4 well-traveled stars This is a wonderful, thought provoking foray into the world of time travel. I suppose this book would be classified as a Sci-Fi, or a Fantasy. However you classify it, it was an enjoyable, and wild ride. We meet Kin Stewart and his family; wife, Ashley ...
  • Joy Clark
    Aug 10, 2018
    This is why I love NetGalley. I pick up a book that I normally wouldn't look twice at and end up finding a gem. This is a quick, original read that says a lot about the love of a parent for his/her child. It's much more than a typical scifi with layer upon layer of goodness and depths ...
  • Sierra
    Aug 01, 2018
    A beautifully done story about the lengths a parent will go to for his child. Well done time travel and fast pace! Loved it. ...
  • Candace Worrell
    Aug 01, 2018
    This was the time travel book I didn?t know I was waiting for. All anyone wants is for their kids to be ok, even if it destroys the world for everyone else. When innocuous advice like ?follow your heart? upends the future and attempts to rectify it...I can?t go on without givin...
  • Ari
    Jun 14, 2018
    The synopsis sums up everything, and that can be both good and bad. There was no room for surprise, not much emotion either. But the overall story was entertaining and I liked the ending. Review soon. This one sounds AMAZING ! I also love the cover (which is not featured here ...
  • Angela M
    Jan 26, 2019
    I enjoy time travel stories every once in a while and I just accept the moving from one time to another, paying little attention to the details of what gets the character there and back and sometimes back again. The important things for me are the characters and their relationships and...
  • K.A. Doore
    Jul 12, 2018
    This book. THIS book. THIS BOOK. Here and Now and Then is a perfect little sci-fi gem, with just a touch of literary. When time traveler Kin gets stuck in the 20th century, he does what any reasonable person would do: fall in love and start a family. This turns out to be a perfectly...
  • Veronica
    Aug 10, 2018
    Love, love, love this book. ...
  • Larry H
    Oct 27, 2018
    3.5 stars, rounded up. I know I'm not the only one who finds novels about time travel utterly irresistible. It's not the science of time travel that fascinates me, although I'm always drawn in by the possible paradox of running into yourself somewhere in time. For me, it's more the ...
  • Bam
    May 06, 2019
    *3.5-4 stars I have a not-so-secret love for time travel fiction so I've read many. What sets this debut novel apart from others is what happens in the past that ties the traveler to it. Kin works for a secret time-traveling law enforcement agency in the year 2142 and travels ba...
  • Michelle
    Dec 02, 2018
    Thank you to HARLEQUIN - MIRA (U.S. and Canada) and Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book in exchange for an honest review. *Please note there are some slightly spoilerish thoughts below.* Kin Stewart is a secret agent from the year 2142 who time travels to ...
  • Dani - Perspective of a Writer
    Mar 01, 2019
    Check out more reviews @ Perspective of a Writer... Kin Stewart is an everyday family man: working in I.T., trying to keep the spark in his marriage, and struggling to connect with his teenage daughter, Miranda. But his current life is a far cry from his previous career as a tim...
  • Shannon (It Starts At Midnight)
    Dec 17, 2018
    You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight < This book captivated me from start to finish. Literally, from page one, I was hooked. And so I want to gush and shove this book at you and scream "read the thing!" but ...
  • Katie
    Jan 24, 2019
    All the feels! I was completed engrossed in this time traveler thriller about a father trying to save a daughter he left behind in time. The world-building was solid and the plot was intricate, but best part of this novel was how it touched the heart. Highly recommend! 4.5 stars rounde...
  • Barb
    Aug 06, 2018
    *NetGalley ARC Kin Stewart experiences every time traveler?s worst fear; he becomes trapped in a time that is not his own. In 2142, Kin?s job is to travel back in time to thwart time-corrupting crimnals who try to alter the course of history. Tragically, on his 28th assignment, s...
  • Lindsay
    Feb 13, 2019
    Kin is an agent for the Temporal Corruption Bureau (TCB). On a mission from his home time in 2142 he finds himself stranded in 1996 and stuck for 18 years. During that time period he forgets much of his life from the future (because of the way time travel works on your brain) and gets ...
  • Allison Hurd
    Mar 28, 2019
    Dear book, it's mostly me, but it's somewhat you. We didn't work well together. This could be seen as a story of what a father will do (sometimes, when people tell him it's okay) to save his daughter. It could also be the story of how one dude callously ripped apart the lives of three ...
  • Melissa
    Feb 04, 2019
    This time-traveling story is an emotional one. Kin?s place is not easy... How can you do parenting between 2 eras? That?s what happens when your rescue team doesn?t come before 18 years and you built a life for yourself in the era that you are stuck in... and that you care so muc...
  • Hank
    Apr 06, 2019
    Allow me to steal part of Allison's review.... Dear book, it's mostly you and not at all me. We didn't work well together because I expected much more. This is a story about a dumb ass making a bunch of ridiculous decisions to save his daughter. I had high hopes for the book which ...
  • James
    Mar 14, 2019
    4.5 stars Stories about time travel seem to only work when they have a lot of heart and leave you in love with the characters. If they get too focused on the mechanics of the travel and lose sight of characters, they can get, well, a little too "wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey." The Time...
  • Sharen
    Aug 12, 2018
    Thank you to Harlequin-Mira (U.S. and Canada) for allowing me to read an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This is a story about family, what we are willing to do for love, what a parent is willing to do for their child AND it is a story about time travel! ...
  • Gary
    Feb 06, 2019
    Mike Chen?s debut novel Here and Now and Then begins with a man out of time. Kin Stewart is an agent for the TCB (Temporal Corruption Bureau) who gets stuck in the late 1990s when his retrieval beacon gets damaged. It takes two decades for the Bureau to find him, and by then he?s b...
  • Carrie
    Jan 03, 2019
    Here and Now and Then by Mike Chen is a science fiction fantasy novel. This particular time travel adventure takes a look at what happens if things in the past are changed by the time travelers. Kin is from the year 2142 when time travel becomes common and is an agent for the Tempor...
  • Vicky Who Reads
    Jan 21, 2019
    4.5 stars I know I don?t read a lot of adult science-fiction (too many older white men who complain about things not being ~sciencey~ enough) but Here and Now and Then sounded right up my alley. And you know what? IT WAS TOTALLY WORTH IT. I loved reading. I loved it so much. ...
  • Sylvie
    Feb 07, 2019
    3.75 stars ...
  • Wendy Heard
    Mar 20, 2018
    This is a beautiful, literary, genre-bending sci fi novel about a time traveler and his love for his daughter. Kin's mission to reach across time and space to save his beloved daughter is both touching and terrifying. Fans of THE TIME TRAVELER'S WIFE and DR. WHO will love Mike Chen. I ...
  • Katherine Riley
    Jul 16, 2018
    Here and Now and Then is a superbly plotted technological twister about a husband and father forced into an impossible choice. The science is precise and clever, and Chen deftly serves up each unexpected turn, in the process constructing his own impossible ? two poignant and disparat...
  • Luupi "The Reading Queen"
    Jan 25, 2019
    Video review: https://youtu.be/YyOsf2xGnzk Have you ever read those relationships that simply warm your heart and make you want to read about them nonstop? That's exactly how I felt with Kin and Miranda. Just the sweetest, most heartfelt father and daughter relationship I've ever...