Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

From the New York Times bestselling author of Rump, comes the true story behind another unlikely hero: a grumpy dwarf who gets tangled up in Snow White's feud with the wicked queen. Ever since he was a dwarfling, Borlen (nicknamed "Grump") has dreamed of visiting The Surface, so when opportunity knocks, he leaves his cavern home behind. At first, life aboveground is a dream From the New York Times bestselling author of Rump, comes the true story behind another unlikely hero: a grumpy dwa...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves
Author:Liesl Shurtliff
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:1524717010
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:304 pages pages

Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves Reviews

  • Stacie
    Jul 22, 2018
    11qa ...
  • Mrs Bond
    Dec 11, 2017
    I love this book! This is a fun to read reimagninging of the dwarves who protected Snow White, particularly the one known as Grumpy. While she does make an appearance, Snow White is a minor character in this tale. Instead we follow the life of Borlen (aka Grumpy) as he struggles betwee...
  • Cara
    Feb 20, 2018
    I enjoy reading traditional fairy tales from a side character's perspective. Even though you know how it's going to end, it's really fun to see how the author gets you there. This installment wasn't as strong as the other two for me. I liked Grump's story, but it just took too long to...
  • Mindy
    May 18, 2018
    I absolutely love a fairy tale retelling, and one from Liesl Shurtliff makes me love them even more! I have adored every book she has written. Liesl writes her characters perfectly and every one is unique and fun. Grump was especially fun. It was written on "Grumpy's" point of view. I ...
  • Barbara
    May 31, 2018
    Ever since I read the deliciously funny Rump, I have been a fan of this author and her work. She surely knows her way around a fairy tale, and as other reviewers have remarked, she breathes new life into old, familiar fairy tales. In this case, she's chosen to provide the back story fo...
  • Laurie
    Feb 15, 2018
    Interest Level: 3-6 Did you think that fractured fairy tales were only for picture books? Well then think again! Liesl Shurtliff has spun an incredible story around a classic fairy tale. From the day Borlen (nicknamed Grump) was born he was never like the other dwarves. Because of u...
  • Diane
    Jun 15, 2018
    ?We all need to reflect on ourselves from time to time, because life is one big mirror. That which we put out into the world will always come back to us.? Fizznugget! Whoever heard of a dwarf who?s afraid of depths? Why would any dwarfling want to see the Surface? Everyone kno...
  • A.L. Sowards
    Jul 14, 2018
    This one took a few chapters for my kids to get into, but soon enough they were begging for "one more chapter." ...
  • Elley Murray
    Jul 10, 2018
    Perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted books. Grump is a fun twist on the Snow White story you think you know, told from the point of view of "Grump," a misfit dwarf who was born too close to the surface and it made him a little odd. (He actually reminds me a bit of Ar...
  • Meredith Spidel
    Aug 17, 2018
    This book was so cute! Such a fun and creative explanation of this favorite tale. I want to read all the others in this series now! ...
  • Jana
    May 26, 2018
    I had the opportunity to read a digital ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for this review. This middle grade fantasy novel is the latest in a series of books giving the back story of some of our favorite fairy tales: Rump ? The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, Jack ? The Tr...
  • Vernon Area Public Library KIDS
    Jul 26, 2018
    Borlen is not like other dwarves. He is not very strong, he doesn?t sing, and he hates being underground. Borlen longs to experience the world above, and a chance to break through the surface gives Borlen the opportunity he has always dreamed of. But, the outside world is not as glor...
  • Michele Knott
    Mar 28, 2018
    Don?t tell the other characters in the ?Fairly True? series, but this one is probably my favorite! So much to talk about - identity, being torn between responsibilities/loyalties, can you control your fate? I hope we have more of these stories coming! ...
  • Malissa
    Jun 01, 2018
    I love these little middle grade fairytale retellings. They are just so much fun and full of laughter and moments of truth and understanding. How does an author take a beloved children's fairytale and make it new, by bringing it to you from a different point of view. Grump is the s...
  • Kenya Starflight
    Jun 20, 2018
    I've greatly enjoyed Liesl Shurtliff's fairy-tale adaptations -- Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk, and Red: The True Story of Red Riding Hood -- and the enchanting world she built to support said stories and link them together in a...
  • Dheril Sofia
    Sep 06, 2018
    It is so fun! Reading a Snow White story from dwarf's point of view gives me deeper and adventurous experience! ...
  • Lesley Burnap
    Dec 10, 2017
    Another fractured fairy tale winner from Liesl Shurtliff! From his birth Grump is different than the other dwarves, yearning to move toward the surface rather than dig into the depths of the caverns. What's up there? Up on The Surface? Grump, er, Borlen, gets what he wants, but at a co...
  • Suzie
    Jun 15, 2018
    Her best one yet. ...
  • Michelle Simpson
    Jan 30, 2018
    Once again, Liesl Shurtliff takes a familiar fair tale and puts a whole new spin on it! In this book, we hear the tale from Grump?s (also known as Borlen) point of view. I think kids are going to be lined up for this one just as they have been for the others. ...
  • Erin Varley
    Dec 10, 2017
    This is a hilarious and heartfelt version of Snow White & the 7 Dwarves. You will love Grump, aka Borlen, who doesn't seem to fit in with his fellow dwarves. After a trip to The Surface, things go awry and adventures ensue. Just like the rest of Liesl's fractured fairy tales, this ...
  • Elizabeth
    Jan 27, 2018
    Grump is a wonderful addition to Shurtliff's world of fairy tales and magic. I loved how three-dimensional the character of Grump was. His struggles and battles were real and relatable. His friendships with Snow White and the other dwarves were full of trials and setbacks but showed th...
  • Lola
    May 29, 2018
    3.5 stars. That?s right. This is a fairytale retelling of Snow White, from the point of view of one of her seven dwarves, Grump. Grump is not in the story for observation purposes only. He also acts. He plays a grand role in Snow White?s tale?that starts out as his own, bef...
  • Margaux
    Dec 19, 2017
    Liesl Shurtliff's *Rump* was on a reading list for the state of Illinois last year, so I was familiar with her series from that. This is a truly original take on the Snow White story. Shurtliff's world-building is fantastic, and I know the kids in my area are going to eat this book up ...
  • Yvonne Olson
    Jan 16, 2018
    Liesl Shurtliff is one of my bosses FAVORITE fairytale-esque authors. I mentioned to her, once, that I loved Rumpelstiltskin and wanted to read more retellings of it, and she shoved Rump in my hands. At the time, I didn't want to read it, and forgot about it for a little, until I heard...
  • Fifi
    Jul 07, 2018
    This was so whimsical and adorable! A unique, lighthearted retelling of Snow White. Perfect for when you want something lighter and less intense, but still engaging. I loved this! ...
  • Sandy O'Brien
    Dec 23, 2017
    Grump is a fractured fairy tale told from one of Snow White?s dwarfs POV. Readers of all ages will not only fall in love with, but relate to Grump. He is different from other dwarfs, but doesn?t let that hold him back. Make sure to add this to your preorder list! ...
  • Carolina  (fictionologyst)
    Jul 25, 2018
    I hate most of the characters but love the plot and the worldbuilding. Full review coming up soon! ...
  • Carrie
    May 09, 2018
    Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves by Liesl Shurtliff is a middle grade fantasy retelling of the classic Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. The story brings to light the saying of there?s three versions of every story, his, hers and the truth. This is Gr...
  • Completely Melanie
    Aug 18, 2018
    This was a very cute retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, but this is the story of Grump's part in all of this. I really enjoyed reading this with my son. I like that it shows a different perspective. ...
  • Angy
    Jul 02, 2018
    Probably the best re-telling or version of Snow White I?ve read! It?s so easy to pick up and delve into the world of dwarves. There are many twists and turns that make the book so much fun to read! ...