When You Read This

When You Read This

For fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell, a comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel about the ties that bind and break our hearts. Iris Massey is gone. But she?s left something behind. For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness a/>Iris For fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell, a comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel abou...

DownloadRead Online
Title:When You Read This
Author:Mary Adkins
Rating:
Genres:Fiction
ISBN:When You Read This
ISBN
Format Type:ebook
Number of Pages:384 pages pages

When You Read This Reviews

  • Suzze Tiernan
    Dec 16, 2018
    Written as emails, blog posts and texts. After Iris dies, her sister, her boss and the intern who takes over her position discuss publishing her blog posts as she was dying. Sometimes funny, sometimes sad. ...
  • Cheri
    Feb 22, 2019
    ?Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?? The Summer Day - Mary Oliver ?Here?s the thing I need to figure out. This whole time I thought my real life hadn?t started yet. Turns out that was my life. I have six months or so to make th...
  • JanB
    Mar 15, 2019
    This book is a fun twist on the epistolary novel. Iris Massey is dead of terminal cancer at the young age of 33. Smith, her boss at a struggling PR firm, is still reeling from her death when he discovers she had spent 6 months writing a blog filled with her musings. She left instru...
  • Melissa
    Aug 05, 2019
    I had a paper galley but didn?t get to it back in February so I decided to pick this up on audio from the library. The narrator handled reading of all the email/text technical stuff well, although she was a very slow reader (sounded normal sped up to 1.5x). The portions of the book f...
  • Marialyce
    Mar 15, 2019
    Thirty three years old and dead of cancer. This is an age where many are just starting to live and find their way and place in the world, and yet for Iris Massey, life was at an end. She worked for Smith Simonyi, and it is he who is surprised by a blog written by Iris that contained he...
  • Nikki (Saturday Nite Reader)
    Jan 05, 2019
    Has a book ever made you laugh and cry at the same time? Well this book will make you "craugh" and craugh hard. The story unfolded over a series of emails, texts and blog posts. I had never read a book entirely in that format and it totally worked here. It was expertly done! I...
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    Mar 01, 2019
    This was different. I have read books like this but I have never done it in audio. At first I was not sure, but it did work really well and you felt really close to everyone. The book takes place after Iris' death. Her boss Simon is struggling with losing her. Her sister is struggli...
  • Amy
    Jul 19, 2019
    I am honestly shocked to see more of my friends haven't read this one, because it nearly made me cry. And books don't make me cry. Ever. So nearly crying is the equivalent of bawling my eyes out. I'm not sure why this one hit so close to home. It is the story of a woman given six mo...
  • Kristen Beverly
    Jun 10, 2018
    Loved it! This book is hilarious, moving and tear jerking all at the same time. At the end I cried big fat baby tears. It?s told through a series of emails and blogs, but still manages to capture the reader and endear you to each of the characters. I received an early manuscript ...
  • Saly
    Feb 11, 2019
    This one was okay! I expected too much I guess and I also felt I never really "got" to see characters interacting only read about in emails. All characters in this are flawed, gambling addict, abusive parents, dead parents, relationship hang-ups etc. It could be a case of just me. ...
  • Jennifer
    Sep 18, 2018
    When You Read This is a story told thru emails, text messages and blog posts. I am not sure what genre I would classify this book as. It reads a bit like Women's Fiction mixed with some comedy and a bit of romance. This story is about Iris. She dies and we get to see how she affecte...
  • Lori L (She Treads Softly)
    Jan 23, 2019
    When You Read This by Mary Adkins is a very highly recommended, heart-breaking epistolary novel set in our current digital-age. Iris Massey, 33, worked for four years helping clients perfect their brands alongside Smith Simonyi in his PR firm. Once she found out she only had six mon...
  • Angela M
    Feb 14, 2019
    This story is not a straight forward narrative and it took me a little while to get into it, into the rhythm of the emails and the blog posts, and the texts that tell this story. Once I did, I couldn?t help but like these characters and feel for them, want them to get through the thi...
  • Jasprit
    Jan 30, 2019
    I went into When You Read This not really sure what I was expecting, and to be honest this book did end up surprising me in a lot of ways. Although the story was given to us from the main character Iris? blog, I liked how despite Iris not being here anymore, the blog had an effect on...
  • Larry H
    Feb 07, 2019
    I'm not crying, you're crying. With When You Read This , Mary Adkins has written a novel that is at times funny, poignant, and frustrating (because of the characters' actions or lack thereof; not because of any shortcoming of Adkins). This is a book that deals with being honest ...
  • Taylor
    Jan 25, 2019
    IM NOT CRYING! YOU ARE!! Full review to come! ...
  • Meredith B.  (readingwithmere)
    Jan 28, 2019
    4 Heartfelt with a side of Comedic Stars! The thing is, there isn't one meaning that you remember or you don't. It was what it was and is what it is, both simultaneously, along with every version is evolved into along the way, and will, the million interactions all stacked up on to...
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    Jan 27, 2019
    What a delightful cast of characters. Centered around Iris, the girl who died all too young from cancer, Adkins brings us a group of characters, mainly her sister, Jade and her boss, Simon, who are dealing with the aftermath of her death, the blog she left behind and unanswered questio...
  • BookOfCinz
    Mar 19, 2019
    +B for being Charming There is something about a book written in email/text format that makes it charming for me. I may sound like a creep but something about reading other people's digital communication makes it more interesting and engaging. I did enjoy some parts of the book, o...
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    Apr 09, 2019
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ 2.5 Stars I think my expectations may have been set a little too high here due to the fact that epistolary novels (confession: I just learned that word about a week ago ? I always used the term ?mixed media? as m...
  • Kate ☀️ Olson
    Mar 23, 2019
    Compulsively readable, this epistolary novel is quirky and reveals so much of human nature. I read the entire book in a day! Told entirely through emails, it tells the story of a woman who died of cancer in her early thirties, and the people she left behind - her boss, sister, mother a...
  • Amy
    Feb 05, 2019
    I?ve always been a huge fan of epistolary novels, there?s such an intimate feeling when you?re reading someone?s emails or text messages that satisfies my nosy side. Most of the ones I?ve read in the past have been on the lighter side, but this has some heavy moments, (it doe...
  • SueKich
    Jan 08, 2019
    e-pistolary. Using emails, texts and blog posts to convey a story is now a somewhat hackneyed device but it invariably makes for a fun, breezy read and this ? despite its dark side - is no exception. The characters fairly pop out at you from their missives: Smith Simonyi the s...
  • Jennie
    Aug 04, 2019
    I kept thinking of Where'd You Go, Bernadette while reading this. Less satirical (a positive thing for me, I have a hard time with long form satire), but similar storytelling devices and very funny in parts. Despite dealing with grief and some other difficult topics, the reading experi...
  • Susan's Reviews
    Mar 16, 2019
    Well, this book certainly had its funny moments, as well as several poignant blog excerpts. Poor Iris is given only about six months to live, and, as she posts on her blog, she is not ready to go. But she has no choice in the matter, so she starts to "get her affairs in order". And e...
  • Andrea
    Feb 12, 2019
    Not at all what I was expecting, but this one was satisfyingly odd :) ...
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    Jan 31, 2019
    So much more than a rom com! ? ? ? ? ? The first thing that strikes me about When You Read This is that it?s fresh and different! And I love that! It is an epistolary novel for the digital age comprised of emails, texts, and blog posts. Also included were drawings from ...
  • T. Rosado
    Jul 28, 2019
    4 Stars This was an epistolary novel that consisted of emails, blog posts, texts, and memos. I mostly listened to the audio and although it was a great production, it took a little time in the beginning to get used to the story format. It helped to read a little of the story at fi...
  • MaryBeth's Bookshelf
    Feb 11, 2019
    Thank you Harper Books for gifting me a copy of When You Read This in exchange for an honest review. When Iris Massey dies of cancer, her loss is felt by everyone that knew her. Told through text messages, Iris's blog posts, messages to therapists between Iris's sister, Jade, and e-...
  • Chris
    Apr 24, 2019
    This debut novel is written as a series of documents; diary entries, emails, texts, blogs, drawings, paper. Its done in an epistolary manner. Four main characters: Iris Massey, 33 years old, assistant to Smith - recently diagnosed with cancer, given six months to live. All her h...