The Spirit of Cattail County

The Spirit of Cattail County

Scholastic has bought Victoria Piontek's middle grade debut, The Spirit of Cattail County. The Everglades-set novel follows 12-year-old Sparrow as she attempts to untangle the secrets of her Florida town in order to convince her best friend?a silent ghost no one else can see?to send a message to Sparrow's recently deceased mother. Publication is slated for summer 2018....

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Spirit of Cattail County
Author:Victoria Piontek
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
Format Type:Hardcover

The Spirit of Cattail County Reviews

  • Jennifer
    Aug 03, 2018
    Gorgeous book! Review coming soon! ...
  • Amanda
    Aug 03, 2018
    You don't often read a children's book that starts out with a funeral/someone dying; that's pretty unusual, pretty fascinating (some might say "morbid"). I thought that it was a great plot device, and that the opening sentence totally caught my attention: "They buried Sparrow Dalton's ...
  • Hilary
    Aug 03, 2018
    What would you do to see your mother one more time after she died? Sparrow has always been able to communicate with Boy, a ghost. So when her mother passes on, she is certain she will be able to see her mother again as a spirit. If not, shouldn't Boy be able to pass on messages to Spar...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Mar 21, 2018
    ARC from ALA Midwinter Good, creepy, Southern ghost story. Unfortunately, I have a number of those (many from Scholastic, actually) that don't get checked out very much. Considering. ...
  • Savannah Hendricks
    Sep 03, 2018
    ...
  • Amber
    Jun 08, 2018
    This intriguing mystery will keep you turning the pages! I loved the surprise history in this book about the orphan trains of the early 1900s. This would make a great Fall read aloud in grades 3 and up! ...
  • Kath
    Jul 16, 2018
    This is a sweet story in the tradition of Clare VanderPool's MOON OVER MANIFEST or DiCamillo's RAYMIE NIGHTENGALE. Sparrow, a lonely girl who is haunted by spirits in a small Southern town finds some unlikely friends after the death of her mother. Along with Maeve and Johnny, she meets...
  • Allessa
    Aug 13, 2018
    ...
  • Sherrie
    Jul 05, 2018
    I enjoyed the Spirit of Cattail County which is middle grade Southern Gothic novel. Sparrow has recently lost her mother and is hoping the ghost that resides in her family home will help her mother return to visit her. Sparrow was a likable character but not fully fleshed out as was th...
  • Christine
    Jul 14, 2018
    Attentively evokative of the hot and humid south, The Spirit of Cattail County follows Sparrow Dalton as she grapples with her only parent?s death. Sparrow has no friends in the prejudiced small town she lives in. Being different means going against the grain of the conservative town...
  • Sarah
    Jun 28, 2018
    I received an ARC from the publishing company in exchange for an honest review. Sparrow has always been able to see Boy, a ghost who hangs around her house. After her mother dies from a long battle with cancer, she hopes that she will be able to see her mother as a spirit, as well. ...
  • Cheyenne
    May 03, 2018
    ...
  • Katie Reilley
    Jun 23, 2018
    A good, southern middle grade mystery. Sparrow?s life is not easy. She?s not like other kids, her mother?s just passed, and she?s left living with a cruel aunt who can?t wait to sell Sparrow?s home that?s been the family for generations. Oh, and the only friend she?...
  • Giselle Smith
    Aug 11, 2018
    This was a thoroughly enjoyable read from cover to cover. Victoria writes with ease and the descriptions of places, people and things create a wonderful scene in your mind as you read. Growing up in a small community with most of my friends being relatives, friends of relatives etc; th...
  • Carol Kirshner
    Aug 27, 2018
    ...
  • Rachel
    Aug 22, 2018
    ...
  • Dironego Jabberwocky
    Aug 28, 2018
    La temática de los fantasmas, fuegos fatuos, espíritus y lecturas de tarot, aunque sí están siempre presentes a lo largo de las páginas, no son el eje central de la trama, sino que más bien son engranajes que hacen funcionar a los temas que la escritora quiso enfatizar: la famili...
  • Jennifer
    May 31, 2018
    ...
  • Kyrsten Hoffman
    Aug 28, 2018
    ...
  • Ms. Donovan
    Jul 03, 2018
    ...
  • Jamie Battaglia
    Jul 21, 2018
    ...
  • Daniella McArthur
    Aug 05, 2018
    ...
  • Michael Kott
    Jun 08, 2018
    This book was a pleasant surprise. Very engaging characters and a great story. If you know middle schoolers I recommend this book. I think the author, Victoria Piontek, has a bright future. Her characters are well crafted and the story is well told. ...
  • OwlCrate Jr
    Feb 11, 2018
    ...
  • Jennifer Sauro
    Sep 16, 2018
    ...
  • MayorEmma
    Jul 04, 2018
    ...
  • Jane
    Apr 25, 2018
    I loved it. Sparrow is a very real girl with very real issues, but nothing about her life is boring. The people and places of her community are true Southern characters and I was absolutely transported to Cattail County. As my plane pulled up to the gate, I had about 20 pages left to r...
  • Moonunit
    Apr 14, 2018
    Got to read an advanced copy of this book and I REALLY loved it! It has a ghost, a fortune teller, a mysterious swamp and characters that feel just like friends. The writing is very beautiful and haunting. This is a book you get lost in and one you don't want to end! ...
  • Shawna Busby
    Jun 05, 2018
    This book had everything. Sparrow was dealing with the death of her mother, she didn't know who her father was, and the caste system of society was in play as well. She felt her aunt didn't like her and she had The Boy always with her. Deep South living with a ghost, fortune teller and...
  • McKenna Paul
    Sep 04, 2018
    Published 2018 by Scholastic Novel, Fantasy I didn't care for this novel after reading it. Though, I would still have it in my library because it may be the novel that inspires a student to love reading. In my opinion, the storyline could've been shortened, it seemed to run a little ...