New Kid

New Kid

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school o Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting ove...

DownloadRead Online
Title:New Kid
Author:Jerry Craft
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

New Kid Reviews

  • Betsy
    Feb 13, 2019
    Gaps. Sometimes they?re all that I can see. Imagine you have a brain that allows you to retain information in compartmentalized slots. You have chosen the field of ?librarian? so this trait is useful in your day-to-day work. As you read children?s books over the course of a ...
  • Sam Bloom
    Mar 10, 2019
    The MG graphic novel field is whiter than most kidlit formats, so this book is a HUGE deal. And there's really nothing better than a book with kid appeal through the roof that is also top-notch quality. Hooray for this book!!! ...
  • Kelly
    Jan 10, 2019
    An outstanding middle grade graphic novel about not only being the new kid in a new school, but about the ways privilege, bias, and racism -- both overt and subtle -- play out. Jordan attends a wealthy school on financial aid and is one of the few kids of color there; he experiences in...
  • Mrs. Krajewski
    Feb 21, 2019
    7th grader Jordan Banks wants to go to art school, but his parents have other ideas. They decide to enroll him in a private school that focuses on academics, and it?s nowhere near his Washington Heights home. When Jordan starts there, he realizes he is one of the only kids of color i...
  • DaNae
    Apr 07, 2019
    These kids! I love when I walk away from book and feel I know the people that have filled its pages - not because the author told me, but showed me. Craft is often subtle in his character building and this book is all the stronger for it. One of few books that showcases race and micro-...
  • Marjorie Ingall
    Mar 15, 2019
    Wow. Such an ambitious and accomplished first graphic novel, and I love the drawing style (reminds me of Mimi Pond). This is pretty much a book about microaggressions. The story of future-cartoonist Jordan's first year at a ritzy private school can be distressing, but it's also hilario...
  • Wendy
    Apr 06, 2019
    4.5 stars, rounded up. LOVE the clever chapter titles. And the pink shorts. And Jordan's art. And the unflinching look at micro- and macro-aggressions. ...
  • Kelli Gleiner
    Aug 11, 2018
    An enjoyable graphic novel, full of smart humor and bite-sized, accessible social commentary for the middle-grade crowd. Loved the comics within the comics. ...
  • Nilah
    Feb 19, 2019
    There's so much like to like about NEW KID. The terrific art, supplemented by main character Jordan's own comic journal-style observations. The journey through navigating a new school, new friendships, and new conflicts. The theme of not judging a book by its cover woven throughout. An...
  • Anmiryam
    Mar 14, 2018
    A pitch perfect look at a life as a minority kid straddling cultures -- his neighborhood, his family and his tony new school environment. I want to hand this out to every kid (and every parent) heading into middle school at the many independent schools in my community. Fun and moving. ...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Dec 09, 2018
    ARC provided by Young Adult Books Central Jordan is not thrilled to be going to a private school several neighborhoods away from his home in Washington Heights, New York City, since it means leaving his best friend and having to deal with a whole new social class of peers. Also, if ...
  • Jordan Henrichs
    Mar 11, 2019
    There's a lot to like about NEW KID... First off, there's more substance than your typical middle grade graphic novel. Reminds me of Victoria Jamieson's work. Jordan was a really strong character. He's thoughtful and creative and I appreciated how positive he remained despite questi...
  • Donna Gephart
    Mar 01, 2019
    This book will mean the world to so many kids, who will see themselves on the page, who will feel less alone, who will feel validated. It's an honest look at what it feels like to be "other" in a space that is mostly white, mostly wealthy. It's got so much heart and moments of great hu...
  • Jillian Heise
    Jan 24, 2019
    A FANTASTIC middle grade graphic novel. A necessary addition for any school/classroom library. Approaches subtle & overt racism in an accessible & understandable way for the audience, while not holding back, through the lens of the new kid at school. ...
  • Thomas Bell
    Mar 14, 2019
    This was an exceptionally good book. Dealt a lot with life in general for a kid. A lot of people are calling it a book about race, and it definitely dealt with that, but I think it is a lot more than that. So Jordan got a scholarship to go to a fancy-pants private middle-school. He ...
  • Amber
    Mar 07, 2019
    This is a must have in all upper elementary and above classrooms. This book is packed with bias and micro aggressions that are important for kids to read and understand -especially kids that live in areas with little to no racial diversity. I cannot wait to hand this off to my students...
  • Heather Taake
    Apr 05, 2019
    Loved it! I think it would pair well with The Hate You Give, in that it explores the character's struggle to fit in to different cultures at school and in their neighborhood. ...
  • laurel [suspected bibliophile]
    Mar 26, 2019
    Jordan is the new kid in seventh grade. And he's not going to art school like he wanted?he's going to a fancy new private school where he's one of a handful of students of color. He's not sure if he's going to fit in...but he's going to try. This was such fun to read. Jordan's wor...
  • Lynn Plourde
    Feb 22, 2019
    NEW KID is fun and funny at the same time it portrays serious "fitting in at school" issues. Mega kid-appeal! ...
  • Nadine
    Feb 18, 2019
    This book is so darn clever. A young person of colour has a scholarship for a fancy school and his day to day experiences with micro-aggressions are faithfully documented. It's smart and funny and totally hits the target. We need more books like this - like one for girls as well. I hav...
  • Suad Shamma
    Mar 23, 2019
    This was a really interesting take on race, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved the artwork, I liked the storyline, and I liked the characters. I found Jordan to be a really cool kid, with good parents. I loved the differing perspectives of his mom and dad, and how even thought,...
  • Aliza Werner
    Feb 15, 2019
    More than 5 stars!!! This #OwnVoices graphic novel is deeply authentic and richly layered in its themes of friendship, assimilation, identity, and more. This would be fascinating to use in teacher training programs and with current teachers in regard to discussing microaggressions, inh...
  • Danielle
    Feb 27, 2019
    I wasn't really planning on picking this up, but I found it as an ebook and graphic novels never take too long to read. I really liked that it tackled so many aspects of racism (especially getting into specifics given that the protagonist, Jordan, is light-skinned - you can tell Craft ...
  • Katie Reilley
    Feb 13, 2019
    Necessary graphic novel that deals with the topic of racism in middle school. I'll be curious to hear what my students notice and the conversations that will come because of the reading. ...
  • Casey Jo
    Oct 25, 2018
    OMG! So good!!! Funny as heck, without shying away from the awkwardness of being one of a few Black kids at a private academy. The friendships are heartwarming, and the privilege is acrid. And the artwork by the MC is delightful. Note: This is a review of an Advance Reader Copy. The...
  • Julie Kirchner
    Feb 20, 2019
    I thought this graphic novel was spot on and perfect for addressing racism and bias drawing from the lens of students of color. Very powerful #ownvoices story. I?m anxious to get this in the hands of my students and to hear their thoughts. ...
  • Cassie Thomas
    Nov 20, 2018
    This is going to be THE most talked about graphic novel in the new year. This is a story that needs to be read and then talked about. Every single chapter had me shaking my head yes. Swipe right to see just two pages of serious truth that readers and teachers alike need to be reading. ...
  • Cortney (cortingbooks)
    Apr 04, 2019
    Mini Me Rating and Review: the chapter names were interesting. ...
  • Sam
    May 30, 2019
    When you finish a book in one sitting, you know it's good. ...
  • Georgia
    Apr 23, 2019
    This was so good! ...