Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw

Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw

It's hard to make an honest living in a land brimming with magic and mystery, and treasure hunter Luvander is tired of being a penniless adventurer. Ever in search of gold and glory, she sets off for a fabled dungeon "the Dragon's Maw," an ancient labyrinth at the bottom of which slumber endless wealth...or certain doom! Together with a young prince, his stern bodyguard, an It's hard to make an honest living in a land brimming with magic and mystery, and treasure hunter Luvander is tired o...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw
Author:Sebastian Girner
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:1534304827
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:128 pages pages

Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw Reviews

  • Andrienne
    Mar 02, 2018
    Really fun graphic novel with an impressive heroine. Luvandra looks like a regular scoundrel but there?s something about her that might suggest she is more than meets the eye. She sets on a quest with a prince, his bodyguard and a dwarf to look for gold and adventure. I like the visu...
  • Shannon
    Jul 10, 2018
    This seems like a poor rating but it was ok. Not bad, just "ok." Individual issue reviews: #1 | #2 | #3 | #4 | #5 Total review score: 2.4 ...
  • GrilledCheeseSamurai
    Feb 19, 2019
    The whole time I was reading this I was thinking that I would rather be reading Rat Queens or Skull Kickers. ...
  • Erin
    Apr 15, 2018
    Super duper fun. A natural maturation of and readalike to Giants Beware by Jorge Aguirre. A great readalike, moodwise and feministwise, to LumberJanes. ...
  • Francina Simone
    Feb 22, 2019
    ItMs pretty good. I like the art, the writing feels a little??fantasy? and trope-y for me but it?s not too distracting. I?m curious what happens next though, the individual comics always end on a major cliffhanger. ...
  • Devann
    Feb 06, 2018
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley I thought this was a pretty fun story, even if it does have a lot of REALLY standard fantasy elements. I would also like it if the artwork was a little bit more defined. Still the characters are fun and honestly the fact that the my...
  • Kristin Boldon
    Aug 09, 2018
    An ongoing all-ages fantasy series. Fans of Nimona will like it. ...
  • Dakota Morgan
    Oct 02, 2018
    Scales & Scoundrels is so very, very excellent. The characters, the world-building, the art, the story. At it's base, it's a D&D quest encounter: treasure hunter Luvander teams up with a prince, his body guard, and a friendly dwarf to tackle the Dragon's Maw, an infamous deatht...
  • Kristin
    Jun 04, 2018
    3.5 A fun YA fantasy that manages to be more than the sum of its tropes. This is the first comic for both the writer and the artist, and yet it manages to look and read better than a lot in this genre. I especially like the creature designs. The Studio Ghibli influences are obvi...
  • Liz (Quirky Cat)
    May 03, 2018
    Scales & Scoundrels is a fantastic and newer series by Sebastian Girner (Shirtless Bear-Fighter) and Galaad, published by Image Comics. It?s a fun fantasy series, involving quests, danger, treasure, oh and did I mention dragons? The name probably gave that last one away a bit th...
  • Kate (Looking Glass Reads)
    Feb 13, 2018
    4.5 out of 5 stars I love fantasy stories. So it isn't any surprise that I picked up the latest fantasy graphic novel, which hit shelves today, February 13, 2018. Scales & Scoundrels Vol. 1: Into the Dragon?s Mawby Sebastian Girner and Galaad is a delightful fantasy perfect ...
  • Chelsey
    Mar 20, 2018
    Colorful, action-filled, and fast-paced, I enjoyed this but don't know if it's more than just a wild ride. The characters are a bit one-dimensional, though I am interested in Lu's background. Sort of like an older, more coherent Lumberjanes. ...
  • Alex Sarll
    Feb 08, 2018
    Normally, I bristle at alliterative riffs on Dungeons and Dragons, or Image attempts at outright secondary world fantasy, but this new book from the co-writer of Shirtless Bear-Fighter! is pretty good - an all-ages Rat Queens if Rat Queens didn't make me feel faintly ill. The art is ap...
  • Dan
    Aug 07, 2018
    This was okay. Not as good as Rat Queens or other dungeon delving fantasy books, but I'm interested enough to read the next volume. Not a big fan of the artwork which kinda looks cartoony. ...
  • Kenny
    Feb 07, 2018
    A whimsical fantasy adventure where D&D meets Ghibli. Fun. ...
  • Ashlee Null
    Jun 14, 2018
    5/5 for artwork and 4/5 for a predictable story done really well. So. Good. Need. More. Just a seriously fun read. ...
  • Shannon
    Feb 10, 2018
    An excellent, colorful sword & sorcery romp that manages effortless worldbuilding, action, character depth, and plot twists, all without taking itself too seriously. Familiar tropes that avoid being eye-rolling cliches make this an easy story to jump into lightly yet still deeply e...
  • Brendan
    Feb 04, 2018
    This is one of my favourite books for quite sometime. It has an interesting concept and hopefully grows into a long term series, a lot of these tend to vanish after 10 issues. I love when a series can come along and knock you backwards with a fun plot and interesting characters. Girner...
  • Katy
    Feb 07, 2018
    This comic was a fun, and enjoyable read. It reminded me a lot of Rat Queens, in the way that neither take the fantasy genre too seriously. If you like fantasy/d&d inspired stories then give this a go! ...
  • Chad
    Mar 02, 2018
    Your standard sword and sorcery book topped with a twist of Studio Ghibli. The art is sometimes frustrating, others quite good. I would like to see it more defined, especially faces. There are times when the characters look like Muppets. But the action scenes look great. So it's an odd...
  • Roy
    Feb 19, 2018
    3.5* Read this over my lunch break today. Solid standard fantasy affair. Kinda had this weird d&d mix with pokemon artwork. Characters were fun, enough action ( a little YAish) and some funny moments. The artwork would have benefited from a little more detail in my opinion. Othe...
  • Ondřej Halíř
    Sep 30, 2018
    3,5/5 Klasick dobrodru?n fantasy ve kterm sledujeme Lu, dobrodru?ku kter prahne po zlatu a bohatstv, ale taky ve svm nitru ukrv n?jak tajemstv. B?hem svho putovn naraz na d?tinsky veselho prince s jeho malou dru?inou, kter hled bohatstv v je...
  • Heather (The Sassy Book Geek)
    Dec 10, 2018
    It's only the first volume so it's more of a set up but that ending definitely has me curious! Also if you ever include cute little creatures as companions, I'm in. Sold. Done. Period. End of story. ...
  • Y.S. Stephen
    May 21, 2018
    Luvander is a penniless girl, but like most of us, she has grand dreams of "making it"... though in this case, she wants to travel into ancient, dangerous places and grab any gold lying around for herself. As you may have guessed, this was not going to be an easy venture. With three...
  • Thymie
    Jun 24, 2018
    Picked this trade up because the title caught my attention! Scales & Scoundrels sounds very similar to Dungeons & Dragons and the graphic novel is similar to the classic fantasy world of D&D! A fun and light read that has dwarves, dragons, goblins, monsters and TAVERNS...I ...
  • Jesús Jr.
    Jun 30, 2018
    Scales and Scoundrels Volume 1 is a fun start to an intriguing adventure. The cast of characters introduce are funny with their own views of the world. Lu, as the main protagonist, is all about the food and gold, Dorma is just a dwarf who?s afraid of the dark and is looking for her b...
  • Chantel
    Feb 04, 2019
    3.75 Could have been 4 if the beginning was more catching. ...
  • Geoffrey Payne
    Feb 08, 2018
    This series immediately caught my eye when Image released the first cover artwork. So, when it released I picked it up at my local comic shop. The beginning is fantastic and sets up some questions that really help to drive the story through the series so far. I do think that there are ...
  • Yves Loomans
    Jan 14, 2018
    And we?re off to a good start. ...
  • Izzy
    Dec 31, 2018
    This was a fun little graphic novel. I admit it took me a little while to get into it and enjoy it - thus why it has not been given five stars. Once I got into it, I did enjoy it. It is very different to anything I have seen and I really enjoyed the art style and the uniqueness of th...