Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw (Scales & Scoundrels #1-5)

Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw (Scales & Scoundrels #1-5)

It's hard to make an honest living in a land brimming with magic and mystery, and treasure hunter Luvander is tired of being a penniless adventurer. Ever in search of gold and glory, she sets off for a fabled dungeon "the Dragon's Maw," an ancient labyrinth at the bottom of which slumber endless wealth...or certain doom! A loner by trade, Luvander is forced to team up with It's hard to make an honest living in a land brimming with magic and mystery, and treasure hunter Luvander is tired of...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw (Scales & Scoundrels #1-5)
Author:Sebastian Girner
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:1534304827
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:128 pages pages

Scales & Scoundrels, Vol. 1: Into The Dragon’s Maw (Scales & Scoundrels #1-5) Reviews

  • Andrienne
    Mar 02, 2018
    Really fun graphic novel with an impressive heroine. Luvandra looks like a regular scoundrel but there?s something about her that might suggest she is more than meets the eye. She sets on a quest with a prince, his bodyguard and a dwarf to look for gold and adventure. I like the visu...
  • Val
    Mar 24, 2018
    Took me a while to get into it, but by the end I was invested! Looking forward to the next one. ...
  • Brittany
    Mar 12, 2018
    Ready for more! ...
  • Rainey
    Apr 16, 2018
    High adventure!! ...
  • Frank Jarome
    Mar 18, 2018
    An entertaining fantasy romp that is far more all-ages friendly that its contemporaries ?Skullkickers? or ?Rat Queens? - story is simple so far, but there?s a lot of promise. I?m on board for the ride ...
  • Ron
    Mar 02, 2018
    Enter Luvander, an penniless adventurer down on her luck and on the run. She runs into a prince and bodyguard accompanied by a dwarf surrounded by bandits. They all got chased down The Dragon's Maw dungeon by the bandits and a very strange dude. Read and find out if the adventures will...
  • Lizzie
    Apr 19, 2018
    A really fun fantasy adventure with some great art, too! Would recommend to Nimona fans and also to my husband because he loves dwarves. ...
  • Paul Decker
    Feb 15, 2018
    This comic has many fantasy tropes, but it finds a way to show them in a new light. The story is female led and the main group of characters is diverse. I'd say this story is a modern D&D group. There's humor and fun. A fantasy world. Royals. Dragons. Dwarves. Hidden cities. Treasu...
  • Erin
    Apr 15, 2018
    Super duper fun. A natural maturation of and readalike to Giants Beware by Jorge Aguirre. A great readalike, moodwise and feministwise, to LumberJanes. ...
  • Devann
    Feb 06, 2018
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley I thought this was a pretty fun story, even if it does have a lot of REALLY standard fantasy elements. I would also like it if the artwork was a little bit more defined. Still the characters are fun and honestly the fact that the my...
  • Kathleen Townsend
    Feb 13, 2018
    4.5 out of 5 stars I love fantasy stories. So it isn't any surprise that I picked up the latest fantasy graphic novel, which hit shelves today, February 13, 2018. Scales & Scoundrels Vol. 1: Into the Dragon?s Mawby Sebastian Girner and Galaad is a delightful fantasy perfect ...
  • Chelsey
    Mar 20, 2018
    Colorful, action-filled, and fast-paced, I enjoyed this but don't know if it's more than just a wild ride. The characters are a bit one-dimensional, though I am interested in Lu's background. Sort of like an older, more coherent Lumberjanes. ...
  • Alex Sarll
    Feb 08, 2018
    Normally, I bristle at alliterative riffs on Dungeons and Dragons, or Image attempts at outright secondary world fantasy, but this new book from the co-writer of Shirtless Bear-Fighter! is pretty good - an all-ages Rat Queens if Rat Queens didn't make me feel faintly ill. The art is ap...
  • Joe Howe
    Feb 20, 2018
    The art style and composition was fun. I liked the pacing, mystery building, and use of backstory a great deal and the action was well done. Some of the characterization seemed a little slight, but that may just be by comparison given the strength of other portrayals within the same bo...
  • Skye Kilaen
    Mar 06, 2018
    A perfectly entertaining all-ages (so far) fantasy comic, but seriously, if you're going to write about dragons, know the difference between "horde" and "hoard." Just sayin'. ...
  • Kenny
    Feb 07, 2018
    A whimsical fantasy adventure where D&D meets Ghibli. Fun. ...
  • Lizzy // The Bookish Unicorn
    Mar 26, 2018
    Dang what a cliffhanger! Really fun, adventurous story with amazing art! ...
  • Shannon
    Feb 10, 2018
    An excellent, colorful sword & sorcery romp that manages effortless worldbuilding, action, character depth, and plot twists, all without taking itself too seriously. Familiar tropes that avoid being eye-rolling cliches make this an easy story to jump into lightly yet still deeply e...
  • Brendan Nicholls
    Feb 04, 2018
    This is one of my favourite books for quite sometime. It has an interesting concept and hopefully grows into a long term series, a lot of these tend to vanish after 10 issues. I love when a series can come along and knock you backwards with a fun plot and interesting characters. Girner...
  • Katy
    Feb 07, 2018
    This comic was a fun, and enjoyable read. It reminded me a lot of Rat Queens, in the way that neither take the fantasy genre too seriously. If you like fantasy/d&d inspired stories then give this a go! ...
  • Kate
    Mar 10, 2018
    A violent, fire-breathing girl with a mysterious past (heavily alluded its dragon-related) teams up with some diverse but fairly flat characters to travel through a PG verison of the Tomb of Horrors. Some of the elements (and art) reminded me of Nimona, but it failed to push into new ...
  • Chad
    Mar 02, 2018
    Your standard sword and sorcery book topped with a twist of Studio Ghibli. The art is sometimes frustrating, others quite good. I would like to see it more defined, especially faces. There are times when the characters look like Muppets. But the action scenes look great. So it's an odd...
  • Paul Allard
    Jan 30, 2018
    Fantasy comic collection ? fairly good but nothing special Involving Luvander, an athletic thief and rogue, this comic collection is a fantasy story about a quest for treasure with a prince, his bodyguard and dwarves. Various fantastical creatures are met along the way and Luvande...
  • Tyler Kroon
    Mar 17, 2018
    A fun, all-ages medieval fantasy adventure starring Lu, a mysterious rogue who teams up with a prince, his bodyguard, and his guide to investigate a long-lost subterranean realm in search of treasure. ...
  • Theediscerning
    Feb 06, 2018
    A decent read here, although we've seen a lot of this before. A wacky band of mismatched explorers go for the biggest, deepest treasure, that nobody alive can claim to have seen. The artwork makes it look a little too like a child's-only read, but it can just about entertain the adult ...
  • Roy
    Feb 19, 2018
    3.5* Read this over my lunch break today. Solid standard fantasy affair. Kinda had this weird d&d mix with pokemon artwork. Characters were fun, enough action ( a little YAish) and some funny moments. The artwork would have benefited from a little more detail in my opinion. Othe...
  • Shirin
    Feb 12, 2018
    I liked this. Hopefully it'll only get better, though I've not given it a super high rating because of some stereotypical stuff. I really like the art, and the story is interesting and Lu is intriguing. Is she a dragon, or something? Guess we'll know later. ...
  • Heidi
    Feb 20, 2018
    I started with thinking it was merely ok but by the end I really wanted more! ...
  • Geoffrey Payne
    Feb 08, 2018
    This series immediately caught my eye when Image released the first cover artwork. So, when it released I picked it up at my local comic shop. The beginning is fantastic and sets up some questions that really help to drive the story through the series so far. I do think that there are ...
  • Yves Loomans
    Jan 14, 2018
    And we?re off to a good start. ...