Dark Pines

Dark Pines

An isolated Swedish town. A deaf reporter terrified of nature. A dense spruce forest overdue for harvest. A pair of eyeless hunters found murdered in the woods. It?s week one of the Swedish elk hunt and the sound of gunfire is everywhere. When Tuva Moodyson investigates the story that could make her career she stumbles on a web of secrets that knit Gavrik town together. Are An isolated Swedish town. A deaf reporter terrified of nature. A dense spruce forest overdue for harvest. A pair of...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Dark Pines
Author:Will Dean
Rating:
Genres:Mystery
ISBN:Dark Pines
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:328 pages pages

Dark Pines Reviews

  • Andy Weston
    Jan 18, 2018
    Having rejected adding this book at my tbr list for a while I changed my mind after a Guardian review from Alison Flood a week or so ago. I had originally thought that a British author writing Scandinavian crime was a bit too much like cashing in on recent trends, even though I believe...
  • Jennifer
    Jan 14, 2018
    Debut mystery novel by a non-writer. The story was okay. I didn't find it particularly dark. It did have some interesting characters. I had a huge issue with the author's writing style and his choice of words. His writing seemed inconsistent throughout. At times, I had the feeling ...
  • Bandit
    Jan 20, 2018
    And now for some international reading...with a twist. Twist being that this prototypical Scandinavian mystery is in fact written by British transplant author, who moved to middle of nowhere Sweden not even that long ago according to his bio. Looks like he certainly got to know the lay...
  • Ingrid
    Sep 08, 2018
    I was drawn into the story from the first page on. It started with speed and tension which were kept up for most of the time. Although I guessed who the culprit was early on (unlike me), I still wanted to read on and find out how the story developed. Quite a debut! ...
  • Eva
    Aug 05, 2017
    4.5* --> 5* I can?t quite explain where my recent fascination with Scandi-Noir comes from. For one, I absolutely hate cold weather and the mere mention of freezing temperatures and snow makes me want to run for the hills. And yet, when one of my dearest blogging friends couldn?...
  • Heidi
    Sep 13, 2017
    Wow - what a great read! I really loved this book and it had everything I want in a good thriller - an enigmatic interesting heroine, a terrifying murder, a rich cast of strange and creepy characters and a remote setting in a dark broody forest. Even just the promise of such a story ma...
  • Helen (TBC)
    Dec 11, 2017
    A really polished and accomplished debut and I'm loving that this is going to be a series! Dark, atmospheric and at times claustrophobic, Dark Pines is well written, the characters are vividly drawn and I loved the witty and observant descriptions of life in the remote Swedish town...
  • Amy
    Dec 28, 2017
    Do you need a new book to add to your TBR, one that has not only a chilly atmosphere but also a chilling plot? I?m assuming you?re nodding your head thinking, yes that?s exactly what I?m looking for, because that?s why you?re here, right?! There is nothing better than a rea...
  • Noelle
    Jan 05, 2018
    All reviews can be found on www.crimebookjunkie.co.uk OMFG this is such an amaaaazing book, I am not sure my review will do it justice! But I will give it a go! The reader finds themselves in Sweden facing loss; grief; differences; secrets/lies; discrimination; small-town mental...
  • Liz Barnsley
    Jul 19, 2017
    Dark Pines is one of those books where I look up from the pages after finishing it, slightly dazed, going Yep THAT is what I am looking for. Beautiful beautiful writing, totally immersive from the very first page with a main protagonist that you just fall in love with and an atmosph...
  • Tracy Fenton
    Jul 23, 2017
    I met the author Will Dean in July at Harrogate and was told by everyone to read his book so I immediately downloaded it in July and promptly forgot about it until mid December when I was politely reminded by Liz Barnsley to ?read his bloody book now woman, you?ve had it for 6 mont...
  • Lavender
    Dec 29, 2017
    Well, apparently I am in the minority here. I never found my way into the story. I also never connected to Tuva. To be honest, I did not like her. I found her actions and investigations quite stupid. Yes, there was a dark and disturbing atmosphere. The setting is creepy but the stor...
  • Thebooktrail
    Jan 04, 2018
    Visit the locations in the book Interview with the author - Interview with Will Dean I am a HUGE fan of Dark Pines. This book is everything I hoped it would be and more. It?s a very unique read with a setting and lead character which are just so different to what I?ve rea...
  • Claire Douglas
    Sep 06, 2017
    A brilliant, gripping read! Beautifully written, atmospheric and really scary in parts. Highly recommended. ...
  • Joanne Robertson
    Jan 04, 2018
    I have only recently become a fan of ?nordic noir? as I was never too sure whether it was going to be quite my cup of tea! But after I had read my first one, and LOVED IT, then I got braver about the variety of books I tried and my love affair with the genre has now gone from stren...
  • Rachel Hall
    Jan 21, 2018
    Dark Pines is another overhyped debut of 2018 which proved disappointing lacking in the wow factor for me with its unconvincing attempt at capturing the magic of the Nordic Noir. After an inauspicious start which takes too long for the story to take hold, Will Dean?s insipid deaf pro...
  • Rowena Hoseason
    Dec 18, 2017
    Dark Pines seizes the core concepts of Scandinavian crime fiction and amps them up with a quarter-million volts of electric energy. It perfectly captures the eerie atmosphere of small-town rural Sweden, and blends it with the page-turning pace of an American thriller. You can feel ...
  • Victor *we were on a break!*
    Apr 02, 2018
    This is a difficult review to leave because I was looking forward to reading this for a long time and when I started, I found things that bothered me from, what seemed like, the get-go. By the 22nd page I think I had read at least three times that electronics that were almost dead and ...
  • Laura Rash
    Oct 18, 2017
    Fans of Enger, Jonasson & Aldridge will love Dark Pines! A very descriptive, chilling murder mystery set in the forest will give you a slight case of the heebie jeebies but you?ll enjoy it! Tuva, the main character, is deaf and the insight of using hearing aids & every day li...
  • Gumble's Yard
    Aug 18, 2018
    Part of the 2018 Guardian Not The Booker shortlist for which I am delighted to have been picked as a judge. https://www.theguardian.com/books/boo... This book, together with another Guardian Not The Booker choice - Dervla McTiernan?s The Ruin - was one of Val McDermid?s 2018...
  • Paromjit
    Nov 04, 2017
    This is a taut dark, atmospheric crime noir, set in a remote town, Gavrik, in Sweden. Tuva Moodyson is a local reporter, deaf since she was a child, who moved here reluctantly after working in London. She has settled in rural 'shitsville' only because her mother is terminally ill, expe...
  • Louise Beech
    Mar 12, 2018
    Set in an isolated Swedish town, Dark Pines is a haunting, atmospheric, and beautiful book that I could taste and smell as well as phyiscally see. And what a protagonist Tuva Moodyson is; a deaf woman, out of her depth, away from her home, grieving one parent and struggling with guilt ...
  • Kate
    Nov 20, 2017
    Doesn?t that description just scream intrigue?! I love Nordic Noir, something about the cold and brooding setting just makes these books utterly divine and I was thrilled to get the chance to read an early copy of Dark Pines by Will Dean to experience Sweden in such a suffocatingly f...
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    Nov 19, 2017
    Read my full review here: http://crimebythebook.com/blog/2017/1... This is a strong debut thriller with a fantastic atmosphere and a compelling main character! Set in rural Sweden, DARK PINES has a strong sense of place that will appeal to fans of Nordic Noir. I loved Dean's vivid d...
  • Elaine Tomasso
    Jul 21, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Oneworld Publications for an advance copy of Dark Pines, a novel set in rural Sweden featuring local reporter Tuva Moodyson. Tuva, deaf since childhood, has moved to the small town of Gavrik to be near her dying mother. She works on the local week...
  • Michelle
    Oct 23, 2017
    Nordic noir at it's finest! What a compelling story this was. This is a slow burning novel but never once did I lose interest. Our main character Tuva is a deaf, bi-sexual reporter whom I've become seriously attached to. She is such a wonderful character that you just can't help but ro...
  • Laura
    Aug 22, 2018
    EXCRUCIATINGLY boring - Could Not Finish. I refuse to give it any stars. If anyone wants my reasons - I can elaborate. ...
  • Janel
    Dec 06, 2017
    Something I?ve come to love in books is when a murder investigation takes place through the eyes of a journalist because the main protagonist, in this case, Tuva, isn?t bound by police protocol but instead has the freedom of a journalist and that leaves the plot wide open. Tuva ...
  • Lucy Banks
    Jan 14, 2018
    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. Scandi-thriller with some good characters. I'm not adverse to the occasional bleak Scandinavian murder novel, though in all honesty, I do feel they are becoming a little formulaic. However, this one ...
  • Lucy Langford
    Jul 09, 2018
    3.5*** Dark, Gritty and Atmospheric! The heroine of this book, Tuva Moodyson, a young deaf woman, is the local reporter in a very small Swedish town called Gavrik. She usually reports on local news, run-of-the-mill stories derived from rumour and council minutes. However, when a...