A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)

A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)

A girl, missing A woman, searching A killer, planning... FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people. She knows how it feels to be lost... Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides th A girl, missing A woman, searching A killer, planning... FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people. S...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)
Author:Karen Ellis
Rating:
Genres:Mystery
ISBN:The Searchers #1
  • A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)
  • A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)
  • A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)
  • A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)
  • A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1)
edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:290 pages pages

A Map of the Dark (The Searchers #1) Reviews

  • Elaine -
    Feb 04, 2018
    A Map of the Dark's story line was similar to Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects. Rather than a reporter who likes to cut herself A Map of the Dark has a detective who is a cutter. They both have troubled pasts and are trying to find missing girls. With a story line that was so similar the ...
  • Luanne Ollivier
    Jan 09, 2018
    3.5 A Map of the Dark is the first novel in a new series (The Searchers) from Karen Ellis. (A nom de plume of Katia Lief) FBI Agent Elsa Myers specializes in missing children. She's good at her job. But when she's asked to take on the case of a young woman most likely taken by a ser...
  • Lou
    Jan 17, 2018
    ?Her name?s Ruby Haverstock. She?s seventeen, almost eighteen, and her parents haven?t heard from her since Friday night. She went to her job at a local caf, left work on time, and that was that.? As the excerpt says this looks as an ordinary missing girl case for this new...
  • Diane S ☔
    Jan 13, 2018
    A new series, the introduction of a new character, Elsa, an FBI agent who had a very difficult and abusive past, and is dealing with an impending sorrow in the present. Young women are going missing, and it is up to Elsa, and the young policemen who asked for her assistance, to find th...
  • Cathy Speight
    Apr 09, 2018
    Ach! Present tense narrative. Just don?t like it, sorry. For me, personally, it?s awkward and a bit distracting. However, that?s just me, and I?m probably in the minority with this aversion. My rating is in no way influenced by that. But, if anyone else shares my dislike?this...
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    Jan 06, 2018
    The first in a new series, we get introduced to Elsa Myers. FBI Agent who is put on a child abduction case all while dealing with her dying father which is trudging up memories of her traumatic childhood. As each day passes without finding this young girl, her memories start to infiltr...
  • Kate~Bibliophile Book Club
    Dec 07, 2017
    A Map of the Dark is a fiercely compulsive read. I sat down to start it, and before I even realised it, I was over halfway through. I just couldn?t put it down. I?m a huge fan of American-based crime thrillers, especially when they have a great cast of characters and an intriguing ...
  • Brenda - Traveling Sister
    Jan 14, 2018
    3.5 Stars I was lost in the dark shadowy barren coulee with one of my Traveling Sisters reading The Map of the Dark trying to find cover from the demons haunting our main character FBI Agent Elsa Myers. Map of the Dark is a police procedural with a strong well-drawn character he...
  • Maureen
    Dec 29, 2017
    * 3.5 STARS* Thank you to www.shotsmag.co.uk for my paperback copy in exchange for an honest review* A Map of the Dark introduces us to FBI agent Elsa Myers, and to what appears to be the first in a new police procedural series. Elsa is at the bedside of her terminally ill father,...
  • Amanda Williams
    Apr 29, 2018
    Full of mystery and suspense. This book will keep you guessing from start to finish without ever letting on the ending. Fab book. ...
  • Minty McBunny
    Mar 24, 2018
    This was a slow starter for me, but I definitely grew more interested as I went on and I think Lex and Elsa have a lot of potential going forward. I?d give it 3.5 stars and say it?s a promising start for a US crime series that I?d like to read more of. ...
  • Liz Barnsley
    Aug 03, 2017
    A damn fine start to a new procedural series featuring an FBI Agent on the Child Abduction rapid response team. Cleverly intriguing main protagonist hiding dark secrets, excellent back up cast. creepy and atmospheric mystery element. One I'll be following along with. Full review as ...
  • Sam (Clues and Reviews)
    Jan 04, 2018
    Marketed for fans of Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen (two of my favourite authors), I was incredibly excited to read A Map of the Dark by Karen Ellis. Unfortunately, with the comparison to these thriller powerhouse authors, I was expecting graphic suspense and ?on the edge of your...
  • Alyssa Marie
    Dec 11, 2017
    Overall, I wasn't a huge fan of this book. I liked the storyline and the police procedural aspect of the plot. The writing was of good quality, but I just had a hard time with the narration style and didn't understand certain aspects that the author was trying to convey. I found it dif...
  • Joanne Robertson
    Feb 21, 2018
    When I received my copy of A Map of the Dark I was intrigued as the dark cover suggested the sort of gripping crime thriller that I usually devour but I hadn?t ever heard of Karen Ellis before. So imagine my surprise and delight when upon reading the inside of the cover, I realised t...
  • Joanna Park
    Jan 13, 2018
    A Map Of The Dark is an unusual psychological thriller as it doesn?t just focus on the kidnapping and the fate of the victim. Instead there is a lot of character development, particularly in the first half of the book. We learn more about Eliza?s past in particular her childhoo...
  • Sarah
    Dec 09, 2017
    This is the first book in a new series featuring FBI Agent Elsa Myers. The story flicks between modern day as well as to Elsa?s past and the troubled relationship that Elsa has with her mother. I have to admit, it does make for some uncomfortable reading and my heart really went o...
  • The Tattooed Book Geek (Drew).
    Jan 09, 2018
    As always this review can also be found on my blog The Tattooed Book Geek: https://thetattooedbookgeek.wordpress... I received a free copy of this book courtesy of the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This review is also part of the blog tour for A map of the Dark. The...
  • Sherri Thacker
    Feb 02, 2018
    A quick read. Just ok. Nothing great. ...
  • Abby Slater- Fairbrother
    Aug 04, 2017
    A new series and a new feisty female protagonist, perfect to kick off the new year! Introducing FBI agent Elsa Myers, who is part of the child abduction, rapid deployment division. This novel does read like an episode of criminal minds. But as always, the author has cleverly woven a ...
  • Louise Wilson
    Jan 10, 2018
    FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people. She knows how it feels to be lost. Though her father lies dying in hospital, Elsa can not refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens. As the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been...
  • Lashaan Balasingam (Bookidote)
    Dec 26, 2017
    You can find my review on my blog by clicking here. Karen Ellis, pseudonym of author Katia Lief, releases a thriller mystery tale focused on a special agent with a disturbing past and a kidnapping of a teenager. One part police procedural and one part thriller, A Map of the Dark is ...
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    Nov 08, 2017
    **DNF** I just couldn?t get into this book, and I don?t want to force myself. There?s nothing glaringly ?wrong? with it, I just found it.... slow. I gave it nearly 75 pages but I wasn?t finding myself invested in the characters or the plot - I had that feeling that I had to...
  • Jannelies
    Dec 08, 2017
    Thanks Netgalley for this book. Sometimes you find, amidst all the 'new and wonderful series' a book that marks the start of a series you think you will really like. This is such a book. Elsa Meyers is a complex person with a complex background, and the story is sometimes quite comp...
  • Elaine Tomasso
    Oct 17, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Hodder & Stoughton for an advance copy of A Map of the Dark, the first in a series to feature Special Agent Elsa Myers of the FBI's New York Child Abduction Rapid Deployment unit. Elsa is sitting with her dying father when she gets a call to a...
  • Emily Ross
    Jun 26, 2018
    Thank you to the publishers for providing an ARC of this book through NetGalley. DNF at 50%. I really didn't like Elsa as a main character. The book is less of a mystery and more of a character study, and while Elsa is a good character, with a back story and motivation, she's als...
  • The Book Review Café
    Dec 24, 2017
    Review to follow ...
  • Mandie
    Apr 26, 2018
    I won a copy of this book from Goodreads. While I did finish it, I did lose interest throughout the book. Overall, I did enjoy it. There just wasn?t a wow factor for me. ...
  • Jessica
    Jan 03, 2018
    A big thank you to Mulholland Books for the advanced copy in exchange for my honest review! Not going to lie, this cover is what drew me to this book. I saw that it was a police procedural and a mystery thriller, so that was all I needed to know before diving in! A MAP OF THE DARK b...
  • Claire Kittridge
    Jan 13, 2018
    Loved this! A map of the Dark has a super lead character (FBI Special Agent Elsa Elsa Myers) who harnesses her own demons in order to help solve the case of three missing girls. I couldn't get up from my chair until I'd read it all! The writing is more introspcective than most popular ...