Mad Hatters and March Hares

Mad Hatters and March Hares

From master anthologist Ellen Datlow comes an all-original of weird tales inspired by the strangeness of Lewis Carroll's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There. Between the hallucinogenic, weird, imaginative wordplay and the brilliant mathematical puzzles and social satire, Alice has been read, enjoyed, and savored by every From master anthologist Ellen Datlow comes an all-original of weird tales inspired by the strangeness of Lewis Carrol...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Mad Hatters and March Hares
Author:Ellen Datlow
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:Mad Hatters and March Hares: All-New Stories from the World of Lewis Carroll's Alice in Wonderland
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

Mad Hatters and March Hares Reviews

  • Lori
    Apr 20, 2018
    We chose this book for our spring semester faculty book club, reading only a story or two per week. We had a fun time discussing the book. One professor was an "expert" on the Alice trilogy. Another was a great discussion leader who brought out probing questions to think about. Most of...
  • Ab
    Nov 01, 2017
    A good collection of stories for fans of "Alice in Wonderland" and "Alice Through the Looking Glass". Like most short story collections, there were a handful I couldn't get into, but the ones that I liked were quite fantastic, for a range of reasons. There was fantasy, drama, character...
  • Izzy
    Jul 27, 2018
    Very few of the short stories in this book are good, let alone memorable. Most of the authors were incredibly unoriginal, feeling the need to add unnecessary sex related details into their story. Congrats, you're so interesting adding adult behaviors into a children's book! In my op...
  • Melissa
    Apr 25, 2018
    As with most anthologies this was a mixed bag of captivating stories and some that I skimmed. I do think you will recognize some of the authors like Seanan McGuire (and that story was so good!) and find some new ones to check out. There is also some poetry for those that enjoy it (not ...
  • Jennifer
    Jan 22, 2018
    This anthology had a great mix of stories, managing to evoke Wonderland while striking a variety of notes. My favorites of the bunch were C. S. E. Cooney's whimsical piece and Seanan McGuire's, which reminded me of the things I liked about "Every Heart a Doorway." Recommended. ...
  • Karl
    Mar 14, 2018
    All new stories from"The World of Lewis Carroll's Alice In Wonderland" All stories copyright 2017. Contents: 009 - Acknowledgments 013 - Introduction 015 - ?Gentle Alice? by Kris Dikeman 017 - ?My Own Invention? by Delia Sherman 027 - ?Lily-White & The Thief ...
  • Ron
    Feb 05, 2018
    Ellen Datlow has managed to corral a book full of stories and poems that deal in one fashion or another with Alice in Wonderland. Some of the tales are sad, some, are creepy, some are outrageous, but all have Wonderland in their DNA. The poems that open and close the books are nice tou...
  • All Things Urban Fantasy
    Jan 22, 2018
    Review courtesy of All Things Urban Fantasy. MAD HATTERS AND MARCH HARES is a short story anthology inspired by Alice in Wonderland. Edited by Ellen Datlow, the anthology twists Alice in Wonderland into stories about a commercialized Wonderland, a grieving mother, a cat turned human...
  • Heather
    Mar 23, 2018
    While I really enjoyed some of the stories a lot (Jane Yolen, Catherynne M. Valente, Katherine Vaz), the topic of Wonderland lends itself to weirdness, which - while not a bad thing, per se - can become a bit much as you read 17 stories and poems all written by different authors. I fee...
  • Melliane
    Dec 26, 2017
    Mon avis en Franšais My English review This anthology gathers poems and short stories related to the theme of Alice in Wonderland. I find the idea really great and I was really curious to get started! When I read anthologies, I usually offer a really short review by story but gi...
  • Sarah Booth
    Sep 05, 2017
    If you're a fan of Alice and her adventures in Wonderland this is other writers take on the characters, alternate rifts and parallel universes. Writer fan fiction. Some a bit gruesome and some quite fun and some decent poetry thrown in as well. ...
  • TL
    Jul 16, 2018
    Before going into this, I only knew two of the author's names: Seanan McGuire and Catherynne M. Valente but was excited to maybe get some new favorite stories and/or authors. I still haven't read Alice in Wonderland yet (one I keep meaning to get to but never in the mood for it.. .moo...
  • Brad Hodges
    Feb 18, 2018
    Ellen Datlow professes a love for Lewis Carroll's Alice books (as most interesting and intelligent people do). She has compiled a collection of short stories, most of them with a sinister air, that touch on some aspect of Carroll's work, called it Mad Hatters and March Hares, and exc...
  • Shane
    Nov 27, 2017
    disclaimer ? i received a copy of this book via macmillan-tor/forge in exchange for an honest review. any collection edited by ellen datlow is guaranteed to be good and this anthology of stories based on the alice in wonderland stories is no exception. this seemingly disparate gro...
  • Gray
    Jun 07, 2018
    In her introduction, Datlow writes of her love of ?the Alice books?, especially the many ?illustrated versions?. A few years ago, she was asked by someone at a convention if there was an ?anthology idea? she had always wanted to do. This question led to the creation of this...
  • Sadie Forsythe
    Apr 13, 2018
    I think it took me a decade to listen to all of these stories. Like most anthologies, I liked some of them quite a lot and others not so much. Some seemed to just take the excuse of being about wonderland to dash non-sense on a page and call it 'artistic.' The narrators did a lovely jo...
  • Jessica
    Sep 16, 2017
    *I received an electronic ARC of this book from the publisher through NetGalley. Average Rating: 2.9 stars 1. My Own Invention by Delia ShermanDelia Sherman - ????? 2. Lily-White & the Thief of Lesser Night by C.S.E. Cooney - ????? 3. Conjoined by J...
  • Elizabeth Roberts-Zibbel
    Jun 27, 2018
    A collection of short stories based on Lewis Carroll?s Alice works. Some were strong, some not so much. Some were terrifying. ...
  • Rachel
    May 29, 2018
    For the first few stories, I thought this was going to be a five-star book. But then the stories started getting darker, which is fine, but they were not my preferred flavor of dark. There is one full-blown horror story, and that is definitely not my genre. None of the stories were che...
  • Mark Catalfano
    Dec 01, 2017
    Here's an anthology where several authors give their take on Alice in Wonderland stories: Gentle Alice, by Kris Dikeman: This is a shape poem, based on a cup of tea. My Own Invention, by Delia Sherman: The White Knight finds somebody who he thinks at first is yet another Alice, b...
  • Tabatha
    Feb 08, 2018
    Mad Hatter and March Hares is a collection of original short stories written by various authors inspired by Alice in Wonderland and the characters within. They range from fun and fantastical to dark and sinister. While they were all extremely well written, I feel I didn't appreciate th...
  • Amaranth
    Mar 07, 2018
    An amazing anthology - Most of the stories really memorable and offers fresh takes on the idea of Wonderland. Not all of them were winners but there were enough well written and compelling works to make this very worthwhile. I just have to say great job to Ellen Datlow for putting toge...
  • Kayleigh  D'Andilly
    Jan 10, 2018
    Anthologies are always difficult because they are meant to apple to so many different people, there are bound to be some that you don't connect with. However I am delighted to say that I enjoyed if not fell in love with all but a couple of these tales. Such a wonderful mix, everythi...
  • David Harris
    Dec 08, 2017
    The playground that is Lewis Carroll's Wonderland begs to be peopled by authors, filmmakers, comic makers, indeed anyone with a creative spark who can produce a fresh take on the adventures of Alice and the surreal, sinister crew that she encountered down the rabbit hole and through th...
  • Courtney
    Oct 26, 2017
    Mad Hatters and March Hares is an Alice in Wonderland themed anthology. These short stories and poem are all edited by Ellen Datlow and were created by sixteen different authors. While most do differ in genre, there are more horror and psychological thrillers in here than any other kin...
  • Ren Bedell
    Mar 05, 2018
    A collection of short stories and poems from various authors all about Wonderland and their many quirky characters. Each story is very different. Some are light-hearted and fun, others are dark and adult. Some try to emulate Lewis Carrol's writing style (many successfully), and others ...
  • Janna Craig
    Jan 15, 2018
    This collection was definitely a mixed bag for me. There were 3 or 4 stories that I really liked, a bunch that were just okay, and 3 or 4 that I actively disliked. ******************* ?My Own Invention? by Delia Sherman 3.5 stars I liked this one fairly well. It explor...
  • Lavender
    Jul 29, 2018
    I've always loved Alice in Wonderland, and this book features poetry and short stories of Alice retellings. I'll list my favorites: Lily-White and the Thief of Lesser Night/ My favorite in this collection, full of fantastical magic and world building. Lily-White and her sister from ...
  • Sarah Crawford
    Apr 26, 2018
    Paperback, 334 pages, anthology. Most of the stories in this volume I really like. The stories include: 1. Gentle Alice: Good story. 2. My Own Invention: From the viewpoint of the White Knight. Another good story. 3. Lily White: Ruby Red, vorpal roses, silk caterpillars and gia...
  • Wrong Train, Right Time
    Feb 05, 2018
    I picked this one up largely because I love Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass. I also love reading riffs on the originals. So, a short story featuring some of my favorite authors that's devoted to exactly that? I could not resist. Rather than go throug...