The Storm King

The Storm King

Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben. Burying the past only gives it strength--and fury. Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devast Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Storm King
Author:Brendan Duffy
Rating:
Genres:Mystery
ISBN:0804178143
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:391 pages pages

The Storm King Reviews

  • Marialyce
    Feb 24, 2018
    3.5 up in the air stars Sometimes I really liked this book and there were other times where the opposite was true. I had kind of a love/hate relationship with this book. Nate is a young boy when tragedy strikes when a car accident occurs because of a drunk driver, Nate loses his ...
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    Jan 26, 2018
    I read Brendan Duffy's debut novel House of Echoes when it was published and blow away. It was such a fabulous story and I couldn't wait to read The Storm King to see if that book would be as good. The Storm King is about repercussions and consequences. How ones youthful acts can h...
  • Patricia
    Feb 21, 2018
    4.5 stars Dark and brooding. Loved this! ...
  • Susanne Strong
    Dec 06, 2017
    3 Stars. Nate McHale ?The Storm King? returns home to Greystone Lake after a Fourteen Year absence. If he had it his way, he would never return to this town. It has too many bad memories. Memories of his family?s death, memories of his High School girl friend Lucy?s disappea...
  • The Lit Bitch
    Feb 23, 2018
    Sometimes you pick up a book and you have zero idea what it?s about. That?s what happened to me with this book. When this book came up for review, I got the pitch at the same time as I got the pitch for The Pearl Sister. For some reason, my brain combined the two books and I sai...
  • Kathleen
    Dec 11, 2017
    This took me a bit to really get rolling. I'm not sure if the story is too long or if all the excitement was just packed into the last half. But, once I hit the halfway point I was hooked and this turned out to be a complete page turner. The story line is filled with lots of twists and...
  • Debra
    Oct 28, 2017
    "Because everyone is guilty of something. Everyone deserves to be punished." Just a thought...the past is never really in the past. Actions have consequences. Can I just say "READ IT!" and leave my review at that? No? Then read my review below: Seriously here is the gist: The...
  • Judy
    Dec 16, 2017
    An exciting mystery/thriller that's pretty unique - at least it doesn't seem to follow a formula like so many thrillers. Nate returns to his hometown, after fourteen years away, for the funeral of his high-school girlfriend, Lucy. Lucy's had been missing since high school graduation wh...
  • Reading.Between.Wines
    Jan 10, 2018
    ???? / 5 First of all, thank you to Ballantine Books for sending me a review copy of this book! All opinions are my own. The Storm King literally starts out with a tragedy, and it was both a sad and dramatic start to the book. It was also imperative to the story this nov...
  • Sheila
    Nov 26, 2017
    3.5 stars--somewhere between liked and really liked. Warnings for violence (including sexual and animal violence). This book is dark, a thriller that's almost horror. It's about guilt and justice and how the things we do can linger years after the event. I enjoyed the plot quite a b...
  • debra
    Mar 04, 2018
    Audio 2.5 ...
  • Ann Marie (Lit·Wit·Wine·Dine)
    Mar 18, 2018
    You can read all of my reviews at LitWitWineDine. THE GOOD: Cover ? It?s one of the most beautiful covers I?ve seen in a long time. Atmosphere ? Greystone Lake is the perfect setting for this book. The atmosphere is picturesque and immediately ominous. Writing ? I...
  • Linda
    Oct 24, 2017
    Vengeance is a bitter brew served in your own cupped hands. Nate McHale finds himself tracking far distant miles from home aboard a cramped bus in the direction of Greystone Lake, New York. A hurricane is churning up along the east coast making travel hazardous at best. His thought...
  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)
    Jan 10, 2018
    Nate became "The Boy Who Fell"... when his family's car careens into a lake, he's the only survivor. In a small town, legends and stories are all too real and now he is a part of it implicitly. He leaves, marries, has his own child and gives back by becoming a well respected surgeon fo...
  • Kelly
    Feb 11, 2018
    The Storm King has it all and I loved every second of it. The overall theme throughout the book is revenge, but it is so much more than just a thriller or crime novel. The characters are drawn so well and are deeply interesting. This book has so many layers and stories told over severa...
  • Steven
    Jan 11, 2018
    Thanks to Netgalley and Random House/Penguin/Ballantine for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review. The Storm King was a strong sophomore run from Brendan Duffy, and was a mystery/thriller with bite. Some have been comparing his atmosphere to Stephen King, and I c...
  • Fran
    Apr 08, 2018
    The McHales of Greystone Lake were driving into the hills for a family picnic. Nate, outfielder for the junior varsity team, hit the game winning triple and was given the game ball. The ball was placed in a basket along with peaches for the picnic. When the car swerved, the baseball be...
  • JJ || This Dark Material
    Jan 19, 2018
    Does anyone else have "pet tropes" when it comes to the stories they read and watch? General plots, character types, or relationships that guarantee you're going to pick up a book? One of my pet tropes is when a character with a dark past returns to the place where it all began, only t...
  • Jan
    Nov 28, 2017
    Whew, there was a lot going on with this one! Dragged at points, but the ending was solid. I don't think I have every described a book as 'heavy', but that's the word that comes to mind as I try to summarize my thoughts about this one. It's a turbulent, intense, roller coaster ride....
  • Dorie
    Feb 05, 2018
    Sometimes it?s just reading the right book at the right time, but this book really kept me riveted from the beginning to the end. Unlike some other reviewers I didn?t feel a lag anywhere and I thought the story flowed extremely well, from one incredible episode to the next. Nate...
  • Faith
    Feb 20, 2018
    Nate McHale (a/k/a the Storm King) is now a pediatric oncology surgeon living in NYC with his wife and child. Fourteen years ago he left his life in Greystone Lake behind, but he is now drawn back to this small town to attend the funeral of Lucy Bennett, his old girlfriend whose skelet...
  • Jeannie
    Jan 20, 2018
    3 stars. I liked this book, the first half had me turning pages quickly and I got to know all of the characters and their stories. I couldn't wait to pick it up. I enjoyed the setting, the hurricane coming and all the rain, rain always makes a story a little more creepy to me. The seco...
  • Pamela
    Apr 10, 2018
    This is one of those stories that is hard to fit into any one category. It's not your typical thriller, not quite a crime story or a coming of age story...it is all of the above. There is definitely a lot going on in this one with lots of layers and character flaws. Which I like! Got a...
  • Christine Roberts
    Feb 24, 2018
    In this atmospheric thriller, Dr. Nate McHale returns to a small town he left many years before, to attend a funeral. As Nate's past mistakes catch up with him, he finds that history is repeating itself in the worst way possible. Brendan Duffy's characters are evolved and flawed, in ...
  • Erin *Help I’m Reading and I Can’t Get Up*
    Mar 10, 2018
    DNF. Novels described as ?atmospheric? are so hit or miss for me. Not rating. It just wasn?t for me! ...
  • Kendall
    Feb 02, 2018
    Nate McHale known as "The Storm King" returns home to Greystone Lake after 14 years. Nate is dreading his return home with so many bad memories of his family's death and his high school friend Lucy's mysterious disappearance. Lucy's body is found and Nate finds himself as the prime sus...
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    Oct 09, 2017
    Have you ever read a book and simply couldn't fit it neatly into a single category? That's how I felt aboutThe Storm King; I found that it defied genre boundaries and haven't a clue how to portray the correct recommendation for it. It is suspenseful, yes, but I wouldn't market it as ...
  • Tammy
    Sep 09, 2017
    Joe Hill could have written this. It's that good. The Storm King, on it's surface is a thrilling who-dun-it. Behind the riveting plot, it examines what we do (both good and bad) and the far reaching consequences our actions have. I took one star off for a disappointing scene that made ...
  • Paul Falk
    Sep 24, 2017
    This ARC was provided complements of NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review. My gratitude sent to Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine Books for allowing this pre-release edition made available. The author drove home a lesson known all too well. To me anyway. Wrapped up ...
  • samantha  (books-are-my-life20)
    Mar 15, 2018
    Ho hum,This is a pretty good mystery I found the beginning pretty slow but the action picks up in the end. It has a decent plot but the writer needs seasoning something to keep it going when the plot lags, over all it's a okay read just not a reread. ...