Half of What You Hear

Half of What You Hear

From well-loved women?s fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to a small community and uncovering the many secrets that hide behind closed doors?perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand. Greyhill, Virginia?refuge of old money, old mansions, and old-fashioned ideas about who belongs and who doesn?t?just got a few new re From well-loved women?s fiction writer Kristyn Kusek Lewis comes a breakout novel about a woman moving to...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Half of What You Hear
Author:Kristyn Kusek Lewis
Rating:
Genres:Fiction
ISBN:0062673378
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:384 pages pages

Half of What You Hear Reviews

  • Melissa
    Mar 18, 2019
    I had enjoyed reading Kristyn Kusek Lewis's previous novels, so I was excited to read Half of What You Hear. Especially since part of it takes place in DC. It was easy to relate to what Bess was going through, especially with moving to a new town where she was made to feel like an ...
  • Kristy
    Dec 23, 2018
    Bess and Cole Warner arrive in Greyhill, Virginia from Washington, DC. Ostensibly they've come to take over the local inn from Cole's parents, Diane and Bradley, but they are also fleeing the city. Bess is leaving behind her job as a social secretary at the White House, which she left ...
  • Sue
    Jan 20, 2019
    Fitting in is not easy in a small town no matter who you are. I went through the pain of moving to a small town after leaving Detroit, so this book spoke to me in many ways. My move wasn't quite as dramatic as the move in the book but it WAS difficult. Bess Warner, her husband Cole ...
  • Michelle
    Mar 15, 2019
    I expected this book to be mildly entertaining and I was happily surprised when I found it very addicting. It grabs your attention and pulls you in before you know it and you find you?re invested in what happens to each character and why. There were a few storylines I wish would?ve...
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    Nov 03, 2018
    Moving to her husband?s small home town was something Bess always wanted to do because of the lovely homes, and because she thought it would be good for the twins. The move wasn?t without problems. Two of a number of problems were that she would be across the street from her...
  • Liz Fenton
    Sep 10, 2018
    Incredibly intriguing, Half of What You Hear is a must-read that artfully delves its way through the layers of gossip, secrets and lies of the small and seemingly charming town of Greybill, where everyone knows your name, and oh so much more. Buckle up for a fun ride and one thing is f...
  • Amy
    Oct 28, 2018
    A decent read about a woman who moves with her family to her husband?s hometown in Virginia. She writes a newspaper article about a resident from one of the prominent familes of the town and finds she has to deal with the drama, gossip and secrets of the people and their community. I...
  • Sandra
    Sep 27, 2018
    This was an ok read, but it didn't really keep my attention. I thought the characters were mostly well-written, and the town, but maybe there was too much drama, or maybe the plot just didn't jibe with me all the way through. It had too many "mysteries" going on, so I ended up not real...
  • Patty
    Nov 08, 2018
    Half Of What You Hear By Kristyn Kusek Lewis What it's all about... When Cole and Bess return to Cole?s small Virginia town to run his family?s inn they have no idea of what living in a small close knit community would be like. Mean girls, mean women, gossip...lots of gos...
  • Jen
    Dec 02, 2018
    A small town, a new family trying to fit in, an eccentric old lady, and gossip that never stops. Greyhill, Virginia is a small town with lifelong residents. Cole grew up in this town and is ecstatic to be moving his family back. His wife, Bess, is not so sure. Behind this idyllic setti...
  • Becca Hatheway
    Jan 27, 2019
    I loved this book and couldn't put it down! The story is compelling and takes some interesting turns. The characters are complex and nuanced, and many are so relatable. I love that the town is a character as well - the author does a wonderful job creating a sense of place. I highly rec...
  • ElphaReads
    Apr 09, 2019
    Thank you to the people on my Goodreads feed whose interests point me in the direction of books I wouldn't see otherwise. True, it may not always work out in my favor, but I do like having a large variety of books to read. This very scenario is how I came upon HALF OF WHAT YOU HEAR by ...
  • Julie
    Dec 27, 2018
    I enjoyed this book and the story of coming back home after decades. For Cricket it isn?t about starting over but of reclaiming what she lost. For Bess it is about starting over and redefining herself. Neither one is easy and both have their own issues to deal with. There were times ...
  • Chris Conley
    Mar 20, 2019
    I enjoyed this a lot. The meeting of new blood and established folks is always fascinating to me. I hope to read more. ...
  • Stephanie
    Nov 19, 2018
    Half of What You Hear by Kristyn Kusek Lewis is a fast-paced, compelling page-turner that reminded me so much of what it's like growing up in a small southern town! When you grow up or live in a small town like Greyhill, the small, old-moneyed Virginia town, in Lewis' newest novel, ev...
  • Barbara White
    Jan 24, 2019
    Is gossip ever harmless? Can you outrun your past? What's the line between needing to belong and refusing to compromise who you are? These are questions that hunted me after I finished reading HALF OF WHAT YOU HEAR, a page-turner about a strong woman facing a major turning point in her...
  • Ashley Houser
    Mar 27, 2019
    The cover of this book is what really caught my attention... because, yes, I do judge books by their covers. So sue me! It had this mysterious appeal that drew me in. Who or what is behind that half open door in the darkness? So onto the library list it went. I have to admit, I was ...
  • Kate Olson
    Apr 05, 2019
    First 2/3 was a solid 4 stars but then things fell apart for me. It was an entertaining read and I liked the setting. ...
  • Page
    Oct 28, 2018
    After reading a few too many World War II novels in a row, I needed something a little less depressing. ?Half of What You Hear? was a perfect palate cleanser. It?s light and fast paced. The characters are believable, and the relationships ring true. Not everything in this book is...
  • Lynn
    Feb 12, 2019
    Boo. This author abandoned a perfectly serviceable storyline (high-powered event manager moves to her husband?s small home town after devastating career setback, she and her kids have a hard time fitting in ) in favour of a very pedestrian murder mystery. You took a wrong turn there,...
  • Rachel Wells
    Nov 22, 2018
    When Bess and Cole leave DC for Greyhill, VA to take over Cole?s parents? inn, the picturesque town seems like the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of their old life. However, small town southern life is a whole different ball game. As Bess dives into the intricacies of wh...
  • Patricia
    Mar 24, 2019
    What is it like to move to a small town, and try to fit in, between the gossip and the in laws. Awful. don't do it. ...
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    Jan 12, 2019
    4 stars! Greyhill, Virginia is known for its old money and old traditions and old?gossip. Bess Warner, along with her husband Cole and their children, move to Cole?s small hometown of Greyhill. Bess will now live across the street from her mother-in-law, and she?s excited ...
  • Natalie M
    Jan 15, 2019
    3.5? for a style of writing similar to Liane Moriarty. Set in what could be a small town anywhere, gossip, innuendo, and stories that have morphed over time & generations. Sometimes we hear what we want and say it the way we wish it. The story felt believable to an extent but the...
  • Holly  B
    Dec 22, 2018
    3.5 This was an engaging read that was chock-full of small town scandals and gossipy woman with way too much time on their hands. Bess Warner was fired from her job as social secretary to the First Lady in Washington and she has decided to trade it all for a much slower paced tow...
  • Susan Csoke
    Oct 30, 2018
    Bess is elated to be leaving Washington with her husband Cole and their twins to begin a new life in old quiet Greyhill Virginia just across the road from Cole's mother. Soon Bess is rethinking her decision as she unravels the dark secrets of Susannah Lane, a prominent figure in Greyhi...
  • Jessica Elliott
    Feb 10, 2019
    I was debating between 3 and 4 stars with this book, only because it seemed a little slow at times throughout the book. Towards the end though- I couldn?t put it down, because I wanted to know if there was truth behind the town gossip. ...
  • Cori
    Jan 04, 2019
    If you enjoy Liane Moriarty books, I highly recommend Half of What You Hear! Full of drama and entertainment, @kristynkuseklewis creates a light, fun read. . At first the characters appear to follow over- exaggerated cliches, but most of them have way more depth than initially presum...
  • Kelly
    Dec 26, 2018
    Half of What You Hear certainly seems to be an apt description for this book. When Bess suffers public humiliation and a firing from her job as the social secretary to the First Lady, she and her husband Cole move back to his small, picture-perfect hometown and across the street from h...
  • Christina (Bookwormmommyof3)
    Jan 21, 2019
    A juicy book that took place in a small town embedded with secrets including a death. I devoured this book and highly recommend reading the insights and interview at the end. I loved Little Fires Everywhere & of course this book had a spark that reminded me of Big Little Lies, so f...