To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret

To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret

New York Times bestseller - "Thrilling, tender, utterly absorbing . . . Every chapter shimmered with truth." --Cheryl Strayed From travel writer Jedidiah Jenkins comes a long-awaited memoir of adventure, struggle, and lessons learned while bicycling the 14,000 miles from Oregon to Patagonia. On the eve of turning thirty, terrified of being funneled into a life he didn't cho New York Times bestseller - "Thrilling, tender, utterly absorbing . . . Every chapter shimmered with truth." --Ch...

DownloadRead Online
Title:To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret
Author:Jedidiah Jenkins
Rating:
Genres:Travel
ISBN:1524761389
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret Reviews

  • Renee
    Dec 23, 2018
    4.5 Stars I read this book in just two days and could have finished it one day if that pesky Christmas-thing wasn't just around the corner. As the title describes, this memoir is the author's report of the 1 1/2 years he took a break from life to bicycling 14,000 miles from Oregon to ...
  • Robin
    Dec 15, 2018
    3.5 stars In the 1970s I read Peter Jenkins' A WALK ACROSS AMERICA which ignited my love for anything involving true adventure. Since then I have been driven to read just about anything that incorporates some sort of challenging physical endeavour. When I discovered his son, Jedidia...
  • Elizabeth
    Feb 05, 2019
    To Shake the Sleeping Self interested me because my family had both A Walk Across America and A Walk West on our bookshelves during my childhood. A Walk Across America was a very meaningful book for me, as it was the first travel memoir that I read (or even saw) and it sparked a love ...
  • Kelli
    Nov 25, 2018
    What a journey! I loved reading about it. Would definitely give a 4.5. Maybe not mind-blowing for me, but I enjoyed reading. I love Jedidiah?s writing...definitely worth a follow on Instagram. It was fun to follow his journey there and read more details in this memoir. Thanks to my s...
  • Ingrid
    Feb 13, 2019
    I almost didn?t read this past the first chapter or two since I thought it was going to be too religious for my liking. Turns out it was only in spots that made monumental sense on the parts of his journey that sparked some more spiritual thinking. I can see why some reviewers though...
  • Sian Lile-Pastore
    Nov 04, 2018
    I thought this was going to be quite different to what it was. I brought a lot of expectation to it, probably quite unfairly, and it didn't/couldn't deliver. Essentially I wanted it to be Wild by Cheryl Strayed but more Gary Snyder-esque. I wanted it to be a Buddhist , spiritual nature...
  • Jenwhitson
    Aug 20, 2018
    I devoured this book. It has left me with a lot of feelings. I first found Jed on Instagram a year or so ago and quickly became obsessed with his adventure pics and the thoughtful, vulnerable vignettes he posted with them. I wanted to read this book bc I love him and trusted that his w...
  • Christina
    Jan 05, 2019
    I enjoy travel writing and hoped this would be in the tradition of Cheryl Strayed or Paul Theroux. The premise intrigues: biking from Portland, Oregon all the way to Patagonia, the southernmost point of Chile. I would have liked for Jed to show more self-reflection, but again and again...
  • Ajay
    Oct 08, 2018
    I may return to this at some point in the future, but for the moment I won't be finishing this book. Jenkins is a good writer, but the story isn't as interesting as a it should be, it's just.... fine. ...
  • Brittany Dolezal
    Jan 05, 2019
    This whole journey was inspiring, down-to-earth, and honest. I think what I appreciated most about Jenkins writing was how unpretentious it all was. I think he described his story best when he mentioned it would be like telling a friend about your adventure over a few drinks. There wer...
  • Roxana Barnett
    Oct 10, 2018
    I really wanted to love this book. I followed his travels on Instagram. I enjoyed his interviews. I love a good travelogue. I enjoyed the first half of the book, but by the second half I was ready for it to be done. Good for him for taking this journey, but he?s just not that interes...
  • Allison
    Aug 31, 2018
    I was very excited for this book, but found it to be pretty repetitive. I?ve followed Jed?s Instagram for a long time, and have loved many of the things he has written there. While there was some of that in this book, it was definitely not a favorite. It was a great picture of goin...
  • Matthew
    Oct 07, 2018
    2.5 stars. this is a memoir about doing something worth writing a memoir about. jed's a fine writer, but his point of view is a too benign for a travelogue. good for him for taking on such an audacious adventure, for growing as a person, for working out his faith, but, if he's presenti...
  • Morgan
    Oct 12, 2018
    I wanted to read this slower to enjoy it longer, but I just couldn?t put it down. Such a beautifully written story that felt so true to my own heart. I highly recommend reading this, especially if you have experienced faith questions. ...
  • Nadeen Talbot
    Oct 29, 2018
    What an honor it was to catch a glimpse inside Jed?s mind. This book shook my world. It helped reshape my values, deconstruct my views on my career and reevaluate all aspects of my life. Jed?s become a huge hero of mine over the past couple of years and this book added a layer of d...
  • Annelie
    Oct 08, 2018
    3.5* I was so excited to finally have this book in hand, to finally read all about this epic quest bicycle ride from Oregon to Patagonia by a writer I love from Instagram. And Jedidiah?s beautiful writing was there. The trip was adventurous, he describes his reflections, on both ...
  • Nikki
    Jul 30, 2018
    Disclosure - I received this book as a promotion, through Crown Publishing and PRH, and Jed's social media promotion team. THANK YOU! Now to the important part. You NEED to read this book. To begin, I followed Jed on Instagram during his bike ride from Oregon to Patagonia, so I...
  • Chelsie Leigh
    Nov 20, 2018
    Don?t want to be completely negative because some people might really like this, but it just wasn?t for me. I did enjoy the scenery descriptions, Jed?s travel buddy Wes was a very interesting character as well as the random people they met along the way. That said, Jed is a ma...
  • Julia Goodhart
    Dec 26, 2018
    I really enjoy Jedidiah?s vignettes on Instagram & elsewhere - they?re thought-provoking and unique. But I rarely found this book as interesting. As some other folks mentioned, he seemed to glaze over engaging w spirituality, sexuality, and privilege, in any meaningful way. Or ...
  • Regina
    Dec 13, 2018
    I didn?t finish this book. I returned this book after 5 chapters. I have never ever returned a book, so I thought this deserved a review. Maybe it isn?t fair that I am reviewing on just a few chapters, but I felt the need to share. I just don?t believe the author. Maybe I am wr...
  • Liz Schomber
    Nov 05, 2018
    I first found Jed on Instagram and loved his travel posts. I loved the voice he gave to the people and places he was traveling to. His posts always seemed so raw and real. I expected the same from his book. In most ways I got that, it did feel lacking in some ways and dare I say seemed...
  • Meg
    Dec 01, 2018
    Really more of a 3.5 but the rating system doesn't allow for that. ...
  • Dasha Ivanova
    Nov 15, 2018
    After I listened to a podcast episode with Jedidiah, I got so excited to read the book. And while reading it, I was trying to convince myself that the book was ok, that it would say me something interesting. But it didn't. No interesting ideas, even the language is boring and not what ...
  • Olivia Caridi
    Jan 06, 2019
    I reeeeally wanted to love this book! Following the adventure on Instagram was great, but I just felt like the book barely skimmed the surface in every aspect. The storytelling, the description, all of it could have gone deeper, and instead it just...didn?t. I don?t want to take aw...
  • Patty Sampson-Bouchard
    Jan 20, 2019
    Really loved the book because the authors father wrote a wonderful book that really resonated with me. While I liked Sleeping Self for its details and insights of South America, I would have liked more introspection and takeaways from the author. ...
  • Elizabeth
    Nov 25, 2018
    I absolutely loved this book and what the author experienced through this time in his life. Highly recommend ...
  • Fiona Bledsoe
    Jul 29, 2018
    First of all, a huge and gracious thanks to Jed and the team at Crown Publishing, PRH, and so on ? to every finger and every inspiration responsible for the publishing of this book. I patiently awaited this story for five years. At the time that Jedidiah announced that he was goi...
  • Callie Sokoloski
    Nov 17, 2018
    Dammit, Jed. He did it again. Put words to paper that have me reaching for my highlighter every ten minutes. Jed is one of my all time favorite writers - I mean that sincerely. His main writing medium is Instagram, so we get his words in dribs and drabs. I couldn?t wait to read a ful...
  • Noelle Franz
    Jan 07, 2019
    I loved this book. Not a page turner at all, but somehow was so easy to keep reading. I think I just really loved how honest he was in his whole journey. Refreshing to hear someone be so real. Throughout the book it?s his struggle of answering certain questions and beliefs, discoveri...
  • Hannah Slater
    Jan 28, 2019
    I absolutely loved this book. He is honest and relatable, even if it feels uncomfortable. He touches on a few major topics, and his commentary on the people he meets along the way makes you feel as if you are there. Inspiring. The search for answers to big questions will never be compl...