To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret

To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret

New York Times bestseller - "Thrilling, tender, utterly absorbing . . . Every chapter shimmered with truth." --Cheryl Strayed From travel writer Jedidiah Jenkins comes a long-awaited memoir of adventure, struggle, and lessons learned while bicycling the 14,000 miles from Oregon to Patagonia. On the eve of turning thirty, terrified of being funneled into a life he didn't cho New York Times bestseller - "Thrilling, tender, utterly absorbing . . . Every chapter shimmered with truth." --Ch...

DownloadRead Online
Title:To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret
Author:Jedidiah Jenkins
Rating:
Genres:Travel
ISBN:1524761389
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:336 pages pages

To Shake the Sleeping Self: A Journey from Oregon to Patagonia, and a Quest for a Life with No Regret Reviews

  • Melanie  Hilliard
    Mar 19, 2019
    3.75 stars, primarily for excellent writing. I wanted to hate this book. Rich, white guy ... get this, rides his bicycle from Oregon to Patagonia! You don't say! There's probably a part of me that even picked it up just so I could complain about how annoying he is. Don't get me wron...
  • Robin
    Dec 15, 2018
    3.5 stars In the 1970s I read Peter Jenkins' A WALK ACROSS AMERICA which ignited my love for anything involving true adventure. Since then I have been driven to read just about anything that incorporates some sort of challenging physical endeavour. When I discovered his son, Jedidia...
  • Elizabeth
    Feb 05, 2019
    To Shake the Sleeping Self interested me because my family had both A Walk Across America and A Walk West on our bookshelves during my childhood. A Walk Across America was a very meaningful book for me, as it was the first travel memoir that I read (or even saw) and it sparked a love ...
  • Ingrid
    Feb 13, 2019
    I almost didn?t read this past the first chapter or two since I thought it was going to be too religious for my liking. Turns out it was only in spots that made monumental sense on the parts of his journey that sparked some more spiritual thinking. I can see why some reviewers though...
  • Sian Lile-Pastore
    Nov 04, 2018
    I thought this was going to be quite different to what it was. I brought a lot of expectation to it, probably quite unfairly, and it didn't/couldn't deliver. Essentially I wanted it to be Wild by Cheryl Strayed but more Gary Snyder-esque. I wanted it to be a Buddhist , spiritual nature...
  • Jenwhitson
    Aug 20, 2018
    I devoured this book. It has left me with a lot of feelings. I first found Jed on Instagram a year or so ago and quickly became obsessed with his adventure pics and the thoughtful, vulnerable vignettes he posted with them. I wanted to read this book bc I love him and trusted that his w...
  • Chris
    Jan 05, 2019
    I enjoy travel writing and hoped this would be in the tradition of Cheryl Strayed or Paul Theroux. The premise intrigues: biking from Portland, Oregon all the way to Patagonia, the southernmost point of Chile. I would have liked for Jed to show more self-reflection, but again and again...
  • Ajay
    Oct 08, 2018
    I may return to this at some point in the future, but for the moment I won't be finishing this book. Jenkins is a good writer, but the story isn't as interesting as a it should be, it's just.... fine. ...
  • Roxana Barnett
    Oct 10, 2018
    I really wanted to love this book. I followed his travels on Instagram. I enjoyed his interviews. I love a good travelogue. I enjoyed the first half of the book, but by the second half I was ready for it to be done. Good for him for taking this journey, but he?s just not that interes...
  • Mary
    Mar 01, 2019
    I wanted so much to like this book! I was SO excited about the premise, but sadly, it really disappoints. Jed is incredibly sheltered, naive, and privileged, and he barely scratches the surface in examining the above while on his bike trip. He offers only the most superficial observati...
  • Allison
    Aug 31, 2018
    I was very excited for this book, but found it to be pretty repetitive. I?ve followed Jed?s Instagram for a long time, and have loved many of the things he has written there. While there was some of that in this book, it was definitely not a favorite. It was a great picture of goin...
  • Shereen
    Jan 27, 2019
    So much White boy privilege. Congratulations on an incredible journey, book was meh. I listened to it at 2x. I tried to go to 1x and fell asleep. Insights were superficial, nothing resolved in the end. And he is soooo unprepared for this undertaking. The part that really drove m...
  • Matthew
    Oct 07, 2018
    2.5 stars. this is a memoir about doing something worth writing a memoir about. jed's a fine writer, but his point of view is a too benign for a travelogue. good for him for taking on such an audacious adventure, for growing as a person, for working out his faith, but, if he's presenti...
  • Morgan
    Oct 12, 2018
    I wanted to read this slower to enjoy it longer, but I just couldn?t put it down. Such a beautifully written story that felt so true to my own heart. I highly recommend reading this, especially if you have experienced faith questions. ...
  • Natalie
    Feb 25, 2019
    A huge let down. The author begins the trip struggling, mainly with his faith and his sexuality. Neither of these things he's found head way on by the end if the book, he's the same except he rode a bike. From the adventure standpoint he spends so much time hitch hiking like bro weren'...
  • Annelie
    Oct 08, 2018
    3.5* I was so excited to finally have this book in hand, to finally read all about this epic quest bicycle ride from Oregon to Patagonia by a writer I love from Instagram. And Jedidiah?s beautiful writing was there. The trip was adventurous, he describes his reflections, on both ...
  • Nikki
    Jul 30, 2018
    Disclosure - I received this book as a promotion, through Crown Publishing and PRH, and Jed's social media promotion team. THANK YOU! Now to the important part. You NEED to read this book. To begin, I followed Jed on Instagram during his bike ride from Oregon to Patagonia, so I...
  • Chelsie Leigh
    Nov 20, 2018
    Don?t want to be completely negative because some people might really like this, but it just wasn?t for me. I did enjoy the scenery descriptions, Jed?s travel buddy Wes was a very interesting character as well as the random people they met along the way. That said, Jed is a ma...
  • Julia Goodhart
    Dec 26, 2018
    I really enjoy Jedidiah?s vignettes on Instagram & elsewhere - they?re thought-provoking and unique. But I rarely found this book as interesting. As some other folks mentioned, he seemed to glaze over engaging w spirituality, sexuality, and privilege, in any meaningful way. Or ...
  • Regina
    Dec 13, 2018
    I didn?t finish this book. I returned this book after 5 chapters. I have never ever returned a book, so I thought this deserved a review. Maybe it isn?t fair that I am reviewing on just a few chapters, but I felt the need to share. I just don?t believe the author. Maybe I am wr...
  • Nick
    Apr 10, 2019
    I am an avid cyclist who has been planning to ride to Patagonia for years. I also love reading about cycling. My wife got me this book for a christmas present and I finally got around to reading it. I'm not sure how he did it but the attorney for Kony 2012 figured out a way to make a b...
  • Libby
    Apr 03, 2019
    3.75 stars When he was 27 years old, Jedidiah Jenkins promised himself that he would bike from Oregon to Patagonia the year that he turned 30. Three years later, he set out with a brand new bicycle, one friend, and an open-mind. ?To Shake the Sleeping Self? is the story of his j...
  • Dasha Ivanova
    Nov 15, 2018
    After I listened to a podcast episode with Jedidiah, I got so excited to read the book. And while reading it, I was trying to convince myself that the book was ok, that it would say me something interesting. But it didn't. No interesting ideas, even the language is boring and not what ...
  • Olivia Caridi
    Jan 06, 2019
    I reeeeally wanted to love this book! Following the adventure on Instagram was great, but I just felt like the book barely skimmed the surface in every aspect. The storytelling, the description, all of it could have gone deeper, and instead it just...didn?t. I don?t want to take aw...
  • Kate
    Feb 28, 2019
    My favorite read of 2019 so far, this book leaves no truth untold and no emotion unfelt. I truly felt like I was on the journey with Jedidiah and definitely got that vibe from the moment he wrote in the very beginning that the book was to be read like a story over dinner. This is not a...
  • James Hasler-Bail
    Nov 01, 2018
    Been following Jed on social media for a while and he inspired my own trip to South America so I was keen for this! Great start and I enjoyed the initial launch into the trip however it felt as it went on that it became about simply recounting action by action until the end and I lost ...
  • Fiona Bledsoe
    Jul 29, 2018
    First of all, a huge and gracious thanks to Jed and the team at Crown Publishing, PRH, and so on ? to every finger and every inspiration responsible for the publishing of this book. I patiently awaited this story for five years. At the time that Jedidiah announced that he was goi...
  • Catherine Norman
    Apr 17, 2019
    The craft beer may have impeded Jed's ability to write a compelling memoir. Lesson learned: Instagram personalities are sometimes just Instagram personalities. I wish there had been more here, but was thoroughly unimpressed, both with the writing and the adventure. I hope he found his ...
  • Callie Sokoloski
    Nov 17, 2018
    Dammit, Jed. He did it again. Put words to paper that have me reaching for my highlighter every ten minutes. Jed is one of my all time favorite writers - I mean that sincerely. His main writing medium is Instagram, so we get his words in dribs and drabs. I couldn?t wait to read a ful...
  • Noelle Franz
    Jan 07, 2019
    I loved this book. Not a page turner at all, but somehow was so easy to keep reading. I think I just really loved how honest he was in his whole journey. Refreshing to hear someone be so real. Throughout the book it?s his struggle of answering certain questions and beliefs, discoveri...