Unwifeable: A Memoir

Unwifeable: A Memoir

From the popular, ?candid and bold, tender and tough? (Cheryl Strayed) dating columnist for New York magazine and the New York Post comes a whirlwind and ?gutsy? (Courtney Love) memoir recounting countless failed romances and blackout nights, told with Mandy Stadtmiller?s unflinching candor and brilliant wit. My story is not unique. Single girl comes to New York; New York e From the popular, ?candid and bold, tender and tough? (Cheryl Strayed) dating columnist for New York ma...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Unwifeable: A Memoir
Author:Mandy Stadtmiller
Rating:
Genres:Autobiography
ISBN:1501174037
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:321 pages pages

Unwifeable: A Memoir Reviews

  • Heather
    Jul 18, 2018
    Yay! A memoir about how messed up your life is AND being a comic? Two of my favorite things! Good memoir, she did some crazy shit out of hating herself and don't we all identify and I'm glad she has pulled herself together. Great memoir, great listen. ...
  • Stella
    Mar 23, 2018
    I need to preface this review with the caveat that I am not a Mandy Stadtmiller fan. I never have been. Her column in the Post was a hate read for me for many years. I also saw her standup a few times and did not find her funny in the least. Her writing on xojane was avoided. I found h...
  • Debbie Pell Dunning
    Mar 12, 2018
    This book knocked the wind out of me -- Mandy's story combined with her self-awareness and ability to touch the reader's emotional nerves make hers such a fresh and refreshing voice. Her soul-baring confessions made me remember choices and feelings of my own that I've never been brave ...
  • Roxy
    Mar 01, 2018
    There were some cringeworthy moments that made me think we she did the things she did. She clearly didn't like it, but she did it anyway. For a journalist, the memoir read like it was written by a high-schooler. ...
  • Lisa
    Jan 24, 2018
    "I am unloveable, I am unwifeable. I am a failure. I am not worth it." Wow - when I came across this passage in the book I was stunned because of the raw authenticity of it and also because I could 100% relate to the author. This is a memoir that will touch your life because it is REAL...
  • Ronya
    Jun 04, 2018
    I know you?re supposed to have compassion for those who are fighting addiction and have been the victims of abuse but I just could not find it in me to see Mandy as anything but an annoying, careless, selfish, name dropping gossip writer. It seemed to me more an opportunity to tell h...
  • Lauren
    Apr 18, 2018
    I received this book in a Goodreads giveaway. And I wish I hadn't. I've tried to write this review in multiple ways but every time I try it comes out meaner than the last. I'm not sure this version will be any better but I swear I'm trying. This book is full of problems and wo...
  • Jen Ryland
    Feb 26, 2018
    I remember reading Mandy Stadtmiller's pieces in the NY Post around 10 years ago so I really was excited to try this but the first couple chapters just weren't grabbing me. I may try this again though - just read her Wikipedia bio and there's got to be some interesting stuff in her...
  • Meredith
    Jun 12, 2018
    Not for Merediths. ...
  • Rebecca
    Jan 06, 2018
    A big thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada for sending along a review copy of this book. Fans of Cheryl Strayed and Stephanie Klein will enjoy this raw memoir that touches on everything from alcoholism and binge eating to sexual addiction. I wasn't familiar with the author and...
  • Morgan Schulman
    Mar 16, 2018
    I was given in advanced readers copy in exchange for an honest review. I had requested this book because I loved XO Jane to death and because Cat Marnell's memoir was entertaining as hell. Unfortunately, this book is luridd without being entertaining , and just feels like I read somebo...
  • Janilyn Kocher
    Feb 19, 2018
    Unwifeable is a narrative of a woman hell bent on self destruction. She drank herself into stupors, had raunchy sexual escapades, and doped up on drugs and then wrote all about it for the NY Post. It's also sad that Stadtmiller valued herself so little that she imbibed in the dissolute...
  • Kayla Tornello
    Apr 08, 2018
    This book is so raw and honest. The author candidly tells all the details about her downward spiral after her divorce. It was so sad to see the way that she tried running from all her issues instead of actually resolving them. I like that this book shows that it's possible to dig yours...
  • Jessica Delfino
    Mar 23, 2018
    I love everything that Mandy writes because her heart is a faucet left on and what comes out is a pure, cold, fresh drink when your mouth is full of sand. She gets into the cracks of your spirit and sits there and you find yourself thinking her words days, weeks, months, years later. S...
  • Sasha Brown-Worsham
    Feb 16, 2018
    I loved this book. So honest and raw and beautiful. It made me want to spend even more time hearing Mandy muse on life. The writing is gorgeous, too. Just a complete winner. Don't miss it. ...
  • Virginia
    Mar 31, 2018
    This might be the most depressing book I've ever read, and I?ve read Where the Red Fern Grows. Don?t get me wrong, Ms. Stadtmiller is a fantastic writer. She?s clever, self-abasing, unapologetic, and funny. Her climb up the ladder of success and social notoriety is also prett...
  • Derek Milman
    Mar 20, 2018
    An absolute un-put-down-able, laugh-out-loud, dizzying, breathtaking masterpiece. Stadtmiller's voice is as sharp and gleaming as a surgical scalpel. The memoir is fearless, taking on some tough subjects, tackling some difficult questions, and never afraid to show its dark side. A soon...
  • Kayo
    Jan 09, 2018
    Funny but a bit cringe-worthy. Sometimes a bit hard to read, knowing she allowed certain things to happen. Overall good. ...
  • Debbi DuBose
    Apr 23, 2018
    I was fortunate to win an ARC of: UNWIFEABLE - A MEMOIR by Mandy Stadtmiller through a Goodreads Giveaway and Gallery Books. I have to admit this: when I started this Memoir; I wasn't sure that it was a book I wanted to read. MY FIRST OPINION WAS UNEQUIVOCALLY MISGUIDED!! Ms Stadtmille...
  • Michelle Arredondo
    Jun 05, 2018
    Okay....so little known fact about me: I am a reality show junkie. Bravo being my channel of choice...you will find me watching anything from something with Housewives, something about a certain city and the most popular socialites of that city....reality t.v anything....I am all for i...
  • Jessica Sorentino
    Mar 15, 2018
    Listen, if you like to laugh with someone as they comically share their life with you, Unwifeable is your next book. I was at first drawn to Mandy's memoir because of it's cover, but quickly became immersed in the pages as she described her young divorce, late-20's move to NYC, working...
  • Sarah Ames-Foley
    May 29, 2018
    You can find more reviews like this on my blog. This was a really difficult read for me. It felt like rubbernecking, like witnessing someone else?s painful life-changing crash and not looking away even though you know you should. This memoir was unbelievably candidly honest, peeli...
  • Jenna Whalen
    Apr 16, 2018
    I received this book as a Goodreads giveaway. It's refreshing how open, raw, and honest Mandy Stadtmiller is in her memoir. She could have easily glossed over parts of her life to make herself look better and still have a good book, yet she chose to write about it all. She is open w...
  • Vanessa Botelho
    Feb 05, 2018
    This is the most Raw and honest Memoir I have ever read. This book took so much courage and strength to write and I applaud the author for being so honest. I found this to be a very relatable book to many women and the struggles we go through in our lives. This book gives women hope fo...
  • wellreadtraveler
    Mar 19, 2018
    I?m not usually one to pick up memoirs, and I have to admit I didn?t know who Mandy Stadmiller was intially so I Googled her before I started the book. I love comedy, so I watched a few of her stand up tapes. She was really funny so I was looking forward to that crossing over into ...
  • JP
    Jan 23, 2018
    There were times when I was reading this book that I was thinking about this review score. Had I rated it at various times throughout my read it would have been a 2 star, a 5 star, a 3 star. Finally I landed on this 4 star review. The prose at times is 2 star. The content h...
  • Megan Prokott
    Apr 18, 2018
    Overall? If you love celebrities, gossip, and reading about a wild woman?s journey towards self-love and getting her shit together, Unwifeable is going to be right up your alley. But it wasn't for me. Full review here: http://meganprokott.com/review//unwif... ...
  • Hannah Orenstein
    Apr 02, 2018
    I couldn't put this down! If you ever watched Sex and the City and thought, "Huh, what is it like writing about your relationships?" ? you need to read this book. Mandy explores how dating in the public eye transformed her relationship with men, alcohol, and herself. ...
  • Zibbernaut
    Mar 29, 2018
    I got sent an ARC of this by Goodreads because I won a giveaway, so I was thrilled to read the free book. The version I had included a few spelling mistakes, but overall I don't think the book will change much from the version I read. This book is raw, as many other people have sai...
  • Up All Night With Books
    Feb 20, 2018
    ***ARC provided for honest review*** I?m rarely at a loss for words, but I find it difficult to put into words how I feel about Mandy Stadtmiller?s memoir, Unwifeable. At first blush (or second or third), this feels like a tawdry tell-all. Mandy does not mince words or descripti...