Take Me with You

Take Me with You

For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time. Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploratio For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages bi...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Take Me with You
Author:Andrea Gibson
Rating:
Genres:Poetry
ISBN:0735219516
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:200 pages pages

Take Me with You Reviews

  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    Jan 15, 2018
    I like the idea and sentiment of these poems but I feel like the poet barely scratches the surface. It is more like they are presenting the reader with brief sentiments rather than fully developed poems. I feel like there is a lot more there, and using their themes of the intersection ...
  • Rainey
    Feb 24, 2018
    A solid collection with an interesting format, but not nearly as perfect as previous volumes. ...
  • Maria
    Feb 20, 2018
    I didn't mean to read Take Me With You in one sitting, but the bus ride was long and at every page I felt more alive. It was an emotional roller coaster that I will certainly be taking again... and again and again and again. These are excerpts of poems. Some of them were new to me, ...
  • Jona & Joslyn
    Apr 18, 2018
    Definitely witty with words although I couldn't connect to some of the subject matter. ...
  • Marzie
    Jan 19, 2018
    Boulder, Colorado poet Andrea Gibson has been writing about gender, orientation, and social and political LGBTQ issues for more than a decade. Their eminently quotable work first broke onto the scene with poetry slam performances in the early 2000's. "Take Me With You" is a volume of l...
  • Kate
    Jan 24, 2018
    There were parts of this that I loved, parts I liked, and parts that were okay- but the parts I loved, I really loved. It's not all quite poetry, but lovely bits of words stringed together in interesting and exciting ways. This is my first introduction to Andrea Gibson, but I'm looking...
  • Bri (girlwithabookblog.com)
    Dec 22, 2017
    Before receiving an ARC of this book from Penguin's First to Read program, I was unfamiliar with poet and activist Andrea Gibson. This was the perfect little collection of poems to read while I was visiting family (and their related tensions) over the holiday season. The collecti...
  • Alexa
    Feb 15, 2018
    I didn?t feel this collection of poems to be very impactful. Review: bit.ly/2HAQyNL *A copy of this book was provided to me by Penguin Random House Canada* ...
  • KayCee K
    Sep 22, 2017
    Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson is a wonderfully written poetry. It is also a collection of LGBTQ. This is this first for me, I've never read LGBTQ inspired poetry book before. With lines like" You keep worrying you're taking up too much space I wish you'd let yourself be the Milkywa...
  • Beatrice Masaluñga
    Sep 29, 2017
    I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Since I adore Rupi Kaur's poems, I'm intrgued to give Take Me With You a try. It's a LGBTQ poem collection which explores various topics. The topics that highlighted this book were political and family related poems. ...
  • Angie
    Oct 31, 2017
    I was halfway through this book before I realized that I was familiar with the writer from their spoken word pieces, available on Youtube. ?Any feminist who has ever taken the high road will you the high road gets backed up and sometimes we need to take a detour straight through...
  • Caitlin
    Aug 26, 2017
    Wow, so much of this was relatable, and even those small parts that were meant to be somewhat dark made me laugh because it was relatable for me. I see the reviews saying that it wasn't that great. Keep in mind, you are most likely reading this from an uncorrected format proof - a digi...
  • Loring Wirbel
    Jan 19, 2018
    Let's say this out loud: This is not a book of the kind of marvelous poetry Andrea Gibson gives us in Pansy or The Madness Vase. Instead, Take Me With You is a set of Zen koans set in large cartoon-style typeface with accompanying illustrations. The small size of the book is intended f...
  • Caitlin
    Jan 21, 2018
    Received free from Penguin First to Read, my thoughts are my own. These prose poems sometimes are so short they don't really seem like poems, just short, pithy sayings. There are longer ones, too, enough the book doesn't feel too short. And there are illustrations, some full page, t...
  • Luke Gorham
    Jan 23, 2018
    Full disclosure: this style of soundbite poetry is aggressively not my style. It is to poetry what Drake is to hip hop: an endless flow of one-liners, some good, some not, but very few constituting anything more than #wordporn-level substance. Why Gibson felt the draw to explore th...
  • Rita
    Feb 12, 2018
    Take Me With You is definitely an appropriate title. As I finished reading I felt that this would be a wonderful book to keep with you and read passages from whenever life is getting you down because ?beating yourself up is never a fair fight.? There are three parts that cover s...
  • Leigh
    Jan 26, 2018
    Andrea Gibson has done it again- captured my mind and my heart and all the feels with writing only they can produce. I've had this collection maybe a week and it's already dogearred (sp?). 'Take Me With You' is aptly named. Thank You, Andrea, for baring your soul and sharing it's c...
  • Agirlcandream
    Oct 31, 2017
    Go to Andrea Gibson?s website, https://www.andreagibson.org/ and see how they are marketing this little pocketbook of inspirational quotes. "A pocket book, by Andrea Gibson. Out January 23rd, 2018 A book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, f...
  • Michelle
    Dec 01, 2017
    Thoughts after I finished it: The moment I was finished I immediately reread all of it again and I can see myself rereading it over and over again in the near future as well. Full review (originally posted on The Writing Hufflepuff) Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book ...
  • Brandon Forsyth
    Aug 23, 2017
    I laughed as much as I cried. It was a huge mistake to take this book out in public. ...
  • adik miftakhur
    Aug 23, 2017
    ** I got an E-ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review** I loved this one pretty much. Once I opened up the very first page, I thought that it would be my kind of book to read, and yess. it was. You'd find lots of illustrations inside, like those made the book so much p...
  • Lenora Good
    Aug 30, 2017
    Note: Book will not be available until 13 February 2018 Disclaimer: I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review If I read at the beginning of this book that Ms. Gibson is a member of the LGBTQ community, it didn't register, because I don't really care. Howev...
  • Adrianna
    Feb 02, 2018
    I originally was going to give this book 2 stars, but the more I read the more I started to like it. It?s not my favourite poetry book I?ve read but I felt a range of emotions and even laughed around while reading this book. I always appreciate an author that can make me feel more ...
  • Chelsea
    Sep 02, 2017
    Andrea Gibson prefers they/them pronouns, so can you please stop misgendering them in your reviews?! ...
  • Romie
    Oct 20, 2017
    20 October 2017: This is probably the purest poetry collection I've ever read. I know poetry is extremely personal, you have to connect to an author's personal experience to really enjoy what this person has to say, and fortunately for me I did connect with Andrea Gibson. They ...
  • Joshua Moneda
    Aug 23, 2017
    Truth be told, the title and the author's background is really interesting -- but it didn't quite live up to my expectations. There are poems that are just too cliche/mainstream and I just can't seem to find the author's voice when she wrote those, it's almost as if she's just reiterat...
  • Jessica Ciarcz
    Sep 24, 2017
    I really did not enjoy this book mostly because I had a lot of trouble following it. ...
  • Elliott
    Aug 22, 2017
    (Originally posted https://thereviewmeistersite.wordpres...) I really, really wanted to like this poetry collection. The author, Andrea Gibson, is non-binary and writes LGBTQ poems. I am a non-binary person who writes poems about being lesbian as fuck. On paper, it seems a perfect m...
  • hiltonjenkin
    Aug 26, 2017
    Disclaimer: Got a pre release ARC copy through Net Galley for an honest review. Expected Publication Date: 13 February, 2018 Take Me With You is a collection of LGBTQ poems written by Andrea Gibson. And is divided into three segments: Love, The World and Becoming, through which it ex...
  • Emma Rund
    Dec 29, 2017
    This cute little collection of poetry had some beautiful moments, but I would not give it a metal. I really enjoyed the pairing of poems and drawings, and there were a few poems that I loved, but there were also a lot of poems that fell flat for me. I do believe poetry is an extrem...