Take Me with You

Take Me with You

For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time. Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploratio For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages bi...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Take Me with You
Author:Andrea Gibson
Rating:
Genres:Poetry
ISBN:Take Me with You
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:200 pages pages

Take Me with You Reviews

  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    Jan 15, 2018
    I like the idea and sentiment of these poems but I feel like the poet barely scratches the surface. It is more like they are presenting the reader with brief sentiments rather than fully developed poems. I feel like there is a lot more there, and using their themes of the intersection ...
  • Guillermo
    Jun 06, 2018
    I'll start by saying, I love Andrea Gibson's poetry. Love the performances posted in YouTube. I've been a fan the moment I first heard "I Do." And "Maybe I Need You" is by far my favorite poem by the poet. When I saw this little book at the store, I knew I must have it. There was some ...
  • Philip
    Dec 01, 2018
    We've been thrown the scraps in a cool looking font. I was expecting a book of poetry, whereas I read a book of quotes. Even then, I expected more - especially from a goodreads choice award nominee. Gibson seems to have had a difficult and confusing life. Contradictions abound. W...
  • Ana
    Nov 04, 2018
    ?Coming into our own humanity often takes enormous effort, commitment, and bravery. I believe we should be taught that at an early age. I believe part of the violence of our culture stirs from the myth that kindness is natural. I don?t think kindness is natural. I think kindness w...
  • Maria
    Feb 20, 2018
    I didn't mean to read Take Me With You in one sitting, but the bus ride was long and at every page I felt more alive. It was an emotional roller coaster that I will certainly be taking again... and again and again and again. These are excerpts of poems. Some of them were new to me, ...
  • Marzie
    Jan 19, 2018
    Boulder, Colorado poet Andrea Gibson has been writing about gender, orientation, and social and political LGBTQ issues for more than a decade. Their eminently quotable work first broke onto the scene with poetry slam performances in the early 2000's. "Take Me With You" is a volume of l...
  • Kate
    Jan 24, 2018
    There were parts of this that I loved, parts I liked, and parts that were okay- but the parts I loved, I really loved. It's not all quite poetry, but lovely bits of words stringed together in interesting and exciting ways. This is my first introduction to Andrea Gibson, but I'm looking...
  • Alexa
    Feb 15, 2018
    I didn?t feel this collection of poems to be very impactful. Review: bit.ly/2HAQyNL *A copy of this book was provided to me by Penguin Random House Canada* ...
  • KayCee K
    Sep 22, 2017
    Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson is a wonderfully written poetry. It is also a collection of LGBTQ. This is this first for me, I've never read LGBTQ inspired poetry book before. With lines like" You keep worrying you're taking up too much space I wish you'd let yourself be the Milkywa...
  • Beatrice ~ Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic
    Sep 29, 2017
    I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Since I adore Rupi Kaur's poems, I'm intrgued to give Take Me With You a try. It's a LGBTQ poem collection which explores various topics. The topics that highlighted this book were political and family related poems. ...
  • Loring Wirbel
    Jan 19, 2018
    Let's say this out loud: This is not a book of the kind of marvelous poetry Andrea Gibson gives us in Pansy or The Madness Vase. Instead, Take Me With You is a set of Zen koans set in large cartoon-style typeface with accompanying illustrations. The small size of the book is intended f...
  • Caitlin
    Jan 21, 2018
    Received free from Penguin First to Read, my thoughts are my own. These prose poems sometimes are so short they don't really seem like poems, just short, pithy sayings. There are longer ones, too, enough the book doesn't feel too short. And there are illustrations, some full page, t...
  • Yuthika
    May 13, 2018
    I had no idea what I was getting into when I started reading this. A whirlwind of words, and someone screaming poetry at me ? responding to the poetry within me? Well, finally. This is an important book addressing love, the world, politics, ourselves, panic attacks, and simple remi...
  • Rita
    Feb 12, 2018
    Take Me With You is definitely an appropriate title. As I finished reading I felt that this would be a wonderful book to keep with you and read passages from whenever life is getting you down because ?beating yourself up is never a fair fight.? There are three parts that cover s...
  • Cookielover
    Jun 14, 2018
    Some good ones; most of them I didn?t care for and couldn?t relate to. ...
  • Agirlcandream
    Oct 31, 2017
    Go to Andrea Gibson?s website, https://www.andreagibson.org/ and see how they are marketing this little pocketbook of inspirational quotes. "A pocket book, by Andrea Gibson. Out January 23rd, 2018 A book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, f...
  • Michelle
    Dec 01, 2017
    Thoughts after I finished it: The moment I was finished I immediately reread all of it again and I can see myself rereading it over and over again in the near future as well. Full review (originally posted on The Writing Hufflepuff) Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book ...
  • Brandon Forsyth
    Aug 23, 2017
    I laughed as much as I cried. It was a huge mistake to take this book out in public. ...
  • Noura
    Aug 23, 2017
    I would like to begin this by saying that Andrea Gibson is nothing like Rupi Kaur so to compare the two in the synopsis is quite simply doing injustice to the former. Andrea Gibson's word has always been something I carried with me. Tucked in my wallet. Between the pages of a notebo...
  • Bree Hill
    Jun 05, 2018
    Loved Pansy by Andrea Gibson so I was very excited when I learned she had another poetry collection coming out. This one was okay to me. I hate to compare it to Pansy but Pansy completely blew me away! I couldn?t recommend it enough! I was trying to put in the hands of anyone I could...
  • Lenora Good
    Aug 30, 2017
    Note: Book will not be available until 13 February 2018 Disclaimer: I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review If I read at the beginning of this book that Ms. Gibson is a member of the LGBTQ community, it didn't register, because I don't really care. Howev...
  • Adrianna
    Feb 02, 2018
    I originally was going to give this book 2 stars, but the more I read the more I started to like it. It?s not my favourite poetry book I?ve read but I felt a range of emotions and even laughed around while reading this book. I always appreciate an author that can make me feel more ...
  • Chelsea
    Sep 02, 2017
    Andrea Gibson prefers they/them pronouns, so can you please stop misgendering them in your reviews?! ...
  • Romie
    Oct 20, 2017
    20 October 2017: This is probably the purest poetry collection I've ever read. I know poetry is extremely personal, you have to connect to an author's personal experience to really enjoy what this person has to say, and fortunately for me I did connect with Andrea Gibson. They ...
  • Iphios
    Jul 20, 2018
    3.5 Some poems hit me hard in simplicity and power. Some felt like a quick scribble that didn't feel like it needed a page. Still, those powerful ones made up for it. In the end spoken word is best spoken than read. Some of the poems i have watched Gibson perform on youtube. ...
  • Melissa
    Nov 17, 2018
    I read this on the plane ride to Tokyo (well, in the 30 min before landing) Take Me With You is a collection of poems that are divided into three parts: on love, on the world, and on becoming. On Love before I met you my joy had such an early curfew that it didn't bother g...
  • Joshua Moneda
    Aug 23, 2017
    Truth be told, the title and the author's background is really interesting -- but it didn't quite live up to my expectations. There are poems that are just too cliche/mainstream and I just can't seem to find the author's voice when she wrote those, it's almost as if she's just reiterat...
  • jenni
    Jul 05, 2018
    sorta trite insta-poet-like fluff punctuated by watered-down platitudes that make this kind of bottom-shelf stylizing of what is otherwise an amazing poet's polished and refreshing form into something completely lacking the much-anticipated depth. andrea gibson is a mystifying poet! bu...
  • Abantika(hiltonjenkin)
    Aug 26, 2017
    Disclaimer: Got a pre release ARC copy through Net Galley for an honest review. Expected Publication Date: 13 February, 2018 Take Me With You is a collection of LGBTQ poems written by Andrea Gibson. And is divided into three segments: Love, The World and Becoming, through which it ex...
  • Emma Rund
    Dec 29, 2017
    This cute little collection of poetry had some beautiful moments, but I would not give it a metal. I really enjoyed the pairing of poems and drawings, and there were a few poems that I loved, but there were also a lot of poems that fell flat for me. I do believe poetry is an extrem...