Take Me with You

Take Me with You

For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, from one of the most quotable and influential poets of our time. Andrea Gibson explores themes of love, gender, politics, sexuality, family, and forgiveness with stunning imagery and a fierce willingness to delve into the exploratio For readers of Rupi Kaur (Milk and Honey) and Cheryl Strayed, a book small enough to carry with you, with messages bi...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Take Me with You
Author:Andrea Gibson
Rating:
Genres:Poetry
ISBN:Take Me with You
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:200 pages pages

Take Me with You Reviews

  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    Jan 15, 2018
    I like the idea and sentiment of these poems but I feel like the poet barely scratches the surface. It is more like they are presenting the reader with brief sentiments rather than fully developed poems. I feel like there is a lot more there, and using their themes of the intersection ...
  • Philip
    Dec 01, 2018
    We've been thrown the scraps in a cool looking font. I was expecting a book of poetry, whereas I read a book of quotes. Even then, I expected more - especially from a goodreads choice award nominee. Gibson seems to have had a difficult and confusing life. Contradictions abound. W...
  • Ana
    Nov 04, 2018
    ?Coming into our own humanity often takes enormous effort, commitment, and bravery. I believe we should be taught that at an early age. I believe part of the violence of our culture stirs from the myth that kindness is natural. I don?t think kindness is natural. I think kindness w...
  • Maria
    Feb 20, 2018
    I didn't mean to read Take Me With You in one sitting, but the bus ride was long and at every page I felt more alive. It was an emotional roller coaster that I will certainly be taking again... and again and again and again. These are excerpts of poems. Some of them were new to me, ...
  • Sheida
    Dec 31, 2018
    I don?t want to be super negative because the author writes a lot about insecurities and the difficulties they?ve faced so I applaud them for having the courage to write this but ... here are two pages from the book: ?You look like Marilyn Monroe and it makes me wanna run ......
  • Kate
    Jan 24, 2018
    There were parts of this that I loved, parts I liked, and parts that were okay- but the parts I loved, I really loved. It's not all quite poetry, but lovely bits of words stringed together in interesting and exciting ways. This is my first introduction to Andrea Gibson, but I'm looking...
  • Alexa
    Feb 15, 2018
    I didn?t feel this collection of poems to be very impactful. I want to start off with the fact that this book has gorgeous end pages and along with the gorgeous end pages, the illustrations within the book are also beautiful. Again, like I mention when I review poetry, I don't kn...
  • KayCee K
    Sep 22, 2017
    Take Me With You by Andrea Gibson is a wonderfully written poetry. It is also a collection of LGBTQ. This is this first for me, I've never read LGBTQ inspired poetry book before. With lines like" You keep worrying you're taking up too much space I wish you'd let yourself be the Milkywa...
  • Cathryn
    Feb 18, 2019
    Some of these poems were wonderfully witty and incisive and personal but quite a few just didn't connect with me. ...
  • Beatrice ~ Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic
    Sep 29, 2017
    I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Since I adore Rupi Kaur's poems, I'm intrgued to give Take Me With You a try. It's a LGBTQ poem collection which explores various topics. The topics that highlighted this book were political and family related poems. ...
  • Yuthika
    May 13, 2018
    I had no idea what I was getting into when I started reading this. A whirlwind of words, and someone screaming poetry at me ? responding to the poetry within me? Well, finally. This is an important book addressing love, the world, politics, ourselves, panic attacks, and simple remi...
  • Kate
    Dec 12, 2018
    This is a collection of poetry / brief thoughts. I most enjoyed the first part on the theme of love. ...
  • Rita
    Feb 12, 2018
    Take Me With You is definitely an appropriate title. As I finished reading I felt that this would be a wonderful book to keep with you and read passages from whenever life is getting you down because ?beating yourself up is never a fair fight.? There are three parts that cover s...
  • Cookielover
    Jun 14, 2018
    Some good ones; most of them I didn?t care for and couldn?t relate to. ...
  • Agirlcandream
    Oct 31, 2017
    Go to Andrea Gibson?s website, https://www.andreagibson.org/ and see how they are marketing this little pocketbook of inspirational quotes. "A pocket book, by Andrea Gibson. Out January 23rd, 2018 A book small enough to carry with you, with messages big enough to stay with you, f...
  • Michelle
    Dec 01, 2017
    Thoughts after I finished it: The moment I was finished I immediately reread all of it again and I can see myself rereading it over and over again in the near future as well. Full review (originally posted on The Writing Hufflepuff) Disclaimer: I received an arc of this book ...
  • Brandon Forsyth
    Aug 23, 2017
    I laughed as much as I cried. It was a huge mistake to take this book out in public. ...
  • Matt Marn
    Sep 06, 2018
    Amazing. Life-changing, life-affirming words that we should all read, several times over. I read it now particularly because Gibson is coming to my city soon for a special spoken word event. I can't wait to be a part of that evening.... and to see the author that wrote such inspired wo...
  • Noura
    Aug 23, 2017
    I would like to begin this by saying that Andrea Gibson is nothing like Rupi Kaur so to compare the two in the synopsis is quite simply doing injustice to the former. Andrea Gibson's word has always been something I carried with me. Tucked in my wallet. Between the pages of a notebo...
  • Bree Hill
    Jun 05, 2018
    Loved Pansy by Andrea Gibson so I was very excited when I learned she had another poetry collection coming out. This one was okay to me. I hate to compare it to Pansy but Pansy completely blew me away! I couldn?t recommend it enough! I was trying to put in the hands of anyone I could...
  • Adrianna
    Feb 02, 2018
    I originally was going to give this book 2 stars, but the more I read the more I started to like it. It?s not my favourite poetry book I?ve read but I felt a range of emotions and even laughed around while reading this book. I always appreciate an author that can make me feel more ...
  • Chelsea slytherink
    Sep 02, 2017
    Andrea Gibson prefers they/them pronouns, so can you please stop misgendering them in your reviews?! ...
  • Romie
    Oct 20, 2017
    20 October 2017: This is probably the purest poetry collection I've ever read. I know poetry is extremely personal, you have to connect to an author's personal experience to really enjoy what this person has to say, and fortunately for me I did connect with Andrea Gibson. They ...
  • Iphios
    Jul 20, 2018
    3.5 Some poems hit me hard in simplicity and power. Some felt like a quick scribble that didn't feel like it needed a page. Still, those powerful ones made up for it. In the end spoken word is best spoken than read. Some of the poems i have watched Gibson perform on youtube. ...
  • Brittania
    Dec 11, 2018
    I thought this book was truly beautiful. It took me through a whirlwind of emotions, and brought me an endearing hope by the very end. It's something I will most certainly carry with me, both mentally and physically. I felt a kinship with the author and found their words quotable and m...
  • Joshua Moneda
    Aug 23, 2017
    Truth be told, the title and the author's background is really interesting -- but it didn't quite live up to my expectations. There are poems that are just too cliche/mainstream and I just can't seem to find the author's voice when she wrote those, it's almost as if she's just reiterat...
  • jenni
    Jul 05, 2018
    sorta trite insta-poet-like fluff punctuated by watered-down platitudes that make this kind of bottom-shelf stylizing of what is otherwise an amazing poet's polished and refreshing form into something completely lacking the much-anticipated depth. andrea gibson is a mystifying poet! bu...
  • Abantika(hiltonjenkin)
    Aug 26, 2017
    Disclaimer: Got a pre release ARC copy through Net Galley for an honest review. Expected Publication Date: 13 February, 2018 Take Me With You is a collection of LGBTQ poems written by Andrea Gibson. And is divided into three segments: Love, The World and Becoming, through which it ex...
  • Taylor Dee
    Feb 10, 2019
    So.... I didn?t love this. It wasn?t bad or unenjoyable by any means. However, I had a hard time connecting with the majority of the poems. ...
  • Tam_ the_ med_bookie
    Jun 26, 2019
    One of the craziest collection I have ever read? The pair is just beautiful and damned? Many a times, I screamed out loud 'Did she just said that??!!!' And she uses all kinds of weird words. I like this weirdo writer a lot! And so crazily into each other. The illustra...