Cadaver & Queen

Cadaver & Queen

When Lizzie Lavenza enrolled at Ingold as its first female medical student, she knew she wouldn't have an easy time. From class demands to being an outsider among her male cohorts, she'll have to go above and beyond to prove herself. So when she stumbles across what appears to be a faulty Bio-mechanical--one of the mechanized cadavers created to service the school--she jum When Lizzie Lavenza enrolled at Ingold as its first female medical student, she knew she wouldn't have an easy time. From...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Cadaver & Queen
Author:Alisa Kwitney
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:1335470468
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:320 pages pages

Cadaver & Queen Reviews

  • Beck
    Mar 27, 2018
    Alisa Kwitney's feminist Frankenstein spin-off hits all the right spots for me. The sharp banter between Lizzie and her friends is topped only by the sizzling and sometimes hilarious tension of the romance. This is the first book in a long time that's had me itching to get back to it e...
  • Kathy  D.
    Apr 12, 2018
    4.5 stars. A few eye rolling references to the traditional Frankenstein story mixed in with a fun new take on it, with just a hint of Jekyll and Hyde. The ending wrapped things up, but I still feel like there could be more to come. I listened to the audiobook, which was excellent (for ...
  • Nickie
    Nov 12, 2017
    I got an advanced reading copy of this book and enjoyed it. It starts off pretty creepy and I'm not really into that, but it quickly turns into a thrilling mystery with a dash of romance. The science is questionable but I was willing to suspend my disbelief for the interesting characte...
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    Jul 16, 2017
    Not sure how I feel about this cover... --- This sounds amazing! I love Frankenstein, so I am excited to see where this goes. ...
  • Christina (Ensconced in Lit)
    Nov 22, 2017
    There was nothing really wrong with this book, but after it started off strong with an interesting female protagonist in a room full of boys at medical school, it dragged. I liked some of the twists, but it wasn't enough to keep me engaged throughout the book. ...
  • Ayanami Faerudo
    Mar 09, 2018
    Actual rating: 3.5/5 SPOILERS! Since the reader, moi, is very confused. (view spoiler)[ Plotlines: *A woman in a field dominated by men in the Victorian era. Was also mechanical genius. Wanted to be taken seriously. Resolved by blackmail and change of venue. *A star pupil m...
  • Devann
    Apr 04, 2018
    Listen I could literally sit around and read Frankenstein retellings all day every day. I'm not exactly sure why because the original novel is really very so-so for me, but I just love all the retellings so much! And somehow they still all manage to be different enough to be interestin...
  • Susie
    Jan 04, 2018
    I won this uncorrected proof from a Goodreads giveaway. This book is a nice alternative telling of the story Frankenstein. It is a fast, fun, and enjoyable YA read. It has steampunk-ish theme, with science, mystery, and just a hint of romance. The story itself is good, but coul...
  • Jovy
    Jan 02, 2018
    Cadaver & Queen had potential but I felt like the story was executed poorly. The book dove into a promising start as it was rather creepy and intriguing. Halfway through the book, the story was flooded with irrelevant dialogue between characters. There also wasn't very much charact...
  • Elaine Carass
    Apr 15, 2018
    I so wanted to love this book. Lizzie was a very strong female lead and I liked how she took charge. But, I found this book to be slow and just when the action starts the next chapter is something else. This was one of those books were most of it wasn't needed. Some chapters just hi...
  • Nikki S
    Mar 12, 2018
    I know this was re-imagined after Frankenstein, but there was no creepy factor or any of that. I was really disappointed. Especially after such a cool cover. Real review to come. **Edit 03/29/2018** You can find more of my reviews here at my blog: Take Me Away... I have to ad...
  • Viva
    Jan 10, 2018
    Alternate time line kind of book where bio-mechanicals are a thing in Victorian England. Bio-Mechanicals are reanimated dead bodies used as low level servants and being developed as soldiers so people don't have to be killed in war. A lot goes on in the beginning. We are introduced ...
  • Stephanie
    Jan 01, 2018
    I've heard this called a Feminist Frankenstein Retelling? I am so here for that! ...
  • Liz
    Nov 13, 2017
    I received this book as an ARC. Lizzie Lavenza is a medical student, the first female in fact, at a school in England during the 1800?s. In spite of her male classmates and professors, she is determined to make a name for herself and become a doctor. In addition to serving as a m...
  • Lauren
    Feb 22, 2018
    4.5 Stars overall, but I upped it because I really did enjoy this book and found it an easy, breezy read. Perfect for fans of These Shallow Graves (Jennifer Donnelly), Stalking Jack the Ripper (Kerri Maniscalco) or any Victorian-era mysteries/gothics. ...
  • Jennie Shaw
    Feb 11, 2018
    I was so excited to read Cadaver & Queen and breezed through in two sittings. A smart retelling with a feminist twist, there was a lot to like. The pace was steady and Elizabeth's determined nature made for an dynamic heroine. Awesome read! Thanks to HarperCollins Canada and Har...
  • Amy
    Apr 10, 2018
    Horribly addicting, Cadaver & Queen will take you back to the 1800?s where medical experiments and advances are changing the world. Fast paced and alluring, Alisa Kwitney?s adaptation of Mary Shelley?s Frankenstein is truly authentic, spinning a new take on Victor Frankenstei...
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    Mar 06, 2018
    A YA reimagining of Frankenstein. I just received a free copy of the hardback book from Harper Collins for review. Thanks!! ...
  • Heather (Curious Fox Reads)
    Apr 02, 2018
    This book was one of my most anticipated reads for the year. I mean look at that Cover! Intriguing right? And a Frankenstein retelling! Psh.. Heck Yes!! However, it fell a little short for me. The idea of the story was definitely there and intriguing, but as I got reading, I felt th...
  • Sionna
    Apr 05, 2018
    ended up not really liking this one... :/ A huge shame since this was one of my most anticipated reads this year. I loved the concept and started out being really interested in what was going on, yet the middle became a bit stale-- or more like a book without direction. Which mak...
  • Connie
    Feb 10, 2018
    A feminine, romantic twist on Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Sadly, but accurate enough, the time period reflects the treatment of women in medicine. Some lingering questions re: Victor's bio-mechanical status and his future. ...
  • Kacey
    Mar 13, 2018
    I love Frankenstein and love re-imaginings of classic stories, so I was down for this when I saw it. It has a really cool concept and definitely plays in some of the haunting and creepy feelings one should expect from this kind of stories. As well as the questions of morality in scient...
  • Jennifer
    Feb 01, 2018
    Cadaver & Queen is the story of Lizzie and Victor while they are attending medical school in Britain. Lizzie is the first females to be allowed to study medicine at Ingold while Victor was a previous student but met with some not so great circumstances but they somehow meet during ...
  • Erin Calderman
    Jan 21, 2018
    This was a fairly good read. I didn't have many big issues with it, but it did feel a little rushed after the half way mark. The arc I received is only 315 pages, and it seems like the story could have been drawn out a little more with no problems. There were a lot of questions tha...
  • K.
    Mar 07, 2018
    Good and enthralling, but quite frustrating for my taste. I felt (view spoiler)[rather unsatisfied with that ending, particularly with how the bio-mechanical were "revealed" and accepted. (I was hoping for a rather satisfactory plan full of revenge; such as put the mad scientist in jai...
  • Jay G
    Feb 23, 2018
    Want to see more from me? Check out my youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfer... Thank you to Harper Collins for sending me a copy for honest review Lizzie Lavenza is the first female medical student to be enrolled at the prestigious Ingold School in England duri...
  • Abrar
    Apr 09, 2018
    This is a cute book, I have to admit I really enjoyed it and even though the ending felt rush, I do like it. The book is filled with mystery to be solved with romance. The ship or pair in this love cycle was a rather unique pair, which I enjoyed! However, as I said before the ending...
  • katie
    Mar 12, 2018
    I really really really liked the beginning of this book. Elizabeth was a girl against the world. She was smart and she knew it and she wasn't about to let some egotistical male teachers keep her from becoming a doctor. I enjoyed her friendship with the other misfits, and even her s...
  • Ella Schantz
    Sep 25, 2017
    I won this uncorrected proof from a Goodreads giveaway. Thank you for allowing me the chance to read this book prior to its release! Elizabeth (Lizzie) Lavenza is the first female medical student at Ingold, a school in 1800's England. While she struggles to fit in and work around...
  • Lebanon Public Library
    Mar 14, 2018
    4.5/5.0 Lizzie is the first female to enroll at Ingold medical school, and she expects to have a difficult time. She is an outsider among her male peers and will have to go above and beyond to prove herself worthy. When she discovers a broken Bio-mechanical, a part human-part machin...