The Wild Inside

The Wild Inside

A promising talent makes her electrifying debut with this unforgettable novel, set in the Alaskan wilderness, that is a fusion of psychological thriller and coming-of-age tale in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Chris Bohjalian, and Mary Kubica. A natural born trapper and hunter raised in the Alaskan wilderness, Tracy Petrikoff spends her days tracking animals and running with A promising talent makes her electrifying debut with this unforgettable novel, set in the Alaskan wilderness, that is...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Wild Inside
Author:Jamey Bradbury
Rating:
Genres:Mystery
ISBN:0062742019
Edition Language:English
Format Type:ebook
Number of Pages:304 pages pages

The Wild Inside Reviews

  • Cheryl
    Mar 18, 2018
    "I learned in school that blood has a memory. It carries information that makes you who you are." Well, this might be the most unique book I've read in a long time. Unique can either have good or bad connotations and, although I'm leaning towards good, I'm not 100% convinced with th...
  • Deb
    Apr 26, 2018
    I admit it was the "an unusual love story and a creepy horror novel--think of the Bronte sisters and Stephen King" quote from John Irving that had me signing up for this book tour, then it was the gorgeous cover and Alaska setting that pulled me into the book. I'm not sure what I was e...
  • Will Byrnes
    Jan 25, 2018
    I learned in school that blood has a memory. It carries information that makes you who you are. That?s how my brother and me ended up with so much in common, we both carried inside us the things our parents? blood remembered. Sharing what?s in the blood, that?s as close as you...
  • Sharon
    Mar 25, 2018
    "I have always had a knack for knowing the minds of dogs. Dad says it?s on account of the way I come into the world, born in the open doorway of our kennel, with twenty-two pairs of canine eyes watching and the barks and howls of our dogs the first thing I ever heard." Tracy is an...
  • ashley | citygirlscapes
    Feb 21, 2018
    Originally posted on citygirlscapes.com. I?m inevitably drawn to books about the wild, nature, wolves and the like. The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury spoke to me before I even knew what the book was about. It sounded like a mix of a few different genres, so I really didn?t know...
  • Hollowspine
    Nov 10, 2017
    This is a tough book to pin down. Is it a realistic family drama set in the Alaskan wilderness? Is it horror? Is it bildungsroman? As I read I kept going back and forth trying to decide whether or not the main character, Tracy, was some sort of supernatural creature, or just someon...
  • Alison
    Apr 15, 2018
    I rarely read without taking breaks, but I just stayed in one spot and couldn't stop with this one. About halfway through I realized I was reading a crime novel--a true noir wherein a character's downfall is entirely of her own making due to circumstances she cannot control (my favorit...
  • Carol
    Apr 14, 2018
    I liked this book enough that I made sure that I could read it from beginning to end pretty much in one sitting. I wouldn't call it a horror novel, nor was it a love story; it was so different! I can't imagine a mother watching her newborn screaming in hunger, not for breast milk but f...
  • Kathy
    Feb 11, 2018
    The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury is an unusual paranormal novel about a young woman who lives in Alaskan wilderness. Seventeen year old Tracy Petrikoff loves the outdoors. She is an avid hunter with an unusual... proclivity for the animals she kills. Her family is heavily involved ...
  • Sharon Mensing
    Mar 28, 2018
    THE WILD INSIDE feels like the perfect story with a perfect protagonist to be set in the wilds of Alaska. It also feels as though it could be set only in Alaska. The first-person narrative, in the slightly uneducated voice of teenager Tracy Petrikoff, is a coming-of-age story with a tw...
  • Laura Chase
    Jan 06, 2018
    It was amazing. I had a hard time putting down. (I read it durring my lunch breaks at work). I kept thinking that Jamey Bradbury is a Jean Craighead George (Julie of the Wolves) except geared towards adults rather than YA. I really got intrigued in how Tracy came to turns with the fact...
  • Lori L (She Treads Softly)
    Mar 22, 2018
    The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury is a so-so debut horror/rural noir novel set in Alaska. Tracy Petrikoff, seventeen, has been raised hunting and trapping, as well as caring for the family's sled dogs, in Alaska. She runs wild in the wilderness and gets her strength from it. It has ...
  • Asheley
    Apr 03, 2018
    ***Favorite book so far this year*** I wish I could adequately put words to how much I truly love The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury. I have dreamed of Alaska my entire life: visiting there, living there, experiencing the wilderness in a way that I just haven't been able to yet. Bu...
  • Kim McGee
    Jan 16, 2018
    Tracy has always felt better outside in the Alaskan wilderness than indoors in the cabin. She can hunt and survive just about anything except denying the hunger inside her. Her mom understands this strange affliction of her daughter's and tries to help Tracy by giving her simple rules ...
  • Amanda Morgan
    May 20, 2018
    Although this book took a turn I didn't expect and didn't totally buy into, I really enjoyed the story. When young teen Tracy's mom is killed in a car accident, she is left to help her father and younger brother run their homestead in the Alaskan wilderness. Tracy had been homescho...
  • Feliza Casano
    Feb 10, 2018
    I received a review copy of this title based on my interest in this book's premise: a female sled dog racer who discovers a threat to her family. But upon completing the book, I was extremely disappointed. The story largely focuses on a speculative fiction element, which I'll hide ...
  • Carrie Ardoin
    Apr 02, 2018
    The first half of this book was great to me, which is why it's such a shame that the second half veered off so weirdly that I ended up having to give a less than stellar review. Tracy Petrikoff lives in rural Alaska with her father and brother after the death of her mother a few ye...
  • Colleen
    Dec 07, 2017
    Book 48 of my #2017readingchallenge is "The Wild Inside" by Jamey Bradbury. Let's get one thing clear - the back of this book makes you think you're going to read something normal. Unusual, but normal, about sled dogs and Alaska and a mysterious stranger. When you actually read the boo...
  • Bentley ★ Bookbastion.net
    Jan 30, 2018
    See this review and more like it on my blog: www.bookbastion.net! ________ I came across The Wild Inside when browsing Edelweiss for advance review copies. I've grown very particular over the last year about what I'll request from publishers, as time seems to be a commodity that I ...
  • Brenda
    Apr 19, 2018
    Brief review to be revealed soon. ...
  • J.A. Ironside
    Jul 26, 2017
    ARC provided by Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review This was absolutely not what I was expecting. The events of the story were harrowing and harsh. I couldn't entirely like or even approve of the MC but I was rooting for her. The setting was cruelly beautiful. The writing was...
  • Kathleen Gray
    Mar 14, 2018
    Alaska seems to be the hot setting for novels these days and Bradbury makes very effective use of her setting. This is a hard book to review because I'm still not sure what the real story is with Tracy- is this a horror story? Is it paranormal? I don't know but I do know that I enjoyed...
  • Jessica Higgins
    Apr 10, 2018
    A stunning debut novel that you will either love or hate. Tracy Petrikoff is a natural when it comes to hunting and trapping. Growing up in the Alaskan wilderness and the daughter of a famous dog sled musher who won multiple Iditarod?s, it only made sense that she follow in his fo...
  • Ellen Gail
    Mar 03, 2018
    Never Lose Sight of the House. Never Come Home with Dirty Hands. Never Make a Person Bleed. 2.5 very confused stars. A very strange tale of sled dog racing, blood, secrets, and more blood. Okay. How do I talk about this without spoiling the fuck out of it? Cause there...
  • Ashley
    Apr 11, 2018
    I decided to take a break from re-reading books, like I've been doing for the past couple months and read something new. When I initially was searching for books, this one sounded like it had a promising plot-line. It sounded dark and twisted, which is something that I definitely feel...
  • Natty Potter
    Feb 24, 2018
    This could have been a five star book. I don?t mind unanswered questions at the end of a story and I certainly don?t mind brutality and sadness, but the ending of this book seemed entirely separate from the rest of the story. While the first 80% of the book contained hints of unexp...
  • Bridgett Brown
    Dec 27, 2017
    I won this book in a Goodreads Giveaway. This book is set in the Alaskan wilderness, Tracy Petrikoff spends her days tracking animals and running with her dogs in the forests surrounding her family?s home. Though she feels safe, Tracy still follows her late mother?s rules: Never L...
  • Elise
    Feb 16, 2018
    Critique complète ici : http://www.horreur.quebec/the-wild-in... Très lent, avec énormément d?emphase sur l?ambiance et des descriptions contemplatives de la vie sauvage en Alaska (froide et hostile, mais majestueuse et étrangement réconfortante),The Wild Inside de Jamey B...
  • Kristine Lenda
    Apr 30, 2018
    I'm more confused than I was when I started. That apparently does not stop me from enjoying the book though. This was so interesting... and weird. Okay. I have a lot of thoughts here, but I believe they are mostly leaning towards great. This was so weird though, okay? ...
  • Jessica
    Mar 23, 2018
    Thanks to William Morrow and TLC Book Tours for the advanced copy in exchange for my honest review. Check out my blog for more about the author! I love when thrillers and mystery novels dive into topics and lifestyles that I know very little about. In THE WILD INSIDE, Jamey Bradbury...