A Lite Too Bright

A Lite Too Bright

For fans of literary classics such as The Catcher in the Rye and The Perks of Being a Wallflower comes a stirring new thought-provoking novel from debut author Sam Miller about a loss shrouded in mystery with twists and turns down every railway. Arthur Louis Pullman the Third is on the verge of a breakdown. He?s been stripped of his college scholarship, is losing his grip For fans of literary classics such as The Catcher in the Rye and The Perks of Being a Wallflower comes a stirring ne...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A Lite Too Bright
Author:Samuel Miller
Rating:
Genres:Young Adult
ISBN:0062662023
Edition Language:English
Format Type:ebook
Number of Pages:480 pages pages

A Lite Too Bright Reviews

  • Jamie
    Jan 17, 2018
    I'm giving this five stars, not because it's perfect but because it has the most ambition of any book I've read in quite a while. This is like the love child of MOSQUITOLAND and a Pynchon novel. And while it's no CRYING OF LOT 49 it's got so much going for it that I can't help but give...
  • Lisa
    Jan 19, 2018
    I breezed through this amazing story. It's big - loss, connections, time, memory, mystery, love and regret. I loved the progression and how information is parsed out over time. Plus, I love when books analyze other books - it's so meta and genius (if it's done well, which it is here). ...
  • Megan Hillard
    Jul 16, 2018
    Aaaaaaaand . . . with that, I've completed my 2018 reading challenge! Yes!! So I've actually been aware of this book for several months, since I accidentally stumbled upon the author's Twitter around the time of the book's release. His constant disuse of capital letters and other di...
  • Rachel
    Jul 30, 2018
    this is an absolutely beautiful novel. i loved every moment of reading this! it's a completely unique and refreshing story that is so wonderfully written. highly recommend! ...
  • Lindsey
    Jan 12, 2018
    4.5/5. This book is a wildly ambitious, beautifully literary, and refreshingly original story for YA lit. Arthur?s journey to better understand family, faith, and mortality is bittersweet in that way that makes you feel like you both lost and gained something truly special by the end...
  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    May 15, 2018
    I have mixed feelings about this book. It was good but there were big sections that were slow and dragging, which made the story feel five miles longer than it should have been. The ending is what really shook me but the rest left me wondering what was going on. ------------- Ful...
  • Mark
    May 15, 2018
    A Lite Too Bright by Samuel Miller 3.75/5 Contemporary YA A Lite Too Bright is a coming of age story with some unique elements. The main character is the grandson of a famous writer who wrote a seminal novel in the seventies, think J.D. Salinger. This is the story of Arthur?s jour...
  • Christy
    May 12, 2018
    Even after a few weeks of finishing this book, I still haven?t unpacked all of my thoughts about this book. But here?s a few of them: 1. I picked up A Lite Too Bright because I love Sam Miller?s words. His poetical lyrics are what brought me to Paradise Fears and kept me there...
  • Rachel
    May 22, 2018
    This book was incredible. I read it on blind faith alone, wanting to support the author but knowing literally nothing about it, not even the genre. I finished it in two days. It's truly gripping. There are so many elements that mesh together to make such a fascinating story, like Art...
  • Cyn (semi-hiatus)
    Jun 16, 2018
    Arthur follows the clues his late grandfather left behind to discover what happened in his final days. ---- 4 stars. I loved a lot about this book. I loved Arthur and his family (although I was frustrated with his father). I loved the mental illness rep. I loved Arthur's journey on...
  • Cassandra {semi-hiatus}
    May 07, 2018
    *An ARC was provided by Edelweiss and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.* ?Would you rather live with miserable truth, or blissful ignorance?? Actual rating: 4.5 There are so many things to say about this book. I don't even know where to start. I guess I w...
  • Diana Long
    May 21, 2018
    I loved this book and find it incredible that someone so young could have written it. I was immediately drawn into the story and had a difficult time putting it down. I also found myself re-reading passages because the words were so beautiful and thought-provoking. I wish I had read it...
  • Emily Reed
    Jun 23, 2018
    ?5/5? Holy shit. What on earth did I just read??? this was a brilliant masterpiece, although slow at first it was done in such a wonderful and convincing way I thought I was in the story the entire time. I am so glad I randomly picked this up it was definitely worth it. ...
  • Lindsay Bilgram
    May 07, 2018
    ?i am nothing but a mosaic of the people i?ve met & the things they?ve carried.? 3.5 stars. Poignant, emotional, beautiful written, Sam Miller?s debut novel, A Lite Too Bright is a strange little book that unravels in unexpected ways and is perfect for fans of John Gre...
  • Kristen
    Jun 29, 2018
    4.5/5 I struggled rating this book. I LOVED the writing and the concept. I enjoyed the family dynamics and teenage angst. I was obsessed with the journey narrative. My only issue was just the coincidence of it all. It seemed any time the protagonist needed something, it was there! I...
  • Sage Carson
    Jul 08, 2018
    4.5/5 Beautiful writing, the storyline was a bit convenient, but it was something I was able to look past. I would definitely recommend this! ...
  • Charles-Antoine Brunet
    Jul 31, 2018
    4/5 ...
  • Justine May
    Feb 02, 2018
    Astonishing! This novel is a very refreshing read. Quite ambitious that had live up to my expectations and beyond. It is about Arthur, going through a journey of dealing with loss, healing, family, friendship, with the added spice of mystery and bittersweet instances in life. An...
  • Jaiden
    Jul 04, 2018
    I picked this book up because of the cover. I was immediately drawn to it, and checked it out without even reading the synopsis. I started the book, still not knowing what it was about, and was immediately enthralled. This novel follows Arthur Louis Pullman the Third over a very short ...
  • Debra Wisinger
    Jul 30, 2018
    3 1/2 stars for me! This is an easy read with several unexpected twists and turns. It involves a grandson trying to unravel mysteries surrounding his grandfathers life and death. The story takes you back to the protests and unrest of the ?70s with an ending I didn?t see coming ! Th...
  • Jamie
    May 21, 2018
    I will let it be known that I am not unbiased. BUT it's really hard to believe that this is a debut novel. This story is huge and takes on a crazy journey, letting you think you know where you're going and what you're looking for, but you will always be wrong. This book is about so ma...
  • Melody
    Jul 22, 2018
    july 4, the 2018. this is only his debut and yet he has accomplished everything with this novel that every author, hopeful and achieved, can only dream of. i deeply envy his talent. the characters were deep, each with their own dreams and goals and pain, you couldn't help bu...
  • WV
    Jun 15, 2018
    A book about TRAINS? egjgjthttghut my love for trains is unhealthy I want this ...
  • Mina Cole
    Jun 09, 2018
    Sam Miller's writing is as beautiful as ever! ...
  • Victoria
    Jul 22, 2018
    Assååååå? Denna blew my mind. I början var den svår att komma in i och jag kunde inte riktigt placera den. Sättet den var skriven på confused me. Men ju långre jag läste desto fler pusselbitar föll på plats och det som uppdagades i sista delen av boken knockade mig totaaaa...
  • Vita  V.
    Jul 19, 2018
    4.5/5 -- A beautiful novel that deals with heavy topics. I liked reading about Arthur's journey and uncovering mysteries about his grandfather with him. I liked reading his grandfather's poems that were sprinkled between chapters. ...
  • Sarah
    Jul 12, 2018
    *I'd give this 3.5 stars if I could* I was really excited to try this book because a lot of people have been talking about it, and it seemed like just the type of story I needed. It has an adventure in the form of a cross-country train trip, a famous grandpa, for fans of The Perks o...
  • Max Ritter
    Jul 13, 2018
    4.5 stars This book begins as a pretty typical mystery-adventure book about a troubled young man with a healthy amount of love-interest women. But it progresses into an insane story of a marxist, anarcho-communist cult conspiracy and an exploration of modern radicalism. Didn't expec...
  • Mykell Bowden
    May 14, 2018
    book reviews aren?t really my forte, but this book definitely deserves your read. it?s thought provoking, beautifully written, has unexpected twists, and a great plot. it?s a stunning debut novel. ...
  • Kelly
    Jun 04, 2018
    I had looked forward to Sam Miller's debut novel A Lite Too Bright because I have admired his writing for years through his lyrics for Paradise Fears and his blog writings. I did not know how blown away I would be by this book. What I knew about this book through the jacket copy and...