Bat and the Waiting Game

Bat and the Waiting Game

In the tradition of Clementine and Ramona Quimby, meet Bat. Author Elana K. Arnold returns with another irresistible story of friendship in this widely acclaimed series starring an unforgettable boy on the autism spectrum. For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life is pretty great. He?s the caretaker of the best baby skunk in the world?even Janie, his older sister, is wa In the tradition of Clementine and Ramona Quimby, meet Bat. Author Elana K. Arnold returns with another irres...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Bat and the Waiting Game
Author:Elana K. Arnold
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
ISBN:0062445871
Format Type:ebook
Number of Pages:192 pages pages

Bat and the Waiting Game Reviews

  • Abby Johnson
    Sep 08, 2018
    A sweet and poignant follow up, great for new chapter book readers. Read the first book first so you can really understand Bat's connection to Thor. I loved the details about how Bat copes with autism and the ups and downs of his relationships with family and friends. A great chapter b...
  • Lorie Barber
    Oct 05, 2017
    I really can?t wait for the third one, and this one?s not even out yet. A realistic portrait of autism and its effects on family and friends, told with care and in a positive light. Bat is relatable and funny and I will pull for him always. ...
  • Mrs. Krajewski
    Apr 08, 2018
    The Krajewski family still adores Bat! Can?t wait for more! ...
  • Elaine Bearden
    Sep 10, 2018
    gr2/3-5 This is a lower-level chapter book, so for kids done with first chapter, but not quite ready for a big chapter book. The story follows a boy named Bat (who has some degree of autism or social anxiety) and his adventures with a baby skunk that he is raising. The story is told f...
  • Diane
    May 06, 2018
    "Janie is a social butterfly. And I am a social frog." As Bat continues to take care of Thor, his skunk kit, he tries to navigate his first true friendship with Israel. Meanwhile, Janie is trying out for the school play and making all kinds of friends. Janie makes friendship look so...
  • Jennifer
    Aug 31, 2018
    Bat is a boy with a big heart and when a baby skunk comes into his life, he throws everything into caring for little Thor. He has to learn how to balance his love for this little charge and his love for his family, which can be a challenging thing, as Bat finds out. Despite personal ch...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Jan 15, 2018
    E ARC from Edelweiss Plus In this sequel to A Boy Called Bat, Bat is concerned that Thor is growing up all too quickly. He enjoys carry the baby skunk around in a sling and feeding him bottles, and while he is trying to be a good skunk nurturer and make sure that Thor gets appro...
  • Brittany
    Nov 10, 2017
    I adore Bat and his pet skunk and all of his quirks and mistakes and attempts at understanding the world around him. On the spectrum or not, the societal norms that Bat struggles with (like apologizing and being a good friend) are lessons we can all benefit from relearning again. This ...
  • Pop Bop
    Jan 01, 2018
    Low-key and Upbeat This is the second Bat, (Bixby Alexander Tam), book and a fine entry in the series. The "hook", if you want to call it that, is that Bat is on the autism spectrum, and we follow his daily adventures from his point of view. This series is often compared to book set...
  • Lori Palen
    Aug 13, 2018
    I love the author?s treatment of a character with autism (subtle, rather than constantly smacking you in the face with a diagnosis), and I love the sweet illustrations. My critique is with scope...it feels like this book, the one that preceded it, and the forthcoming one are stretchi...
  • Patrick
    Sep 02, 2017
    Bat and his skunk Thor are back for more adventures. Lots of lessons and learning in this second installment. Perfect novel for third and fourth graders! ...
  • Michele Knott
    Mar 12, 2018
    Bat absolutely has a piece of my heart. ...
  • Tj Shay
    Jun 29, 2018
    Elana again tells a tale about a boy with autism that is completely in line with my experience as a teacher. In fact, it's the most realistic depiction I've seen. This book has it all -- heart tugs, family dynamics, and some humor delicately sprinkled in. As with A Boy Called B...
  • Brittany
    Jun 22, 2018
    3.5 stars. This series is seriously adorable. Bat pulled at my heart strings right away, again, with his love for Thor. This book takes place just a week after the first, with the skunk starting to grow and Bat?s relationship with his new friend, Israel, starting to grow, as well...
  • Sarah
    Mar 26, 2018
    I received a copy of this through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Bat continues to take care of his skunk kit, Thor. However, when his older sister joins the school play, Bat's well cultivated schedule must change and Thor will be babysat at a different location. This c...
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    Apr 03, 2018
    3.5 -4 stars ...
  • Bunni
    Aug 04, 2018
    This book was too short: not even a real sequel. Like a between sequel-sequel. To get you through the waiting process. Anyway, this book didn?t really teach me about how hard it was to have a skunk as a pet. It mostly sleeps. But remember, it?s still a wild animal. But apparently t...
  • Carrie
    Apr 15, 2018
    I loved the first book in this "ready-for-chapters" series, A Boy Called Bat. In this sequel, Bixby Alexander Tam (Bat) is a pretty happy kid- he gets to take care of his skunk kit, Thor, he has a great friend named Israel, and his life pretty much follows his predictable schedule day ...
  • Sarah
    Dec 05, 2017
    This book is just as good as the first at providing readers with the perspective of a child with autism. Bat's story is a great choice for younger advanced readers. ...
  • Anna
    Mar 29, 2018
    Another sweet story about Bat and his beloved skunk. I appreciated how Bat came to be more aware of other people's feelings and learned that he can't always have Thor with him. Good development with his friendship with Israel too. However, I do wish there had been some resolution to...
  • Susan Morris
    Aug 26, 2018
    2nd book in the series is another heartwarming story of an autistic boy, Bat, and his adventures with his baby pet skunk. Shows realistically the struggles Bat has to understand other people?s feelings. Would be a great read-aloud! (Library) ...
  • James Bailey
    Apr 10, 2018
    Evan and I have been reading this each night together at bedtime! It is such an awesome book and lived up to the first book in every way (I think it actually surpassed it). It opened up so many great conversations with Evan about kids on the autism spectrum. We laughed hysterically in ...
  • Julie Kirchner
    Jul 05, 2018
    I just love the character of Bat! He truly has my heart. In this installment, Bat is raising Thor, his skunk kit, until Thor is ready to head back into the wild. Thor is growing as is Bat?s anxiety about how long he will be able to care for Thor. Bat is also navigating social situati...
  • Alex
    Jul 20, 2017
    Sequel lives up to the first book. Bat's feelings are so real, and the whole cast of characters feels like a hug. ...
  • Kristen Picone
    Jan 13, 2018
    I love A Boy Called BAT and have been eager to read BAT and the Waiting Game. I was lucky enough to get and ARC at NCTE and am grateful I did. Another dose of BAT and the Tam family is just what I needed. BAT continues to take care of Thor, the skunk kit that he is allowed to keep unti...
  • Melanie Dulaney
    Jan 16, 2018
    Bat, short for Bixby Alexander Tam, has trouble with crowds, change and a host of little things that don?t generally bother most people. But he has a baby skunk, too, and that?s a pretty terrific thing that most other people don?t have. Elana Arnold brings a short, easy to read s...
  • Maximilian Lee
    Jul 22, 2018
    I kind of liked this book because it was slowly paced. I also didn't like this book because the events in the book were very..... well...... "not exciting events" and I like action and adventure. So...... I didn't really like it because of that too. For example, the whole book was basi...
  • JoEllen
    Apr 11, 2018
    Love Bat. Keep them coming. Elena K Arnold?s, realistic, authentic, relevant, and much needed character helps kids learn about self and others through family stories with bonus learning from/with an understanding for Bat?s autism. ...
  • Tiffani Smith
    Jul 15, 2018
    Bat may just be one of my favourite middle grade characters ever. The author portrayal of him and the way his autism is done are so spot on. If any kids ever want to know what it is like for someone who has autism, they should definitely read these books. They are just fantastic and I ...
  • Katerin
    Apr 02, 2018
    Summary Having a pet is not easy. You get used to having it around all the time. But you get to a point in your life where you can no longer take care of it. Being autistic means noticing everything and not everyone agrees with the things that you agree on. Bixby goes for the nickname...