Bat and the Waiting Game (A Boy Called Bat #2)

Bat and the Waiting Game (A Boy Called Bat #2)

In the tradition of Clementine and Ramona Quimby, meet Bat. Author Elana K. Arnold returns with another irresistible story of friendship in this widely acclaimed series starring an unforgettable boy on the autism spectrum. For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat), life is pretty great. He?s the caretaker of the best baby skunk in the world?even Janie, his older sister, is wa In the tradition of Clementine and Ramona Quimby, meet Bat. Author Elana K. Arnold returns with another irres...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Bat and the Waiting Game (A Boy Called Bat #2)
Author:Elana K. Arnold
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
ISBN:0062445871
Format Type:ebook
Number of Pages:192 pages pages

Bat and the Waiting Game (A Boy Called Bat #2) Reviews

  • Sarah Sammis
    May 06, 2018
    ...
  • Lorie Barber
    Oct 05, 2017
    I really can?t wait for the third one, and this one?s not even out yet. A realistic portrait of autism and its effects on family and friends, told with care and in a positive light. Bat is relatable and funny and I will pull for him always. ...
  • Mrs. Krajewski
    Apr 08, 2018
    The Krajewski family still adores Bat! Can?t wait for more! ...
  • Jennifer
    Apr 22, 2018
    ...
  • Kirsti Call
    Feb 15, 2018
    I received a copy of this from Walden Pond Press in exchange for an honest review. A BOY CALLED BAT was my favorite chapter book of last year. BAT AND THE WAITING GAME, the second book in the series is an incredible follow up. It masterfully shows the inner life of an autistic boy. ...
  • Ms Threlkeld
    Apr 21, 2018
    Perfect sequel! Love how Bat is evolving. ...
  • Diane
    May 06, 2018
    "Janie is a social butterfly. And I am a social frog." As Bat continues to take care of Thor, his skunk kit, he tries to navigate his first true friendship with Israel. Meanwhile, Janie is trying out for the school play and making all kinds of friends. Janie makes friendship look so...
  • Kellee
    Mar 20, 2018
    Bat is one of my favorite characters ever. He is a flawed character but is also so perfect as who he is! What I love about Bat, other than his amazingly sweet personality, his brilliance when it comes to skunks, and his coping skills, is that he teaches us to treasure the little things...
  • Erin Downing
    May 15, 2018
    Just as good as the first book. I love Bat! Read this one aloud to my 10 year olds and they adored it, too. ...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Jan 15, 2018
    E ARC from Edelweiss Plus In this sequel to A Boy Called Bat, Bat is concerned that Thor is growing up all too quickly. He enjoys carry the baby skunk around in a sling and feeding him bottles, and while he is trying to be a good skunk nurturer and make sure that Thor gets appro...
  • Brittany
    Nov 10, 2017
    I adore Bat and his pet skunk and all of his quirks and mistakes and attempts at understanding the world around him. On the spectrum or not, the societal norms that Bat struggles with (like apologizing and being a good friend) are lessons we can all benefit from relearning again. This ...
  • Erika
    Nov 24, 2017
    ...
  • Pop Bop
    Jan 01, 2018
    Low-key and Upbeat This is the second Bat, (Bixby Alexander Tam), book and a fine entry in the series. The "hook", if you want to call it that, is that Bat is on the autism spectrum, and we follow his daily adventures from his point of view. This series is often compared to book set...
  • Patrick
    Sep 02, 2017
    Bat and his skunk Thor are back for more adventures. Lots of lessons and learning in this second installment. Perfect novel for third and fourth graders! ...
  • Michele Knott
    Mar 12, 2018
    Bat absolutely has a piece of my heart. ...
  • Gina
    Mar 05, 2018
    ...
  • Sarah
    Mar 26, 2018
    I received a copy of this through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Bat continues to take care of his skunk kit, Thor. However, when his older sister joins the school play, Bat's well cultivated schedule must change and Thor will be babysat at a different location. This c...
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    Apr 03, 2018
    3.5 -4 stars ...
  • Carrie
    Apr 15, 2018
    I loved the first book in this "ready-for-chapters" series, A Boy Called Bat. In this sequel, Bixby Alexander Tam (Bat) is a pretty happy kid- he gets to take care of his skunk kit, Thor, he has a great friend named Israel, and his life pretty much follows his predictable schedule day ...
  • Sarah
    Dec 05, 2017
    This book is just as good as the first at providing readers with the perspective of a child with autism. Bat's story is a great choice for younger advanced readers. ...
  • Kristie
    Mar 06, 2018
    Here's my review on YA Books Central. Don't want to click the link? In short, my advice is to buy the book. I loved it, and Bat is wonderful! http://www.yabookscentral.com/kbc-hom... ...
  • Anna
    Mar 29, 2018
    Another sweet story about Bat and his beloved skunk. I appreciated how Bat came to be more aware of other people's feelings and learned that he can't always have Thor with him. Good development with his friendship with Israel too. However, I do wish there had been some resolution to...
  • Ireadkidsbooks
    Jan 22, 2018
    Bat is back! A Boy Called Bat was my favorite early chapter book last year so I was delighted to see the next installment in the series. This book picks up with Bat's story but introduces new readers quickly to the first book's highlights, so, while it's your loss if you didn't read th...
  • James Bailey
    Apr 10, 2018
    Evan and I have been reading this each night together at bedtime! It is such an awesome book and lived up to the first book in every way (I think it actually surpassed it). It opened up so many great conversations with Evan about kids on the autism spectrum. We laughed hysterically in ...
  • Alex
    Jul 20, 2017
    Sequel lives up to the first book. Bat's feelings are so real, and the whole cast of characters feels like a hug. ...
  • Kristen Picone
    Jan 13, 2018
    I love A Boy Called BAT and have been eager to read BAT and the Waiting Game. I was lucky enough to get and ARC at NCTE and am grateful I did. Another dose of BAT and the Tam family is just what I needed. BAT continues to take care of Thor, the skunk kit that he is allowed to keep unti...
  • Melanie Dulaney
    Jan 16, 2018
    Bat, short for Bixby Alexander Tam, has trouble with crowds, change and a host of little things that don?t generally bother most people. But he has a baby skunk, too, and that?s a pretty terrific thing that most other people don?t have. Elana Arnold brings a short, easy to read s...
  • Brandy
    Jan 06, 2018
    I am in love with Bat! He is a sweet young boy with autism. This book gives a unique perspective into his life and how he handles change. His interactions with Mom melted my heart! ...
  • JoEllen
    Apr 11, 2018
    Love Bat. Keep them coming. Elena K Arnold?s, realistic, authentic, relevant, and much needed character helps kids learn about self and others through family stories with bonus learning from/with an understanding for Bat?s autism. ...
  • Katerin
    Apr 02, 2018
    Summary Having a pet is not easy. You get used to having it around all the time. But you get to a point in your life where you can no longer take care of it. Being autistic means noticing everything and not everyone agrees with the things that you agree on. Bixby goes for the nickname...