Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children

Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children

In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a return to rational parenting, from an American woman who learned how to raise strong, self-reliant children by following the common sense approach of German parenting. When Sara Zaske moved from Oregon to Berlin with her husband and toddler, she knew the trans In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a retu...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children
Author:Sara Zaske
Rating:
Genres:Parenting
ISBN:1250160170
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:239 pages pages

Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children Reviews

  • Arielle
    Jan 29, 2018
    I really enjoyed reading this book! It was interesting to learn about how the German desire to raise self-reliant, independent children leads to differing norms and practices in parenting and schooling. While I'm not going to adopt all of the ideas in the book that she suggested, there...
  • Mythili
    Feb 14, 2018
    Some of the anthropology-light annoyed me, and the general idea-- that American parents need to stop coddling their kids so much-- is a familiar one, but there's a lot of sensible stuff here and no shortage of concrete examples of how different cultural norms bring out different qualit...
  • Kate
    Apr 14, 2018
    I really appreciate how the author balanced her personal experiences with interviews and extensive research from both German and U.S. sources. I majored in German, lived in Germany, have worked for many years with Germans, and am married to one. There is so much about the German cu...
  • Bre Digiammarino
    Mar 15, 2018
    Definitely recommend this book as it opened my eyes to differences in early childhood across Europe, especially Germany, v the US. It makes me want to visit Berlin to explore the delightful playgrounds and kindercafes there! I tired of the format by the end, as the author addresses key...
  • Carin
    Jun 17, 2017
    I am not a parent so you wouldn't think I am the audience for this book but it was utterly fascinating. Sara and her husband moved to Germany for his work, along with their baby. It takes them a while to get settled in. but once they do, everyone starts asking Sara when they're going t...
  • Liz
    Feb 13, 2018
    I found it difficult to connect with the first few chapters in this book. The author had initially subscribed to some of the more extreme beliefs of attachment parenting, so I couldn't help but think "well of course your parenting style is at odds with the German style--it's at odds wi...
  • Kathy
    Feb 06, 2018
    If you have kids or care for kids or teach kids, you need to read this book. In Achtung Baby, Sara Zaske shows us American parents how much we can learn from the Germans. They're outpacing us in virtually every metric -- success, happiness, mental health, physical health, economics. We...
  • Karin
    Jan 17, 2018
    This is an interesting, well-written book about an American family who spent 6 yrs in Germany and what Sara and her family learned about raising kids in a letting-go way. To raise responsible, self reliant kids, German parents let them do things like: walk to school by themselves, go t...
  • Rachel
    Feb 23, 2018
    An honest, conversational account of raising young children as American expats in Germany. I'm interested in this type of book because it's just fun to see how other people live and I can usually get some useful ideas. This one was good - nothing shocking or new really, but some good...
  • Elizabeth
    Jan 05, 2018
    I was excited about this books debut. I enjoy reading books about various parenting techniques. I pick and chose what works for our family. Achtung Baby started out interesting as the author compared and contrasted various parenting methods and observations from her experiences as a pa...
  • Laura
    Apr 06, 2018
    Definitely worth a read. There is much we could learn from the ways children are raised in other societies, as Pamela Druckerman and others have gently reminded us. This book was of interest to me as our children were born overseas, and local practices were often quite different from w...
  • Kiri
    Apr 17, 2018
    I love books on different cultures and how they raise their children! It's one of my favorite subjects to read about. The great parts about this book was learning how much Germany trusted their children. They allow them to ride their bikes/walk to school at a young age, emphasize th...
  • Susan
    Feb 03, 2018
    As a mom of 3 and as an elementary teacher, I'm always up for a read relating to children and parenting. I enjoyed the tiger mom book comparing Asian parenting with its US version. When I heard that Achtung Baby was out -- a book comparing German parenting with US -- I was thrilled. I ...
  • Sarah
    Oct 16, 2017
    This is an excellent book that blends memoir with research to explore differences in American and German culture as relates to parenting. It is readable and informative and would be a great book to spark discussion. I received an ARC from NetGalley. The book will be available on Jan...
  • Susan
    Feb 16, 2018
    This book is a combination of a memoir, a journalistic piece, and a how to book. The author, an American, moved from the Bay Area to Germany with her husband and toddler. She notices that Germans give their children more freedom than Americans- German children walk to school at a young...
  • Stephanie Moran
    Jan 25, 2018
    Sara Zaske wrote this book about her experiences of raising her children in Berlin, Germany. Instead of being preachy and telling parent's do's and don't's, she explains her direct experiences with a different mode of parenting. What I love about Zaske is not only is she open minded to...
  • Nancy
    Oct 03, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book. I found it fascinating to compare cultures of child rearing. Much like Bringing Up Bebe, but with more studies to back up her findings. I appreciated hearing about her return to the US and learning to re-adapt to the culture she left. As with Bringing Up Beb...
  • Janet
    Nov 02, 2017
    I think that this book is a rift on the "Europeans do it so much better" ala fika and hygge and everything Scandinavian, Finnish schools being better and Danish Parenting, etc. etc. Did I learn anything from the book? Not really ... I was raised to be self-reliant and not to turn to an...
  • Alexie Aaron
    Mar 03, 2018
    When I first started reading "Achtung Baby" I thought I?d just skim it and see where and how I screwed up rising my kids. What happened instead was that I was drawn into the book. I think it?s the way Sara uses her own experiences, her conquests and failures, to illustrate the diff...
  • Shauna
    Mar 11, 2018
    Really fascinating look at the correlation, although not set up in a study, between a lack of independence / self-sufficiency and anxiety. Germany has at least a 10% lower rate of anxiety than America, & I find it difficult to believe that helicopter parenting does not add to anxie...
  • India
    Jan 28, 2018
    First up, I'm a Mother living in Germany who originates from the UK and I bought this book to help me understand the differences between the two cultures (parenting wise). I'll do this review in English because I think most readers will be American/British people wanting the same. I...
  • Naomi Krokowski
    Apr 05, 2018
    Zaske is a terrific journalist as well as a caring mother and citizen. This well-balanced book had me laughing aloud several times, and also made me wistful for a time when kids could run around their neighborhoods playing outside without their parents getting arrested for negligence. ...
  • Amanda Hasan
    Apr 12, 2018
    I am really glad that I read this book after my kids grew up a little (my children are 6 and 8). Some of the things she talks about would have settled poorly with me when my kids were younger. The way she criticizes American parenting, especially Dr. Sears' method of "attachment parent...
  • Jennifer Lara
    Nov 04, 2017
    Achtung Baby by Sara Zaske is a memoir of sorts as she recounts her parenting experience while living abroad in Germany. She describes the cultural shock and barriers as she begins her life in Germany and a young mother of a toddler. Ms. Zaske discusses the American view and attitudes ...
  • Alycia
    Mar 18, 2018
    This book makes me want to move to Berlin. I already wanted to move to Berlin but this really made me want to move and maybe even have kids. But until I live in Berlin, no kids for me. I think some of her thoughts on American parenting would be a little swayed if she left the seemi...
  • Courtney Stofko
    Feb 27, 2018
    This book was extremely eye-opening to not only parenting in another country, but just living in another country. Not gonna lie, it kind of made me want to go to Germany. My issues with this book were that 1. there were SO many references to various studies, articles, various psycho...
  • Anne Willette
    Jan 28, 2018
    This is a perfect pairing to how to raise an adult ...
  • Dawnie
    Dec 30, 2017
    Okay let me start this out with: I am not a mother, i do not have children i take care of (at least not the human kind -do furry kids count?!?) BUT i was interested in this because i am German and i always interested to see an American share their option on Germany. Because honestl...
  • Christine Henneberg
    Feb 12, 2018
    I thought this was going to be an imitation of Bringing up Bebe, which I had just finished. To my surprise, I liked it better. Zaske's writing is less crafty and less fun than Druckerman's, but her book is more substantial: The content is better researched and, frankly, of greater cons...
  • Lidia Radzio
    Jan 20, 2018
    Knowing relaxed atmosphere of Berlin, I was sure it's a nice place to raise kids. However, when we've finally moved here, the city surprised us on many levels. And changed us a lot. We've learnt the "German approach" to parenthood from our neighbours and our kids' mates as well as fro...