Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children

Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children

In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a return to rational parenting, from an American woman who learned how to raise strong, self-reliant children by following the common sense approach of German parenting. When Sara Zaske moved from Oregon to Berlin with her husband and toddler, she knew the trans In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, a clarion call and practical guide for a retu...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children
Author:Sara Zaske
Rating:
Genres:Parenting
ISBN:1250160170
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:239 pages pages

Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children Reviews

  • Arielle
    Jan 29, 2018
    I really enjoyed reading this book! It was interesting to learn about how the German desire to raise self-reliant, independent children leads to differing norms and practices in parenting and schooling. While I'm not going to adopt all of the ideas in the book that she suggested, there...
  • Mythili
    Feb 14, 2018
    Some of the anthropology-light annoyed me, and the general idea-- that American parents need to stop coddling their kids so much-- is a familiar one, but there's a lot of sensible stuff here and no shortage of concrete examples of how different cultural norms bring out different qualit...
  • Jerzy
    Apr 28, 2018
    Raises a lot of important questions to consider with my wife as we parent our own kids. I think we'd both like to encourage more independence and resilience, and that's difficult to do in the relatively overprotective bubble of American parenting standards around us, so it's worth seei...
  • Cat
    Apr 29, 2018
    The U.S. educational system has gone in the wrong direction cutting down on recess, over-emphasizing literacy, and slamming kids with testing. Zaske does an excellent and fair-minded job exploring the German child care and kindergarten system and its strengths--interwoven with the memo...
  • Kate
    Apr 14, 2018
    I really appreciate how the author balanced her personal experiences with interviews and extensive research from both German and U.S. sources. I majored in German, lived in Germany, have worked for many years with Germans, and am married to one. There is so much about the German cu...
  • Bre Digiammarino
    Mar 15, 2018
    Definitely recommend this book as it opened my eyes to differences in early childhood across Europe, especially Germany, v the US. It makes me want to visit Berlin to explore the delightful playgrounds and kindercafes there! I tired of the format by the end, as the author addresses key...
  • Annie Johnson
    Apr 24, 2018
    This was a fast and fascinating read. Zaske's perspective on the control-oriented parenting culture in the United States was spot-on (and presented with great fairness), and I saw myself many times in the kinds of behaviors she described as problematic. This book not only made me inter...
  • Carin
    Jun 17, 2017
    I am not a parent so you wouldn't think I am the audience for this book but it was utterly fascinating. Sara and her husband moved to Germany for his work, along with their baby. It takes them a while to get settled in. but once they do, everyone starts asking Sara when they're going t...
  • Kathy
    Feb 06, 2018
    If you have kids or care for kids or teach kids, you need to read this book. In Achtung Baby, Sara Zaske shows us American parents how much we can learn from the Germans. They're outpacing us in virtually every metric -- success, happiness, mental health, physical health, economics. We...
  • Karin
    Jan 17, 2018
    This is an interesting, well-written book about an American family who spent 6 yrs in Germany and what Sara and her family learned about raising kids in a letting-go way. To raise responsible, self reliant kids, German parents let them do things like: walk to school by themselves, go t...
  • Elizabeth
    Jan 05, 2018
    I was excited about this books debut. I enjoy reading books about various parenting techniques. I pick and chose what works for our family. Achtung Baby started out interesting as the author compared and contrasted various parenting methods and observations from her experiences as a pa...
  • Megan
    Jul 19, 2018
    Part parenting, part history, part sociology. I enjoyed hearing about the art of parenting in a foreign country, as viewed by an American. As is the theme in many current parenting books, parents should encourage independence, decision-making, and risk-taking in kids. It's high time to...
  • Kat
    May 24, 2018
    I'm not a mom; I read this because reading about other cultures interests me. I found the book very readable, interesting, and with lots of sources to back up her claims. I do feel like growing up I had a lot more freedom to run around outside than kids today do, and I think it's a b...
  • Leslie
    Apr 26, 2018
    What a terrific book! I loved this. It is more comprehensive in scope than Bringing Up Bebe, and I think the "tough subjects" chapter alone brings it to a higher level. For some reason, I think it's a nice complement to All Joy and No Fun by Jennifer Senior. We are all happier when our...
  • Amy
    Jun 04, 2018
    I liked the writing and the tone of this book. Got some good takeaways and goals for this summer. My oldest kid was excited to learn he was going to play with matches and learn how to make fires tonight. ...
  • Susan
    Feb 03, 2018
    As a mom of 3 and as an elementary teacher, I'm always up for a read relating to children and parenting. I enjoyed the tiger mom book comparing Asian parenting with its US version. When I heard that Achtung Baby was out -- a book comparing German parenting with US -- I was thrilled. I ...
  • Stephanie Moran
    Jan 25, 2018
    Sara Zaske wrote this book about her experiences of raising her children in Berlin, Germany. Instead of being preachy and telling parent's do's and don't's, she explains her direct experiences with a different mode of parenting. What I love about Zaske is not only is she open minded to...
  • Nancy
    Oct 03, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book. I found it fascinating to compare cultures of child rearing. Much like Bringing Up Bebe, but with more studies to back up her findings. I appreciated hearing about her return to the US and learning to re-adapt to the culture she left. As with Bringing Up Beb...
  • Tara  Roberts
    May 22, 2018
    I don?t often read parenting books, but ?Achtung Baby? captured me. It?s smart, funny, and packed with research and great examples. The author presents her arguments and ideas without a one-size-fits-all attitude. Most importantly, it?s instantly applicable. I?m already cha...
  • Janet
    Nov 02, 2017
    I think that this book is a rift on the "Europeans do it so much better" ala fika and hygge and everything Scandinavian, Finnish schools being better and Danish Parenting, etc. etc. Did I learn anything from the book? Not really ... I was raised to be self-reliant and not to turn to an...
  • Sarah
    Jul 31, 2018
    This was a fascinating look at both the German family dynamic and Germany as a country. There are definitely things I agree with and would like to implement, some of which I unfortunately can't due just to location or living in the states. But a lot of good information and things to k...
  • Shauna
    Mar 11, 2018
    Really fascinating look at the correlation, although not set up in a study, between a lack of independence / self-sufficiency and anxiety. Germany has at least a 10% lower rate of anxiety than America, & I find it difficult to believe that helicopter parenting does not add to anxie...
  • India
    Jan 28, 2018
    First up, I'm a Mother living in Germany who originates from the UK and I bought this book to help me understand the differences between the two cultures (parenting wise). I'll do this review in English because I think most readers will be American/British people wanting the same. I...
  • Amanda Hasan
    Apr 12, 2018
    I am really glad that I read this book after my kids grew up a little (my children are 6 and 8). Some of the things she talks about would have settled poorly with me when my kids were younger. The way she criticizes American parenting, especially Dr. Sears' method of "attachment parent...
  • Lgordo
    Jun 11, 2018
    I've read The Danish Way, Bringing up Bebe, and Tiger Mom in my journey through the "you're raising your kid wrong" genre. This is the first book that has made me want to pick up and move across half the world for the sake of my kids. Some great stuff in here that will move your goalpo...
  • Courtney Stofko
    Feb 27, 2018
    This book was extremely eye-opening to not only parenting in another country, but just living in another country. Not gonna lie, it kind of made me want to go to Germany. My issues with this book were that 1. there were SO many references to various studies, articles, various psycho...
  • Anne Willette
    Jan 28, 2018
    This is a perfect pairing to how to raise an adult ...
  • Dawnie
    Dec 30, 2017
    Okay let me start this out with: I am not a mother, i do not have children i take care of (at least not the human kind -do furry kids count?!?) BUT i was interested in this because i am German and i always interested to see an American share their option on Germany. Because honestl...
  • Ashley
    Jun 05, 2018
    Like so many things in life, I think my own expectations really hamstrung my experience. I expected to enjoy this book because I like reading about cross-cultural experiences and non traditional/alternative education practices. And sure, this book has those in spades, along with some g...
  • Emre Sevinç
    Aug 03, 2018
    It's been a while since I've read and reviewed a parenting book, therefore, when my brother's wife recommended a parenting book with a catchy and interesting title, I took note of it. I decided to read "Achtung Baby: An American Mom on the German Art of Raising Self-Reliant Children" i...