Look Alive Out There

Look Alive Out There

From the New York Times-bestselling author Sloane Crosley comes Look Alive Out There?a brand-new collection of essays filled with her trademark hilarity, wit, and charm. The characteristic heart and punch-packing observations are back, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. Fans of I Was Told There'd Be Cake and How Did You Get This Num From the New York Times-bestselling author Sloane Crosley comes Look Alive Out There?a brand-new collection of es...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Look Alive Out There
Author:Sloane Crosley
Rating:
Genres:Writing
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

Look Alive Out There Reviews

  • Michelle
    Jun 09, 2018
    Loved this collection of essays, sort of like a memoir in short stories. As with any in the genre, some are stronger than others. The "Jared" story was positively brilliant. I listened to this on audiobook and loved that one so much I listened twice. ...
  • Gail
    Jul 17, 2018
    These essays were just so-so. Largely because, with almost every one, I found myself thinking, "Really? You really [fill in the blank, ie, kept a journal of your next-door-neighbor's comings and goings] all in the service of a story?" Too many details felt ...too perfect, and so my hea...
  • Booktart
    Apr 06, 2018
    I always feel somewhat disappointed when I finish a Sloane Crosley collection - I always want more! I didn?t love all of the essays in here but many are excellent, particularly the last one, ?The Doctor is a Woman.? I think what I like so much about Crosley?s writing is her abi...
  • Amy
    Apr 23, 2018
    Mostly enjoyable. A full star off for a particularly gross essay in which Crosley goes to Ecuador to climb a volcano she's done exactly zero research on and has done no prep for, and of course she needs to be rescued by her Ecuadorian guides, whom she complains about constantly even th...
  • Nicholle
    Apr 18, 2018
    According to Goodreads, I must have enjoyed the last Sloane Crosley book I read - I honestly don't remember anything about it, but 4 stars for me is at least "pretty good". I can't give this one even a 3 star rating. The essays weren't funny or even that interesting. I didn't have a...
  • Jim
    Jun 03, 2018
    For me, a mixed bag. Some essays I really liked, like the one about her gardening downstairs neighbor. Others, not so much. The humor was understated, no real guffaws, but sometimes amusing. Some stories, such as the one about her porn-star distant "uncle," I was surprised she chose to...
  • Rachel
    Jul 02, 2018
    "My aversion to overpacking and its uptight cousin, overplanning, stems from the belief that neither tendency is a fake problem. These are not amusing tics. They are instead reflections on the personality of the packer. They suggest a dubiousness of other lifestyles (racist), a convict...
  • Sharon
    Feb 20, 2018
    Despite not being an author who is famous enough to be invited to do a walk on for a popular tv show, or having a distant relative who is a retired porn star, or having any desire to go mountain climbing under less than stellar (or really any) circumstances, it's amazing how often Cros...
  • Molly
    May 30, 2018
    Sloane Crosley is still hilarious. This collection started off a little rough for me, as I wasn't sure what to make of all the complaints about her raucous teenage neighbors - but she manages to turn the essay into something funny and bittersweet all at once. I don't know that it's out...
  • Jerrie (redwritinghood)
    Jun 23, 2018
    I?m not sure that these are essays - more like anecdotes from someone who makes stupid mistakes and then uses self-deprecating humor to get everyone to laugh about it. There are some insights here and her tone is relaxed and engaging, but over time the gag starts to wear thin. ...
  • xq
    Apr 20, 2018
    Sloane is back!! I love her essays and wish there were more whenever I read one of her books. ...
  • Sue
    May 19, 2018
    She may be half my age, but I want to write like Sloane Crosley when I grow up. This essay collection is as satisfying as a salmon dinner with a side of chocolate cheesecake. Crosley offers a perfect combination of heart and humor in widely varying essays that range from a hike in Mexi...
  • Danielle
    Jun 11, 2018
    Hilarious and snarky, literally laugh-out-loud funny... but it's not a secret how much I love Sloane Crosley - ESPECIALLY her essays. I've been a fan of hers since her debut "I Was Told There'd Be Cake" (which is actually why I attend most events but I digress). She has a gift for turn...
  • Megan
    Jun 19, 2018
    You know how the first couple seasons of a Housewives franchise are the best - before they are ?famous? and argue about cookbook deals and branding? That?s how I feel now about Sloane - she was great before she became famous. Now she writes about being a guest star on gossip girl...
  • Scottsdale Public Library
    Jul 30, 2018
    I found Sloane Crosley?s 2008, "I Was Told There?d Be Cake" funny and under-rated, a then undiscovered among the slender humorist niche. Now a contender of Laurie Notaro and David Sedaris, her latest book of essays wowed me. She has honed her craft with ?Up the down Volcano? wh...
  • Lynnie
    Jul 20, 2018
    Almost a decade ago, I read Sloane Crosley's I Was Told There'd Be Cake & enjoyed it immensely. I was looking forward to another collection of witty stories and essays & for the most part, Look Alive Out There delivers. Like any short story collection, some stories were really ...
  • Susie | Novel Visits
    Apr 13, 2018
    My Thoughts: I?m a little embarrassed to admit this, but Look Alive Out There is one of only a couple essay collections I?ve ever read. Prior to the last couple of years, I?d avoided both nonfiction and short stories. Essays are something of a cross between the two, so I?ve not...
  • Jaclyn (sixminutesforme)
    Aug 14, 2018
    I?ve been enjoying dipping in and out of essay collections recently, and found this a witty, light-hearted and amusing read. The collection reads almost like a stand-up comedy script, some of the stories had me laughing out loud and others had me nodding along in agreement! They...
  • Allie
    Sep 12, 2018
    Not as funny as David Sedaris, but written in the same vein, Crosley takes on subjects as diverse as obnoxious neighbors, vertigo, mountain climbing, and impersonating herself on TV. Her writing is wry, self-referential, and mainly focused on the problems of the well-educated urbanite....
  • Jill
    Apr 12, 2018
    I didn't finish this one after losing steam halfway through. Crosley is an enjoyable narrator, but there were enough too-perfect details in a situation that I questioned how "real" everything was (I don't doubt the author's truthfulness, but wonder if there was a bit of creative fudgin...
  • Chaitra
    May 04, 2018
    Some of the essays were great, especially the last one where Sloane deals with a ticking biological clock and the one about her neighbor Jared the jerk. Some were so-so. And after reading a couple of them, I went huh? Being a recent non-fiction convert, I had no idea who she is, so I'm...
  • Alexis
    May 20, 2018
    Maybe I am biased, as I Was Told There'd Be Cake was one of the formative books of my young adult life, positing Sloane as my literary drunk aunt or someone like that-- but to be fair, holding her previous works to such regard made me nervous to read Look Alive Out There because what i...
  • chad  morgan
    Apr 09, 2018
    In her 2008 debut, I Was Told There?d Be Cake, Sloane Crosley established herself as a humorous essayist to be reckoned with, inviting comparisons to masters of the form like David Sedaris, Dorothy Parker, and Sarah Vowell, and landing its author on the New York Times bestseller list...
  • Jamie Bernard
    Feb 26, 2018
    I?ve loved Sloane Crosley for a long time. She has a snarky wit about her that is unrivaled. I?m just not sure what to make of this collection of essays. Some were amazing. I especially enjoyed reading about her interactions with neighbors and a story about a relative that worked i...
  • Andres Eguiguren
    Aug 17, 2018
    I read Crosley's previous collection of personal essays, How Did You Get This Number (2010), right before reading this newly published (2018) collection. While the former comes across as the wacky musings of someone in her late 20s, this one has the veneer of maturity that comes from b...
  • Scott S.
    Aug 03, 2018
    I was completely unfamiliar with Ms. Crosley or her previous collections of essays, but I kept seeing Look Alive Out There on the library's new release non-fic shelf so I decided to take a chance on it. Opinions will vary (just from what I've seen on Goodreads), but I really liked h...
  • Sarah at Sarah's Book Shelves
    Apr 16, 2018
    Thank you to FSG and Edelweiss for an advanced copy of this book. I generally have trouble with essay collections billed as humorous. Humor is hard. I often feel like the author is trying too hard with the jokes. But, Crosley?s humor is more subtle?the kind that has me chuckling...
  • Kathleen
    Jul 05, 2018
    Crosley?s essays have been compared to David Sedaris. I don?t see it! True, they are both a little bit neurotic and keen observers of the foibles of others, but Crosley just seems to be a little too privileged?a little too ?Manhattan??for me to relate to her humor. Several ...
  • Suzi
    Jul 19, 2018
    ummmm hmmmmm, I have some feelings about what an essay actually is, and how much thought might need to go into one, and how it's not actually charming or cute to be in Ecuador needing to be rescued on a climb that you did no research for, but anyway, 2.5-3ish. Luckily: A fast read. ...
  • ns510
    Jul 01, 2018
    I like my essays more incisive than these, which felt more like hanging out with a hilarious friend as she shares her stories with you. There were some moments of insight, and others where her privilege seemed to colour the anecdote being shared. My favourite in this collection is prob...