Look Alive Out There

Look Alive Out There

From the New York Times-bestselling author Sloane Crosley comes Look Alive Out There?a brand-new collection of essays filled with her trademark hilarity, wit, and charm. The characteristic heart and punch-packing observations are back, but with a newfound coat of maturity. A thin coat. More of a blazer, really. Fans of I Was Told There'd Be Cake and How Did You Get This Num From the New York Times-bestselling author Sloane Crosley comes Look Alive Out There?a brand-new collection of es...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Look Alive Out There
Author:Sloane Crosley
Rating:
Genres:Writing
Number of Pages:256 pages pages

Look Alive Out There Reviews

  • Amy Formanski Duffy
    Apr 12, 2018
    Sloane Crosley can write about things as simple as weird encounters with neighbors and turn them into hilarious, page-turning essays. Only a few folks (see Nora Ephron, David Sedaris) have that knack. She finds the absurdity in everyday life. Highly recommended if you need a light-hear...
  • Allison
    May 26, 2018
    "On the Tim Burton Sliding Architectural Scale, it's less Beetlejuice, more Edward Scissorhands." "It hadn't occurred to me. Rather, it had occurred to me that murder was more of an option than moving. A true test of a New Yorker if there ever was one. I was fully aware there were o...
  • Michelle
    Jun 09, 2018
    Loved this collection of essays, sort of like a memoir in short stories. As with any in the genre, some are stronger than others. The "Jared" story was positively brilliant. I listened to this on audiobook and loved that one so much I listened twice. ...
  • Booktart
    Apr 06, 2018
    I always feel somewhat disappointed when I finish a Sloane Crosley collection - I always want more! I didn?t love all of the essays in here but many are excellent, particularly the last one, ?The Doctor is a Woman.? I think what I like so much about Crosley?s writing is her abi...
  • Amy
    Apr 23, 2018
    Mostly enjoyable. A full star off for a particularly gross essay in which Crosley goes to Ecuador to climb a volcano she's done exactly zero research on and has done no prep for, and of course she needs to be rescued by her Ecuadorian guides, whom she complains about constantly even th...
  • Nicholle
    Apr 18, 2018
    According to Goodreads, I must have enjoyed the last Sloane Crosley book I read - I honestly don't remember anything about it, but 4 stars for me is at least "pretty good". I can't give this one even a 3 star rating. The essays weren't funny or even that interesting. I didn't have a...
  • Jim
    Jun 03, 2018
    For me, a mixed bag. Some essays I really liked, like the one about her gardening downstairs neighbor. Others, not so much. The humor was understated, no real guffaws, but sometimes amusing. Some stories, such as the one about her porn-star distant "uncle," I was surprised she chose to...
  • Sharon
    Feb 20, 2018
    Despite not being an author who is famous enough to be invited to do a walk on for a popular tv show, or having a distant relative who is a retired porn star, or having any desire to go mountain climbing under less than stellar (or really any) circumstances, it's amazing how often Cros...
  • Molly
    May 30, 2018
    Sloane Crosley is still hilarious. This collection started off a little rough for me, as I wasn't sure what to make of all the complaints about her raucous teenage neighbors - but she manages to turn the essay into something funny and bittersweet all at once. I don't know that it's out...
  • xq
    Apr 20, 2018
    Sloane is back!! I love her essays and wish there were more whenever I read one of her books. ...
  • Sue
    May 19, 2018
    She may be half my age, but I want to write like Sloane Crosley when I grow up. This essay collection is as satisfying as a salmon dinner with a side of chocolate cheesecake. Crosley offers a perfect combination of heart and humor in widely varying essays that range from a hike in Mexi...
  • Danielle
    Jun 11, 2018
    Hilarious and snarky, literally laugh-out-loud funny... but it's not a secret how much I love Sloane Crosley - ESPECIALLY her essays. I've been a fan of hers since her debut "I Was Told There'd Be Cake" (which is actually why I attend most events but I digress). She has a gift for turn...
  • Marta
    Jun 05, 2018
    This was a fantastic return to form for Sloane Crossley. I very recently read her second collection of essays, which disappointed in lackluster humor, charm, and compelling story-telling (or maybe just stories). "Look Alive Out There" recaptured that charm, with a lovely dose of light-...
  • Jason
    Apr 20, 2018
    [Disclosure: I received this book via a Goodreads Giveaway.] Sloane Crosley has perfected the art of essay writing. This isn't to say she hits all the required beats at all the right moments (nor to say that she doesn't hit said beats, just that I don't have the training or technica...
  • Susie | Novel Visits
    Apr 13, 2018
    My Thoughts: I?m a little embarrassed to admit this, but Look Alive Out There is one of only a couple essay collections I?ve ever read. Prior to the last couple of years, I?d avoided both nonfiction and short stories. Essays are something of a cross between the two, so I?ve not...
  • Jill
    Apr 12, 2018
    I didn't finish this one after losing steam halfway through. Crosley is an enjoyable narrator, but there were enough too-perfect details in a situation that I questioned how "real" everything was (I don't doubt the author's truthfulness, but wonder if there was a bit of creative fudgin...
  • Jonny Carmack
    Apr 19, 2018
    3.5* What intrigued me about this book was the opening essay. I thought it was very well crafted with the right balance of humor and relatable annoyance when it comes to our interactions with strangers on the street. I laughed out loud at the end of that essay and thought, "this is ...
  • Chaitra
    May 04, 2018
    Some of the essays were great, especially the last one where Sloane deals with a ticking biological clock and the one about her neighbor Jared the jerk. Some were so-so. And after reading a couple of them, I went huh? Being a recent non-fiction convert, I had no idea who she is, so I'm...
  • Christie Grotheim
    May 23, 2018
    I'm a big fan of Sloane Crosley and this third of her essay collections I've read. While tend to lump her in the David Sedaris camp, she certainly has a voice all of her own and I have always respected her writing. I found the essays first half of the book a bit too light perhaps and a...
  • Alexis
    May 20, 2018
    Maybe I am biased, as I Was Told There'd Be Cake was one of the formative books of my young adult life, positing Sloane as my literary drunk aunt or someone like that-- but to be fair, holding her previous works to such regard made me nervous to read Look Alive Out There because what i...
  • Cheeky Delinquent
    Apr 09, 2018
    In her 2008 debut, I Was Told There?d Be Cake, Sloane Crosley established herself as a humorous essayist to be reckoned with, inviting comparisons to masters of the form like David Sedaris, Dorothy Parker, and Sarah Vowell, and landing its author on the New York Times bestseller list...
  • Jamie Bernard
    Feb 26, 2018
    I?ve loved Sloane Crosley for a long time. She has a snarky wit about her that is unrivaled. I?m just not sure what to make of this collection of essays. Some were amazing. I especially enjoyed reading about her interactions with neighbors and a story about a relative that worked i...
  • Yadi (Bookiful.life)
    Apr 03, 2018
    was lucky enough to receive this book from the wonderful people over at MCD/Farrar Straus and Giroux. I had been intrigued by the buzz I was hearing on it but also it seemed to be the kind of book I was looking for at the time; a light and witty read about relatable moments in life. Su...
  • Sarah at Sarah's Book Shelves
    Apr 16, 2018
    Thank you to FSG and Edelweiss for an advanced copy of this book. I generally have trouble with essay collections billed as humorous. Humor is hard. I often feel like the author is trying too hard with the jokes. But, Crosley?s humor is more subtle?the kind that has me chuckling...
  • Sarah Paolantonio
    May 23, 2018
    I was excited to find a new copy of this on the used shelf--half price! I blew through it over two days of traveling. Easy read. BUT: I have opinions. I read 'I Was Told They're Be Cake' (which came out ten years ago) and thought it was funny. I kept up with Crosley's writing whene...
  • Sam
    Apr 30, 2018
    I was very excited to hear that Sloane Crosley had released a new book. I Was Told There Would Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number? are two of my favourite books so I bought Look Alive Out There as soon as I heard of its release. Crosley's visceral descriptions are even better...
  • Maria Ryan
    May 22, 2018
    Essays on the Mundane Minutiae of the Moment. How can boring, everyday life be this much fun. Essays on the mundane minute of the moment in the hands of Crosley are just that, tons of fun. So perhaps all our lives are far more exciting than we think. I think it just depends on the w...
  • Emily
    Apr 08, 2018
    Some of the essays in here are really good, but about a third of them fall flat. Some stories were like what you'd hear at a party when making polite conversation with someone you just met, wondering "what was even the point of that story?" If you enjoy Crosley's work, it's worth a rea...
  • Amanda
    May 15, 2018
    There were several humorous stories, particularly the one about her loud neighbors. However, this author seems to live her life making avoidable mistakes and then complaining about the things she has to do to fix everything. I find this annoying, so I won?t be reading any of her work...
  • Dismas
    May 06, 2018
    Crosley can write decently enough but her stories are the equivalent of cotton candy: pleasant enough but evanescent and leaves a cloying sweet aftertaste. The stories are pretty mundane: being annoyed by rich kids living next door, striking up a relationship with a sad neighbor, mista...